DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, it is unclear what “fixed end” is being referenced to in line 11. For purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting “the fixed end bar” as the “the fixed end of the distal support bar”
Regarding claim 17, the Claim recites the limitation " the front panel" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) and (a) (2) as being anticipated by Chinese Publication 109431041 by Zhou (Here forth “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a piece of luggage with a handle-to-stand conversion feature comprising: a luggage body (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below, the piece of luggage contains a luggage body); a pull handle (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below, the piece of luggage contains a pull handle); the luggage body comprising a front side, a rear side, a top side, and a bottom side (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below); the pull handle comprising a first hinged telescopic support (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below), a second hinged telescopic support (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below), and a crossbar (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below); the first hinged telescopic support and the second hinged telescopic support being positioned parallel and offset from each other (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below); the first hinged telescopic support and the second hinged telescopic support being anchored into the luggage body, adjacent to the rear side (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below, the first and second telescopic supports can be seen anchored into the luggage body adjacent to the rear side within structural support tubes within the luggage body); the crossbar being positioned external to the luggage body, adjacent to the top side (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below, the crossbar is positioned external to the luggage body adjacent to the top side); and the crossbar being terminally connected in between the first hinged telescopic support and the second hinged telescopic support, offset from the luggage body (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 below, the crossbar is positioned external to the luggage body adjacent to the top side offset a certain distance from the luggage body top side when the extended position).
Fig A-Examiner Annotated Fig 12 of Zhou
Regarding claim 2, Zhou further comprising: the first hinged telescopic support and the second hinged telescopic support each comprising a distal support bar, a proximal support bar, and a structural support tube (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 above and Abstract of Zheng, hinged telescopic support comprises a distal support bar, proximal support bar and structural support tube located within the luggage body); the distal support bar comprising a fixed bar end and a free bar end (Fig A- Examiner annotated Fig 12 above); the structural support tube being integrated into the luggage body, adjacent to the rear side (Abstract of Zheng and Examiner annotated Fig 12 of Zheng above, the structural tubes is within the luggage body adjacent to the rear side); the proximal support bar being telescopically engaged into the structural support tube (Fig A- Examiner Annotated Fig 12 of Zheng above); the fixed bar end being hingedly and terminally connected to the proximal support bar (Fig A- Examiner Annotated Fig 12 of Zheng above), offset from the structural support tube (Fig A- Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Zheng above); the free bar end of the first hinged telescopic support being terminally connected to the crossbar (Fig A- Examiner Annotated Fig 12 of Zheng above); and the free bar end of the second hinged telescopic support being terminally connected to the crossbar, opposite to the free bar end of the first hinged telescopic support (Fig A- Examiner Annotated Fig 12 of Zheng above, the distal support bar is part of the hinged telescopic support and is attached to the crossbar opposite the free bar end of the first hinged telescopic support).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou further discloses the first hinged telescopic support and the second hinged telescopic support each further comprising a lockable U-joint (Fig B- Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Zhou below, gears 11 and 66 allow the rotating of the distal support bars and allows the for the locking in the different positions as shown in Figs 10-12 of Zhou, it locks in order to support a device at multiple angles; a U-joint is a mechanical device that connects two rotating shafts at an angle); and the fixed bar end being hingedly and terminally connected to the proximal support bar, offset from the structural support tube, by the lockable U-joint (Fig A- Examiner Annotated Fig 12 of Zhou and Fig B-Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Zhou above, the fixed bar end can be see terminally connected to the proximal support bar offset from the structural support tubes by the lockable U-joint).
Fig B – Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Zhou
Regarding claim 8, Zhou further discloses comprising: a laptop tray (Fig E- Examiner annotated Fig 16 of Zhou below) ; a first clamp; a second clamp (Fig E- Examiner annotated Fig 16 of Zhou below); the first clamp and the second clamp being connected onto the laptop tray (Fig E- Examiner annotated Fig 16 of Zhou below); and the first clamp and the second clamp being positioned offset from each other across the laptop tray (Fig E- Examiner annotated Fig 16 of Zhou below, the clamps are offset from each other across the laptop tray in the vertical direction; the laptop tray and the pull handle are arranged into a platform configuration; the laptop tray being positioned parallel to the top side; the laptop tray being laterally attached to the first hinged telescopic support by the first clamp; and the laptop tray being laterally attached to the second hinged telescopic support by the second clamp; at least one tray ledge; the at least one tray ledge being peripherally connected onto the laptop tray, opposite to the first clamp and the second clamp; and the at least one tray ledge being positioned along the second clamp; at least one tray ledge being peripherally connected onto the laptop tray, opposite to the first clamp and the second clamp; and the at least one tray ledge being positioned in between the first clamp and the second clamp).
Fig E- Examiner annotated Fig 16 of Zhou
Regarding claim 9, Zhou further discloses wherein the laptop tray and the pull handle are arranged into a platform configuration; the laptop tray being positioned parallel to the top side; the laptop tray being laterally attached to the first hinged telescopic support by the first clamp; and the laptop tray being laterally attached to the second hinged telescopic support by the second clamp (Fig E-Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Zhou above, the tray is parallel to the top side and laterally attached to the hinged telescopic support of the modified Zhou by the clamps).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou further discloses at least one tray ledge; the at least one tray ledge being peripherally connected onto the laptop tray, opposite to the first clamp and the second clamp; and the at least one tray ledge being positioned along the second clamp (Fig E- Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Zhou above; the tray has a ledge peripherally connected onto the laptop tray near the telescopic handle that can be used to prop up an electronic device such as a mini laptop depending on the size).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou further discloses comprising: wherein the laptop tray and the pull handle are arranged into a first holder configuration; the laptop tray being positioned perpendicular to the top side; and the laptop tray being laterally attached to the crossbar by the first clamp (Fig E- Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Zhou above).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou further discloses comprising: at least one tray ledge; the at least one tray ledge being peripherally connected onto the laptop tray, opposite to the first clamp and the second clamp; and the at least one tray ledge being positioned in between the first clamp and the second clamp (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 8; Fig E- Examiner annotated Fig 1 of Smith above).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou further discloses comprising: wherein the laptop tray and the pull handle are arranged into a second holder configuration; the laptop tray being positioned perpendicular to the top side (Fig 11 of Zhou); the laptop tray being laterally attached to the first hinged telescopic support by the first clamp (Fig 11 of Zhou); and the laptop tray being laterally attached to the second hinged telescopic support by the second clamp (Fig 11 of Zhou).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view US Patent 6213265 issued to Wang (Here forth “Wang”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou further discloses comprising the first hinged telescopic support and the second hinged telescopic support (Fig A- Examiner Annotated Fig 12 of Zhou above) each further comprising a [Not taught: kickout support rod and a rod-receiving slot; the kickout support rod comprising a fixed rod end and a free rod end; the rod-receiving slot laterally traversing into the distal support bar; the fixed rod end being positioned within the rod-receiving slot; and the fixed rod end being hingedly connected to the distal support bar].
Zhou does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation A: support rod and rod-receiving slot and the fixed rod end being hingedly connected to the distal support bar
Wang discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation A, a support rod and a rod-receiving slot (Fig C- Examiner Annotated Fig 8 of Wang below, the support rods are legs 45 can retract within a rod-receiving slot which is bottom of table); the support rod comprising a fixed rod end and a free rod end; the rod-receiving slot laterally traversing into the distal support bar (Fig C- Examiner Annotated Fig 8 of Wang below, the rod receiving slot laterally traverses into the distal support bar when modifying Zhou); the fixed rod end being positioned within the rod-receiving slot (Fig 1 of Wang, the support rods are legs 42 can retract within a rod-receiving slot which is bottom table as seen in Fig 1); each further comprising a kickout support rod and a rod-receiving slot; the kickout support rod comprising a fixed rod end and a free rod end (Fig C- Examiner annotated Fig 8 of Wang below); the rod-receiving slot laterally traversing into the distal support bar (Fig A of Zhou shown above and Fig C-Examiner annotated fig 8 of Wang below, when modifying Zhou, the rod-receiving slot is in the area of the distal support bars and they receive the support rods); the fixed rod end being positioned within the rod-receiving slot (Fig 1 of Wang); and the fixed rod end being hingedly connected to the distal support bar (Fig A of Zhou shown above and Fig C-Examiner annotated Fig 8 of Wang below, when modifying Zhou, the fixed end of the support rod is connected to the distal support bars);
Fig C- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Wang
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Zhou and Wang before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the luggage of Zhou to include support rods, as taught by Wang, to advantageously add support for items placed on the distal support frame.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view US Publication 2009/0095762 by Jung (Here forth “Jung”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou as modified does not expressly discloses the following Limitations:
Limitation B: rear kick stand
Jung discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation B, comprising: at least one rear kick stand (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung below); the luggage body further comprising at least one rear stand-receiving slot (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung below); the at least one rear kick stand comprising a rear fixed stand end and a rear free stand end (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung below); the at least one rear stand-receiving slot traversing from the rear side into the luggage body (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung below); the at least one rear stand-receiving slot being positioned adjacent to the bottom side (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung below); the rear fixed stand end being positioned within the at least one rear stand-receiving slot (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung below); and the rear fixed stand end being hingedly connected to the luggage body (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung below).
Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Zhou and Jung before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the luggage of Zhou to include a rear kick stand, as taught by Jung, to advantageously support the luggage body to adjust the luggage to stand in a way that is convenient to the user.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou further discloses the following Limitations:
Limitation C: front kick stand
Jung discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation C, comprising: at least one front kick stand; the luggage body further comprising at least one front stand-receiving slot (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung above); the at least one front kick stand comprising a front fixed stand end and a front free stand end (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung above); the at least one front stand-receiving slot traversing from the front side into the luggage body (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung above); the at least one front stand-receiving slot being centrally positioned in between the top side and the bottom side (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung above); the front fixed stand end being positioned within the at least one front stand-receiving slot (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung above); and the front fixed stand end being hingedly connected to the luggage body (Fig D- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Jung above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Zhou and Jung before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the luggage of Zhou to include a rear kick stand, as taught by Jung, to advantageously support the luggage body to adjust the luggage to stand in a way that is convenient to the user.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view US Publication 2012/0126500 by Rankin (Here forth “Rankin”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation D: foot stand and receiving slot
Rankin discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation D, comprising: a deployable foot stand; the luggage body further comprising a stand-receiving slot (Fig E- Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Rankin below); the stand-receiving slot being centered on the bottom side (Fig E- Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Rankin below), adjacent to the front side (Fig E- Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Rankin); the stand-receiving slot traversing from the bottom side into the luggage body (Fig E- Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Rankin below); and the deployable foot stand being mounted into the stand-receiving slot (Fig E- Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Rankin below).
Fig E- Examiner annotated Fig 7 of Rankin
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Zhou and Rankin before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the luggage of Zhou to include a foot stand that is retractable within a stand receiving slot, as taught by Rankin, to advantageously support the luggage body to protect the bottom when necessary.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view US Patent 11140958 issued to Baldwin (Here forth “Baldwin”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou as modified does not expressly disclose the following limitations:
Limitation E: first and second tray portions
Baldwin discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation E: the laptop tray comprising a first tray portion and a second tray portion; the first tray portion and the second tray portion being telescopically engaged to each other; the first clamp being attached onto the first tray portion, offset from the second tray portion; and the second clamp being attached onto the second tray portion, offset from the first tray portion (Fig 1-2 of Baldwin, the swivel tray 40 is the laptop tray and includes a first portion 40b and second portion 40c that are telescopically engaged; When modifying Zhou, the second clamp is attached onto the first tray portion and is offset from the second tray portion when the second portion 40c is extended, the second claim is attached onto the second tray indirectly as the second tray portion is attached to the first tray portion, and the tray is attached to the first and second clamps of the modified Zhou).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Zhou and Baldwin before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the luggage of Zhou to include telescopically engaging first and second tray portions, as taught by Rankin, to advantageously add more table space for a larger laptop.
Regarding claim 20, Zhou does not expressly disclose the following Limitations
Limitation F: a portable power source
Baldwin disclose a similar Luggage that teaches Limitation F, comprising: a portable power source (Fig F- Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Baldwin and Abstract of Baldwin below, there is a battery 33 that is the power source within the luggage); at least one charging port (Fig 5 and Fig F- Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Baldwin below, Charging socket 33 is the charging port); the portable power source being mounted within the luggage body (Fig F-Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Baldwin below, the power source/battery 33 is mounted within the luggage body 10); the at least one charging port being laterally integrated into the luggage body (Fig F-Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Baldwin below, the power charging port/charging socket 30 is mounted within the luggage body 10); and the at least one charging port being electrically connected to the portable power source (Fig F-Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Baldwin below, the power source/battery 33 connected to the charging socket to allow items to be charged when plugged into the charging port/charging socket 30).
Fig F- Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Baldwin
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Zhou and Baldwin before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the luggage of Zhou to a power source and charging port, as taught by Baldwin, to advantageously charge items while traveling.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view Canadian Publication CA2540900 by Shilling (Here forth “Shilling”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou as modified does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation G: first and second retractable handles connected to the laptop table
Shilling discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation G, comprising: a first retractable handle (Fig 11 of Shilling, handle 23); a second retractable handle (Fig 11 of Shilling, handle 21); the first retractable handle being peripherally connected to the laptop tray (Fig 11 of Shilling, handle 23); and the second retractable handle being peripherally connected to the laptop tray, opposite to the first tray (Fig 11 of Shilling, handle 23, is located in the peripheral area of the table).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Zhou and Shilling before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the luggage of Zhou to include a first and second retractable handles being connected to the tray table as taught by Shilling, to advantageously aid the user in manipulating the tray.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the application was filed to have the handle attached to the periphery of the trays , since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Claim 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view US Publication 2018/0242702 by Shah (Here forth “Shah”).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou as modified does not expressly disclose the following limitations:
Limitation H: retractable caster wheels
Shah discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation H, comprising: a plurality of caster wheels (Fig G-Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Shah below); the plurality of caster wheels being peripherally distributed around the bottom side ( Fig 14 of Zhou, the wheels can be seen distributed peripherally, when modified with Shah, these wheels can be retracted while being peripherally distributed); and each of the plurality of wheels being externally mounted onto the bottom side (Fig G- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Shah below, the plurality of caster wheels is a plurality of retractable caster wheels).
Fig G- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Shah
Regarding claim 19, Zhou as modified does not expressly disclose the following Limitations, wherein the plurality of caster wheels is a plurality of retractable caster wheels (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 18; Fig H- Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Shah above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, Zhou as modified does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation H: comprising: a first light source; a second light source; the first light source being integrated into the first retractable handle; and the second light source being integrated into the second retractable handle
Zhou as modified does not expressly disclose Limitation H, a first light source; a second light source; the first light source being integrated into the first retractable handle; and the second light source being integrated into the second retractable handle
Regarding claim 17, Zhou further discloses comprising: a tray-storing pocket (Fig B- Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Zhou above); the tray-storing pocket being integrated into the luggage body (Fig B- Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Zhou above), [Not taught: adjacent to the front panel].
Zhou does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation I: the tray-storing pocket is adjacent to the front panel
Zhou does not expressly disclose Limitation I, the tray-storing pocket is adjacent to the front panel
Conclusion
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733