Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed on 06/13/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 11 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). The limitations in claim 11 are already presented in the independent claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et. al. (US Pub. No. 20180293445 A1).
As per claim 1, Gao teaches “A method for estimating a distance between a motor vehicle and an external object, the motor vehicle being equipped with at least one camera configured to capture digital images in a capture field outside the motor vehicle, the vehicle comprising an onboard calculation device adapted to process said captured digital images and calculate estimated characteristics of at least one external object located in said capture field, said estimated characteristics comprising, for each external object, first estimated-position information about said object in a coordinate system wherein said motor vehicle is also positioned, the method comprising the implementation, by a processor of said onboard calculation device:” (See paragraphs 80-88 and 62-70. “[0062] In exemplary embodiments, the object tracking system 10 receives sensor data through sensor devices of the sensor system 1028 including at least Radar, Lidar and Camera data capture devices 12a, 12b, 12c. The Lidar data capture device 12a can be considered a three-dimensional imaging device as it captures data concerning distance from the Lidar data capture device 12a to a reflecting object in for a large population of data points in a plane orthogonal to the distance direction away from the device 12a. Although Lidar data capture device 12a is exemplified herein for obtaining the three dimensional imaging data, other range finding scanners could be utilized such as Radar. The Lidar device 12a may be mounted to a vehicle such as on the roof. The cameras 12c usually comprises multiple cameras 12c distributed around the vehicle. The cameras 12c may be sufficiently distributed to allow 360° surround view.” “[0068] In exemplary embodiments, the object identification module 18a that operates on three-dimensional imaging data 14a, e.g. Lidar data, is configured to establish three-dimensional bounding boxes 20a for identified objects. The bounding boxes 20a may be constituted by a data structure including three-dimensional position coordinates in the real world (as opposed to image space), e.g. x, y and z coordinates (x being horizontal position, y being vertical position and z being distance away from vehicle or Lidar device 12a) relative to the vehicle or the Lidar device 12a, as well as three-dimensional dimensions for the bounding box such as length, width and height…” See also paragraph 50. The lidar distance is considered as the first position. Gao)
“for each external object, providing said characteristics estimated on the basis of the captured digital images as an input for a parameterized calculation engine, trained by machine learning in a prior learning phase, said calculation engine being configured to provide second corrected-position information about said external object, and”
(See paragraphs 76-88 and 67-75 “[0080] In embodiments, the output of the bounding box regression performed by the visual classification sub-module 32 represents truer dimension in two-dimensional image space. However, in embodiments, the tracking system 42 is configured to perform object tracking in real three-dimensional space. Accordingly, a first 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 36 is configured to transform the adjusted two-dimensional bounding boxes 34a originating from the three-dimensional imaging data 14a to three-dimensional bounding boxes 40a. The first 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 36 is configured to take as an input distance data of the object from the Lidar device 12a, which can be ascertained from the three-dimensional bounding box data 20a (the z coordinate thereof). Further, intrinsic and extrinsic calibration data 22 of the camera 12c can be used as a further input. From the distance data and the calibration data, a reverse projection transformation can be performed. That is, the transformation performed by the registration and 3D to 2D sub-modules 24, 26, whereby object tracking data 20a in three-dimensions is converted to coordinates and dimension in two-dimensional image space, is reversed. That is, the first 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 36 is configured to transform the adjusted or corrected object data 34a, which includes corrected or adjusted dimensions, to corrected object data 40a, which includes location and/or dimensions such as height and/or width and/or length, of the object in three-dimensional space. The corrected data 40a on object geometry is output to the tracking system 42 as feedback to update its information of an object of interest. The tracking system 42 may be part of the classification and segmentation module 1076 described above with respect to FIG. 3. The first 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 36 includes a processor and computer readable instructions for executing the dimension transformation process as well as directing receiving of two-dimensional object data 34a and outputting three-dimensional object data 34a.” “[0069] In exemplary embodiments, the object tracking system 10 includes a registration sub-module 24, a 3 dimension to 2 dimensions (3D to 2D) transformation module 26, a visual classification sub-module 32 and first and second 2D to 3D sub-modules 36, 38 as part of an adjustment module 50… The object tracking system 10 includes a neural network engine that has been trained for the objects of interest to vehicles, in one embodiment, that includes trained data, trained processes in the form of computer program instructions and a processor for executing those instructions.” )
“estimating a distance between the motor vehicle and the external object as a function of a current position of the motor vehicle and said second corrected-position information,” (See paragraphs 77-88. “[0085] The second 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 38 is configured to project at least part of the bounding boxes 34b at their respect locations in the two dimensional image data 14b into three dimensional image space of the height map data 52. The second 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 38 is configured to determine an intersection of the projection with the ground based on height map data 52. From the intersected height map data 52, e.g. tiles thereof, a three-dimensional location of the bounding boxes 34b, and thus the corresponding objects, is able to be estimated. In an exemplary embodiment, a vertical bottom of the bounding boxes 34b is projected to find the corresponding point in the height map data 52, thereby allowing approximate distance in three-dimensional space from the camera 12c to be determined. The projection performed by the second 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 38 may make use of a ray tracing algorithm. Further, in order to accurately project two dimensional data into the three-dimensional height map data, not only is the vehicle and camera pose used based on GPS or other localization data and predetermined dimensional information, but also calibration data 22 concerning intrinsic and extrinsic calibration of the camera 12c, which provides field of view information. Camera pose can be ascertained from predetermined camera pose data 54, which may be stored on data storage device 1032 and which may be incorporated in the calibration data 22. A projection algorithm, e.g. based on ray tracing, uses the camera pose data 54 and camera calibration data 22 to intersect the ray from the bounding boxes 34b in the camera image data 14b into the height map data 52. Based on this projection, the second 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 38 calculates a relative distance between the vehicle and detected objects represented by the bounding boxes 34b.” See also paragraph 68 which shows that distance from the vehicle is always measured. See also “0082] The second 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 38 is configured to receive the two-dimensional adjusted object data 34b, which is constituted by bounding boxes 34b in embodiments and to transform two-dimensional adjusted object data 34b to three-dimensional adjusted object data 40b, e.g. three-dimensional adjusted bounding boxes 40b. The second 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 38 is configured to estimate pose of the two-dimensional adjusted object data 34b using a trained neural network, which may be the same neural network as described above with reference to the visual classification sub-module 32, thereby determining three-dimensional dimensions for the three-dimensional bounding boxes 40b… That is, three-dimensional location of an object is determined based on the two dimensional image data 14b and the predetermined height map data 52 according to the systems and methods described further below, particularly with respect to FIG. 6. For distance, the 2D to 3D transformation module 38 is configured to implement geometric calculations using pre-mapped height map data 52. The height map data 52 allows a distance away from the vehicle to be estimated based on the two-dimensional adjusted bounding box 34b.” Gao)
“and wherein, in the prior learning phase, machine learning is implemented of the values of the parameters of said calculation engine, taking into account, for each external object, the characteristics of said external object estimated on the basis of the captured digital images and reference points obtained by at least one remote detection sensor.” (See paragraphs 69-85. “[0069]… In particular, the adjustment module 50 is configured to receive the bounding boxes 20a, 20b, to run a neural network processing engine using the two-dimensional imaging data 14b in order to carry out bounding box regression, to thereby more accurately represent the size and dimension of the bounding boxes 20a, 20b to the size and position of the object in the two-dimensional imaging data 14b. The object tracking system 10 includes a neural network engine that has been trained for the objects of interest to vehicles, in one embodiment, that includes trained data, trained processes in the form of computer program instructions and a processor for executing those instructions. Such objects of interest that form part of the training of the neural network engine include pedestrians, street signs, vehicles, buildings, street lighting, etc. Further, the computer program instructions are operable to perform the bounding box regression process.” The lidar sensor gives out the reference points as seen on paragraph 77 “[0077] The bounding box regression performed by the visual classification sub-module is configured to receive two dimensional imaging data 14b and bounding boxes 30a, 30b within the two dimensional imaging data 14b. The bounding box regression runs a neural network on the bounding boxes 30a, 30b within the two dimensional imaging data 14b. The neural network outputs classifications and refined bounding boxes that more tightly fit the geometry of the object being classified. For example, taking a Lidar image of a bumper of a distant car, as an exemplary object, the object tracking system 10, through the registration sub-module 24 and the 3D to 2D transformation sub-module 26, is able to determine location and dimensions of the bumper as a region proposal 30a. However, the region proposal 30a is actually smaller in one or more dimensions than the actual bumper, possibly because of Lidar angle of incidence, poor reflectivity, etc. By providing the comparatively rough region proposal 30a to the visual classification sub-module 32, the neural network analyses the two-dimensional image data 14b and is able to determine upon truer dimensions of the bumper in the image, which are, for example, wider and taller. The visual classification sub-module 32 is configured to output adjusted bounding boxes 34a having adjusted dimensions. Not only can object dimensions be more truly determined based on the two dimensional imaging data 14b, but incorrectly divided objects, determined based on three dimensional imaging data 14a, can be corrected…” Gao)
Claim 10 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1. (See also paragraphs 62-65).
Claim 11 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1.
As per claim 2, Gao teaches “The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one remote detection sensor providing said reference points is a LiDAR sensor.” (See paragraphs 60-68 and 71-83. “[0077]… The neural network outputs classifications and refined bounding boxes that more tightly fit the geometry of the object being classified. For example, taking a Lidar image of a bumper of a distant car, as an exemplary object, the object tracking system 10, through the registration sub-module 24 and the 3D to 2D transformation sub-module 26, is able to determine location and dimensions of the bumper as a region proposal 30a. However, the region proposal 30a is actually smaller in one or more dimensions than the actual bumper, possibly because of Lidar angle of incidence, poor reflectivity, etc. By providing the comparatively rough region proposal 30a to the visual classification sub-module 32, the neural network analyses the two-dimensional image data 14b and is able to determine upon truer dimensions of the bumper in the image, which are, for example, wider and taller. The visual classification sub-module 32 is configured to output adjusted bounding boxes 34a having adjusted dimensions… ” Gao)
As per claim 3, Gao teaches “The method according to claim 1, the motor vehicle being equipped with at least one radar sensor providing instantaneous radar points, said instantaneous radar points being further provided as an input for said calculation engine.” (See paragraphs 60-65. “[0062] In exemplary embodiments, the object tracking system 10 receives sensor data through sensor devices of the sensor system 1028 including at least Radar, Lidar and Camera data capture devices 12a, 12b, 12c. The Lidar data capture device 12a can be considered a three-dimensional imaging device as it captures data concerning distance from the Lidar data capture device 12a to a reflecting object in for a large population of data points in a plane orthogonal to the distance direction away from the device 12a. Although Lidar data capture device 12a is exemplified herein for obtaining the three dimensional imaging data, other range finding scanners could be utilized such as Radar. The Lidar device 12a may be mounted to a vehicle such as on the roof. The cameras 12c usually comprises multiple cameras 12c distributed around the vehicle. The cameras 12c may be sufficiently distributed to allow 360° surround view.” See also paragraphs 56-65. “[0056] In various embodiments, the sensor fusion system 1074 synthesizes and processes sensor data and predicts the presence, location, classification, and/or path of objects and features of the environment of the vehicle 1010. In various embodiments, the sensor fusion system 1074 can incorporate information from multiple sensors, including but not limited to cameras, lidars, radars, and/or any number of other types of sensors.” “[0057] The positioning system 1076 processes sensor data along with other data to determine a position (e.g., a local position relative to a map, an exact position relative to lane of a road, vehicle heading, velocity, etc.) of the vehicle 1010 relative to the environment… ” See also paragraphs 77-83, 2 and 65-77. See also fig. 4. Gao)
As pr claim 12, Gao teaches “A non-transitory, computer-readable medium having stored thereon software instructions which, when executed by a programmable electronic device, implement the method for estimating a distance between a motor vehicle and an external object according to claim 1.” (See paragraphs 43-44, 33 and 62-69. Ren)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Himanshu et. al. (Dwivedi, Himanshu, et al. "Speed detection software." Int. J. Eng. Res. Tech 10.3 (2021): 599-607.).
As per claim 4, Gao already teaches “The method according to claim 1, wherein the machine learning of the values of the parameters of the calculation engine also takes into account…”, however, Gao does not completely teach “a speed of movement of said external object, and wherein the calculation engine takes as an input an instantaneous speed of said external object.”
Himanshu teaches “a speed of movement of said external object, and wherein the calculation engine takes as an input an instantaneous speed of said external object.” (See page 4 column 1 paragraphs 1-4 “The basic idea of this proposal is to calculate the speed of vehicles in video with respect to frame. At each frame we will detect the position of the object and track it by comparing it to the position of the same in the previous frame. At the same time we will calculate the speed of the vehicle by estimating the rate of change of position in two corresponding frames… Then we will use both RCNN and Fast RCNN algorithms one by one to see the difference in the output produced by the algorithms in our model. In Fast RCNN the complete image is processed at one go to detect the objects and create a convolution network map for the complete image. Then in the SVM classifier the detected objects are classified into different categories…” See also page 6 column 2 paragraph 2 “9. We can now calculate the difference in position of an object's centroid or we can say the object as a whole of which we are taking the centroid as reference and calculate their difference. Then taking it with respect to time we can approximate the change in speed at different instants of time as if the speed is increasing or decreasing during different instants of time.” See page 7 comparison table. “In our proposal we are going to propose to instantaneous calculate speed of vehicles by recording the position of objects in each frame and then calculating the rate of change in their position between consecutive frames.” See also all of page 9 along with the conclusion. Himanshu )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Himanshu to take into account the speed and input instantaneous speed when using the calculation engine. The modification would have been motivated by the desire to improve detection results, save money, and improve speeding detection along with promoting better driver behavior for better safety according to the law, it also improves accuracy, therefore it is an improvement, as suggested by Himanshu (See page 8 conclusion “…Thus it becomes the first concept of our proposal that we combine all the special features of the different algorithms being introduced into a single algorithm which will help each other to remove their flaws and generate much better results as compared to the results obtained by different algorithms separately from each other Next comes the matter that very less research on work has been done regarding the calculation of speed. In all the mentioned researches the average speed between the two endpoints of the region under the vision of camera or alternatively between the two timestamps (the extreme of the period in which the video being recorded) has been calculated once the object has been determined but that doesn’t serve the purpose of catching the culprit who overspeeds the vehicle or breaks the laws because at present time everyone is aware of this strategy to install cameras at different locations in an area for the mentioned purpose thus many of them try to fool of the system at the instant they come under the vision of camera. In our algorithm we are focusing on speed changes between consecutive frames of video being recorded especially at the moment they enter or leave the region comes under the vision of software. Thus overall trying to observe the complete behaviour of the driver. Thus proves more useful as compared to the currently existing systems.” See also page 9 column 1 paragraph 1 “Due to such a capability of the software the hassle to install unlimited cameras or softwares at different locations in any specific area will be reduced to install a few only at required locations thus saving money and efforts.” See also page 7 column 1 paragraph 1 “Thus in the future this proposal can be extended further to more accurately detect and observe the behaviour of the driver and whatever object is moving to predict its actual activities with respect to speed with which it is actually moving.” Himanshu)
As per claim 5, Gao in view of Himanshu already teaches “The method according to claim 4, wherein the instantaneous speed of said external object is calculated on the basis of said captured digital images.” (See page 4 column 1 paragraphs 1-4 “The basic idea of this proposal is to calculate the speed of vehicles in video with respect to frame. At each frame we will detect the position of the object and track it by comparing it to the position of the same in the previous frame. At the same time we will calculate the speed of the vehicle by estimating the rate of change of position in two corresponding frames… See page 7 comparison table. “In our proposal we are going to propose to instantaneous calculate speed of vehicles by recording the position of objects in each frame and then calculating the rate of change in their position between consecutive frames.” See also page 7 column 1 paragraph 1. Himanshu)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Himanshu and Nezah et. al. (Balal, Nezah, et al. "Detection of low RCS supersonic flying targets with a high-resolution MMW radar." Sensors 20.11 (2020): 3284. (Year: 2020))
As per claim 6, Gao in view of Himanshu teaches already teaches “The method according to claim 4, wherein the instantaneous speed of said external object is obtained on the basis”, however Gao in view of Himanshu does not teach “the instantaneous speed of said external object is obtained on the basis of radar points provided by at least one onboard radar sensor.”
Nezah teaches “the instantaneous speed of said external object is obtained on the basis of radar points provided by at least one onboard radar sensor.” (See page 8 paragraph 1 “Figure 13 shows the detected IF signal received by the radar when measuring the instantaneous speed of a fired bullet.” See also page 10 paragraphs 3-5 “We demonstrate this approach for the detection of various types of fired bullet flying in supersonic velocities. It was demonstrated that the moving object’s velocity, as well as its drag constant, can be evaluated by tracking its instantaneous speed during time of flight. Furthermore, a comparison between the experimental drag constant obtained from the radar and the theoretical drag constant was made, which showed a high correlation. Estimating the drag constant can contribute to understanding the geometry and mass of a small supersonic moving target. This detection technique enables tracking and identifying the sources of gunshots, determining the instantaneous velocity of fast targets, and analyzing the ballistic movement of an object.” Nezah)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Himanshu to use a radar for measuring the instantaneous speed. The modification would have been motivated by the desire to use less expensive equipment, save money, reduce equipment size to save space, all while maintaining high resolution detection, therefore it is an improvement, as suggested by Nezah (See page 1 abstract and Introduction “The Doppler frequency, which is directly linked to the relative speed between the moving object and the radar, can be measured at a relatively low sampling rate, and therefore, no unique or expensive equipment is required for such measurements. Measuring the instantaneous Doppler frequency enables one to calculate the instantaneous velocity of an object at a high resolution.” See also pages 9-10 conclusion, In the conclusion it mentions “Using a radar operating at an extremely high frequency band has advantages over other sensors due to its directivity and high-resolution detection features. The short wavelength facilitates using small aperture antennas and reduces equipment size” Nezah)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Stenborg et. al. (US Pub. No. 20180204347 A1)
As per claim 7, Gao teaches “The method according to claim 1, wherein said estimated characteristics further comprise, for each external object, a classification of said external object into a class of objects from among… said classification being provided as an input for said calculation engine.” (See paragraph 105 “[0105] In step 92, three dimensional dimensions of the objects corresponding to the object data 34b are received from the visual classification sub-module 32 as has been described heretofore. These dimensions from the visual classification sub-module are derived from a neural network classification process on the two-dimensional object data 20b.” See also paragraphs 13-14 “[0013] In embodiments, a visual classification module runs a neural network to classify the object and determines dimensions of the object based on the classification. The tracking module tracks the object using the location of the object and the dimensions of the object…” See also paragraphs 56-58 and 76. Gao), however Gao does not teach “a plurality of predetermined classes”
Stenborg teaches “a plurality of predetermined classes” (See paragraph 10 “0010] According to a first aspect of the disclosure, there is provided a method for determining a location of a vehicle, the method comprising acquiring a two-dimensional image, 2D-image, using a vehicle-based camera, the image depicting a portion of the vehicle surroundings; classifying a plurality of pixels in the image such that each classified pixel belong to one class out of a predetermined set of classes, thereby forming a classified 2D-image, wherein the classification is performed by means of a learning algorithm. Next, the method comprises matching the classified 2D-image with a three dimensional map, 3D-map, comprising a plurality of geometric objects, each geometric object belonging to one class out of the predetermined set of classes, by comparing a classification of a geometric object in the 3D-map, for a possible vehicle location,” See also paragraphs 15, 20, 28 and 30. Stenborg )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Stenborg to classify objects based on predetermined classes in the calculation engine. The modification would have been motivated by the desire to have increased efficiency and higher accuracy, along with being more time efficient and better suited localization, therefore it is an improvement, as suggested by Stenborg (See paragraphs 14-15 “[0015] Accordingly, the described method provides a method for vehicle localization with increased efficiency and with high accuracy by using object and pixel classification.” See paragraphs 30 “[0030] According to one embodiment of the disclosure the predetermined set of classes are determined by means of the learning algorithm. The set of classes have then been determined in a learning stage of the learning algorithm, which for example may be performed when creating the 3D-map. By allowing the learning algorithm to define the classes, it may be possible to reach a definition of classes which is more suitable for localization compared to classes defined by humans. Moreover, an unsupervised machine learning algorithm can be much more time-efficient if the need for human interaction during the learning process is reduced or eliminated.” Stenborg)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Von et. al. (US Pub. No. 20230033314 A1 )
As per claim 8, Gao teaches “The method according to claim 1, wherein the estimated characteristics comprise, for a detected external object, a rectangular frame wherein said external object is located, said first estimated-position information comprising coordinates in said coordinate system of at least two corners of said rectangular frame.” (See paragraph 68 “[0068] In exemplary embodiments, the object identification module 18a that operates on three-dimensional imaging data 14a, e.g. Lidar data, is configured to establish three-dimensional bounding boxes 20a for identified objects. The bounding boxes 20a may be constituted by a data structure including three-dimensional position coordinates in the real world (as opposed to image space), e.g. x, y and z coordinates (x being horizontal position, y being vertical position and z being distance away from vehicle or Lidar device 12a) relative to the vehicle or the Lidar device 12a, as well as three-dimensional dimensions for the bounding box such as length, width and height. The position data for the bounding boxes 20a may locate a center of the bounding box 20a. The bounding boxes 20b derived from the two-dimensional imaging data 14b may be constituted by a data structure identifying location and dimensions of the of the bounding boxes 20b. For example, the bounding boxes 20b can be identified by center point location in x and y coordinates (x being horizontal position, y being vertical position) relative to real space and height and width dimensions.” Gao), however Gao does not teach “least two corners of said rectangular frame.”
Von teaches “least two corners of said rectangular frame.” (See paragraph 22 “[0022] One modification involves the object classifier using the object data as respective object characteristics to indicate a bounding box and/or an object type… A bounding box can be defined two-dimensionally or three-dimensionally, according to the resulting sensor coordinate system, for example as a rectangle or a cuboid. The object type which is recognized can be established by the choice of the object classifier. One may use an object classifier of the prior art. A distinction can be drawn between road users on the one hand and stationary objects on the other hand. The other familiar classifications (distinguishing between vehicle, pedestrian, bicycle, traffic light, traffic sign, lane marking, roadway pavement, arrows on the roadway) can also be carried out by an object classifier. A bounding box can be defined by coordinates of two or three corners, in the case of a two-dimensional bounding box, for example the upper left and lower right corner.” Von)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Von to detect the coordinates of at least two corners of a bounding box. The modification would have been motivated by the desire to correctly associate and distinguish individual objects and successive objects, as well as benefitting computing time, therefore it is an improvement, as suggested by Von (See paragraphs 2, 14, 22 and 24 “In the manner described, an indicator of an object relation can already be made from an individual image, for example from the relative arrangement, because for example one individual object is higher or situated with a larger y-coordinate than another individual object, and/or a size ratio of the bounding boxes. An individual object of a given object type (such as a vehicle) which is further away has a smaller bounding box than an individual object of the same object type which is closer to the motor vehicle. It can also be recognized by an evaluation of coordinates of the bounding boxes whether two individual objects are situated in a pairwise object relation alongside each other. By “predecessor” and “successor” is meant that that a motor vehicle along a direction of travel will at first reach the predecessor and then the successor. The indicated relation statements or relation types have the advantage of making possible already an inference as to the driving situation by classifying of individual objects and these object relations, for example, the recognition of a construction site barricade, because similar individual objects in the form of signal signs or beacons are recognized and each time the object relation “is the successor of” is recognized, so that a series of consecutive individual objects with a signaling nature is recognized and this can then be recognized as a temporary road limitation in the region of the construction site, for example. This can be recognized already with the aid of one individual image or by aggregated object relations composed of multiple consecutively received individual images, without needing to form an environment map for this. A nondirectional relation statement can indicate, e.g.: “A belongs to the same access road as B”. A special advantage of the indicated method is its involvement of the object environment even to including all of the individual image in the relation recognition, so that even cases which are not distinctly deducible from the geometrical relations can be correctly associated. One example of this is the including of lane arrows in tight curves… ” See also paragraphs 12 “[0012] In order to determine relationships between the individual objects with little demand for computing resources, the recognition of object relations between individual objects relevant for driving functions is done already on the basis of the individual images, based on relation features detected in the individual images, such as a geometrical relation. This is less complex than the recognition of an overall nature of the environment in a situation map, so that benefits also accrue for the required computing time and the volumes of data.” Von)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Von and Ren et. al. (US Pub. No. 20230319218 A1)
As per claim 9, Gao in view of Von teaches “The method according to claim 8, wherein the prior learning phase comprises, for at least one vehicle and at least one object external to said vehicle, the receipt of learning data comprising estimated characteristics of the external object and a plurality of points obtained by at least one onboard remote detection sensor, and then the extraction, from the plurality of remote detection points, of at least one reference point associated with said external object, said reference point being, for a given external object…” (See paragraph 69 “[0069]… The adjustment module 50 is configured to receive the bounding boxes 20a, 20b in both three dimensional and two-dimensional form as region proposals, and to adjust the position and/or dimensions of the regional proposals, in the form of first bounding boxes 20a, 20b, based on the two-dimensional imaging data 14b obtained from the cameras 12c. In particular, the adjustment module 50 is configured to receive the bounding boxes 20a, 20b, to run a neural network processing engine using the two-dimensional imaging data 14b in order to carry out bounding box regression, to thereby more accurately represent the size and dimension of the bounding boxes 20a, 20b to the size and position of the object in the two-dimensional imaging data 14b. The object tracking system 10 includes a neural network engine that has been trained for the objects of interest to vehicles, in one embodiment, that includes trained data, trained processes in the form of computer program instructions and a processor for executing those instructions. Such objects of interest that form part of the training of the neural network engine include pedestrians, street signs, vehicles, buildings, street lighting, etc. Further, the computer program instructions are operable to perform the bounding box regression process.” See also paragraph 77, it uses the location/coordinate obtained from the Lidar to adjust the geometry through a neural network “[0077] The bounding box regression performed by the visual classification sub-module is configured to receive two dimensional imaging data 14b and bounding boxes 30a, 30b within the two dimensional imaging data 14b. The bounding box regression runs a neural network on the bounding boxes 30a, 30b within the two dimensional imaging data 14b. The neural network outputs classifications and refined bounding boxes that more tightly fit the geometry of the object being classified. For example, taking a Lidar image of a bumper of a distant car, as an exemplary object, the object tracking system 10, through the registration sub-module 24 and the 3D to 2D transformation sub-module 26, is able to determine location and dimensions of the bumper as a region proposal 30a. However, the region proposal 30a is actually smaller in one or more dimensions than the actual bumper, possibly because of Lidar angle of incidence, poor reflectivity, etc. By providing the comparatively rough region proposal 30a to the visual classification sub-module 32, the neural network analyses the two-dimensional image data 14b and is able to determine upon truer dimensions of the bumper in the image, which are, for example, wider and taller. The visual classification sub-module 32 is configured to output adjusted bounding boxes 34a having adjusted dimensions… ” See also paragraphs 62-65. “[0065]… In particular, Lidar images are used to provide a first estimate of position and dimension of objects of interest in a two dimensional camera image, and the two dimensional camera image is used to refine our estimation of the object's geometry (e.g. position and dimensions).” See also paragraphs 80-82 “[0080]… The first 2D to 3D transformation sub-module 36 is configured to take as an input distance data of the object from the Lidar device 12a, which can be ascertained from the three-dimensional bounding box data 20a (the z coordinate thereof). Further, intrinsic and extrinsic calibration data 22 of the camera 12c can be used as a further input.” Gao), however Gao does not teach “…the closest remote detection point, according to a chosen metric, of said vehicle and of a corner of the frame representing said external object.”
Ren teaches “at least one reference point associated with said external object, said reference point being, for a given external object…the closest remote detection point, according to a chosen metric, of said vehicle and of a corner of the frame representing said external object.” (See paragraphs 187-190 and 75-76. “[0076] Generally, distances to surrounding objects may be obtained or determined in various ways. In some embodiments, 3D object detection is performed (e.g., by processing sensor data) and/or a representation of detected 3D objects (e.g., 3D cuboids in rig coordinates) is accessed. For example, 2D bounding boxes and/or 3D cuboids may be predicted from image data (e.g., fisheye images), LiDAR or RADAR detections, and/or other sensor data using one or more machine learning models. As such, distances between the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle center) and one or more representative point(s) of the detected objects (e.g., a closest point that belongs to each detected object, a corner or point on an edge of a 3D bounding box of each detected object, the average location of N closest corners or edges of a 3D bounding box of each detected object) may be computed from predicted and/or sensed locations. Additionally or alternatively, sensor data such as a LiDAR or RADAR point cloud representing detected objects may be projected into a 2D top-down occupancy grid or 3D top-down occupancy grid (e.g., a height map storing projected or assumed heights), and 2D or 3D distances to detected objects may be computed from the 2D or 3D occupancy grid. Generally, any suitable ranging and/or depth/distance estimation technique may be used to determine distances to surrounding objects, such as computer vision and/or neural network techniques (e.g., 3D object detection, multi-view stereo, structure from motion, dense tracking and motion (DTAM), monocular depth estimation), measurements from depth sensor(s) (e.g., ultrasonic sensor(s), LiDAR sensor(s), RADAR sensor(s)), and/or otherwise.” Ren)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Von and Ren to utilize the closest point and a corner of the object as a reference used for training. The modification would have been motivated by the desire to reduce visual artifacts, represent useful visual information and for more safety operation of a vehicle, therefore it is an improvement, as suggested by Ren (See paragraph 85 “[0085] As such, image data (e.g., four fisheye images) may be projected onto the applicable 3D bowl, and a view of the projected image data may be rendered and presented on a monitor visible to occupants (e.g., driver) of the vehicle. Adapting the shape of a 3D bowl based on the distance to nearby detected objects serves to reduce scale magnification and gross distortion artifacts for what are often the most important objects, the closest ones to the vehicle. As such, the techniques described herein may be used to generate improved visualizations that reduce visual artifacts, better represent useful visual information in a surround view visualization, and promote safe operation of the vehicle.” See also paragraphs 99, 72 and 259. Ren )
Conclusion
/DYLAN JOHN MENDEZ MUNIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668