DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Claims 1-2 have been cancelled by applicant. Claims 3-8, 10-11, 13-21, 23, 26, and 29-32 have been amended by applicant.
In light of the amendments made by applicant, the claim objection from the previous office action has been withdrawn by the examiner. However, there are new claim objections seen below.
Similarly, the 112a and 112b rejections have been withdrawn in light of amendments made by applicant.
Upon reconsideration of the allowability of the claims, claims 3-28 and 30-33 are rejected. Claim 29 is considered allowable. This is a second action Non-Final Rejection, the previous non final and final rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, line 1, “the tensioner” should read –the movable tensioner--
In claim 26, line 10, “support structure The exercise device system of claim 1, further including” should read – support structure; and--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stevens (U.S. Patent No. US5,938,571).
Regarding claim 10, Stevens shows an exercise device system (Stevens, sliding exercise machine 10, col. 3, line 33), comprising: a tower (Stevens, resistance rail or upright post 30, col. 3, line 48); a support structure (Stevens, incline rails 18, col. 3, line 35) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Stevens; The incline rails 18 of Stevens are attachable at different heights along the upright post 30, see col. 3, lines 43-51, col. 5, lines 34-37, and FIG. 1); a movable user support platform assembly (Stevens, glide board 19, col. 3, line 35) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Stevens, “The incline frame 12 includes incline rails 18 upon which a glide board 19 is slidably mounted”, col. 3, lines 34-36); a pulley system (Stevens, “A central pulley 78 is positioned at the upper end of glide board 19. One each of a pair of spaced apart secondary pulleys 80 is secured to the transverse tube members 22. Cord 82 extends around central pulley 78 and each end of the cord is engaged around a corresponding secondary pulley 80. A clip 84 at each end of the cord connects the cord to a handle 86”, col. 4, lines 42-48; The central pulley and the pair of spaces apart secondary pulleys of Stevens teaches the pulley system of the claimed invention) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Stevens, see FIG. 1); a cable (Stevens, cord 82) extending through the pulley system (Stevens, “Cord 82 extends around central pulley 78 and each end of the cord is engaged around a corresponding secondary pulley 80”) and including opposite ends (Stevens, The handles of Stevens attached to the ends of the cable 82 show the opposite ends of the cable of the claimed invention); exercise device handles (Stevens, handles 86) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Stevens, “Referring again to FIGS. 1 and 2, this may be accomplished, for example, by pulling on handles 86 connected to the glide board via cord 82 and pulley 80”; see FIG. 1 below), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Stevens, “A user may sit or lie upon the glide board and perform various exercises which entail moving the glide board from a lower position to an upper position along the aforementioned inclined plane. Referring again to FIGS. 1 and 2, this may be accomplished, for example, by pulling on handles 86 connected to the glide board via cord 82 and pulley 8”); a carriage (Stevens, see annotated FIGS. 1 and 2 below) movably coupling the support structure to the tower to incline the support structure at different angles relative to the tower (Stevens, “at the upper end of each incline rail 18 there are secured transverse tube members 22, each having an inner section 24 and an outer section 26. The rail slider 28 is adapted to receive simultaneously the inner section 24 of each transverse tube member 22. The rail slider 28 is movably mounted to resistance rail or upright post 30, which passes snugly through rail slider 28, so that the slider can move along resistance rail 30 in a generally vertical direction”, col. 3, lines 43-51, and “holes 97 adapted for receiving accessories, such has pulling handles 100 or push board 102, are defined by transverse tube members 22”, col. 5, lines 27-30), the carriage including a main carriage body (Stevens, see annotated FIGS. 1 and 2 below) with a recess (Stevens, see annotated FIG. 2 below), an upper carriage insert (Stevens, see annotated FIGS. 1 and 2 below) and a lower carriage insert (Stevens, see annotated FIGS. 1 and 2 below) received in the recess (Stevens, “holes 97 adapted for receiving accessories, such has pulling handles 100 or push board 102, are defined by transverse tube members 22”, see annotated FIGS. 1 and 2 below), a handle assembly (Stevens, see annotated FIGS. 1 and 2 below) operably associated with the main carriage body to secure the carriage and the support structure at a desired incline to the tower (Stevens; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, and in light of the functional language, the identified components in FIGS. 1 and 2 for the handle assembly is operable associated with the parts annotated in FIGS. 1 and 2 for the main carriage body to secure the parts identified as the carriage with the resistance rail 30, as the inner section of each incline rail of Stevens is adjustable along the rail with the moving rail slider 28), the main carriage body including spaced tower support receiving sections that slidably receive the tower (Stevens, “Referring also to FIG. 2, at the upper end of each incline rail 18 there are secured transverse tube members 22, each having an inner section 24 and an outer section 26. The rail slider 28 is adapted to receive simultaneously the inner section 24 of each transverse tube member 22. The rail slider 28 is movably mounted to resistance rail or upright post 30, which passes snugly through rail slider 28, so that the slider can move along resistance rail 30 in a generally vertical direction”, col. 3, lines 43-51, see annotated FIG. 2 below; The inner sections 24 and the outer sections 26 of Stevens show, in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the spaced tower support receiving sections of the claimed invention, respectively. They are shown to slidably receive the tower via the rail slider) and pulley arms extending laterally outward and upward there from (Stevens; The pair of spaced apart secondary pulleys of Stevens are shown in FIG. 2 to extend laterally outward and upward from the spaced inner section and the outer section, specifically integrated into the outer section 26).
Stevens
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. 2007/0203004A1).
Regarding claim 11, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, collapsible exercise device 100, paragraph 0064), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, vertical support member or tower 110, paragraph 0064); a support structure (Campanaro, pair of upper rails 230 and pair of lower rails 240, paragraph 0065) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “the first end of the adjustable incline adjustably supported by, and vertically movable with respect to, the vertical support ember for adjusting the incline of the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, user support platform 340, Abstract) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “movably attached to the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a pulley system (Campanaro, first and second pulleys, Abstract, and pulleys 940, paragraph 0079) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, The third pulley of Campanaro being attached to the user support platform shows the pulley system being associated with the movable user support platform form assembly of the claimed invention); a cable (Campanaro, cable 970, paragraph 970) extending through the pulley system (Campanaro, see FIG. 1, paragraph 0079) and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “one or more cables include a single cable with opposite ends, and handles each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015); exercise device handles (Campanaro, handles 980, paragraph 0079) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, “each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “In use, the exerciser positions himself or herself on the user support platform 320 and grasps one or both of the handle 980. The exerciser then draws one or both of the handles 980 toward the exerciser and by doing so transports the user support platform 320 up along the lower rails 240 and upper rails 230”, paragraph 0084), wherein the pulley system includes a plurality of pulleys (Campanaro, first and second pulleys) and a cable tensioning system including a movable tensioner coupled to pulleys via the cable and integrated into the tower (Campanaro, “Pulleys 940 are slidably attached to the bars 830. Each pulley 940 includes a collar 950 and a spring-loaded pull pin 960. An exerciser may move each pulley 940 to a desired position on the bar 830 by pulling on the pull pin 960, sliding the pulley 940 via the collar 950 to a desired position on the bar 830, and releasing the pull pin 960 to lock the pulley 940 in place on the bar 830. It should be noted, the pulley 940 may be slid onto sections or elbows other than the inner tubular section 870”, paragraph 0078; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the collar and the spring loaded pull pin of Campanaro shows the cable tensioning system of the claimed invention, and the collar of Campanaro shows the movable tensioner of the claimed invention as the pulleys of Campanaro being movable shows adjustable tension. More specifically, the pulleys are adjustable along bar 830 via the collar and the spring loaded pull pin, thereby adjusting the tension of the cables depending on the position of the pulleys along the bar 830. Furthermore, the collar of Campanaro is shown to be coupled to the pulley, and in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, via the cable and integrated into the tower).
Regarding claim 12, Campanaro shows the exercise device system of claim 11, wherein the tensioner is configured to adjust tension in the cable (Campanaro; The examiner explained above how the collar and the spring loaded pull pin of Campanaro how the movable tensioner adjusts the tension in the cable), adjust exposed length of the cable (Campanaro; In light of the functional language of the claimed invention, the collar and the spring loaded pull pin are able to adjust the exposed length of the cable upon the adjustment of the position of the pulleys on the bar via the collar and spring loaded pull pin), serve as an isokinetic resistance device that increases and/or decreases load for increased resistance and/or increased assistance in performing exercises (Campanaro, “Speed: Slow to fast--Moving slowly allows more control both in the concentric and eccentric movement phases. As the client becomes more capable and proficient with a movement pattern, speed or tempo can increase”, paragraph 0193; In light of the functional language of the claimed invention, the concentric and eccentric movements that are able to be performed with the exercise device of Campanaro, the collar and the spring loaded pull pin is therefore able to serve as an isokinetic resistance device that increase and/or decreases the load), and/or automatically retract the pulley system and the cable when not in use.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. US20120053028A1).
Regarding claim 19, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, inclinable exercise devices 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D, paragraph 0025), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, tower 120, paragraph 0025); a support structure inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “The inclinable exercise devices 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D include tower 120 with a carriage 130 vertically slidable along the tower 120… bottom rails 140 are pivotally coupled to top rails 150 at pivot(s)/hinge(s) A. Top rails 150 are pivotally connected to carriage 130 at pivot(s)/hinge(s) B”, paragraph 0025-0026; The top rails 150 and the bottom rails 140 of Campanaro shows the support structure of the claimed invention. The position of the carriage defines the angle of the of the top rails and the bottom rails with the tower of Campanaro); a movable user support platform assembly movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “a user support platform or glideboard 210 with rollers (not shown) rolls along the rails 140, 150”, paragraph 0067; The user support platform or glideboard 210 shows the movable user support platform assembly of the claimed invention); a pulley system associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “The carriage 130 is coupled to arms 220A, pulley arms 220B. Attached to the arms 220A, pulley arms 220B are pulleys 230 Although not shown, a connector extends through the pulleys 230 and connects to the user support platform 210”, paragraphs 0029-0030); a cable extending through the pulley system and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “The cable extends through the pulleys 230 positioned on the pulley arms 220A, 220B and loops through a third pulley attached to the user support platform 210… The cable should preferably be of sufficient length to extend through the pulleys 230 and allow the exerciser to grasp one or both of the handles while the exerciser is on the user support platform 210 and the user support platform 210 is at rest”, paragraph 0030; The opposite ends of the cable are shown attached to the handles of Campanaro); exercise device handles (Campanaro, see FIG. 1F below) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, see FIG. 1F below), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “As shown in FIGS. 1A-1G, a user support platform or glideboard 210 with rollers (not shown) rolls along the rails 140, 150… This position allows for unilateral (i.e. one arm), bilateral (i.e., two arm) and static equilibrium (i.e. holding the user support plaform 210 suspended by keeping a constant force on each handle) use. The cable should preferably be of sufficient length to extend through the pulleys 230 and allow the exerciser to grasp one or both of the handles while the exerciser is on the user support platform 210 and the user support platform 210 is at rest”, paragraphs 0028-0030), wherein the tower includes a rail adjustment member (Campanaro, “With reference to FIGS. 16A and 16B, an embodiment of a carriage lock mechanism 650A includes a carriage lock pin 651 that engages a hole on a rear face of slidable carriage cuff 670 for locking the carriage 130 to the tower 120”, paragraph 0053; The carriage lock pin 651 shows the rail adjustment member of the claimed invention) with 180 degree opposite circumferential locations with squeezable touchpoints (In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the 180 degree opposite circumferential locations with squeezable touchpoints is shown in annotated FIG. 16B below. In order to effectively operate the carriage lock pin of Campanaro, a person grasps the carriage lock pin at opposite locations and squeezes to engage), centered in the support structure (Campanaro; The carriage lock pin 651 is seen in FIGS. 16A and 16B to be centered with the tower), and are squeezable and releasable to disengage and engage the support structure relative to the tower (Campanaro, “The carriage lock pin 651 allows a user to lift the tower 120 from the back 670 for moving the inclinable exercise device 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D in a room”, paragraph 0053).
Campanaro
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 3, 5, 7, 15-16, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. US20120053028A1), in view of Lagree (PG Patent Publication No. US20220140652A1).
Regarding claim 6, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, inclinable exercise devices 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D, paragraph 0025), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, tower 120, paragraph 0025); a support structure inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “The inclinable exercise devices 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D include tower 120 with a carriage 130 vertically slidable along the tower 120… bottom rails 140 are pivotally coupled to top rails 150 at pivot(s)/hinge(s) A. Top rails 150 are pivotally connected to carriage 130 at pivot(s)/hinge(s) B”, paragraph 0025-0026; The top rails 150 and the bottom rails 140 of Campanaro shows the support structure of the claimed invention. The position of the carriage defines the angle of the of the top rails and the bottom rails with the tower of Campanaro); a movable user support platform assembly movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “a user support platform or glideboard 210 with rollers (not shown) rolls along the rails 140, 150”, paragraph 0067; The user support platform or glideboard 210 shows the movable user support platform assembly of the claimed invention); a pulley system associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “The carriage 130 is coupled to arms 220A, pulley arms 220B. Attached to the arms 220A, pulley arms 220B are pulleys 230 Although not shown, a connector extends through the pulleys 230 and connects to the user support platform 210”, paragraphs 0029-0030); a cable extending through the pulley system and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “The cable extends through the pulleys 230 positioned on the pulley arms 220A, 220B and loops through a third pulley attached to the user support platform 210… The cable should preferably be of sufficient length to extend through the pulleys 230 and allow the exerciser to grasp one or both of the handles while the exerciser is on the user support platform 210 and the user support platform 210 is at rest”, paragraph 0030; The opposite ends of the cable are shown attached to the handles of Campanaro); exercise device handles (Campanaro, see FIG. 1F below) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, see FIG. 1F below), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “As shown in FIGS. 1A-1G, a user support platform or glideboard 210 with rollers (not shown) rolls along the rails 140, 150… This position allows for unilateral (i.e. one arm), bilateral (i.e., two arm) and static equilibrium (i.e. holding the user support plaform 210 suspended by keeping a constant force on each handle) use. The cable should preferably be of sufficient length to extend through the pulleys 230 and allow the exerciser to grasp one or both of the handles while the exerciser is on the user support platform 210 and the user support platform 210 is at rest”, paragraphs 0028-0030).
Campanaro
Campanaro fails to show a tracking sensor module configured to capture metrics related to use of the exercise device system; a distal base that the support structure is coupled to, the movable user support platform assembly includes the tracking sensor, which includes a rechargeable or replaceable battery, and the distal base includes a charger configured to charge the rechargeable or replaceable battery of the tracking sensor when the movable user support platform assembly is adjacent to the distal base.
However, Lagree, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a tracking sensor module configured to capture metrics related to use of the exercise device system (Lagree, “electrical devices 60 may include a resistance selector 61, a control unit 64, various types of sensors 66, lights 67, speakers 68, and/or displays 69… Various types of sensors 66 may be utilized, such as but not limited to biometric sensors, health sensors (such as oxygen saturation, heart rate, heart rate variability, body temperature, moisture, and the like), velocity sensors, acceleration sensors, position sensors, or various other types of sensors. Further, the positioning of the sensors 66 may vary. While the figures illustrate sensors 66 being positioned on the upper surface 31 of the carriage 30, one or more sensors 66 may instead be connected to the lower surface 32, first end 33, second end 34, first side 35, and/or second side 36 of the carriage 30”, paragraphs 0122-0138, see FIG. 12 below; The electrical devices including the control unit and the sensors disclosed by Lagree teach the tracking sensor module of the claimed invention); a distal base that the support structure is coupled to (Lagree, “FIGS. 3-5 illustrate an embodiment in which the wireless power transmitter 40 is positioned on or attached to a spring box 37”, paragraph 0086; The spring box of Lagree teaches the distal base of the claimed invention), the movable user support platform assembly includes the tracking sensor (Lagree, “While the figures illustrate sensors 66 being positioned on the upper surface 31 of the carriage 30, one or more sensors 66 may instead be connected to the lower surface 32, first end 33, second end 34, first side 35, and/or second side 36 of the carriage 30”), which includes a rechargeable or replaceable battery (Lagree, a battery 54 ; the Examiner notes that all batteries are either rechargable or replaceable), and the distal base includes a charger (Lagree, “FIGS. 3-5 illustrate an embodiment in which the wireless power transmitter 40 is positioned on or attached to a spring box 37”) configured to charge the rechargeable or replaceable battery of the tracking sensor when the movable user support platform assembly is adjacent to the distal base (Lagree, “FIGS. 4A and 4B illustrate a wireless power receiver 50 being positioned directly on top of a corresponding wireless power transmitter 40 such that the wireless power receiver 50 is in range of the wireless power transmitter 40. In such a position, electrical energy will be transferred from the wireless power transmitter 40 to the wireless power receiver 50. FIG. 5 illustrates a wireless power receiver 50 which has been moved to be away from the wireless power transmitter 40 such that the wireless power receiver 50 is not in range of the wireless power transmitter 40. In such a position, electrical energy will not be transferred (or will be transferred with reduced efficiency depending on the distance)”, paragraph 0143).
Lagree
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user support platform of Campanaro with the electrical devices including the control unit and the sensors of Lagree in order to more accurately retrieve data. Furthermore, it would be obvious to attach the sensors of Lagree to the user support platform of Campanaro as the carriage of Lagree is comparable to the user support platform of Campanaro. Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have also included the spring box with the wireless power transmitter of Lagree in order to charge the sensors.
Regarding claim 3, Campanaro, in view of Lagree, the exercise device system of claim 6, including the tracking sensor module.
Campanaro specifically fails to show the tracking sensor module having a housing that mounts to the exercise device system in one or more of the tower, the support structure, and the cable.
However, Lagree teaches a housing that mounts to the exercise device system in the support structure (Lagree, see annotated FIG. 12 below).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a housing in order to structurally incorporate the sensors into the user support platform of the Campanaro. In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the modified inclinable exercise devices of Campanaro teaches the housing being mounted to the support structure as the user support assembly is slidably mounted on the pair of upper rails and pair of lower rails, which shows the support structure of the claimed invention, and the sensors 66 of Lagree is shown to be integrated into the carriage.
Lagree
Regarding claim 5, Campanaro, in view of Lagree, teaches the exercise device system of claim 6, including the movable user support platform assembly.
Campanaro fails to specifically show the movable user support platform assembly including a receiving member, and the tracking sensor module is removably receivable with respect to the receiving member.
However, Lagree teaches a receiving member (Lagree, see annotated FIG. 4B below; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the receiving member of the claimed invention, the portion identified in the carriage of Lagree in FIG. 4B below teaches the receiving member), and the tracking sensor module is removably receivable with respect to the receiving member (Lagree, “Further, the positioning of the sensors 66 may vary. While the figures illustrate sensors 66 being positioned on the upper surface 31 of the carriage 30, one or more sensors 66 may instead be connected to the lower surface 32, first end 33, second end 34, first side 35, and/or second side 36 of the carriage 30”, paragraph 0138, see FIG. 12 below; The electrical devices disclosed by Lagree are integrated into the carriage, which is comparable to the user support platform of Campanaro. As can be seen from the FIGS. 4A-5 and FIG 12 above, the tracking sensor module, taught by Lagree, is integrated into the carriage, and in light of the modification by Lagree, the electrical devices including the control unit and the sensors are integrated into the user support platform).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to modified the user support platform of Campanaro to have a cushioned top and receiving member for the electrical devices to protect electrical devices while the user engages with the user support platform.
Lagree
Regarding claim 7, Campanaro, in view of Lagree, teaches the exercise device system of claim 6, wherein the tracking sensor module is configured to capture one or more of incline level, reps, distance traveled (Lagree, “Various types of sensors 66 may be utilized, such as but not limited to biometric sensors, health sensors (such as oxygen saturation, heart rate, heart rate variability, body temperature, moisture, and the like), velocity sensors, acceleration sensors, position sensors, or various other types of sensors”, paragraph 0137; The position sensors of Lagree teaches the distance traveled to be captured by the tracking sensor module as position sensors measure the distance traveled from a reference point), body weight, and resistance level of the movable user support platform assembly along an incline.
Regarding claim 15, Campanaro, in view of Lagree, teaches the exercise device system of claim 6, further including a rail incline adjustment mechanism movably coupling the support structure to the tower to incline the support structure at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “With reference to FIGS. 15A-15C, a handle 600 at a top 610 of the tower 120 functions like a car door handle at the top of inclinable exercise device 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D. The user first lifts the rails 140, 150 slightly to unload the handle 600, then pulls the handle 600 forward toward the rails 140, 150, and then lowers the rails 140, 150 to the desired incline”, paragraph 0052; The handle 600 shows the rail incline adjustment mechanism of the claimed invention), which includes vertical holes, the rail incline adjustment mechanism including a handle assembly and a latch assembly (Campanaro, “The handle 600 is operably coupled to latch 611 in the tower 120 to lock/unlock the position of the carriage 130. The handle 600 includes a plate 612 with a hole 613 that receives an actuation lever pin 614. A cam tube 615 rotates about off-axis pivot bolt 616, causing actuation lever pin 614 to move within directing slot 617 of top tower plate 618. The off-axis rotation of cam tube 615 causes lever 619, which receives tube 615, to move towards (or away from) the rails 140, 150. Pulling of the handle 600/rotation of the tube 616 towards the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611, which is welded to lever 619 to move outward, and disengage slot 622 (to unlock the position of the carriage 130) and releasing of the handle 600/spring-biased rotation of the tube 616 away from the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611 to move inward, and engage slot 622 (to lock the position of the carriage 130)… The user can always raise the rails 140, 150 by lifting them from any convenient hand hold position, including lifting via the arms 220A, 220B and/or via the carriage 130”, paragraph 0052, FIGS. 15B and 15C; The handle 600 shows the handle assembly of the claimed invention, the lever 619 and lever 611 show the latch assembly of the claimed invention, and the slots 622 show the one or more vertical holes of the claimed invention. The corresponding slot of the slots seen in FIG. 15B and 15C below shows the vertical holes of the claimed invention), the handle assembly is squeezable and releasable to disengage and engage the latch assembly with respect to the one or more of the vertical holes to adjust the incline of the support structure (Campanaro, “Pulling of the handle 600/rotation of the tube 616 towards the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611, which is welded to lever 619 to move outward, and disengage slot 622 (to unlock the position of the carriage 130) and releasing of the handle 600/spring-biased rotation of the tube 616 away from the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611 to move inward, and engage slot 622 (to lock the position of the carriage 130)… The user can always raise the rails 140, 150 by lifting them from any convenient hand hold position, including lifting via the arms 220A, 220B and/or via the carriage 130”; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the pulling of the handle/rotation of the tube of Campanaro shows the handle assembly of the claimed invention being squeezable and releasable), wherein the handle assembly includes a handle section (Campanaro, tube 616), squeeze release (Campanaro, tube 615), and squeeze spring (Campanaro, Springs 623, 624, 625; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, one of the springs 623, 624, or 625 shows the squeeze spring of the claimed invention), the latch assembly includes a catch (Campanaro, latch 611) and catch spring (Campanaro, Springs 623, 624, 625; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, similar to that of the squeeze spring of the claimed invention, one of the springs 623, 624, or 625 shows the catch spring of the claimed invention, wherein whichever spring 623, 624, or 625 which shows the catch spring of the claimed invention is different from the spring of the springs 623, 624, or 625 that shows the squeeze spring of the claimed invention), and the rail incline adjustment mechanism includes an internal linkage (Campanaro, cam tube 615) that couples the catch to the squeeze release (Campanaro, “A cam tube 615 rotates about off-axis pivot bolt 616, causing actuation lever pin 614 to move within directing slot 617 of top tower plate 618. The off-axis rotation of cam tube 615 causes lever 619, which receives tube 615, to move towards (or away from) the rails 140, 150. Pulling of the handle 600/rotation of the tube 616 towards the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611, which is welded to lever 619 to move outward, and disengage slot 622 (to unlock the position of the carriage 130).
Regarding claim 16, Campanaro, in view of Lagree, teaches the exercise device system of claim 6, further including a rail elevator mechanism (Campanaro, “The handle 600 is operably coupled to latch 611 in the tower 120 to lock/unlock the position of the carriage 130. The handle 600 includes a plate 612 with a hole 613 that receives an actuation lever pin 614”, paragraph 0052; The handle 600, the latch 611, and the actuation lever pin 614 of Campanaro teaches the rail elevator mechanism of the claimed invention) movably coupling the support structure to the tower to incline the support structure at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “With reference to FIGS. 15A-15C, a handle 600 at a top 610 of the tower 120 functions like a car door handle at the top of inclinable exercise device 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D. The user first lifts the rails 140, 150 slightly to unload the handle 600, then pulls the handle 600 forward toward the rails 140, 150, and then lowers the rails 140, 150 to the desired incline”, paragraph 0052), which includes vertical catches (Campanaro, lever pin 614, see FIG. 15C below), the rail elevator mechanism including a rail elevator member with a spring-loaded latch and a recess, a handle with an engagement member (Campanaro, “releasing of the handle 600/spring-biased rotation of the tube 616 away from the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611 to move inward, and engage slot 622 (to lock the position of the carriage 130)”, paragraph 0052; The spring-loaded latch of the claimed invention is taught by spring biased rotation of the tube 616 and the latch 611 with lever 619, the recess of the claimed invention is taught by the directing slot 617, and the handle with the engagement member of the claimed invention is taught by the rotation of tube 616), wherein handle is vertically engageable and releasable to cause the engagement member to disengage and engage the spring-loaded latch with respect to one or more of the vertical catches to adjust the incline of the support structure (Campanaro, “The handle 600 is operably coupled to latch 611 in the tower 120 to lock/unlock the position of the carriage 130. The handle 600 includes a plate 612 with a hole 613 that receives an actuation lever pin 614. A cam tube 615 rotates about off-axis pivot bolt 616, causing actuation lever pin 614 to move within directing slot 617 of top tower plate 618. The off-axis rotation of cam tube 615 causes lever 619, which receives tube 615, to move towards (or away from) the rails 140, 150. Pulling of the handle 600/rotation of the tube 616 towards the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611, which is welded to lever 619 to move outward, and disengage slot 622 (to unlock the position of the carriage 130) and releasing of the handle 600/spring-biased rotation of the tube 616 away from the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611 to move inward, and engage slot 622 (to lock the position of the carriage 130). Springs 623, 624, 625 respectively bias the handle 600, tube 616, and latch 621 into a home position and inhibit play/rattling in the handle 600, tube 616, and latch 62. The user can always raise the rails 140, 150 by lifting them from any convenient hand hold position, including lifting via the arms 220A, 220B and/or via the carriage 130”, paragraph 0052, see FIG. 15C below), wherein the tower includes vertically spaced rail grooves (Campanaro, slots 622), the handle is a central handle with the engagement member receivable with the recess of rail elevator member (Campanaro, “Pulling of the handle 600/rotation of the tube 616 towards the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611, which is welded to lever 619 to move outward, and disengage slot 622 (to unlock the position of the carriage 130) and releasing of the handle 600/spring-biased rotation of the tube 616 away from the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611 to move inward, and engage slot 622 (to lock the position of the carriage 130)”; The rotation of tube 616 is receivable with the directing slot 617 via the lever pin 614. In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the handle being a central handle of the claimed invention is shown with the rotation tube 616),
Campanaro fails to explicitly show the spring-loaded latch includes a pair of spring- loaded latches that are urged laterally outwardly to cause the vertical catches of the latches to laterally engage vertically spaced rail grooves of the tower to secure the rail elevator member and associated support structure at a desired height and incline.
However, Campanaro discloses a latch 611 and a series of slots 622.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Campanaro by duplicating the latch along lever 619 and the series of slots in order to further reinforce the connection between the rails with the tower. This duplication therefore teaches the spring-loaded latch being a pair of spring- loaded latches of the claimed invention. It is well known in the art to duplicate parts, see MPEP2144.04.VI (Reversal, Duplication, or Rearrangement of Parts). Campanaro also discloses in paragraph 0052, “Pulling of the handle 600/rotation of the tube 616 towards the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611, which is welded to lever 619 to move outward, and disengage slot 622 (to unlock the position of the carriage 130) and releasing of the handle 600/spring-biased rotation of the tube 616 away from the rails 140, 150 causes latch 611 to move inward, and engage slot 622 (to lock the position of the carriage 130). Springs 623, 624, 625 respectively bias the handle 600, tube 616, and latch 621 into a home position and inhibit play/rattling in the handle 600, tube 616, and latch 62”, thereby teaching a latch being urged laterally outwardly to cause the vertical catches of the latches to laterally engage vertically spaced rail grooves of the tower to secure the rail elevator member and associated support structure at a desired height and incline of the claimed invention.
Campanaro
Regarding claim 31, Campanaro, in view of Lagree, teaches the exercise device system of claim 6, wherein the movable user support platform assembly includes a lower half with a perimeter (Campanaro, see annotated FIG. 1B below; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the edge labeled in the view of FIG. 1B shows the lower half with a perimeter) and a squat handle along the perimeter configured to be grabbed by a user when performing squats or other exercises on the movable user support platform assembly, wherein the squat handle is integral with and extends longitudinally in a direction of travel of and near of bottom of the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “FIG. 19A (closed chain platform/BAPS attachment), FIG. 19B (press bar), FIG. 19C (foot stand), FIG. 19D (toe bar), FIGS. 19E/19F (squat handle bar, grip bar, slide distance regulator, dip bar), FIG. 19G (weight bar), FIG. 19H (3-grip pull-up bar), and FIG. 19I (scrunch bar/handle /platform) show embodiments of a number of accessories for the exercise device 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D. Other accessories may include, but are not limited to, a leg pulley system, an accessory rack/cart, and/or a wooden dowel. One or more implementations of the exercise device 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D, includes one or more of the accessories shown in FIGS. 19A-19I”, paragraph 0060; The squat handle bar seen in FIGS. 19E/19F teaches the squat handle configured to be grabbed by a user when performing squats or other exercises of the claimed invention and teaches the squat handle, in the broadest reasonable interpretation, being positioned along the perimeter of the movable user support platform assembly. Furthermore, the squat handle seen in FIG. 19E below shows the squat handle extending longitudinally in a direction of travel. Although Campanaro shows the squat handle bar positioned at the top of the support platform, Campanaro also shows a press bar positioned at the bottom of the support platform. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified the squat handle bar to be at the bottom of the support platform for a user to perform a variety of exercises as Campanaro already shows a comparable handle accessory positioned at the bottom of the support platform. Also see MPEP 2144.04.VI (Reversal, Duplication, or Rearrangement of Parts)).
Campanaro
Claims 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. US20120053028A1), in view of Lagree (PG Patent Publication No. US20220140652A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Belson (PG Patent Publication No. 2021/0402259A1).
Regarding claim 4, Campanaro, in view of Lagree, teaches the exercise device system of claim 6, including the tracking sensor module.
Campanaro fails to explicitly teach the tracking sensor module including an inertial measurement unit, a microprocessor, a wireless communication device to wirelessly communicate data, and a rechargeable or replaceable battery.
However, Lagree teaches a microprocessor (Lagree, control unit 64), a wireless communication device to wirelessly communicate data (Lagree, “The electrical device 60 may be comprised of various other types of electrically powered devices such as but not limited to an electric motors, electric actuators, wireless communication devices and electric power ports (e.g. USB port)”, paragraph 0140), and a rechargeable or replaceable battery (Lagree, battery 54).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also included the wireless communication devices of Lagree into the user support platform of Campanaro in order to remotely access tracked data remotely. It is well known in the art to incorporate wireless communication devices into exercise devices to remotely access exercise data. Moreover, it would have been obvious to incorporate the battery of Lagree to provide power to the electrical components.
Campanaro and Lagree fail to teach the tracking sensor module including an inertial measurement unit.
However, Belson, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the inertial measurement unit (Belson, IMUs, paragraph 0108). Belson also discloses “The measurements taken from sensors (e.g., IMUs) in the two handles are passed to accessories engine 212 of the exercise machine” (Belson, paragraph 0108).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors of the modified inclinable exercise devices of Campanaro to include the IMUs of Belson in order to “aggregates, for example, sensor readings from all actuators. The actuator sensor data is then passed to exercise processing engine 208” (Belson, paragraph 0108). More specifically, it would be obvious to include IMUs into the user support platform to retrieve exercise and/or biometric data of the user for processing and to produce recommendations and evaluations. Moreover, Lagree already discloses, in paragraph 0137, that other sensors may be utilized, making this modification obvious.
Regarding claim 8, Campanaro, in view of Lagree and Belson, the exercise device system of claim 6, wherein the exercise device handles include integrated electronics configured to wirelessly transmit data on measured handle movement characteristics (Belson discloses “the sensors used by the exercise machine include accessories such as smart watches, with which the exercise machine may be communicatively coupled (e.g., via a wireless connection such as Bluetooth or WiFi)” (Belson, paragraph 0050); It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handles of Campanaro to wirelessly stream data in order to provide “readings from such sensors to be used to monitor form” (Belson, paragraph 0050)).
Regarding claim 9, Campanaro, in view of Lagree and Belson, the exercise device system of claim 8, wherein the integrated electronics are configured to measure and wirelessly transmit at least one of data related to handle rotation, handle acceleration, line of handle pull, and plane of handle pull (Belson, “IMUs are used to measure the acceleration and rate of rotation of actuators”, paragraph 0042; The acceleration measured by the IMUs of Belson teach the handle acceleration of the claimed invention, and the rate of rotation of the actuators of Belson teaches the handle rotation of the claimed invention).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. US20120053028A1), in view of Lagree (PG Patent Publication No. US20220140652A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hamilton (UK Patent Publication No. GB2583958A).
Regarding claim 17, Campanaro, in view of Lagree, teaches the exercise device system of claim 6, wherein the tower is vertically aligned (Campanaro, tower 120, seen in FIG. 1B and 1F of Campanaro above), and the exercise device system further including a movable carriage (Campanaro, “With reference to FIGS. 16A and 16B, an embodiment of a carriage lock mechanism 650A includes a carriage lock pin 651 that engages a hole on a rear face of slidable carriage cuff 670 for locking the carriage 130 to the tower 120”, paragraph 0053; The carriage of Campanaro shows the movable carriage of the claimed invention) coupling the support structure to the tower to incline the support structure at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “With reference to FIGS. 15A-15C, a handle 600 at a top 610 of the tower 120 functions like a car door handle at the top of inclinable exercise device 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D. The user first lifts the rails 140, 150 slightly to unload the handle 600, then pulls the handle 600 forward toward the rails 140, 150, and then lowers the rails 140, 150 to the desired incline. The handle 600 is operably coupled to latch 611 in the tower 120 to lock/unlock the position of the carriage 130, paragraphs 0052).
Although Campanaro discloses in paragraph 0080, “The cable 970 and the handles 980 may hang from attachment member 1002 (FIG. 4A) when not in use for storage purposes. The attachment member 1002 may also be used for connecting a separate pulley and leg ankle cuff”, Campanaro and Lagree fail to teach the movable carriage or the tower including a rear with a handle storage mechanism configured to store the exercise device handles in a vertical aligned orientation, parallel with the vertically aligned tower, when not in use.
However, Hamilton, from the same field of endeavor, discloses “the footplate assembly 142 comprises a carriage which enables the footplate assembly 142 to slide back and forth along the rail 106”, (Hamilton, page 4). Hamilton also discloses “a handle connector 222 is provided (see FIG. 2 where handle connector 222 is schematically shown attached to footplate assembly 142)… In some examples, when the connector 222 is attached to footplate assembly 142, then the connector 222 can act as a useful holder or holster for neatly holding the handles when they are not in use. For example the connector 222 could prevent the handles from hanging loosely when the rowing machine is in the upright position of Figure 8” (Hamilton, page 8). The handle connector of Hamilton teaches the handle docking stations, and the carriage of Hamilton is comparable to the user support platform of Campanaro. Therefore, Hamilton teaches the movable carriage including a rear with a handle storage mechanism configured to store the exercise device handles when not in use.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the driving mechanism of Camapanaro to include the handle connector of Hamilton to “prevent the handles for hanging loosely when the rowing machine is in the upright position of Figure 8” (Hamilton, page 9). With this modification, and in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, Hamilton teaches the exercise device handles being stored in a vertical aligned orientation, parallel with the vertically aligned tower of Campanaro, see MPEP 2144.04.VI (Reversal, Duplication, or Rearrangement of Parts). Furthermore, the arrangement of the handles seen in FIG. 8 of the claimed invention is comparable to the arrangement of the handle connector of Hamilton for holding handles when not in use, see FIG. 8 of the claimed invention below and FIG. 2 of Hamilton below.
Claimed Invention Hamilton
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. US200700203004A1), in view of Ellis (PG Patent Publication No. US20110118090A1).
Regarding claim 18, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, collapsible exercise device 100, paragraph 0064), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, vertical support member or tower 110, paragraph 0064); a support structure (Campanaro, pair of upper rails 230 and pair of lower rails 240, paragraph 0065) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “the first end of the adjustable incline adjustably supported by, and vertically movable with respect to, the vertical support ember for adjusting the incline of the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, user support platform 340, Abstract) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “movably attached to the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a pulley system (Campanaro, first and second pulleys, Abstract, and pulleys 940, paragraph 0079) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, The third pulley of Campanaro being attached to the user support platform shows the pulley system being associated with the movable user support platform form assembly of the claimed invention); a cable (Campanaro, cable 970, paragraph 970) extending through the pulley system (Campanaro, see FIG. 1, paragraph 0079) and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “one or more cables include a single cable with opposite ends, and handles each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015); exercise device handles (Campanaro, handles 980, paragraph 0079) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, “each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “In use, the exerciser positions himself or herself on the user support platform 320 and grasps one or both of the handle 980. The exerciser then draws one or both of the handles 980 toward the exerciser and by doing so transports the user support platform 320 up along the lower rails 240 and upper rails 230”, paragraph 0084), wherein the tower includes a rail automatic adjustment mechanism up/down control (Campanaro, “The vertical support member includes an automatic lift mechanism including a driving mechanism, upper and lower pully assemblies, at least one of which is driven by the driving mechanism, and opposite vertical chains carried by the pully, the adjustable incline is coupled to the opposite vertical chains, and positioning the first end of the adjustable incline at a desired height includes moving the first end of the adjustable incline up and down with the automatic lift mechanism”, paragraph 0015), and flat option to configure the support structure to its folding position (Campanaro, “the automatic lift mechanism 1110 is actuated to raise or lower the height and angle of the rails 230, 240 and user support platform 320. This may be accomplished with a three-way toggle switch that may be set to an up or raise position for causing the driving mechanism 1270 to rotate in one direction to increase the height and angle of the rails 230, 240 and user support platform 320, may be set to an down or lower position for causing the driving mechanism 1270 to rotate in an opposite direction to decrease the height and angle of the rails 230, 240 and user support platform 320”, paragraph 0095, FIG. 15; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the tower including a flat option to configure the support structure to its folding position is shown in FIG. 15 with the user support platform being in its lowest position. And in light of the functional language, the automatic lift mechanism of Campanaro is shown to be able to raise the user support platform from the position seen in FIG. 15 to a folding position).
Campanaro
Campanaro fails to show memory options that allow a user to set and save favorite angles for the support structure.
However, Ellis, a teaching reference showing a showing a similar problem of automatically raising and lowering components of an exercise device relative to a tower of the exercise device, discloses in the Abstract, “exercise treadmill having an endless exercise surface for walking or running while exercising, a resistance mechanism for providing a resistance for simulating the pushing or pulling of a load, wherein the resistance can be adjusted and set to a specific resistance setting”.
Ellis teaches memory options that allow a user to set and save favorite angles for the support structure (Ellis, “Further, the inclination of belt 20 also can be controlled by the microprocessor or other suitable electronic controller. For example, the inclination of the base 12, and thus the treadmill 10 can be illustrated by a simple incline mechanism in which a lever leg 36 is rotated by an incline motor to raise and lower base 12. Actuation of the incline motor causes the rotation of lever leg 36 in the desired direction, thus raising or lowering base 21 and belt platform 34, thus causing the decline or incline, respectively, of belt platform 34. The degree of inclination chosen by user U is adjustable from controls on pushing and pulling means 16 or console 212 making it possible to vary the inclination of belt 20 during the exercise regimen”, paragraph 0151, and “Heart rate monitors can be used, and the microprocessor, or other suitable electronic controllers, can be configured to allow for heart rate monitoring and for the adjustment of belt 20 speed and incline and the level of weight resistance to maintain a desired heart rate”, paragraph 0153; The electronic controller of Ellis teaches the memory options of the claimed invention. In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the favorite angles of the claimed invention are taught by the adjustment of the incline level of Ellis that maintains the desired heart rate of Ellis with the microprocessor or other suitable electronic controllers. This is further shown by Ellis in paragraph 0009, “the inclination can be accomplished by either manual or power driven inclination systems, and can be accomplished either at the command of the user or as part of a computerized exercise regimen programmed into the exercise treadmill”).
Ellis
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electronic controller of Ellis with the collapsible exercise device of Campanaro in order for the automatic lift mechanism of Campanaro to “eliminates the need for a user to manually set the height and angle of the rails 230, 240 and user support platform 320 by lifting or lowering the rails 230, 240 and user support platform 320, sliding the inwardly extending slide bars 210 up or down in the tower level tracks 190, and setting the bars 210 in corresponding tower level hooks 200 as described above with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2” (Campanaro, paragraph 0092). Campanaro already discloses an automatic lift mechanism, but simply fails to disclose the electronic controls necessary to operate the automatic lift mechanism, making this modification obvious.
Claims 23-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. US20120053028A1), in view of Lagree (PG Patent Publication No. US20220140652A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Siaperas (PG Patent Publication No. US20190166993A1).
Regarding claim 23, Campanaro, in view of Lagree, teaches the exercise device system of claim 6, including the movable user support platform assembly.
Campanaro and Lagree fail to teach the movable user support platform assembly including a back support and a back support recline assembly that supports the back support in a plurality of different positions.
However, Siaperas, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a back support and a back support recline assembly that supports the back support in a plurality of different positions (FIG. 24 is a view similar to the view depicted in FIG. 16, except in FIG. 24 the top surface portions of the box-like main body 31 are depicted as having been opened upwardly and secured at different angles to provide a seat and a seat back, for exercises using the combar”, paragraph 0074, see FIGS. 24 and 27 below; The seat back 34 teaches the back support of the claimed invention. The back support recline assembly of the claimed invention is shown with the components circled below in FIGS. 24 and 27).
Siaperas
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glideboard and the user support platform of Campanaro by removing the user support platform and replacing it with the box-like main body, the seat, the seat back, and the assembly seen in FIGS. 24 and 27, on the glideboard for inclining the seat back of Siaperas, circled above, so that the user may be securely supported while performing a variety of exercises with the collapsible exercise device of Campanaro. Both Campanaro and Siaperas disclose an inclinable bench to be used with resistance cable devices making this modification obvious. Moreover, Campanaro already discloses in paragraph 0009, “there is a need for an inclined ramp exercise device which is easily foldable to a size which allows for easy storage, is easily unfolded into a useable state, and which allows for exercising multiple muscle groups and multiple exercises for each muscle group”, of which Siaperas provides.
Regarding claim 24, Campanaro, in view of Lagree and Siaperas, teaches the exercise device system of claim 23, wherein the movable user support platform assembly includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU), one or more processors, and/or one or more sensor(s) below the back support (The sensors of Lagree is disclosed to be in the carriage of Lagree. The carriage of Lagree is comparable to the seat of Siaperas. Therefore, for the modified inclinable exercise devices of Campanaro, it would be obvious to specify the sensors to be incorporated into the seat, which is positioned below the seat back).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. 2007/0203004A1), in view of Drayer (International Patent Publication No. WO 2022/212737).
Regarding claim 13, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, collapsible exercise device 100, paragraph 0064), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, vertical support member or tower 110, paragraph 0064); a support structure (Campanaro, pair of upper rails 230 and pair of lower rails 240, paragraph 0065) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “the first end of the adjustable incline adjustably supported by, and vertically movable with respect to, the vertical support ember for adjusting the incline of the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, user support platform, Abstract) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “movably attached to the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a pulley system (Campanaro, first and second pulleys, Abstract, and pulleys 940, paragraph 0079) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “coupled to the user support platform”, Abstract, and “connects to the user support platform 320”, paragraph 0079); a cable (Campanaro, one or more cables, Abstract, and cable 970, paragraph 970) extending through the pulley system (Campanaro, “extendable through first and second pulleys”, Abstract, and “extends through the pulleys 940”, paragraph 0079) and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “one or more cables include a single cable with opposite ends, and handles each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015); exercise device handles (Campanaro, handles 980, paragraph 0079) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, “each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “In use, the exerciser positions himself or herself on the user support platform 320 and grasps one or both of the handle 980. The exerciser then draws one or both of the handles 980 toward the exerciser and by doing so transports the user support platform 320 up along the lower rails 240 and upper rails 230”, paragraph 0084).
Although Campanaro discloses in paragraph 0078, “Pulleys 940 are slidably attached to the bars 830. Each pulley 940 includes a collar 950 and a spring-loaded pull pin 960. An exerciser may move each pulley 940 to a desired position on the bar 830 by pulling on the pull pin 960, sliding the pulley 940 via the collar 950 to a desired position on the bar 830, and releasing the pull pin 960 to lock the pulley 940 in place on the bar 830. It should be noted, the pulley 940 may be slid onto sections or elbows other than the inner tubular section 870”, Campanaro fails to show one or more electromagnetic locks coupled to the pulley system and/or the movable user support platform assembly to electromagnetically lock and unlock the pulley system to the movable user support platform assembly.
However, Drayer, a teaching reference showing the same problem of managing reeled cables, discloses in the Abstract “A platform-based strength machine enables users to perform strength or lifting activities or exercises via moveable or configurable pull points. The strength machine can include tracks that facilitate the configuring of the positions of the pull points, handles that control operation of the strength machine and/or measure movements performed by a user, compact motors that facilitate various platform or load application configurations, safety systems for the strength machine, and other enhancements”. Drayer continues to disclose in paragraph 101, “The platform 400 includes a top surface 410 having one or more cable adjustment mechanisms, such as a first cable adjustment mechanism 412 and a second cable adjustment mechanism 414 accessible via the top surface 410, and one or more cable guides adapted to be adjustably positioned or moved within the cable adjustment mechanisms 412, 414. The cable adjustment mechanisms 412, 414, as described herein, can include tracks or slots that facilitate movement of the cable guides 415 to different positions within the top surface 410 of the platform 400”.
Drayer
Drayer
Drayer teaches one or more electromagnetic locks coupled to the pulley system to electromagnetically lock and unlock the pulley system (Drayer, “The cable guides can include a track lock, such as an electromagnetic locking mechanism, which enables the cable guide to be slidably adjusted or otherwise movable along the cable adjustment mechanisms when the platform 400 is not in use (e.g., there is no load applied to a handle via a cable passing through the cable guide). Similarly, the track lock can limit or prevent movement of a cable guide when the platform 400 is in use (e.g., there is a load applied to a handle via a cable passing through the cable guide)”, paragraph 109).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the collar and the spring-loaded pull pin of Campanaro with the tracks, each with the track lock, such as an electromagnetic locking mechanism, as taught by Drayer, in order to “facilitate movement of the cable guides 415 to different positions” (Drayer, paragraph 101) and to more effectively “limit or prevent movement of a cable” (Drayer, paragraph 109). More specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the tracks with the track locks into the bars of Campanaro, respectively, as the pulleys of Campanaro are already slidably adjustable along the bars with the respective collar and spring-loaded pull pin. The specification of the claimed invention does not provide any specific reason for the importance of the electromagnetic locks beyond the purpose/function of the electromagnetic locks, making this modification obvious. Furthermore, in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the modified collapsible exercise device of Campanaro teaches one or more electromagnetic locks coupled to the pulley system to electromagnetically lock and unlock the pulley system to the movable user support platform assembly as the changes in position of the pulleys along the respective bars with the electromagnetic locking mechanisms locks and unlocks the pulleys with respect to the user support platform of Campanaro.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. 2007/0203004A1), in view of Chen (US20020183172A1) and Belson (PG Patent Publication No. 2021/0402259A1).
Regarding claim 14, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, collapsible exercise device 100, paragraph 0064), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, vertical support member or tower 110, paragraph 0064); a support structure (Campanaro, pair of upper rails 230 and pair of lower rails 240, paragraph 0065) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “the first end of the adjustable incline adjustably supported by, and vertically movable with respect to, the vertical support ember for adjusting the incline of the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, user support platform, Abstract) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “movably attached to the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a pulley system (Campanaro, first and second pulleys, Abstract, and pulleys 940, paragraph 0079) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “coupled to the user support platform”, Abstract, and “connects to the user support platform 320”, paragraph 0079); a cable (Campanaro, one or more cables, Abstract, and cable 970, paragraph 970) extending through the pulley system (Campanaro, “extendable through first and second pulleys”, Abstract, and “extends through the pulleys 940”, paragraph 0079) and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “one or more cables include a single cable with opposite ends, and handles each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015); exercise device handles (Campanaro, handles 980, paragraph 0079) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, “each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “In use, the exerciser positions himself or herself on the user support platform 320 and grasps one or both of the handle 980. The exerciser then draws one or both of the handles 980 toward the exerciser and by doing so transports the user support platform 320 up along the lower rails 240 and upper rails 230”, paragraph 0084), wherein the pulley system includes a pulley cable attachment (Campanaro, “A connector extends through the pulleys 940 and connects to the user support platform 320. The connector may be of any suitable well-known type, but shown by way of example 1 is a cable 970. The cable 970 includes handles 980 (connected via links 990) at each end and extends through the pulleys 940 positioned on the combination pulley-support and pull-up bars 830 and loops through a third pulley 1000 attached to the user support platform 320”, paragraph 0079; The third pulley of Campanaro shows pulley cable attachment of the claimed invention).
Campanaro fails to show the movable user support platform assembly includes a cabinet including the pulley cable attachment and a tracking sensor module configured to capture metrics related to use of the exercise device system.
However, Chen, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the movable user support platform assembly includes a cabinet including the pulley cable attachment (Chen, “a second pulley 32 at the bottom end of the reclined body rest 22”, paragraph 0018; The cabinet defined in the specification of the claimed invention is disclosed in paragraph 0042, “FIG. 41 is a perspective view of an embodiment of a glideboard including a cabinet (shown without cabinet cover) for hiding a pulley cable attachment, storing one or more tracking sensors, and/or storing accessories inside the glideboard”, and in paragraph 00120, “With reference to FIG. 41, a glideboard 3200 includes a cabinet 3210 (shown without cabinet cover) for hiding a pulley cable attachment 3220, storing one or more tracking sensors 3230, and/or storing accessories inside the glideboard 3200”. The FIG. 41 of the claimed invention shows the cabinet as the depression/notch/bed as the ‘cabinet’ with no cover. The reclined body rest of Chen is comparable to the user support platform of Campanaro. The arrangement of the second pulley under the reclined body rest, positioned between the buttress rods 221 and the cross bar between the buttress rods, seen below, teaches the cabinet of the claimed invention which includes the pulley cable attachment).
Chen
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user support platform of Campanaro to have the third pulley to be positioned under the user support platform, between the glideboard of Campanaro, and incorporate the crossbar seen circled above in FIG. 1 of Chen, in order to effectively support the third pulley of Campanaro under the user support platform. This arrangement is obvious in order to further protect the third pulley throughout use of the collapsible exercise device of Campanaro with the user support platform sliding up towards the tower.
Campanaro and Chen fail to teach a tracking sensor module configured to capture metrics related to use of the exercise device system.
However, Belson, from the same field of endeavor, teaches Inertial Measurement Unit sensors (Belson, IMUs, paragraph 0108). Belson also discloses “The measurements taken from sensors (e.g., IMUs) in the two handles are passed to accessories engine 212 of the exercise machine” (Belson, paragraph 0108). Belson teaches the tracking sensor of the claimed invention with the IMU’s because the specification of the claimed invention discloses on page 4 “the tracking sensor module includes an inertial measurement unit, a microprocessor, a wireless communication device to wirelessly communicate data, and/or a rechargeable/replaceable battery”.
Belson
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handles of Campanaro to include the IMUs of Belson in order to “aggregates, for example, sensor readings from all actuators. The actuator sensor data is then passed to exercise processing engine 208” (Belson, paragraph 0108). More specifically, it would be obvious to include IMUs into the handles to retrieve exercise and/or biometric data of the user for processing and to produce recommendations and evaluations.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. 2007/0203004A1), in view of Piaget (U.S. Patent No. US5674167A).
Regarding claim 20, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, collapsible exercise device 100, paragraph 0064), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, vertical support member or tower 110, paragraph 0064); a support structure (Campanaro, pair of upper rails 230 and pair of lower rails 240, paragraph 0065) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “the first end of the adjustable incline adjustably supported by, and vertically movable with respect to, the vertical support ember for adjusting the incline of the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, user support platform, Abstract) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “movably attached to the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a pulley system (Campanaro, first and second pulleys, Abstract, and pulleys 940, paragraph 0079) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “ A connector extends through the pulleys 940 and connects to the user support platform 320. The connector may be of any suitable well-known type, but shown by way of example 1 is a cable 970. The cable 970 includes handles 980 (connected via links 990) at each end and extends through the pulleys 940 positioned on the combination pulley-support and pull-up bars 830 and loops through a third pulley 1000 attached to the user support platform 320. The third pulley 1000 is positioned along the lateral centerline of the user support platform 320. This position allows for unilateral (i.e. one arm), bilateral (i.e., two arm) and static equilibrium (i.e. holding the user support platform 320 suspended by keeping a constant force on each handle 980) use”, paragraph 0079; The third pulley of Campanaro being attached to the user support platform shows the pulley system being associated with the movable user support platform form assembly of the claimed invention); a cable (Campanaro, one or more cables, Abstract, and cable 970, paragraph 970) extending through the pulley system (Campanaro, “extendable through first and second pulleys”, Abstract, and “extends through the pulleys 940”, paragraph 0079) and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “one or more cables include a single cable with opposite ends, and handles each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015); exercise device handles (Campanaro, handles 980, paragraph 0079) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, “each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “In use, the exerciser positions himself or herself on the user support platform 320 and grasps one or both of the handle 980. The exerciser then draws one or both of the handles 980 toward the exerciser and by doing so transports the user support platform 320 up along the lower rails 240 and upper rails 230”, paragraph 0084).
Although Campanaro discloses in paragraph “For normal use, the bars 830 may be moved to the position shown in FIG. 1 and locked into place using the pull pin 930 and the vertical pin hole on the attachment bracket 920. For performing chin ups, the bars 830 may be moved to the position shown in FIGS. 12A, 12B and locked into place using the pull pin 930 and the horizontal pin hole on the attachment bracket 920”, and in paragraph 0078, “Pulleys 940 are slidably attached to the bars 830”, Campanaro fails to explicitly show rotatable arms that the cable extends through and the exercise device handles coupled to the opposite ends of the cable extend from; an arm articulation mechanism configured to allow each of the rotatable arms to be rotated to a desired rotation position and translated horizontally to a desired horizontal position.
However, Piaget, a teaching reference showing the same problem of articulating an extension arm that supports a cable with handles, discloses in col. 2, lines 53-63, “the instant strength training exercise apparatus 10 includes a plurality of elastomeric cords which provide variable resistance to movable leg and arm members. The exercise apparatus 10 comprises a frame generally indicated at 12, first and second arm members generally indicated at 14, and 16 respectively, a leg member generally indicated at 18, and first and second independent resistance assemblies 20, and 22 respectively, for providing resistance to movement of the arm and leg members”.
Piaget
Piaget teaches rotatable arms that the cable extends through and the exercise device handles coupled to the opposite ends of the cable extend from (Piaget, “Respective handle members 70, 72 are provided at the terminal ends of the pull line 68 whereby the operator can grasp the respective handle 70, 72 for creating outward movement of the pull line 68… The pull line 68 travels through respective center portions 82, 84 of the arm members 14, 16 and passes over pulleys 86, 88 (broken lines) respectively mounted at the pivot point of the respective arm member 14, 16”, col. 4, lines 15-25; The arms of Piaget teach the rotatable arms of the claimed invention. The pull line of Piaget is comparable to the cable of the Campanaro. The handle members of Piaget are comparable to the handles of Campanaro. The pull line of Piaget traveling though the arm members teaches the rotatable arms that the cable extends through of the claimed invention. The handle members of Piaget being connected to the terminal ends of the pull line teaches the exercise device handles coupled to the opposite ends of the cable of the claimed invention); an arm articulation mechanism configured to allow each of the rotatable arms to be rotated to a desired rotation position and translated horizontally to a desired horizontal position (Piaget, “Each of the arm members 14, 16 is provided with a spring-loaded pop-type locking pin 54, 56 on the respective first end portions 50, 52 for selectively locking the arm members 14, 16 in desired angular positions within the range of motion indicated. In this regard, the pop pins 54, 56 are received into corresponding apertures in locking plates (not shown) affixed to the legs 28, 30 of the back rest portion 24 of the frame 12. Accordingly, in use, the arm members 14, 16 can be selectively positioned in one of a plurality of different angular positions by extending the pop-pins 54, 56 through one of the apertures in the associated locking plate (not shown)”, col. 3, lines 43-54; The pop-pins and the associated lock plate, see FIG. 2 above, teaches the arm articulation mechanism of the claimed invention. In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, and in light of the functional language of the claim, the arm members of Piaget being selectively positioned at different angular positions teaches the arm articulation mechanism being configured to allow each of the rotatable arms to be rotated to a desired rotation position and translated horizontally to a desired position as the arm members of Piaget are shown in FIG. 2 to extend horizontally from the frame).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bars and pulleys of Campanaro to be replaced with arm members, the pop-pins, and the locking plate of Piaget as Campanaro already discloses the bars to pivot forward and backward. Furthermore, it would be obvious to incorporate the cable of Campanaro into the arm members of Piaget to keep the cable contained during use of the collapsible exercise device of Campanaro.
Claims 21-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. 2007/0203004A1), in view of Piaget (U.S. Patent No. US5674167A).
Regarding claim 21, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, collapsible exercise device 100, paragraph 0064), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, vertical support member or tower 110, paragraph 0064); a support structure (Campanaro, pair of upper rails 230 and pair of lower rails 240, paragraph 0065) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “the first end of the adjustable incline adjustably supported by, and vertically movable with respect to, the vertical support ember for adjusting the incline of the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, user support platform, Abstract) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “movably attached to the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a pulley system (Campanaro, first and second pulleys, Abstract, and pulleys 940, paragraph 0079) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “ A connector extends through the pulleys 940 and connects to the user support platform 320. The connector may be of any suitable well-known type, but shown by way of example 1 is a cable 970. The cable 970 includes handles 980 (connected via links 990) at each end and extends through the pulleys 940 positioned on the combination pulley-support and pull-up bars 830 and loops through a third pulley 1000 attached to the user support platform 320. The third pulley 1000 is positioned along the lateral centerline of the user support platform 320. This position allows for unilateral (i.e. one arm), bilateral (i.e., two arm) and static equilibrium (i.e. holding the user support platform 320 suspended by keeping a constant force on each handle 980) use”, paragraph 0079; The third pulley of Campanaro being attached to the user support platform shows the pulley system being associated with the movable user support platform form assembly of the claimed invention); a cable (Campanaro, one or more cables, Abstract, and cable 970, paragraph 970) extending through the pulley system (Campanaro, “extendable through first and second pulleys”, Abstract, and “extends through the pulleys 940”, paragraph 0079) and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “one or more cables include a single cable with opposite ends, and handles each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015); exercise device handles (Campanaro, handles 980, paragraph 0079) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, “each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “In use, the exerciser positions himself or herself on the user support platform 320 and grasps one or both of the handle 980. The exerciser then draws one or both of the handles 980 toward the exerciser and by doing so transports the user support platform 320 up along the lower rails 240 and upper rails 230”, paragraph 0084).
Although Campanaro discloses in paragraph “For normal use, the bars 830 may be moved to the position shown in FIG. 1 and locked into place using the pull pin 930 and the vertical pin hole on the attachment bracket 920. For performing chin ups, the bars 830 may be moved to the position shown in FIGS. 12A, 12B and locked into place using the pull pin 930 and the horizontal pin hole on the attachment bracket 920”, and in paragraph 0078, “Pulleys 940 are slidably attached to the bars 830”, Campanaro fails to explicitly show rotatable arms that the cable extends through and the exercise device handles coupled to the opposite ends of the cable extend from; a handle adjustment mechanism for each of the rotatable arms configured to allow each handle to move vertically relative to each of the rotatable arms.
However, Piaget, a teaching reference showing the same problem of articulating an extension arm that supports a cable with handles, discloses in col. 2, lines 53-63, “the instant strength training exercise apparatus 10 includes a plurality of elastomeric cords which provide variable resistance to movable leg and arm members. The exercise apparatus 10 comprises a frame generally indicated at 12, first and second arm members generally indicated at 14, and 16 respectively, a leg member generally indicated at 18, and first and second independent resistance assemblies 20, and 22 respectively, for providing resistance to movement of the arm and leg members”.
Piaget teaches rotatable arms that the cable extends through and the exercise device handles coupled to the opposite ends of the cable extend from (Piaget, “Respective handle members 70, 72 are provided at the terminal ends of the pull line 68 whereby the operator can grasp the respective handle 70, 72 for creating outward movement of the pull line 68… The pull line 68 travels through respective center portions 82, 84 of the arm members 14, 16 and passes over pulleys 86, 88 (broken lines) respectively mounted at the pivot point of the respective arm member 14, 16”, col. 4, lines 15-25; The arms of Piaget teach the rotatable arms of the claimed invention. The pull line of Piaget is comparable to the cable of the Campanaro. The handle members of Piaget are comparable to the handles of Campanaro. The pull line of Piaget traveling though the arm members teaches the rotatable arms that the cable extends through of the claimed invention. The handle members of Piaget being connected to the terminal ends of the pull line teaches the exercise device handles coupled to the opposite ends of the cable of the claimed invention); a handle adjustment mechanism for each of the rotatable arms (Piaget, “Each of the arm members 14, 16 is provided with a spring-loaded pop-type locking pin 54, 56 on the respective first end portions 50, 52 for selectively locking the arm members 14, 16 in desired angular positions within the range of motion indicated. In this regard, the pop pins 54, 56 are received into corresponding apertures in locking plates (not shown) affixed to the legs 28, 30 of the back rest portion 24 of the frame 12. Accordingly, in use, the arm members 14, 16 can be selectively positioned in one of a plurality of different angular positions by extending the pop-pins 54, 56 through one of the apertures in the associated locking plate (not shown)”, col. 3, lines 43-54; The pop-pins and the associated lock plate, see FIG. 2, teaches the handle adjustment mechanism of the claimed invention) configured to allow each handle to move vertically relative to each of the rotatable arms (In light of the functional language of the claim, the pop-pins and lock plate allow allows the handles to move vertically relative to each of the arm members as the handles of Piaget are free to move in any direction).
Piaget
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bars and pulleys of Campanaro to be replaced with arm members, the pop-pins, and the locking plate of Piaget as Campanaro already discloses the bars to pivot forward and backward. Furthermore, it would be obvious to incorporate the cable of Campanaro into the arm members of Piaget to keep the cable contained during use of the collapsible exercise device of Campanaro.
Regarding claim 22, Campanaro, in view of Piaget, teaches the exercise device system of claim 21.
Campanaro fails to explicitly show an arm hub for each of the rotatable arms, and each of the rotatable arms being swivelably connected to the arm hub to enable the rotatable arm to swivel about a vertical axis.
However, Piaget, teaches a arm hub for each of the rotatable arms (Piaget, first end portions 50, 52; In light of the modification by Piaget, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have also incorporated the first end in order to connect the arm members with the tower of Campanaro), and each of the rotatable arms is swivelably connected to the arm hub to enable the rotatable arm to swivel about a vertical axis (In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the first end portions enable the arm members to swivel about a vertical axis).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the first end portions of Piaget to the tower of Campanaro in order for the arm members of Piaget to be tower while also allowing for increased range of motion for the arm members.
Regarding claim 25, Campanaro, in view of Piaget, teaches the exercise device system of claim 21, wherein the movable user support includes a tilt angle adjustment mechanism (Campanaro, “The sides 180 include tower level tracks 190 with multiple tower level hooks 200 evenly vertically spaced along the tracks 190. Slide bars 210 extend inwardly from proximal ends 220 of a pair of upper rails 230. The inwardly extending slide bars 210 may be slid up or down in the tower level tracks 190 and set in corresponding tower level hooks 200 to a desired height… A user support platform 320 is slidably attached to the rails 230, 240 through support frame or glideboard 330 and rollers (not shown) on the support frame 330”, paragraph 0064-0067; The tower level tracks and the inwardly extending slide bars of Campanaro shows the tilt angle adjust mechanism) with one or more support rails (Campanaro, support frame or glideboard 330) including an angle adjust lever (Campanaro, inwardly extending slide bars) coupled thereto and movably therewith to manipulate an angle of the one or more support rails (Campanaro, “The inwardly extending slide bars 210 may be slid up or down in the tower level tracks 190 and set in corresponding tower level hooks 200 to a desired height”; As the user support platform is slidable on the rails of Campanaro, the adjustment of the inwardly extending slide bars of Campanaro into the tower level hooks adjust the angle of the user support platform, and consequently the support frame or glideboard).
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. 2007/0203004A1), in view of Ann (Korean Patent Publication No. KR20090094588A).
Regarding claim 26, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, collapsible exercise device 100, paragraph 0064), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, vertical support member or tower 110, paragraph 0064); a support structure (Campanaro, pair of upper rails 230 and pair of lower rails 240, paragraph 0065) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “the first end of the adjustable incline adjustably supported by, and vertically movable with respect to, the vertical support ember for adjusting the incline of the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, user support platform, Abstract) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “movably attached to the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a pulley system (Campanaro, first and second pulleys, Abstract, and pulleys 940, paragraph 0079) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “ A connector extends through the pulleys 940 and connects to the user support platform 320. The connector may be of any suitable well-known type, but shown by way of example 1 is a cable 970. The cable 970 includes handles 980 (connected via links 990) at each end and extends through the pulleys 940 positioned on the combination pulley-support and pull-up bars 830 and loops through a third pulley 1000 attached to the user support platform 320. The third pulley 1000 is positioned along the lateral centerline of the user support platform 320. This position allows for unilateral (i.e. one arm), bilateral (i.e., two arm) and static equilibrium (i.e. holding the user support platform 320 suspended by keeping a constant force on each handle 980) use”, paragraph 0079; The third pulley of Campanaro being attached to the user support platform shows the pulley system being associated with the movable user support platform form assembly of the claimed invention); a cable (Campanaro, one or more cables, Abstract, and cable 970, paragraph 970) extending through the pulley system (Campanaro, “extendable through first and second pulleys”, Abstract, and “extends through the pulleys 940”, paragraph 0079) and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “one or more cables include a single cable with opposite ends, and handles each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015); exercise device handles (Campanaro, handles 980, paragraph 0079) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, “each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “In use, the exerciser positions himself or herself on the user support platform 320 and grasps one or both of the handle 980. The exerciser then draws one or both of the handles 980 toward the exerciser and by doing so transports the user support platform 320 up along the lower rails 240 and upper rails 230”, paragraph 0084).
Campanaro fails to show further including a pulley sled with a plurality of pulleys that are part of the pulley system and that the cable extends through, a sled-release mechanism movable between a first position where the pulley sled is coupled to the movable user support platform assembly to travel with the movable user support platform assembly and a second position where the pulley sled is coupled to the support structure so that the movable user support platform assembly travels relative to the pulley sled.
However, Ann, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a pulley sled (Ann, slider 40, page 4; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the slider teaches the pulley sled of the claimed invention) with a plurality of pulleys that are part of the pulley system and that the cable extends through (Ann, see annotated FIG. 1 below; The pulleys of Ann are comparable to the pulleys of Campanaro. The pulleys of Ann are engaged with the pulley sled of Ann with the cable), a sled-release mechanism (Ann, a pair of cylinders C1 and C2, page 4) movable between a first position where the pulley sled is coupled to the movable user support platform assembly to travel with the movable user support platform assembly (Ann, see FIG. 3 below; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the first position is shown with the lower angled backrest seen in FIG. 3. As seen in FIG. 3, the slider is coupled to the mat and moves with the mat) and a second position where the pulley sled is coupled to the support structure so that the movable user support platform assembly travels relative to the pulley sled (Ann, see FIG. 3 below; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the second position is shown with the lower angled backrest seen in FIG. 3. The slider is coupled with the horizontal rail and moves relative to the mat).
Ann
Ann
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user support platform of Campanaro to be replaced with the slider 40, the mat 50, and the pair of cylinders C1 and C2 “for adjusting the angle of the backrest 50-1 of the mat 50” (Ann, page 4). Moreover, it would have been obvious to also rearrange the cable with the user support platform of Campanaro to reflect that of the cable with the mat, circled above in FIG. 1 in order to account for the inclinable mat. This modification is obvious as both Campanaro and Ann disclose reformers with resistance cable functions and the horizontal rail of Ann is comparable to the slide bars, with the upper rails and the lower rails, of Campanaro.
Regarding claim 27, Campanaro, in view of Ann, teaches the exercise device system of claim 26, further including a resistance mechanism (Campanaro, weight bars, paragraph 0085) included in the movable user support platform assembly, the support structure, and/or other locations in the exercise device system (Campanaro, “Weight bars (not shown) may be added to the user support platform 320 so that weight plates (not shown) may be positioned on the weight bars, thus adding to the weight propelled by the exerciser's muscles”, paragraph 0085; The weight bars being added to the user support platform shows the resistance mechanism being included in the movable user support platform of the claimed invention), and configured to increase exercise resistance via added-weight resistance (Campanaro, “thus adding to the weight propelled by the exerciser's muscles”), variable resistance, constant resistance, isokinetic resistance, isometric resistance, and/or isotonic resistance.
Regarding claim 28, Campanaro, in view of Ann, teaches the exercise device system of claim 26, further including a pulley length adjustment mechanism (Campanaro, “Pulleys 940 are slidably attached to the bars 830. Each pulley 940 includes a collar 950 and a spring-loaded pull pin 960. An exerciser may move each pulley 940 to a desired position on the bar 830 by pulling on the pull pin 960, sliding the pulley 940 via the collar 950 to a desired position on the bar 830, and releasing the pull pin 960 to lock the pulley 940 in place on the bar 830. It should be noted, the pulley 940 may be slid onto sections or elbows other than the inner tubular section 870”, paragraph 0078; The collar and the spring-loaded pull pin of Campanaro shows, in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the pulley length adjustment mechanism) with a movable locking mechanism (Campanaro, spring-loaded pull pin 960) configured to unlock and lock the pulley length adjustment mechanism to move the movable locking mechanism to adjust and fix usable length of the cable appropriate for a particular exercise (Campanaro, “An exerciser may move each pulley 940 to a desired position on the bar 830 by pulling on the pull pin 960, sliding the pulley 940 via the collar 950 to a desired position on the bar 830, and releasing the pull pin 960 to lock the pulley 940 in place on the bar 830”).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. 2007/0203004A1), in view of Shade (International Patent Publication No. WO2012170815A1).
Regarding claim 30, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, collapsible exercise device 100, paragraph 0064), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, vertical support member or tower 110, paragraph 0064); a support structure (Campanaro, pair of upper rails 230 and pair of lower rails 240, paragraph 0065) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “the first end of the adjustable incline adjustably supported by, and vertically movable with respect to, the vertical support ember for adjusting the incline of the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, user support platform, Abstract) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “movably attached to the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a pulley system (Campanaro, first and second pulleys, Abstract, and pulleys 940, paragraph 0079) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “ A connector extends through the pulleys 940 and connects to the user support platform 320. The connector may be of any suitable well-known type, but shown by way of example 1 is a cable 970. The cable 970 includes handles 980 (connected via links 990) at each end and extends through the pulleys 940 positioned on the combination pulley-support and pull-up bars 830 and loops through a third pulley 1000 attached to the user support platform 320. The third pulley 1000 is positioned along the lateral centerline of the user support platform 320. This position allows for unilateral (i.e. one arm), bilateral (i.e., two arm) and static equilibrium (i.e. holding the user support platform 320 suspended by keeping a constant force on each handle 980) use”, paragraph 0079; The third pulley of Campanaro being attached to the user support platform shows the pulley system being associated with the movable user support platform form assembly of the claimed invention); a cable (Campanaro, one or more cables, Abstract, and cable 970, paragraph 970) extending through the pulley system and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “one or more cables include a single cable with opposite ends, and handles each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015); exercise device handles (Campanaro, handles 980, paragraph 0079) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, “each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “In use, the exerciser positions himself or herself on the user support platform 320 and grasps one or both of the handle 980. The exerciser then draws one or both of the handles 980 toward the exerciser and by doing so transports the user support platform 320 up along the lower rails 240 and upper rails 230”, paragraph 0084).
Although Campanaro discloses in paragraph 0067, “A bumper (not shown) may be positioned on the lower rails 240 to prevent the user support platform 320 from rolling all the way down the lower rails 240”, Campanaro fails to explicitly show a movable user support platform distance regulator receivable by the support structure to limit upper and lower limits of travel of the movable user support platform assembly, wherein the movable user support platform distance regulator includes a pull member, a rail receiver, and a stopper, the rail receiver slidably receivable with respect to a desired location of the support structure to regulate limits of movable user support platform.
However, Shade, showing a similar problem of limiting movement of a sliding member on a track of an exercise machine, discloses in pages 12, “an apparatus includes a first elongate track and a second elongate track that are each substantially straight and adjustably coupled to a base member such that each track is configured to extend away from the base member in the opposite direction relative to the other track. The apparatus also includes a first handle slidably coupled to the first elongate track such that the first handle is movable along the length of the first elongate track and a second handle slidably coupled to the second elongate track such that the second handle is movable along the length of the second elongate track”. Shade continues to disclose in page 11, “the apparatus 100 may also include inner stoppers 129, 139 and outer stoppers 128, 138 that are configured to restrict the movement of handles 140, 150 along the tracks 120, 130. The stoppers 128, 129, 138, 139 may be various sizes and shapes. As shown in Fig. 1 , the stoppers 128, 129, 138, 139 may be configured to substantially extend across the width of the tracks 120, 130. The inner and outer stoppers 128, 129, 138, 139 may be attached to the tracks 120, 130 in various ways”
Shade teaches a movable user support platform distance regulator receivable by the support structure to limit upper and lower limits of travel (Shade, “As shown in Figs. l Ob-lOg, stoppers 128, 129, 138, 139 may involve various locking mechanisms, including screws and clamps. It should also be noted that stoppers 128, 129, 138, 139 may simply include a set screw secured within a threaded or unthreaded hole in the corresponding track, where a portion of the screw sticks out from the top surface of the track to impede the movement of the respective handle 140, 150. In at least one embodiment, the stoppers 128, 129, 138, 139 may be configured to be easily moved and secured along a track. This ability to manipulate the placement of the stoppers 128, 129, 138, 139 allows a user to define which portion of track the user will be permitted to move the handles within”, page 11; The stopper of FIG. 10d, seen below, teaches the movable user support platform distance regulator of the claimed invention. The track of Shade is comparable to the slide bars of Campanaro, and the handles of Shade is comparable to the user support platform of Campanaro as the slidable object along a track/rail), wherein the movable user support platform distance regulator includes a pull member (Shade, FIG. 10d; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the component labeled below teaches the pull member of the claimed invention), a rail receiver (Shade, see annotated FIG. 10d below), and a stopper (Shade, see annotated FIG. 10d below), the rail receiver slidably receivable with respect to a desired location of the support structure to regulate limits of movable user support platform (Shade, “As shown in Fig. 1 , the stoppers 128, 129, 138, 139 may be configured to substantially extend across the width of the tracks 120, 130… This ability to manipulate the placement of the stoppers 128, 129, 138, 139 allows a user to define which portion of track the user will be permitted to move the handles within”).
Shade
Shade
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the stoppers inner stoppers and the outer stoppers on the slide bars of Campanaro to provide both upper limits and lower limits to the movement of the user support platform. This modification is obvious as Campanaro already discloses a bumper to prevent the user support platform from rolling all the way down the lower rails. Shade further enhances this feature by providing adjustable limits for the user support platform of Campanaro beyond a fixed lower limit already provided by the bumper. This modification is obvious as the track of Shade is comparable to the upper rails and the lower rails of Campanaro, and the handles of Shade are comparable to the user support platform of the Campanaro. By incorporating an inner stopper on an upper rail of each of the slide bars and an outer stopper on a lower rail of each of the slide bars, the user movable platform will be prevented from rolling all the way down the lower rails and from rolling all the way up the upper rails in the event a user pulls too hard and forces the user support platform against the tower of Campanaro.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. 2007/0203004A1), in view of Siaperas (PG Patent Publication No. US20190166993A1).
Regarding claim 32, Campanaro shows an exercise device system (Campanaro, collapsible exercise device 100, paragraph 0064), comprising: a tower (Campanaro, vertical support member or tower 110, paragraph 0064); a support structure (Campanaro, pair of upper rails 230 and pair of lower rails 240, paragraph 0065) inclinable at different angles relative to the tower (Campanaro, “the first end of the adjustable incline adjustably supported by, and vertically movable with respect to, the vertical support ember for adjusting the incline of the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, user support platform, Abstract) movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “movably attached to the adjustable incline”, Abstract); a pulley system (Campanaro, first and second pulleys, Abstract, and pulleys 940, paragraph 0079) associated with the movable user support platform assembly (Campanaro, “ A connector extends through the pulleys 940 and connects to the user support platform 320. The connector may be of any suitable well-known type, but shown by way of example 1 is a cable 970. The cable 970 includes handles 980 (connected via links 990) at each end and extends through the pulleys 940 positioned on the combination pulley-support and pull-up bars 830 and loops through a third pulley 1000 attached to the user support platform 320. The third pulley 1000 is positioned along the lateral centerline of the user support platform 320. This position allows for unilateral (i.e. one arm), bilateral (i.e., two arm) and static equilibrium (i.e. holding the user support platform 320 suspended by keeping a constant force on each handle 980) use”, paragraph 0079; The third pulley of Campanaro being attached to the user support platform shows the pulley system being associated with the movable user support platform form assembly of the claimed invention); a cable (Campanaro, one or more cables, Abstract, and cable 970, paragraph 970) extending through the pulley system (Campanaro, “extendable through first and second pulleys”, Abstract, and “extends through the pulleys 940”, paragraph 0079) and including opposite ends (Campanaro, “one or more cables include a single cable with opposite ends, and handles each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015); exercise device handles (Campanaro, handles 980, paragraph 0079) coupled to the opposite ends of the cable (Campanaro, “each connected to the opposite ends of the single cable”, paragraph 0015), whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure (Campanaro, “In use, the exerciser positions himself or herself on the user support platform 320 and grasps one or both of the handle 980. The exerciser then draws one or both of the handles 980 toward the exerciser and by doing so transports the user support platform 320 up along the lower rails 240 and upper rails 230”, paragraph 0084).
Although Campanaro discloses in paragraph 0067, “A user support platform 320 is slidably attached to the rails 230, 240 through support frame or glideboard 330 and rollers (not shown) on the support frame 330. A main support pad 340 is attached to and supported by the support frame 330”, Campanaro fails to explicitly teach the movable user support platform assembly includes a frame and a seat support pivotally coupled to the frame so as to be adjustable to a variety of different inclined positions relative to the frame, and a back support pivotally coupled to the seat support so as to be adjustable to a variety of different inclined positions relative to the seat support.
However, Siaperas, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a frame (Siaperas, box-like main body 31, paragraph 0072) and a seat support pivotally coupled to the frame so as to be adjustable to a variety of different inclined positions relative to the frame, and a back support pivotally coupled to the seat support so as to be adjustable to a variety of different inclined positions relative to the seat support (Siaperas, “FIG. 24 is a view similar to the view depicted in FIG. 16, except in FIG. 24 the top surface portions of the box-like main body 31 are depicted as having been opened upwardly and secured at different angles to provide a seat and a seat back, for exercises using the combar”, paragraph 0074, see FIGS. 24 and 27 below; The seat 33 of Siaperas teaches the seat support of the claimed invention, and the seat back 34 teaches the back support of the claimed invention. Both the seat and the seat back are shown to be pivotally coupled to the box-like main body of Siaperas to be adjustable to a variety of inclined positions).
Siaperas
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glideboard and the user support platform of Campanaro by removing the user support platform and replacing it with the box-like main body, the seat, the seat back, and the assembly seen in FIGS. 24 and 27, on the glideboard for inclining the seat and seat back of Siaperas, circled above, so that the user may be securely supported while performing a variety of exercises with the collapsible exercise device of Campanaro. Both Campanaro and Siaperas disclose an inclinable bench to be used with resistance cable devices making this modification obvious. Moreover, Campanaro already discloses in paragraph 0009, “there is a need for an inclined ramp exercise device which is easily foldable to a size which allows for easy storage, is easily unfolded into a useable state, and which allows for exercising multiple muscle groups and multiple exercises for each muscle group”, of which Siaperas provides.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campanaro (PG Patent Publication No. 2007/0203004A1), in view of Siaperas (PG Patent Publication No. US20190166993A1), as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Hodges (U.S. Patent No. US6010434A).
Regarding claim 33, Campanaro, in view of Siaperas teaches the exercise device system of claim 32, including the back support.
Cammpanaro and Siaperas fail to teach further including an adjustable and removable headrest that is adjustable and removable relative to the back support.
However, Hodges, a teaching reference showing a similar problem of supporting throughout an exercise for a user with an adjustable seat, discloses Fin the Abstract, “An exercise device for rehabilitating knees comprising a framework, an adjustable seat, exercise pedals and reciprocating shuttles which are mounted on supporting tracks and can be used to perform various exercises”.
Hodges teaches an adjustable and removable headrest that is adjustable and removable (Hodges, “As shown in FIG. 5, the head rest 4 can be adjusted with respect to the back 2. The head rest has a bar 41 attached thereto by any conventional means, and the chair back has a plate 51 with an aperture that receives the bar 41. A set screw 42 can be used to secure the bar in a selected position with respect to the back 42 of the chair”, col. 3, lines 41-46; The head rest of Hodges teaches the adjustable and removable headrest of the claimed invention. The head rest of Hodges teaches the adjustable and removable headrest of the claimed invention being adjustable as the bar is secured in a selected position with the screw of Hodges. The head rest of Hodges teaches the adjustable and removable headrest being removable as the screw is required to secure the bar into the aperture of the plate of Hodges, which is secured to the chair back. The chair back is comparable to the seat back of the modified collapsible exercise device of Campanaro).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the head rest of Hodges to the seat back of the modified collapsible exercise device of Campanaro in order to specifically support the head of a user and accommodate users of varies heights and sizes. It is well known in the art for seats and benches to have headrests to support the entire backside of a user, from lower back to head, so that a user may perform exercises safely.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art teach of make obvious the combinations of all the limitations required by independent claim 29, more specifically, an exercise device system, comprising: a tower; a support structure inclinable at different angles relative to the tower; a movable user support platform assembly movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure; a pulley system associated with the movable user support platform assembly; a cable extending through the pulley system and including opposite ends; exercise device handles coupled to the opposite ends of the cable, whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure, wherein the support structure includes rails, the movable user support platform assembly includes wheels with a H-shaped cross section that the movable user support platform assembly rolls along the rails on, and the cable moves within both the rails and the H-shaped cross-section wheels.
The closest prior art of record, Campanaro (US2007/0203004A1) discloses an exercise device system, comprising: a tower; a support structure inclinable at different angles relative to the tower; a movable user support platform assembly movably associated with the support structure for movement relative to the support structure; a pulley system associated with the movable user support platform assembly; a cable extending through the pulley system and including opposite ends; exercise device handles coupled to the opposite ends of the cable, whereby movement of the handles causes movement of the movable user support platform assembly relative to the support structure, but fails to disclose, wherein the support structure includes rails, the movable user support platform assembly includes wheels with a H-shaped cross section that the movable user support platform assembly rolls along the rails on, and the cable moves within both the rails and the H-shaped cross-section wheels.
There is no evidence from the prior art why someone skilled in the art would have anticipated specifically including H-shaped cross-section wheel, as well as, positioning the cable to move within both the rails and the H-shaped cross-section wheels without hindsight of the claimed invention.
Another prior art of record, Morgan (US6786847B1), discloses in the Abstract, “Exercise/therapy apparatus that allows a user to change one or more workout parameters without dismounting from the apparatus and without interrupting the workout. Several embodiments for inclined surface apparatus are disclosed, using vertical, tiltable and curvilinear surface support structures”. Morgan continues to disclose in col. 5, lines 55-65, and FIGS. 4A-4C, “In a third version of the bed guide mechanism 15, illustrated in FIG. 4D, the inclined surface 12 is provided with one or more spaced apart projections or rails, 15P-1 and 15P-2 (preferably at least two such projections), and each roller(s) is a fraction of a wheel, 14FW-1 and 14FW-2, that is opened so that a concave inner part of each wheel rides on a corresponding projection, 15P-1 or 15P-2. Lateral movement of each wheel, 14FW-1 and 14FW-2, and thus of the bed 12 that rides upon the wheel(s), is sharply limited by contact of the concave inner part of each wheel with the corresponding projection, 15P-1 and 15P-2”. Although Morgan shows H-shaped cross-section wheels, the cable is not positioned between the wheel and the rail.
Morgan
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2025 have been fully considered. Upon reconsideration of the allowability of the claims, based on the applicant amending the dependent claims that were indicated allowable subject matter from the previous office action, claims 3-28 and 30-33 are rejected. Claim 29 is considered allowable.
Conclusion
/JACQUELINE N L LOBERIZA/Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784