DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on June 13, 2024 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0037426 A1, hereinafter Zhu) in view of Won et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0361135 A1, hereinafter Won).
Consider claim 1. Zhu discloses a method for requesting a network slice, applicable to a terminal device and comprising:
associating with a frequency supporting a network slice under a tracking area (paragraphs 123, 124, read as the UE associates with frequency A, which supports network slice A, where frequency A may be under a tracking area with a TAC 1);
initiating a registration request for the first network slice based on a determination that the current TA supports the first network slice; and/or not initiating the registration request for the first network slice based on a determination that the current TA does not support the first network slice (paragraphs 123, 125, read as the UE transmits a NAS registration request message to the core network when the UE is on frequency A, which supports network slice A, where frequency A may be under a tracking area with a TAC 1);
wherein the registration request contains first single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) identifying the first network slice (paragraph 125, read as the registration request message may include requested-NSSAI indicating the slice A and the slice B).
Zhu substantially discloses the claimed invention but fails to explicitly teach obtaining tracking area (TA) information corresponding to a first network slice; and determining, according to the TA information, whether a current TA supports the first network slice.
However, Won teaches obtaining tracking area (TA) information corresponding to a first network slice; and determining, according to the TA information, whether a current TA supports the first network slice (paragraph 39, read as receiving information comprising one or more lists of TAIs and one or more lists of S-NSSAIs, which the UE can use to determine a TAI supporting an appropriate network slice depending on a type of service that the UE needs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Won into the invention of Zhu in order to provide efficient registration in an area where a service is supported partially.
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses wherein the TA information contains a first tracking area list (TAL) supporting the first network slice, wherein the first TAL comprises one or more TAs supporting the first network slice (Won; paragraphs 34, 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Won into the invention of Zhu in order to provide efficient registration in an area where a service is supported partially.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses wherein determining, according to the TA information, whether the current TA supports the first network slice comprises: determining that the current TA supports the first network slice when the current TA of the terminal device is present in the first TAL; and/or determining that the current TA does not support the first network slice when the current TA of the terminal device is absent in the first TAL (Won; paragraphs 42, 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Won into the invention of Zhu in order to provide efficient registration in an area where a service is supported partially.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 2. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses wherein the one or more TAs comprise a TA in a current registration area (RA) of the terminal device (Zhu; paragraph 66).
Consider claim 8. Zhu discloses a terminal device, comprising:
a processor (fig. 6, paragraph 112, read as processor 602),
a memory storing instructions (fig. 6, paragraph 114, read as memory 604 stores instructions 606), and
a transceiver (fig. 6, paragraph 12, read as a transceiver 610);
wherein the processor is coupled to the memory and to the transceiver (fig. 6, paragraph 112, read as these elements are in direct communication with each other); wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor (paragraph 114, read as instructions 606 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 602, cause the processor 602 to perform operations described herein), cause the terminal device to:
associating with a frequency supporting a network slice under a tracking area (paragraphs 123, 124, read as the UE associates with frequency A, which supports network slice A, where frequency A may be under a tracking area with a TAC 1);
initiate a registration request for the first network slice based on a determination that the current TA supports the first network slice; and/or not initiate the registration request for the first network slice based on a determination that the current TA does not support the first network slice (paragraphs 123, 125, read as the UE transmits a NAS registration request message to the core network when the UE is on frequency A, which supports network slice A, where frequency A may be under a tracking area with a TAC 1);
wherein the registration request contains first single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) identifying the first network slice (paragraph 125, read as the registration request message may include requested-NSSAI indicating the slice A and the slice B).
Zhu substantially discloses the claimed invention but fails to explicitly teach obtaining tracking area (TA) information corresponding to a first network slice; and determining, according to the TA information, whether a current TA supports the first network slice.
However, Won teaches obtaining tracking area (TA) information corresponding to a first network slice; and determining, according to the TA information, whether a current TA supports the first network slice (paragraph 39, read as receiving information comprising one or more lists of TAIs and one or more lists of S-NSSAIs, which the UE can use to determine a TAI supporting an appropriate network slice depending on a type of service that the UE needs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Won into the invention of Zhu in order to provide efficient registration in an area where a service is supported partially.
Consider claim 9 and as applied to claim 8. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses wherein the TA information contains a first tracking area list (TAL) supporting the first network slice, wherein the first TAL comprises one or more TAs supporting the first network slice (Won; paragraphs 34, 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Won into the invention of Zhu in order to provide efficient registration in an area where a service is supported partially.
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 9. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses wherein the instructions causing the terminal device to determine, according to the TA information, whether the current TA supports the first network slice cause the terminal device to: determine that the current TA supports the first network slice when the current TA of the terminal device is present in the first TAL; and/or determine that the current TA does not support the first network slice when the current TA of the terminal device is absent in the first TAL (Won; paragraphs 42, 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Won into the invention of Zhu in order to provide efficient registration in an area where a service is supported partially.
Consider claim 13 and as applied to claim 9. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses wherein the one or more TAs comprise a TA in a current registration area (RA) of the terminal device (Zhu; paragraph 66).
Consider claim 14. Zhu discloses a core network device, comprising:
a processor (fig. 5, paragraph 105, read as processor 502),
a memory storing instructions (fig. 5, paragraph 107, read as memory 504 stores instructions 506), and
a transceiver (fig. 5, paragraph 105, read as transceiver 510);
wherein the processor is coupled to the memory and to the transceiver (fig. 5, paragraph 105, read as these elements are in direct communication with each other); wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor (paragraph 107, read as instructions 506 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 502, cause the processor 502 to perform operations described herein), cause the core network device to:
associating with a frequency supporting a network slice under a tracking area (paragraphs 123, 124, read as the UE associates with frequency A, which supports network slice A, where frequency A may be under a tracking area with a TAC 1);
for the terminal device to initiate a registration request for the first network slice based on a determination that the current TA supports the first network slice, or not to initiate the registration request for the first network slice based on a determination that the current TA does not support the first network slice (paragraphs 123, 125, read as the UE transmits a NAS registration request message to the core network when the UE is on frequency A, which supports network slice A, where frequency A may be under a tracking area with a TAC 1),
wherein the registration request contains first single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) identifying the first network slice (paragraph 125, read as the registration request message may include requested-NSSAI indicating the slice A and the slice B).
Zhu substantially discloses the claimed invention but fails to explicitly teach transmitting, to a terminal device, tracking area (TA) information corresponding to a first network slice, wherein the TA information is used for the terminal device to determine whether a current TA supports the first network slice.
However, Won teaches transmitting, to a terminal device, tracking area (TA) information corresponding to a first network slice, wherein the TA information is used for the terminal device to determine whether a current TA supports the first network slice (paragraph 39, read as receiving information (transmitted from the network node) comprising one or more lists of TAIs and one or more lists of S-NSSAIs, which the UE can use to determine a TAI supporting an appropriate network slice depending on a type of service that the UE needs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Won into the invention of Zhu in order to provide efficient registration in an area where a service is supported partially.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses wherein the TA information contains a first tracking area list (TAL) supporting the first network slice, wherein the first TAL comprises one or more TAs supporting the first network slice (Won; paragraphs 34, 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Won into the invention of Zhu in order to provide efficient registration in an area where a service is supported partially.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 15. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses wherein the TA information is used for the terminal device to: determine that the current TA supports the first network slice when the current TA of the terminal device is present in the first TAL; and/or determine that the current TA does not support the first network slice when the current TA of the terminal device is absent in the first TAL (Won; paragraphs 42, 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Won into the invention of Zhu in order to provide efficient registration in an area where a service is supported partially.
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 15. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses wherein the one or more TAs comprise a TA in a current registration area (RA) of the terminal device (Zhu; paragraph 66).
Claims 4-6, 11, 12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0037426 A1, hereinafter Zhu) in view of Won et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0361135 A1, hereinafter Won) and as applied toc claims 1, 8 and 14 above, and further in view of Panchal et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0062190 A1, hereinafter Panchal).
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 2. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses the claimed invention but fail to teach wherein the obtaining comprises receiving a first non-access stratum (NAS) message sent by a core network device, wherein the first NAS message contains the first TAL corresponding to the first network slice.
However, Panchal teaches wherein the obtaining comprises receiving a first non-access stratum (NAS) message sent by a core network device, wherein the first NAS message contains the first TAL corresponding to the first network slice (paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Panchal into the invention of Zhu and Won in order to provide a fast and reliable criteria to select and establish a network slice connection via a frequency/band of a network slice and in accordance with the service.
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 4. The combination of Zhu, Won and Panchal discloses wherein the first NAS message contains rejected NSSAI, wherein the rejected NSSAI contains the first S-NSSAI and the first TAL corresponding to the first S-NSSAI (Panchal; paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Panchal into the invention of Zhu and Won in order to provide a fast and reliable criteria to select and establish a network slice connection via a frequency/band of a network slice and in accordance with the service.
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 4. The combination of Zhu, Won and Panchal discloses wherein receiving the first NAS message sent by the core network device comprises: receiving the first NAS message sent by the core network device when the terminal device is in a first TA, wherein the first TA does not support the first network slice (Panchal; paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Panchal into the invention of Zhu and Won in order to provide a fast and reliable criteria to select and establish a network slice connection via a frequency/band of a network slice and in accordance with the service.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 9. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the instructions causing the terminal device to obtain TA information corresponding to the first network slice cause the terminal device to: receive a first non-access stratum (NAS) message sent by a core network device, wherein the first NAS message contains the first TAL corresponding to the first network slice.
However, Panchal teaches wherein the instructions causing the terminal device to obtain TA information corresponding to the first network slice cause the terminal device to: receive a first non-access stratum (NAS) message sent by a core network device, wherein the first NAS message contains the first TAL corresponding to the first network slice (paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Panchal into the invention of Zhu and Won in order to provide a fast and reliable criteria to select and establish a network slice connection via a frequency/band of a network slice and in accordance with the service.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 11. The combination of Zhu, Won and Panchal discloses wherein the instructions causing the terminal device to receive the first NAS message sent by the core network device cause the terminal device to: receive the first NAS message sent by the core network device when the terminal device is in a first TA, wherein the first TA does not support the first network slice (Panchal; paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Panchal into the invention of Zhu and Won in order to provide a fast and reliable criteria to select and establish a network slice connection via a frequency/band of a network slice and in accordance with the service.
Consider claim 17 and as applied to claim 15. The combination of Zhu and Won discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the instructions causing the core network device to transmit, to the terminal device, TA information corresponding to the first network slice cause the core network device to: transmit a first non-access stratum (NAS) message to the terminal device, wherein the first NAS message contains the first TAL corresponding to the first network slice.
However, Panchal teaches wherein the instructions causing the core network device to transmit, to the terminal device, TA information corresponding to the first network slice cause the core network device to: transmit a first non-access stratum (NAS) message to the terminal device, wherein the first NAS message contains the first TAL corresponding to the first network slice (paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Panchal into the invention of Zhu and Won in order to provide a fast and reliable criteria to select and establish a network slice connection via a frequency/band of a network slice and in accordance with the service.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 17. The combination of Zhu, Won and Panchal discloses wherein the first NAS message contains rejected NSSAI, wherein the rejected NSSAI contains the first S-NSSAI and the first TAL corresponding to the first S-NSSAI (Panchal; paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Panchal into the invention of Zhu and Won in order to provide a fast and reliable criteria to select and establish a network slice connection via a frequency/band of a network slice and in accordance with the service.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 17. The combination of Zhu, Won and Panchal discloses wherein the instructions causing the core network device to transmit the first NAS message to the terminal device cause the core network device to: transmit the first NAS message to the terminal device when the terminal device is in a first TA and the first TA does not support the first network slice (Panchal; paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Panchal into the invention of Zhu and Won in order to provide a fast and reliable criteria to select and establish a network slice connection via a frequency/band of a network slice and in accordance with the service.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M BRANDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 June 24, 2026