DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 17, line 16, change “the second verification is moved” to –the second verification contact is moved--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Souville et al. (US 4090761 A).
In regard to claim 1, Souville et al. discloses an electrical connector comprising:
a housing 1 having walls extending between a mating end and a terminating end, the mating end configured to be mated to a mating electrical connector 5;
contacts 21 held by the housing 1, each contact 21 extending between a mating end and a terminating end, the mating end of the contact configured to be mated to a mating contact 22 of the mating electrical connector 5;
a securing element 2 configured to be securely coupled to a mating securing element 6 of the mating electrical connector 5 when the housing 1 is fully mated to the mating electrical connector 5; and
a mated verification switch coupled to the housing 1, the mated verification switch including a first verification contact 13b and a second verification contact 13a both coupled to the housing 1, the second verification contact 13a configured to be physically separated from the first verification contact 13b prior to the housing 1 being fully mated to the mating electrical connector 5, the second verification contact 13a configured to engage the first verification contact 13b when the housing 1 is fully mated to the mating electrical connector 5 to send a verification signal through the mated verification switch indicative of the electrical connector being mated with the mating electrical connector.
In regard to claim 2, Souville et al. discloses the second verification contact 13a is movable between an open position and a closed position, the second verification contact 13a configured to be physically separated from the first verification contact 13b in the open position, the second verification contact 13a configured to engage the first verification contact 13b in the closed position to send the verification signal through the mated verification switch.
In regard to claim 3, Souville et al. discloses the mated verification switch forms a mated verification circuit in the closed position to send the verification signal.
In regard to claim 6, Souville et al. discloses the first verification contact 13b includes a mating portion, the second verification contact 13a including a connecting tab configured to engage the mating portion of the first verification contact to electrically connect the first and second verification contacts to send the verification signal through the mated verification switch.
In regard to claim 7, Souville et al. discloses the second verification contact 13a is configured to engage the first verification contact 13b only after the securing element 2 is securely coupled to the mating securing element 6 of the mating electrical connector 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Souville et al..
In regard to claim 9, Souville et al. does not disclose that the first and second verification contacts are stamped and formed contacts.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing an electrical connector which include stamped/formed contacts are well known and expected in the art.
In regard to claim 10, Souville et al. does not disclose the first and second verification contacts include plated plastic conductors.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing an electrical connector having contacts which include plated plastic conductors are well known and expected in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Claims 4, 5, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In regard to claim 4, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest the second verification contact is configured to be moved into contact with the first verification contact by interference with the mating electrical connector. In regard to claim 5, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest
the first verification contact and the second verification contact extending into the cavity of the housing to interface with the mating electrical connector. In regard to claim 8, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest the second verification contact is configured to interface with the mating securing element of the mating electrical connector when the mating securing element is securely coupled to the securing element to engage the first verification contact. In regard to claim 11, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest the second verification contact is configured to interface with the mating securing element of the mating electrical connector when the mating securing element is securely coupled to the securing element to engage the first verification contact. In regard to claim 17, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest the second verification is moved to the closed position by interference with the plug connector when the plug connector is mated to the header connector.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
6/26/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834