DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after June 13, 2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6 and 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 11-13 each recites the limitation “the one surface of the current collector”. There is insufficient antecedent basis as claim 1 recites “at least one surface from the current collector” whereas instant figure 2 envisions the current collector as hexahedral and, thus, with six surfaces. It is unclear if “the one surface” in each of the claims 6 and 11-13 is referencing the “at least one surface” of claim 1 or another of the five remaining surfaces. For this Office Action, in light of figures 2 and 3, claims 6 and 11-13 are interpreted as “the at least one surface” as the figures clearly reference the same surface when depicting said claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shim et al. (US 20170125818 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shim discloses (per fig. 4(c) and 10(e)) an electrode comprising: a current collector (substrate 20 that is composite of polymer and carbon nanotubes (CNTs) ([0061]) and, thus, conductive/current collector); and an electrode layer disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (active material layer 40 + CNT film 30, atop current collector; see also [0015], [0057], and [0060]).
The limitation “the electrode layer comprises a cutting surface” appears to be a product-by-process limitation (MPEP 2113), where the implied structure appears to simply be the recited concave and convex shape regardless of whether such is explicitly “cut”. Here, Shim discloses that a surface of the electrode has a concave and convex shape (per above figs.) and, thus, meets the implied structure.
Regarding claim 2, Shim discloses the electrode of claim 1, wherein the cutting surface comprises a plurality of concave parts and a plurality of convex parts that are repeatedly formed in a width direction (in the width direction i.e. X-direction of Fig. 4(c)) of the electrode ([0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Shim discloses the electrode of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of concave parts has a cross section that has a curve shape and that is concavely depressed toward an inside of the electrode layer (toward inside along thickness direction in fig. 4(c) and 10(e)).
Regarding claim 4, Shim discloses the electrode of claim 3, wherein two virtual circles that adjoin each other, among virtual circles that are extended along pieces of curvature formed by cross sections of the plurality of concave parts, respectively, form an overlapping surface (per annot. Fig. 10(e) below, compare to similar instant figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Shim discloses the electrode of claim 3, wherein pieces of curvature formed by cross sections of the plurality of concave parts, respectively, are identical with each other ([0038], fig. 4(c) and 10(e)). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned limitation is that the cutting surface has a uniform shape comprising of concave parts when observing the cross section. Shim discloses similarly that the surface includes a series of hemispherical shapes (pieces of curvature) extending along the length and width direction ([0038]), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art can deduce that a cross section of said surface would reveal a plurality of concave parts identical with each other.
Regarding claim 6, Shim discloses the electrode of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of concave parts and the plurality of convex parts is elongated in a direction perpendicular to the at least one surface of the current collector (manufactured electrode to include electrode layer 40+30 e.g. [0048], fig. 10(e)).
Regarding claim 7, Shim discloses the electrode of claim 2, wherein the cutting surface comprises: a first cutting surface (electrode layer 40, 10(e)); and a second cutting surface (electrode layer 30, 10(e)) disposed between the current collector and the first cutting surface.
Regarding claim 8, Shim discloses the electrode of claim 7, wherein: the first cutting surface comprises a plurality of first concave parts each depressed in a curve shape that is concave toward an inside of the electrode layer, the second cutting surface comprises a plurality of second concave parts each depressed in a curve shape that is concave toward the inside of the electrode layer (annot. fig. 10(e), where inside is electrode’s thickness direction).
Regarding claim 10, Shim discloses the electrode of claim 8, wherein curvature that is formed by each of the plurality of first concave parts and curvature that is formed by each of the plurality of second concave parts are identical with each other (40 and 30 have the same degree of curvature, fig. 10(e)).
Regarding claim 12, Shim, in light of the 112b rejection above, discloses the electrode of claim 2, wherein the cutting surface is cut in a direction toward the at least one surface of the current collector (fig. 4(c), fig. 10(e)).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (US 20140170502 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses (per fig. 3) an electrode (31) comprising: a current collector (31a); and an electrode layer disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (active material layer 31b).
The limitation “the electrode layer comprises a cutting surface” appears to be a product-by-process limitation (MPEP 2113), where the implied structure appears to simply be the recited concave and convex shape regardless of whether such is explicitly “cut”. Here, Ikeda discloses that a surface of the electrode has a concave and convex shape (see waveform pattern along edge of active material layer in fig. 4) and, thus, meets the implied structure.
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda discloses the electrode of claim 1, wherein the cutting surface comprises a plurality of concave parts and a plurality of convex parts that are repeatedly formed in a width direction of the electrode (as the claim does not appear to restrict “width” to a specific direction, depending on the electrode’s orientation, the “D” direction of fig. 4, which includes the waveform/concave and convex parts, could be considered the width).
Regarding claim 3, Ikeda discloses the electrode of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of concave parts has a cross section that has a curve shape and that is concavely depressed toward an inside of the electrode layer (as seen in fig. 4, a cross section of each of the plurality of concave parts would reveal a curve shape concavely depressed toward a longitudinal inside of the electrode layer).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda discloses the electrode of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of concave parts and the plurality of convex parts is elongated in a direction perpendicular to the at least one surface of the current collector (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Ikeda discloses the electrode of claim 2, wherein the cutting surface is cut in a direction toward the at least one surface of the current collector (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Ikeda discloses the electrode of claim 1, further comprising a non-coating part that is defined as an area in which the electrode layer is not present on the at least one surface of the current collector (annot. fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, and 11-13 is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (WO-2024244419-A1, see also machine translation), in view of Ikeda et al. (US 20140170502 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Du discloses an electrode comprising: a current collector; and an electrode layer disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (active material layers 321/322 on current collector 32, fig. 7),
The limitation “the electrode layer comprises a cutting surface” appears to be a product-by-process limitation (MPEP 2113), where the implied structure appears to simply be the recited concave and convex shape regardless of whether such is explicitly “cut”.
Importantly, Du further discloses that the electrolyte is normally impregnated through the end face and desires electrolyte infiltration into the center of the electrode to reduce lithium plating and improve battery performance and cycle life ([0085], [0086]). However, as seen in fig. 7, Du discloses straight edges, i.e., uniform surfaces, and, thus, fails to disclose that the electrode layer has a concave and convex shape.
Ikeda teaches an analogous electrode wherein the electrode layer comprises a cutting surface having a concave and convex shape (waveform, [0039]) as this enables the active material layer to be easily impregnated with the electrolyte to suppress variations in the amount of impregnation of the electrolyte into the active material layer and, thus, suppress variation in capacity ([0054], [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the waveform of Ikeda’s electrode at all the edges of the active material layers of Du’s electrode with the reasonable expectation of further enabling easy impregnation of the electrolyte into the active material layer to suppress capacity variation, as taught by Ikeda and desired by Du.
Regarding claim 2, modified Du discloses the electrode of claim 1, wherein the cutting surface comprises a plurality of concave parts and a plurality of convex parts that are repeatedly formed in a width direction of the electrode (as would be seen in Du’s fig. 7 when applying the waveform at the edges of the electrode (note also that such would be in Du’s width direction, per aerial view of figs. 4–6), based on Ikeda, fig. 4; compare to similar instant fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, modified Du discloses the electrode of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of concave parts has a cross section that has a curve shape and that is concavely depressed toward an inside of the electrode layer (as seen in Ikeda, fig. 4, the cross section has a curve shape and that is concavely depressed toward an inside of the electrode layer).
Regarding claim 6, modified Du discloses the electrode of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of concave parts and the plurality of convex parts is elongated in a direction perpendicular to the at least one surface of the current collector (Ikeda, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, modified Du discloses the electrode of claim 2, wherein the cutting surface comprises: a first cutting surface; and a second cutting surface disposed between the current collector and the first cutting surface (left-hand edge of each layer in Du, annot. fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, modified Du discloses the electrode of claim 7, wherein: the first cutting surface comprises a plurality of first concave parts each depressed in a curve shape that is concave toward an inside of the electrode layer, the second cutting surface comprises a plurality of second concave parts each depressed in a curve shape that is concave toward the inside of the electrode layer (as would be seen in Du, annot. fig. 7 above, when applying Ikeda’s waveform, as in Ikeda’s fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, modified Du discloses the electrode of claim 8, wherein: the first cutting surface is more depressed toward the inside of the electrode layer than the second cutting surface, the second cutting surface comprises a plurality of second concave parts each depressed in a curve shape that is concave toward the inside of the electrode layer (Ikeda, fig. 4 and Du, annot. fig. 7 above).
Regarding claim 11, modified Du, in light of the 112b rejection above, discloses the electrode of claim 7, wherein when a height of each of the first cutting surface and the second cutting surface is defined in a direction toward the at least one surface of the current collector, the height of the first cutting surface is lower than the height of the second cutting surface (as the first cutting surface is thinner than the second, as seen in Du, annot. fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, modified Du, in light of the 112b rejection above, discloses the electrode of claim 2, wherein the cutting surface is cut in a direction toward the at least one surface of the current collector (Du, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, modified Du, in light of the 112b rejection above, discloses the electrode of claim 1, further comprising a non-coating part that is defined as an area in which the electrode layer is not present on the at least one surface of the current collector (Du, annot. fig. 7).
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 10 is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (WO-2024244419-A1), in view of Ikeda et al. (US 20140170502 A1), as applied to claims 3 and 8, further in view of Shim et al. (US 20170125818 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Du discloses an electrode comprising all elements in claim 3 as discussed above. As seen in [0039] and fig. 4, Ikeda does not appear concerned with the waveform’s symmetry as long as the concavities are present to suppress capacity reduction, though modified Du fails to explicitly disclose wherein two virtual circles that adjoin each other, among virtual circles that are extended along pieces of curvature formed by cross sections of the plurality of concave parts, respectively, form an overlapping surface.
Shim teaches an analogous electrode wherein two virtual circles that adjoin each other, among virtual circles that are extended along pieces of curvature formed by cross sections of the plurality of concave parts, respectively, form an overlapping surface (view annot. fig. 10(e) above), as this maximizes a surface (Shim [0013]) and improves the electrode structure when extended and contracted repeatedly (Shim [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the symmetric pattern at the cutting surface of Shim wherein virtual circles that are extended along pieces of curvature formed by cross sections of the plurality of concave parts, respectively, form an overlapping surface, are identical with each other into the electrode of modified Du with the reasonable expectation of maximizing a surface and improving the electrode structure when extended and contracted repeatedly, as taught by Shim.
Regarding claim 5, modified Du discloses an electrode comprising all elements in claim 3 as discussed above. As seen in [0039] and fig. 4, Ikeda does not appear concerned with the waveform’s symmetry as long as the concavities are present to suppress capacity reduction, though modified Du fails to explicitly disclose wherein pieces of curvature formed by cross sections of the plurality of concave parts, respectively, are identical with each other.
Shim teaches an analogous electrode wherein pieces of curvature formed by cross sections of the plurality of concave parts, respectively, are identical with each other (view annot. fig. 10(e) above). as this maximizes a surface ([0013]) and improves the electrode structure when extended and contracted repeatedly ([0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the symmetric pattern at the cutting surface of Shim wherein virtual circles that are extended along pieces of curvature formed by cross sections of the plurality of concave parts, respectively, form an overlapping surface, are identical with each other into the electrode of modified Du with the reasonable expectation of maximizing a surface and improving the electrode structure when extended and contracted repeatedly, as taught by Shim.
Regarding claim 10, modified Du discloses an electrode comprising all elements in claim 8 as discussed above. As seen in [0039] and fig. 4, Ikeda does not appear concerned with the waveform’s symmetry as long as the concavities are present to suppress capacity reduction, though modified Du fails to explicitly disclose wherein curvature that is formed by each of the plurality of first concave parts and curvature that is formed by each of the plurality of second concave parts are identical with each other (Instant figure 4).
Shim teaches an analogous electrode wherein curvature that is formed by each of the plurality of first concave parts and curvature that is formed by each of the plurality of second concave parts are identical with each other (Shim recites 40 and 30 have the same degree of curvature, fig. 10(e)) as this maximizes a surface ( [0013]) and improves the electrode structure when extended and contracted repeatedly ( [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the symmetric pattern at the cutting surface of Shim wherein curvature that is formed by each of the plurality of first concave parts and curvature that is formed by each of the plurality of second concave parts are identical with each other into the electrode of modified Du with the reasonable expectation of maximizing a surface and improving the electrode structure when extended and contracted repeatedly, as taught by Shim.
Conclusion
/C.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 10/27/2026