DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, the two references to “single needle” should be “needle” for consistency (claim 2 refers to the ‘single needle’). Further, it appears limitation (b) in the last wherein clause should be removed as the claim already requires adjusting the FOV with the needle and tines having been advanced into the fibroid (see the ‘adjusting’ step).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Grossman (US Pub 2007/0179380 -cited by applicant) in view of Ostrovsky (US Pub 2005/0107781 -cited by applicant).
Re claims 2-4, 6: Grossman discloses a method of treating a uterine fibroid [0046; see treatment of fibroids], the method comprising:
transcervically introducing into a uterus a rigid shaft comprising a tip attached to a distal end of the shaft, the tip including an ultrasound transducer [0038, 0040; see rigid sheath 12 and ultrasound transducer 46 on the tip];
deflecting the tip to reposition a field of view of the ultrasound transducer [0040; see deflection of the distal end of the sheath to position the FOV];
locating the uterine fibroid using the ultrasound transducer [0047; see the fibroid UF viewed in real time];
advancing only a single needle into the uterine fibroid from a needle guide delivered transcervically into the uterus [0046; see needle 200 advanced into the fibroid];
adjusting a stop structure on the shaft to permit advancing of the needle or the tines prior to advancing of the needle or tines [0040; see the trigger 68 on the proximal portion of the shaft 12, 22 that is pulled to controllably advance the needle 16 while permitting stopping of the needle advancement by letting go of the trigger];
observing the needle and the uterine fibroid using the ultrasound transducer [0047; see the FOV that includes the needle and UF]; and
adjusting the FOV of the imager by rotating and/or torquing the shaft or distal tip relative to the needle that has been advanced into the fibroid [0040, 0045, 0047, Figs 5C and 8C; see that the imager 14 is made deflectable to observe the needles within the FOV in real time after the needle has been advanced into the fibroid wherein the imager 14 is deflected with a control knob 72 to provide for the needle to be within the FOV even though “deflection…is not illustrated in the figures”].
Grossman discloses all features except for advancing a plurality of tines from the needle into the uterine fibroid, observing the tines, and adjusting the FOV of the imager with the needle/tines having been advanced. However, Ostrovsky teaches advancing a plurality of tines from the needle into the uterine fibroid and applying RF energy [0045, 0049; see the RF tines 206, 208 that are inserted into the fibroid with a distance of deployment based on the size of the fibroid]. Further, Ostrovsky teaches of a sliding lever, which is a stop structure as it is actuated to advance the tines and advancement is stopped when the lever is not pressed [0073]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Grossman, to advance tines as taught by Ostrovsky, in order to permit ablation of a fibroid in an effective manner and also to view the tines to permit treatment as desired. The combination (i.e. the Grossman invention modified to include tines that are advanced into the fibroid along with the needle) also results in the adjusting of the FOV of the imager to include adjusting the FOV with both the needle and tines having been advanced into the fibroid.
Re claim 5: Grossman discloses locating the uterine fibroid comprises manually rotating and/or torquing the rigid shaft to scan the uterus with the ultrasound transducer [0040; wherein it is implied that the shaft is at least rotated to position it to scan and view the fibroid in the uterus].
Claims 7-15 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vaezy et al (US 6,425,867 -cited by applicant) in view of Hurst (US Pub 2004/0143252 -cited by applicant) and Ostrovsky (US Pub 2005/0107781 -cited by applicant).
Re claims 7, 9-11, 13-15: Vaezy discloses a method of treating a uterine fibroid (col 25, lines 28-29; see the treatment of fibroids), the method comprising:
introducing into a uterus a rigid shaft comprising a tip attached to a distal end of the shaft, the tip including an ultrasound imager (col 22, lines 57-62, Figure 17; see the probe 180 and ultrasound transducer head 186);
repositioning a field of view of the imager by at least one of: deflecting the tip in a direction transverse to a longitudinal axis of the shaft; and rotating/torquing the shaft about the axis of the shaft (col 21, lines 2-7; see the insertion of the probe to focus on a target area which includes rotation/torquing of the probe; col 22, lines 59-62; see the angle of the head being adjustable in a transverse direction);
locating the uterine fibroid using the imager (col 21, lines 38-42; see the viewing of the fibroid);
Vaezy discloses all features except advancing a needle into the uterine fibroid; and observing the needle and the uterine fibroid using the imager with the FOV being adjusted as the needle and fibroid are observed. However, Hurst teaches of an ultrasound probe with attached needle for a uterine fibroid wherein the needle and probe are advanced into the fibroid transcervically and observed with the fibroid [0018, Figure 1; see the penetration of the fibroid with the needle and see the viewing of the needle and fibroid by the imager]. The needle is inserted from a needle guide [0033; see the needle guide] and applies RF energy (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Vaezy, to include the needle as taught by Hurst, in order to permit RF treatment of the fibroid which is well known in the art as an alternative to the treatment proposed in Vaezy. The combination (i.e. the Vaezy invention modified to include the needle advanced into the fibroid) also results in the adjusting of the FOV of the imager to include adjusting the FOV as the needle and fibroid are observed.
Vaezy/Hurst disclose all features except for advancing a plurality of tines from the needle into the uterine fibroid, observing the tines, and adjusting the FOV of the imager with the needle/tines having been advanced. However, Ostrovsky teaches advancing a plurality of tines from the needle into the uterine fibroid and applying RF energy [0045, 0049; see the RF tines 206, 208 that are inserted into the fibroid with a distance of deployment based on the size of the fibroid]. Further, Ostrovsky teaches of a sliding lever, which is a stop structure as it is actuated to advance the tines and advancement is stopped when the lever is not pressed [0073]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Vaezy/Hurst, to advance tines as taught by Ostrovsky, in order to permit ablation of a fibroid in an effective manner and also to view the tines to permit treatment as desired. The combination (i.e. the Vaezy/Hurst combination is further modified to include tines that are advanced into the fibroid along with the needle) also results in the adjusting of the FOV of the imager to include adjusting the FOV with both the needle and tines having been advanced into the fibroid.
Re claim 8: Vaezy discloses introducing the rigid shaft comprises transcervically introducing the rigid shaft into the uterus (col 18, lines 35-40; see the probe introduced transcervically).
Re claim 12: Vaezy discloses wherein locating the uterine fibroid comprises manually rotating and/or torquing the rigid shaft to scan the uterus with the imager (col 22, see positioning of the probe wherein it is at least implied that it is rotated to scan as desired).
Re claim 18: Vaezy discloses locating the uterine fibroid using the imager comprises inserting the imager through a sheath (Figure 10, see sheath 124).
Claim 16 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vaezy/Hurst/Ostrovsky, and further in view of McGaffigan et al (US 6,193,714 -cited by applicant).
Re claim 16: Vaezy/Hurst/Ostrovsky disclose all features except advancing the needle comprises advancing a button on a handle. However, McGaffigan teaches advancing a needle with a button on a handle (col 5, lines 31-41; see the slider/button to advance the needle). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Vaezy/Hurst/Ostrovsky, to use a button to advance the needle as taught by McGaffigan, in order to permit ablation of a fibroid in an effective manner and also to view the tines to permit treatment as desired.
Claim 17 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vaezy/Hurst/Ostrovsky, and further in view of Burbank et al (US 6,764,488 -cited by applicant).
Re claim 17: Vaezy/Hurst/Ostrovsky disclose all features except a curved needle. However, Burbank teaches of a curved needle (Figure 5; see the curved needle). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Vaezy/Hurst/Ostrovsky, to advance tines as taught by Burbank, in order to facilitate positioning at a fibroid within a patient.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-28 of U.S. Patent No. 8,206,300. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘300 features a method for treating fibroids including introducing a rigid shaft, locating a fibroid with an imager, pivoting/deflecting the tip, advancing a needle, advancing tines, and imaging the tines, needle and fibroid. While ‘300 features the additional limitation of blocking the needle, it would have been obvious to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
Claims 2-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-40 of U.S. Patent No. 10,610,197. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘197 features a method for treating fibroids including introducing a rigid shaft, locating a fibroid with an imager, pivoting/deflecting the tip, advancing a needle, advancing tines, and imaging the tines, needle and fibroid. While ‘197 features the additional limitation of first and second actuators, it would have been obvious to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
Claims 2-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,595,819. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘819 features a method for treating fibroids including introducing a rigid shaft, locating a fibroid with an imager, pivoting/deflecting the tip, advancing a needle, advancing tines, and imaging the tines, needle and fibroid. While ‘197 features the additional limitation of first and second actuators, it would have been obvious to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
Claims 2-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,583,243. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘243 features a method for treating fibroids including introducing a rigid shaft, locating a fibroid with an imager, pivoting/deflecting the tip, advancing a needle, advancing tines, and imaging the tines, needle and fibroid. While ‘243 features the additional limitation of real time imaging, it would have been obvious to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
Claims 2-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,048,583. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘583 features a method for treating fibroids including introducing a rigid shaft, locating a fibroid with an imager, pivoting/deflecting the tip, advancing a needle, advancing tines, and imaging the tines, needle and fibroid. While ‘583 features the additional limitation of moving a stop structure, it would have been obvious to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
Conclusion
This is a CON of applicant's earlier Application No. 16/782,477. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797