DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding Examiner's rejections under 35 USC 112 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been considered, but are not persuasive. These rejections are accordingly maintained.
Regarding claim 1, Examiner previously rejected the following language as being vague and indefinite: “while the wireless connection remains established … determining an interval of time between activations of the wireless connection; and activating the wireless connection at the interval of time,” (Office Action dated 6/1/2026, pg. 3). More specifically, in their Remarks dated 3/20/2026, Applicant attempts to distinguish the characterization of the language of claim 1 by asserting that “Ayed describes being disconnected and then re-connected which cannot reasonably be understood as an interval of time between activations of a wireless connection while that wireless connection is established,” (Remarks dated 3/20/2026 at pg. 5). Ayed, however, describes the connection, inter alia, as a dormant/sleep/sniff/park/hold/low-power mode, see e.g. at least ¶ 71, 113-114, 130, Fig. 9, and relate text, periodically listening after authentication to determine if the connection should become active or otherwise when not actively exchanging data). It is unclear, therefore, what type of “connection” Applicant is intending to refer to in their claim language, and more specifically, what constitutes “established” and “activate/activation.” In other words, it is unclear what meaning Applicant intends to convey by the language “activations of the wireless connection” and “activating the wireless connection,” “while the wireless connection remains established.”
In their Remarks dated 8/13/2026, Applicant asserts that:
“The phrase: establishing a wireless connection, refers plainly to a state in which the wireless connection between the hand-held unit and the motor vehicle is established.
The phrase: while the wireless connection remains established, refers plainly to a state in which the hand-held unit and the motor vehicle remain in wireless connection with each other-i.e., the wireless connection is not dropped.
The phrase: activating the wireless connection refers to the wireless connection being brought from a low-power non-transmitting state into a data transmitting state,” (Remarks dated 8/13/2026 at pg. 4).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Examiner's rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: "A method for controlling a safety function of a motor vehicle, comprising:
establishing a wireless connection between a hand-held unit and the motor vehicle; and
while the wireless connection remains established:
determining a volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection;
determining an interval of time between activations of the wireless connection, wherein the interval of time is determined based on the volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection; and
activating the wireless connection at the interval of time so as to transmit the volume of data via the wireless connection."
This language is vague and indefinite for at least the following reasons:
Generally Unclear: The expression “while the wireless connection remains established … determining an interval of time between activations of the wireless connection; and activating the wireless connection at the interval of time” as used in the claim is vague and indefinite and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical features to which it refers, thereby rendering the definition and scope of the subject-matter of said claim unclear. Namely, in their remarks, Applicant recites that “Ayed describes being disconnected and then re-connected which cannot reasonably be understood as an interval of time between activations of a wireless connection while that wireless connection is established,” (Remarks at pg. 5). Ayed, however, describes the connection, inter alia, as a dormant/sleep/sniff/park/hold/low-power mode, see e.g. at least ¶ 71, 113-114, 130, Fig. 9, and relate text, periodically listening after authentication to determine if the connection should become active or otherwise when not actively exchanging data). It is unclear, therefore, what type of “connection” Applicant is intending to refer to in their claim language, and more specifically, what constitutes “established” and “activate/activation.” In other words, it is unclear what meaning Applicant intends to convey by the language “activations of the wireless connection” and “activating the wireless connection,” “while the wireless connection remains established.”
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"A method for controlling a safety function of a motor vehicle, comprising:
establishing a wireless connection between a hand-held unit and the motor vehicle; and
determining a volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection;
determining an interval of time
activating an operation at the interval of time so as to transmit the volume of data via the wireless connection."
Claims 2-11 are further rejected as depending on this claim.
Claim 12 recites: "A hand-held unit for controlling a safety function of a motor vehicle, comprising:
a wireless transceiver; and
a processing device configured to:
establish a wireless connection to the motor vehicle via the wireless transceiver, and
while the wireless connection remains established:
determine a volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection,
determine an interval of time between activations of the wireless connection, wherein the interval of time is determined based on the volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection, and
activate the wireless connection at the interval of time so as to transmit the volume of data via the wireless connection.”
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"A hand-held unit for controlling a safety function of a motor vehicle, comprising:
a wireless transceiver; and
a processing device configured to:
establish a wireless connection to the motor vehicle via the wireless transceiver, and
determine a volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection,
determine an interval of time
activate an operation at the interval of time so as to transmit the volume of data via the wireless connection.”
Claim 13 is further rejected as depending on this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becher (DE 102018004072 A1. For purposes of this examination, Examiner will refer to the English language translation of this reference provided with this Office Action) in view of Ayed (US 2013/0298208 A1), and further in view of Buzzalino (US 2024/0205707 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Becher discloses a method for controlling a safety function of a motor vehicle (see e.g. at least Abstract), comprising:
establishing a wireless connection between a hand-held unit and the motor vehicle (see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 20, Fig. 1-3, and related text);
Additionally, Ayed teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Becher including namely: determining a volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection (see e.g. at least ¶ 71, 113-114, 130, Fig. 9, and related text, entering dormant state, i.e. sleep/sniff/park/hold/low-power mode, after authentication to listen periodically to determine if it should become active or otherwise when not actively exchanging data).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Becher by determining a volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection as taught by Ayed in order to assure low power consumption and extend battery life while maintaining secure communication connection (Ayed: Abstract, ¶ 113, 130).
Additionally, Buzzalino teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Becher including namely: determining an interval of time, wherein the interval of time is determined based on the volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection (see e.g. at least ¶ 70, 72, Fig. 10, 12, and related text); and
activating an operation at the interval of time to transmit the volume of data via the wireless connection (id.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Becher by determining an interval of time, wherein the interval of time is determined based on the volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection; and activating an operation at the interval of time to transmit the volume of data via the wireless connection as taught by Buzzalino in order to ensure that drivers have accurate information and provide offline data back to the system to provide confirmation as soon as possible after reestablishing connection (Buzzalino: ¶ 67).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Becher teaches that the activation is carried out by the hand-held unit (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 62, 108, 114, 130, Fig. 1A-4, and related text).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Becher teaches that the safety function aboard the motor vehicle is controllable only by using a hand-held unit (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 34).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Becher teaches that the interval of time is coordinated between the hand-held unit and the motor vehicle (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 71, 113-114, 130).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Becher teaches:
determining a probability of a volume of data to be transmitted, wherein the interval of time is shortened as the probability increases (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 71, 113-114, 130).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Becher teaches that the probability is determined based on a movement of the hand-held unit with respect to the motor vehicle (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 33, 64, 117, 119, Fig. 6-8, and related text).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Becher teaches that the probability is determined based on a movement of the motor vehicle (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 33, 64, 117, 119, Fig. 6-8, and related text).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Becher teaches that it is determined whether the hand-held unit is being moved by a running person, and the probability is determined based on a movement of the running person (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 33, 64, 67, 108, 117, 119, Fig. 6-8, and related text).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Becher teaches that the probability is determined based on a distance between the hand-held unit and the motor vehicle (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 67, 105, 108, 112).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Becher teaches that the probability is determined based on a state of the motor vehicle (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 66-67, 105, 108, 112).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Becher teaches that the interval of time is determined based on a capability of an energy store of the hand-held unit (Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 66-67, 105, 108).
Regarding claim 12, Becher discloses a hand-held unit for controlling a safety function of a motor vehicle (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1-3, and related text), comprising:
a wireless transceiver (e.g. at least transmitter/receiver 9, see e.g. at least Fig. 1-3, and related text); and
a processing device (e.g. at least mobile device 5, 5’, smartphone, see e.g. at least ¶ 29, Fig. 1-3, and related text) configured to:
establish a wireless connection to the motor vehicle via the wireless transceiver (see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 20, Fig. 1-3, and related text).
Additionally, Ayed teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Becher including namely: determining a volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection (see e.g. at least ¶ 71, 113-114, 130, Fig. 9, and related text, entering dormant state, i.e. sleep/sniff/park/hold/low-power mode, after authentication to listen periodically to determine if it should become active or otherwise when not actively exchanging data).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Becher by determining a volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection as taught by Ayed in order to assure low power consumption and extend battery life while maintaining secure communication connection (Ayed: Abstract, ¶ 113, 130).
Additionally, Buzzalino teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Becher including namely: determining an interval of time, wherein the interval of time is determined based on the volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection (see e.g. at least ¶ 70, 72, Fig. 10, 12, and related text); and
activating an operation at the interval of time to transmit the volume of data via the wireless connection (id.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Becher by determining an interval of time, wherein the interval of time is determined based on the volume of data to be transmitted via the wireless connection; and activating an operation at the interval of time to transmit the volume of data via the wireless connection as taught by Buzzalino in order to ensure that drivers have accurate information and provide offline data back to the system to provide confirmation as soon as possible after reestablishing connection (Buzzalino: ¶ 67).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Becher teaches an electrical energy store configured to provide a predetermined amount of energy (e.g. at least battery, power store 24, Ayed: see e.g. at least ¶ 59, 110, Fig. 1A-2B, and related text).
Conclusion
/CHARLES J HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662