DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: (MOCVD) should be omitted for conciseness. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recite “a cliff layer” is not defined in the specification. Please revise and clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodigala et al. (US 11675126; herein after “Kodigala”) in view of DAI Pan et al. (CN 104617166 A; herein after “Dai”).
Regarding claim 1, Kodigala teaches an ultra-broadband waveguide-coupled (a silicon waveguide130) photodetector (a germanium photodetector 122) on a thin-film lithium niobate (TFLN) platform (a carrier wafer (105) is a TFLN substrate, see column 6, line 63 to column 7, line 22, as shown in FIG. 1; Heterogeneous Integration Of An Electro-optical Platform, see title), comprising: an epitaxial layer (III-V epitaxial materials/structures 125, column 7, lines 12-15, column 9, 40-43) , grown on an indium phosphide (InP) substrate (an InP substrate 1400, FIG. 14A) by metal-organic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD) (see column 10, lines 6-7 and column 11, lines 62-67, FIG. 13), and comprising: a n-contact layer (an n-InGaAsP contact layer 1435), a sacrificial layer (a protective oxide layer e.g., an InP stop etch layer 1410, see column 4, lines 1-6), a drift layer (a p-InP cladding layer 1420), a cliff layer (a p-InP cladding layer 1420) (i.e., Dopants are added to the silicon features as appropriate. For example, devices may be subjected to n-type and p-type doping, contact regions may be subjected to n+ and p+ doping (e.g., drift and cliff region), see column 9, lines 56-61), a quaternary compound layer (a MQW structure 1425 of InGaAsP), an absorption layer (a multiple quantum well structure 128 and/or a MQW structure 1425) and a p-contact layer (a p-InGaAs contact layer 1415) arranged sequentially in that order (see column 7, lines 23-26 and column 12, lines 1-8, FIG. 14A); wherein the waveguide-coupled photodetector heterogeneously integrated on a TFLN chip is prepared by bonding the InP substrate with the TFLN chip (i.e., (“Heterogeneous integration” or “heterointegration” is the technology of combining separately manufactured components on a single chip (e.g., bonding InP layer with TFLN chip), see column 14-20 and column 7, lines 21-26), and a p-type region (127) is disposed below a n-type region (126) in the waveguide-coupled photodetector (as shown in at least in FIG. 1, column 7, lines 23-26); wherein the n-contact layer (1435)
and the p-contact layer (1415) are doped with indium gallium arsenide (InGaAs) and indium gallium arsenide phosphide (InGaAsP) (see column 12, lines 1-8), respectively.
Kodigala fails to teach the absorption layer comprises a depletion absorption layer with a thickness of 20 nanometers (nm) and a+ graded doping absorption layer with a thickness of 100 nm.
However, in a related field of endeavor Dai teaches A second InP buffer layer is grown on top of Ga<sub> 1-x </sub>In<sub> x </sub>P to complete the fabrication of the second transition layer. The thickness of each transition layer is 50~300nm. The growth temperature is 450~550℃, and the V/III ratio is 30~90 (see para. [0048], FIG. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kodigala such that the thickness of each transition layer (e.g., a depletion and/or a graded doping absorption layer see FIG. 1-2 of Dai) is 50~300nm as taught by Dai, for the purpose of an InGaAs infrared detector directly grown on a Si substrate, exhibiting good heat dissipation and stable device performance during use (see para. [0054] of Dai).
Furthermore, it has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding the photodetector has a dark current of 1 nanoampere (nA) and a responsivity of 0.4 amperes per watt (A/W) at a wavelength of 1550 nm to achieve a bandwidth of 110 gigahertz (GHz) under a load of 50 ohms (Ω).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding forming a n-mesa; after forming the n-mesa, etching to a lithium niobate (LN) layer of the TFLN chip through the combination of the dry etching and the wet etching, thereby forming a p-mesa; and forming metal electrodes on the n-mesa and the p-mesa respectively through electroplating, so as to obtain the ultra-broadband waveguide-coupled photodetector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Razeghi (US PUB 20090224229) teaches “the realization of P-on-N type II InAs/GaSb superlattice photodiodes, and more particularly, to polarity inversion of type II InAs/GaSb superlattice photodiodes. The present application also relates to the realization of P-on-N Type II superlattice photodiodes with a cut-off wavelength of 11 µm and the optimization of contact layers to improve the device performance.”, paragraph 0001.
Barenburg et al. (US PUB 2003/0026515) teaches “a wavelength-tunable optical device structure which monolithically integrates both active and passive device components on a single substrate. Monolithically-integrated active and passive optical device components may be fabricated by growing high-quality active optical devices, such as optical emitters and optical detectors, on a single substrate and using electro-optical crystalline oxide materials to tune optical devices, such as directional couplers, to transmit radiation having selected wavelengths. In this manner, cost-effective, monolithically-integrated, tunable wavelength multiplexers and/or demultiplexers may be formed.”, see Abstract.
/MUSTAK CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
September 23, 2026