DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 13th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5 and 14 have been amended. Claim 21 has been newly added. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are now pending in the application, with claims 3-4, 6 withdrawn. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 5 and 14 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Comments
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8-10, 13-17, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suwa (US 20220386855 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Suwa discloses
An endoscope (endoscope 10, FIG. 1) comprising:
a handle (operation unit 2, FIG. 1) or interface;
an insertion cord (insertion portion 1, FIG. 1) extending distally from the handle or interface (depicted in FIG. 1); and
a fluid pathway system (endoscope tubular connector 30/ 300, FIGS. 1, 7-8) comprising:
a first flow-through part (distal end portion 50, FIG. 7) having a fluid conduit (through-hole 51, FIG. 7) therethrough and comprising a receiver portion (fitting part 52, FIG. 7);
a second flow-through part (tubular portion 40, FIG. 7) having a fluid conduit (through-hole 41, FIG. 7) therethrough and comprising a tubular connector portion (distal end of tubular portion 40, FIG. 7);
a retainer (connection joint 20G, FIG. 7) having an insertion end (fitting part 24, FIG. 7),
a reception end (step side 22, FIG. 7),
a wall (surface of connection joint 20G, FIG. 7) extending between the insertion end and the reception end (depicted in FIG. 7), and
annular sealing protrusions extending radially outward from an outer surface of the
wall (FIGS. 7-8 depict protrusions on outer surface of connection joint),
the insertion end of the retainer being inserted in the receiver portion of the first flow
through part (depicted in FIG. 7), and
the tubular connector portion of the second flow-through part being inserted in the retainer (depicted in FIG. 7),
the retainer being sized and configured to fluidly seal secure the second flow-through part to the first flow-through part without adhesives (depicted in FIGS. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 2, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the retainer also comprises annular sealing protrusions (plurality of convex portions 23G, FIG. 7) extending radially inward from an inner surface of the wall (depicted in FIGS. 7-8),
a constriction (through-hole 21, FIG. 7) at the insertion end (depicted in FIG. 7), and
a flange (step 22, FIG. 7) at the reception end (depicted in FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 5, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the first flow-through part is a suction valve (suction switch 2e, FIG. 1),
wherein the second flow-through part comprises a suction tube (suction tube 11, FIG. 1) fluidly sealed and connected to the receiver portion of the suction valve (FIG. 7, par. 41 disclose endoscope tubular connector is preferably usable for the suction tube, i.e. via tubular portion),
wherein the suction valve further comprises a second receiver portion (proximal portion of suction switch 2e, FIG. 1), and
wherein the endoscope further comprises a vacuum hose connector fluidly connected to the second receiver portion of the suction valve (FIG. 1, par. 23 disclose suction switch provides suction to suction tube, i.e. via an external device which is capable of being connected via a vacuum hose connector).
Regarding Claim 8, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the first flow-through part is a Y-connector (par. 37-38 disclose distal end portion forms the treatment tool channel 2d, which is a Y-shaped connector as depicted in FIG. 1), and
the second flow-through part is a suction tube (suction tube 11, FIG. 1; par. 41 discloses endoscope tubular connector is preferably usable for the suction tube).
Regarding Claim 9, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the first flow-through part is a suction valve (suction switch 2e, FIG. 1), and
the second flow-through part is a suction tube (suction tube 11, FIG. 1) and/or
a vacuum hose fitting.
Regarding Claim 10, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1, wherein the retainer also comprises annular sealing protrusions (plurality of convex portions 23G, FIG. 7) extending radially inward from an inner surface of the wall (depicted in FIGS. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 13, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the retainer comprises a flange (step 22, FIG. 7) at the receiver end thereof (depicted in FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 14, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the retainer comprises an inner space (through-hole 21, FIG. 7) and
a lead-in zone (step 22, FIG. 7) to the inner space at the receiver end (depicted in FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 15, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1, wherein the retainer comprises a constriction (through-hole 21, FIG. 7) at the insertion end thereof (depicted in FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 16, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 15, wherein an inner interface between the first flow-through part, the second flow-through part and the retainer constriction are configured to provide a consistent inner diameter (depicted in FIGS. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 17, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the retainer has a ratio of length to outer diameter in a range of 6:5 to 7:5 (FIGS. 7-8 depict connection joint clearly having a higher bias to length than outer diameter, since the outer diameter is varied throughout its length, therefore it is consistent with a 6:5 to 7:5 ratio).
Regarding Claim 21, Suwa discloses
The endoscope of claim 1, wherein the receiver portion of the first flow-through part overlaps the wall of the retainer and the tubular connector portion of the second flow- through part (depicted in FIG. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa (US 20220386855 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hassidov et al. (US 20160324412 A1, hereinafter Hassidov).
Regarding Claim 11, Suwa discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, however, Suwa does not disclose wherein the retainer is made of a material having a hardness in an interval of 10-100 Shore A.
Hassidov teaches an analogous system having a colonoscope (i.e., second flow through part) that makes a connection with a sleeve assembly (100). The colonoscope has a connection established with add- on tubes (i.e. first flow through part), which are connected to vacuum and/or irrigation sources [0104], via a housing (30, i.e. retainer) of the sleeve assembly [0212]. The retainer is formed of a flexible material (i.e. elastic resin) having a shore hardness value between 40-90, such as 50 or 70 [0165].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the retainer of Suwa with the flexible material of Hassidov in order to provide a retainer device with versatility in its design and capabilities since adding features such as inflatable balloons to expand the retainer will be easily doable given the elasticity of the retainer, moreover, the flexible retainer will have a lower potential to damage tissues in the body as well as damage connections between the respective flow through parts [Hassidov - 0165].
Regarding Claim 12, Suwa, as previously modified by Hassidov, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 11, and Hassidov further teaches
The endoscope of claim 11, wherein the hardness is in an interval of 50-70 Shore A (par. 165 discloses housing is formed of a flexible material having a shore hardness value between 40-90, such as 50 or 70).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa (US 20220386855 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Avitsian et al (US 20230320575 A1, hereinafter Avitsian).
Regarding Claim 18, Suwa discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Suwa further discloses wherein the retainer is molded in one piece (depicted in FIGS. 7-8).
However, Suwa does not disclose from an elastic material.
Avitsian teaches an analogous endoscope (12, FIG. 2A) having a handle (22, FIG. 2A, i.e. second flow-through part) combined with an elongate scope portion which provides a lumen to provide a pathway for suctioning a patient (i.e. suction tube) [0028]. The endoscope is connected to an elongate tubular body (30, i.e. first flow-through port), which includes a suction lumen (50) in fluid communication with a suction port (96, i.e. valve), via a sheath assembly (10, FIG. 7, i.e. retainer) [0041]. The retainer (10) can be entirely made of silicone, an elastomer, which provides flexibility [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the retainer of Suwa with the silicone material of Avitsian in order to provide a retainer structure that will readily bend and flex along with the endoscope during use and allow the retainer assembly to form-fit/ adapt to the requirements of the system [Avitsian – 0029, 0031, 0040].
Regarding Claim 19, Suwa discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Suwa further discloses wherein the retainer is molded in one piece (depicted in FIGS. 7-8).
However, Suwa does not disclose from a medical grade silicone.
Avitsian teaches an analogous endoscope (12, FIG. 2A) having a handle (22, FIG. 2A, i.e. second flow-through part) combined with an elongate scope portion which provides a lumen to provide a pathway for suctioning a patient (i.e. suction tube) [0028]. The endoscope is connected to an elongate tubular body (30, i.e. first flow-through port), which includes a suction lumen (50) in fluid communication with a suction port (96, i.e. valve), via a sheath assembly (10, FIG. 7, i.e. retainer) [0041]. The retainer (10) can be entirely made of silicone, an elastomer, which provides flexibility [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the retainer of Suwa with the silicone material of Avitsian in order to provide a retainer structure that will readily bend and flex along with the endoscope during use and allow the retainer assembly to form-fit/ adapt to the requirements of the system [Avitsian – 0029, 0031, 0040].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa (US 20220386855 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Toyoda (US 20150216393 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Suwa discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Suwa further discloses a visualization system (endoscope system 10, FIG. 1) comprising: the endoscope of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
However, Suwa does not disclose a monitor connectable to the endoscope.
Toyoda teaches an analogous endoscope system (2, FIG. 1, i.e. visualization system) with an endoscope (electronic endoscope apparatus 10, FIG. 1) comprising a handle (control handle 17, FIG. 1), an insertion cord (elongated tube 16, FIG. 1) and a fluid pathway system (suction button unit 24, FIG. 7). The endoscope further comprising a universal cord (universal cable 18, FIG. 1) which is capable of providing external connections to the endoscope, specifically processing apparatus (11, FIG. 1) which connects monitor display panel (21, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Suwa with the monitor of Toyoda in order to provide an external connection to the system which the user/operator can interact with to view images captured by the endoscope [Toyoda – 0042, 0078].
Additionally, the endoscope (10) of Toyoda connects to the monitor (21) via universal cord (3); the endoscope (10) of Suwa also features a universal cord (3, FIG. 1), therefore, the modification would be simple and obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795