DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-22 are presented for examination as amended in a reply filed 4/20/2026.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims above filed on 04/20/2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. After further search and thorough examination of present application claims 1-22 remain rejected.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 6 of 11, filed 04/20/2026, with respect to claims 1-22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of office action dated 3/21/2014 has been withdrawn and rejections have been now updated based on the amended subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollu (US pub, 2017/0052916 A1) in view of Vasudevan (US pub, 2019/0238460 A1).
Referring to claim 1, Kollu teaches a switch (see ¶ [038]-[043],[050], PCIe-Connected network switch architecture, switch ASIC, ports, crossbar) comprising:
a plurality of physical ports (see ¶ [038]-[043],[050], PCIe-Connected network switch architecture, switch ASIC, ports, crossbar): a plurality of virtual switches including a plurality of virtual ports corresponding to the plurality of physical ports (Kollu: ¶[061]-[063], teaches Hypervisor, VMs, replacing the virtual switch vSwitch with physical switch and context entries for virtual ports),
a virtual switch of the plurality of virtual switches configured to, for each of at least some packets received from a source device coupled with a corresponding physical port (¶ [041]-[047], Kollu teaches receiving packets through PCIe ports, processing packet headers, performing context lookups, translating protocol information and forwarding packets through the switch. ¶ [061],further explains that packet from virtual machines are received through virtual NICs and processed by the physical switch)
provide a translated routing structure (TRS) corresponding to a local identifier of the source device (Kollu: ¶[042]-[045], maintaining an I/O Context table that maps PCIe addressing information to Fibre Channel or Ethernet addressing information),
a switch fabric that interconnects the plurality of physical ports (Kollu: [036]-[042], [050]-[052], Kollu teaches switch Core 456 & Crossbar fabric 1266 interconnecting PCIe port controllers and ethernet/Fibre Channel port controllers, thereby teaching the claimed switch fabric interconnecting the physical ports).
Kollu teaches the invention but expressly lacks the TRS being unique to the source device for the switch, and the TRS including an indicator of a location in the switch at which a portion of the packet is stored.
However, Vasudevan teaches the TRS being unique to the source device for the switch, and the TRS including an indicator of a location in the switch at which a portion of the packet is stored (Vasudevan: ¶[021], [022], [029], [036], [049]-[053], teaches storing context information in memory, tracking a context pointer to the beginning of the stored context associating packet characteristics with context pointer in a lookup table, inserting the context pointer into the descriptor for matching packet and subsequently retrieving the stored context using the context pointer. Therefore, context pointer constitute an indicator identifying the location of stored context associated with packet processing);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kollu’s context table based packet translation mechanism to employ Vasudevan’s context pointer mechanism so that the translated routing information generated by Kollu identifies the corresponding stored translation context. This would have predictably enabled efficient retrieval of stored translation during subsequent packet processing and reverse header translation in order to reduce repeated packet parsing, repeated context table searches and processing overhead thereby improving packet processing efficiency and reducing latency.
Referring to claim 2, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 1, wherein the switch is a Compute Express Link (CXL) switch ([031-[038], switch architecture CXL is an obvious implementation choice)
Referring to claim 3, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 1, wherein a management host is coupled to the switch, the management host intercepting initial communications of the source device and configuring the virtual port based on the initial communications (see ¶ [039]-[047], [045]-[052], Management Host intercepts initial communications and configures the virtual switch)
Referring to Claim 4, Vasudevan teaches the switch of claim 3, wherein the management host configuring the virtual switch includes mapping the local identifier of the source device to the location in the virtual switch indicated by a corresponding virtual port (¶ [074]-[080], mapping identifiers to virtual ports/location information)
Referring to claim 5, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 3, wherein the management host determines a global address space for devices connected to the switch (see ¶ [054]-[061], Global Identifier / Address Assignment)
Referring to claim 6, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 3, wherein the virtual switch omits the TRS for a transaction between the source device and the management host (see ¶ [039]-[047], [067]-[073], Management communications separate from translated traffic).
Referring to claim 7, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 1, wherein the virtual switch provides a translation of a local address for a destination to a global address for the destination (see ¶ [054]-61], [067]-[073], translation of local identifier/address into translated/global routing identifier)
Referring to claim 8, Kollu teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the virtual switch associates a portion of a downstream device with a global address unique to the portion of the downstream device for the switch (see ¶ [054]-[061], Unique translated/global identifier for downstream end points)
Referring to claim 9, Kollu teaches the system of claim 8, wherein a physical port of the plurality of physical ports is connected to a device comprising multiple logical devices (see ¶ [031]-[038], [045]-[052], Multiple logical devices/function behind one physical port).
Referring to claim 10, Kollu teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the TRS further comprises: an identifier of a logical device of the multiple logical devices (¶ [058]-[061], TRS/Routing information includes logical endpoint identifiers).
Referring to claim 11, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 7, wherein the switch routes a response from the destination based at least in part on the TRS (¶ [067]-[073], response routing using translated routing information)
Referring to claim 12, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 1, wherein a source device comprises a second switch (see ¶ [031]-[038], source device maybe another switch/bridge)
Referring to claim 13, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 1, wherein the TRS further comprises: an indicator of whether the TRS is in use in a transaction (see ¶ [058]-[061], Valid/In-use indication for routing entry)
Referring to claim 14, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 1, wherein the switch is configured to overwrite the portion of the packet with TRS (see ¶ ([058]-[073], Replace packet portion with TRS after storing packet information)
Referring to claim 15, Vasudevan teaches the switch of claim 14, wherein the portion of the packet overwritten by the TRS is stored on the switch ([049]-[055], [074]-[080], Stored packet portion maintained in switch memory)
Referring to claim 16, Vasudevan teaches the switch of claim 15, wherein the indicator of the location in the switch at which the portion of the packet is stored comprises an address of the location in the switch at which the portion of the packet is stored (¶ [074]-[080], [084]-[088] Metadata includes address/location of stored packet portion).
Referring to claim 17, Vasudevan teaches the switch of claim 16, wherein the virtual switch receives a response to the packet, the response including the TRS, the virtual switch being configured to replace the TRS in the response with the portion of the packet stored on the switch (¶ [074]-[080], [084]-[088] Retrieve stored packet information and replace TRS in response).
Referring to claim 18, Kollu teaches the switch of claim 1, wherein the plurality of physical ports includes a first downstream port and a second downstream port, the first downstream port being connected to a first device and the second downstream port being connected to a second device, wherein the first device can exchange peer-to-peer communications with the second device via the switch fabric (Kollu: ¶[031]-[038], [067]-[073], Peer to peer communication through switch fabric).
Referring to claim 19, Kollu teaches a method, Comprising:
receiving, at a virtual switch, a communication from a source device to a destination device, the source device being coupled to a physical port corresponding to the virtual switch, the physical port being one of a plurality of physical ports (Kollu: [31]-[038], [045]-[052] teaches virtual switch associated with physical ports that receives communication from attached end point devices);
storing a portion of the communication at a location in a switch that implements the virtual switch (Vasudevan: ¶ [049]-[055], [074]-[084], supports storing packet/header information in switch memory while forwarding traffic); and
providing, for the communication, a translated routing structure (TRS) corresponding to a local identifier of the source device(Kollu: [054]-[061], [067]-[073] assigns a translated identifier for routing packets originating from local end points attached to the switch), the TRS being unique to the source device (Kollu: ¶[058]-[061] the translated identifier uniquely identifies the end point/device within the switching fabric), the TRS being usable in routing a response from the destination device to the source device (Kollu: [067]-[073], uses the translated identifier during return patch routing) and
Kollu teaches the invention but expressly lacks the storing a portion of the communication at a location in a switch that implements the virtual switch and lacks the TRS including an indicator of the location in the switch at which the portion of the communication is stored
However, Vasudeva teaches the storing a portion of the communication at a location in a switch that implements the virtual switch (Vasudevan: ¶ [049]-[055], [074]-[084], supports storing packet/header information in switch memory while forwarding traffic); and Vasudevan teaches the TRS including an indicator of the location in the switch at which the portion of the communication is stored (Vasudevan: ¶ [074]-[080] [084]-[088], teaches using metadata/address information identifying the storage location of stored packet information).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kollu’s context table based packet translation mechanism to employ Vasudevan’s context pointer mechanism so that the translated routing information generated by Kollu identifies the corresponding stored translation context. This would have predictably enabled efficient retrieval of stored translation during subsequent packet processing and reverse header translation in order to reduce repeated packet parsing, repeated context table searches and processing overhead thereby improving packet processing efficiency and reducing latency.
Referring to claim 20, Kollu teaches a method, comprising:
intercepting, by a management host coupled with a switch, initial communications of a host device coupled with a physical port of a plurality of physical ports of the switch (¶[039]-[047], Kollu teaches mgmt/control software observing initial endpoint communications);
configuring a virtual switch corresponding to the physical port based on the initial communications (Kollu: ¶[045]-[055], The virtual switch is configured after discovery of attached devices), the configuring including: determining a global identifier for the host device (¶[055]-[061], determines a translated/global identifier for the endpoint); and
configuring the virtual switch to, for each of at least some packets received from the host device, provide a translated routing structure (TRS) corresponding to a local identifier of the host device (Kollu: [058]-[067] provides translated routing identifier associated with packets received from host device),
the TRS being unique to the host device for the switch (¶[058]-[061], The translated routing information is derived from the global identifier assigned to the endpoint) and based on the global identifier ¶ (Kollu: [055]-[061], The translated routing information is derived from the global identifier assigned to the endpoint) and
Kollu teaches the invention but expressly lacks the TRS including an indicator of a location in the switch at which a portion of the packet is stored.
However, Vasudevan teaches the TRS including an indicator of a location in the switch at which a portion of the packet is stored (Vasudevan: [074-80], [084]-[088], storing packet information in switch memory together with metadata identifying its storage location and it would have been obvious to include this information with Kollu’s translated routing structure to enable retrieval of the stored packet data during subsequent routing).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify information with Kollu’s translated routing structure to enable retrieval of the stored packet data during subsequent routing. This would have predictably enabled efficient retrieval of stored translation during subsequent packet processing and reverse header translation in order to reduce repeated packet parsing, repeated context table searches and processing overhead thereby improving packet processing efficiency and reducing latency.
Referring to claim 21, Kollu-Vasudevan teaches the switch of claim 1, wherein the virtual switch of the plurality of virtual switches is further configured to, for the each of the at least some packets: replace (Kollu: [058]-[073]) the portion of the packet with the TRS (see ¶ [049]-[055] & [074]-[080], storing portions of packet information in switch memory while using metadata that represents the stored information for forwarding purposes).
Referring to claim 22, Kollu-Vasudevan teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising: replacing (Kollu: [058]-[073]), at the switch, the portion of the communication with the TRS (see ¶ [049]-[055] & [074]-[080], storing portions of packet information in switch memory while using metadata that represents the stored information for forwarding purposes).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional relevant prior art can be found in the included form PTO-892 (Notice of Cited References).
The examiner also requests, when responding to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/AFTAB N. KHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454