DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanemoto (JP 2013-198083).
Regarding claim 1, Tanemoto discloses an imaging device (FIGS. 1-13) comprising: a lens barrel ((4), [0030]) in which a lens ((3), [0027]) is arranged; a board ((1), [0027]) on which an imaging element ((2), [0027]) is mounted, the imaging element converting light received through the lens into an image signal ([0027]); a housing ((5), [0028]) that houses the board (FIGS. 1-3, 5, 6), the housing including a hole ((5b), [0028, 0029]) at a position that faces the imaging element ([0029]), one end side of the lens barrel being fitted into the hole (FIGS. 1-3, 5, 6, [0028, 0030]); and an adhesive member ((6), [0032]) that is provided between an outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel and an inner peripheral surface of the hole, in a state where the one end side of the lens barrel is fitted into the hole, the adhesive member fixing the lens barrel to the housing ([0032, 0035, 0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Tanemoto further discloses the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the lens barrel is fitted into the hole in a state where an end on the one end side of the lens barrel is separated from the housing (indicated below), and the adhesive member is provided in a portion where the outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel faces the inner peripheral surface of the hole (FIGS. 1, 3, 5, 6, [0032, 0035, 0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Tanemoto further discloses the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the adhesive member is provided in a circumferential direction of the lens barrel (FIGS. 11-13, [0048-0052]).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 is similarly rejected as in claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 7, Tanemoto further discloses the imaging device according to claim 2, wherein a first clearance is provided between a board-side end of the adhesive member and the housing serving as a bottom of the hole ((L1) indicated below), a second clearance is provided between the end on the one end side of the lens barrel and the housing serving as the bottom of the hole ((L2) indicated below), and the first clearance has a size equal to or greater than that of the second clearance (wherein (L1) ≥ (L2)).
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reckker et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2021/0103119).
Regarding claim 1, Reckker discloses an imaging device (FIGS. 3, 4) comprising: a lens barrel ((124), [0028]) in which a lens (“a lens or lens assembly”, [0028]) is arranged; a board ((126), [0028]) on which an imaging element ((128), [0028]) is mounted, the imaging element converting light received through the lens into an image signal ([0028, 0029]); a housing ((130), [0028]) that houses the board (FIG. 3), the housing including a hole (indicated below) at a position that faces the imaging element (FIG. 3), one end side of the lens barrel being fitted into the hole (FIG. 3); and an adhesive member ((132), [0028, 0029]) that is provided between an outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel and an inner peripheral surface of the hole (FIGS. 3, 4), in a state where the one end side of the lens barrel is fitted into the hole, the adhesive member fixing the lens barrel to the housing ([0028, 0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Reckker further discloses the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the lens barrel is fitted into the hole in a state where an end on the one end side of the lens barrel is separated from the housing (indicated below), and the adhesive member is provided in a portion where the outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel faces the inner peripheral surface of the hole (FIGS. 3, 4, [0028, 0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reckker et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2021/0103119) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Hinderling et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2012/0198712).
Regarding claim 5:
Reckker discloses the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the adhesive is cured via UV curing ([0029]).
Reckker does not specifically disclose that a water absorption rate of the adhesive member is 0.5% or less.
Hinderling teaches an adhesive, wherein a water absorption rate of the adhesive member is 0.5% or less ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Hinderling’s with the imaging device taught by Reckker for the purpose of protecting the device from external moisture.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the water absorption rate of the adhesive member to be 0.5% or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6:
Claim 6 is similarly rejected as in claim 5 above.
Conclusion
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852