Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,088,747. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, and 13-17 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Wolfe (2005/0120380).
Regarding claim 1, Wolfe discloses A video display system comprising
a video display device (102); and
a portable video display device (104; 105; 106; 107) communicatively connected to the video display device, wherein the video display device is configured to:
generate first video data in a first video data format (226);
generate first audio data in a first audio data format (228);
in a first operation mode, display the first video data (220. 222) and play the first audio data (224);
receive operation information from the portable video display device, wherein the operation information is indicating a content of an operation input received at the portable video display device (par. 43, 46, 47, 53); and switch from the first operation mode to a second operation mode based on the operation information (par. 47), and wherein, in the second operation mode, the video display device is configured to:
generate second video data in a second video data format different from the first video data format (par. 47, 53);
generate second audio data in an second audio data format different from the first audio data format (par. 47, 53);
transmit the second video data and the second audio data to the portable video display device (216).
Par. 32, 33, 46 and 47 in Wolfe collectively indicates that the memory 210 is being used to store video/audio data in different formats and to convert and transmit to the remote entertainment device 104 based on the requested encoding rate. That is, the memory 210 is intended to be used to store video in one of the high, standard and low definition formats and to transmit to the remote entertainment device 104 in one of the high, standard and low definition formats. The combinations or modes of the storing format and the transmitting format are decided by the user based on the constraints of the overall system and transmission channels. For instance, the user at the remote entertainment device 104 can configure the system 102 to transmit a low definition video from a stored standard video, or a low definition from a high definition, or a high definition from a standard definition, or standard definition from a low definition, or standard definition from a high definition, etc.. Thus, Wolfe still meets the first and second operation mode when interpreted broadly.
Regarding claim 2, Wolfe discloses the video display device is configured to encode the first video data into the video data format and the first audio data into the audio data format that can be processed by the portable video display device to generate the second video data and the second audio data (note the transcoder 214 in par. 46), and wherein the portable video display device is configured to decode and display the second video data and decode and play the second audio data (note par. 56).
Regarding claim 3, Wolfe discloses the portable video display device receives a connection start instruction firstly, when operating in the second operation mode (note the user selection step 524 and download step 526 in par. 86).
Regarding claim 4, Wolfe discloses the connection start instruction is issued by a user to a controller (note par. 86).
Regarding claim 5, see rejection to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Wolfe discloses the video display device is communicatively connected to a plurality of portable video display devices (note 104, 105, 106, 107; par. 22 teaches one or more personal entertainment apparatuses), wherein the video display device is configured to: receive, from each of the plurality of a portable video display devices, identification information for each of the plurality of portable video display devices, generate a plurality of second video data and a plurality of second audio data that differ from each other, and transmit to each of the plurality of portable video display devices identified by the identification information, the second video data and second audio data differing from each other (note par. 25, 43, 44, 51, 59). That is, Wolfe inherently includes the identification information for each of the plurality of personal entertainment apparatuses when the communication protocols as described in par. 25, 42, 44, 51 and 59 are being employed. As described in the disclosure, each of the plurality of personal entertainment apparatuses is capable to select different video programs from the server 102 as desired.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, see rejection to claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Wolfe discloses the video display device is configured to provide the first video data and the first audio data in a frame buffer (226) and an audio buffer (228), respectively, and further configured to provide the second video data in a video memory (inherently included in video decoder 226 as video output buffer) different from the frame buffer and to provide the second audio data in an audio memory (inherently included in audio decoder 228 as audio output buffer) different from the audio buffer. Similarly, the transcoder 214 in Wolfe also inherently includes above memory arrangements (note par. 46 and 47). That is, the transcoder 214 inherently includes input audio/video memories or buffers and output audio/video memories or buffers.
Regarding claim 14, in addition to rejection to claim 13, Wolfe inherently includes a memory device comprising the video memory and the audio memory.
Regarding claim 15, in addition to rejection to claim 13, Wolfe further discloses the video display device is configured to reduce at least a size of the video memory or a size of the audio memory responsive to the operation information, when a type of the content allows at least one of the first video data or the first audio data to change responsive to the operation information (note par. 46 and 47).
Regarding claim 16, Wolfe discloses the video display device is configured to change a data transfer speed based on a size of at least one of the second video data or the second audio data, and transmit at least one of the second video data or the second audio data at the data transfer speed (note par. 46 and 47).
Regarding claim 17, Wolfe discloses the video display device is configured to change encoding bit rate of at least one of the second video data or the second audio data based on a data transfer speed (note par. 46 and 47).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Wolfe does not disclose or suggest the claimed "switch from the first operation mode to a second operation mode based on the operation information” as claimed, the examiner disagrees. As set forth in the rejection above, Wolfe inherently discloses the first and second modes of operations. In view of the new interpretations, Wolfe still meets the claimed invention. As a result, the prior art rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422