Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0143039 A1 to Mol (hereinafter “Mol”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0185823 A1 to Nishikawa et al. (hereinafter “Nishikawa”).
Regarding Claim 1, Mol teaches a sensor device that detects information related to a load or a torque acting on a detection object (see abstract, paragraphs [0004] and [0012] describing sensor arrangement for determining a load vector acting on a rolling element bearing), the sensor device comprising:
a plurality of sensor members (see plurality of N sensors 8, Figs. 1, 4, see paragraph [0018]) that are attached to the detection object (see arrangement at Figs. 1, - 4 which illustrates the plurality of sensor members 8 attached to the detection object i.e., bearing 1, see paragraphs [0017] – [0018]) and are connected in parallel (see paragraph [0030] stating “ The sensors 8 are connected in parallel to a mode shape coefficient calculator 11”, see connection of sensors 8 to the mode shape coefficient calculator 11, Fig. 4); and
a processor configured to estimate the information related to the load or the torque acting on the detection object based on detected values of the plurality of sensor members (see paragraphs [0030] – [0033] describing the mode shape coefficient calculator 11 and the bearing neural network 12 connected to the sensors 8, and is arranged to process the signals from the sensors 8, and in particular see paragraph [0032] which states “The mode shape coefficients calculator 11 and bearing neural network 12 may each be implemented using a general purpose computer or a dedicated signal processing system, or in combination”, thus reading on the invention as claimed).
Mol does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to perform temperature compensation on the detected values of the plurality of sensor members to reduce an influence of an environmental temperature.
Nishikawa, in the field of sensor equipped bearing assembly including rolling elements and strain sensors for detecting strain occurring in the strain generating member (see abstract), teaches that it is known to use a processor configured to perform temperature compensation on the detected values of the plurality of sensor members to reduce an influence of an environmental temperature (see paragraphs [0028] – [0034] describing the use of temperature corrector for correcting the senor output signal of the sensor unit, see Fig. 1 illustrating the temperature corrector 35, see also paragraphs [0143], [0157] and Figs. 15 – 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the temperature corrector of Nishikawa into Mol, in order to improve accuracy of the sensor device since temperature could cause considerable drift in the output signals (see for instance paragraphs [0011], [0014]). See additional advantages at paragraphs [0028], [0031] of Nishikawa.
Regarding Claim 2, Mol as modified above teaches wherein a stress distribution of the detection object is not uniform during an operation of a device in which the detection object is incorporated (see paragraphs [00220] – [0029] describing the outer ring 5 being deformed due to forces and further describes the deformation being influenced by the contact stiffness of the individual rolling contacts, thus resulting in stress distribution of the bearing unit not being uniform, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 3, Mol as modified above teaches wherein the processor (11,12) includes a discriminator that is configured to have learned a relationship between the detected values of the plurality of sensor members and the load or the torque, and is configured to estimate the load or the torque by using the discriminator (see paragraph [0031] which states “The amplitude and phase of the mode shapes are input to a bearing neural network 12, which has been trained to provide the bearing load using the amplitude and phase signals as input Design and training of a neural network to provide an output signal from a plurality of input signals, where a non-linear relationship exists between the input signals and the output signal, is well known in the art, and needs no further explanation”, see also paragraph [0033] which described the mode shape coefficients calculator 11 comprising for instance filters, amplifiers, digital signal processing means digital filters etc., hence reading on the “discriminator” as claimed).
Regarding Claim 4, Mol as modified above teaches wherein the discriminator is a discriminator that is configured to have learned a relationship between a rotation phase of a rotating member that rotates relative to the detection object, the detected values of the plurality of sensor members, and the load or the torque (see paragraph [0031] stating “ The neural network can e.g. be trained using data sets, where each data set comprises a load vector actually applied to the bearing unit 10 (desired output of neural network 12) and the measured (and processed) sensor data associated with that load vector. In general, the non-linear relationship mentioned is dependent on the type of bearing unit 10 used, and possibly also dependent on mounting specifics. In that case, the bearing neural network 12 is trained for that specific situation”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 5, Mol as modified above teaches wherein the processor has (11, 12) a learning mode in which learning of the discriminator is performed by operating a device in which the detection object is incorporated after the plurality of sensor members are attached to the detection object (see paragraph [0031] which states “The neural network can e.g. be trained using data sets, where each data set comprises a load vector actually applied to the bearing unit 10 (desired output of neural network 12) and the measured (and processed) sensor data associated with that load vector. In general, the non-linear relationship mentioned is dependent on the type of bearing unit 10 used, and possibly also dependent on mounting specifics. In that case, the bearing neural network 12 is trained for that specific situation”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 6, Mol as modified above teaches wherein the processor (11, 12) fits a predetermined trigonometric function to the detected values of the plurality of sensor members, and is configured to estimate the load or the torque based on an amplitude of the fitted trigonometric function (see paragraphs [0030] – [0033], Figs. 4, 5 which illustrates arrangement of the sensor with the estimation unit 11, 12 and output plot at Fig. 5 which includes the amplitude values of mode shapes for a specific arrangement, note that the data includes amplitude and phase of the mode shapes which are input to the bearing neural network 12, hence reading on the invention as claimed). Insofar as Mol may be construed as not explicitly stating the estimation unit fits a predetermined trigonometric function, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a variety of functions including that of trigonometric function, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique (data fitting) to a known device (11, 12 of Mol) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The modification allows for capturing amplitude, frequency and phase shifts in a single equation which further provides compact and interpretable model.
Regarding Claim 7, Mol as modified above teaches wherein the processor is configured to estimate at least one of a phase and a temperature of a part for which the information related to the load or the torque is estimated (see paragraphs [0030] – [0031] describing the mode shape coefficient calculator 11 is arranged to derive the amplitude and phase values from the input signals of the sensors 8, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form accompanying this office action which includes the following relevant prior art:
Murata et al. (U.S. 12,467,809 B2) teaches a detector and detecting system that detects fastening axial force applied by a fastening unit in an axial direction. The detector includes a strain element that has a through hole through which a bolt portion that the fastening unit has is inserted, and a strain sensing sensor that senses strain of the strain element. See Fig. 21 showing an example of correction data for temperature correction of sensor values used by the reading device according to the third embodiment.
Goto (U.S. 11,028,793 B2) teaches a control unit controls a combustion state of an internal combustion engine based on a detection value of a temperature sensor. A monitor unit calculates an estimated torque of actual torque of the internal combustion engine and calculates an engine-requested torque requested for the internal combustion engine and to monitor whether the estimated torque differs from the engine-requested torque by an amount that is more than or equal to a predetermined criterion. The control unit uses a temperature sensor that detects various types of temperature and corrects controlled items based on detection values.
Takada et al. (U.S. 6,163,148) teaches a sensor provided with a magnet (52) and a magnetic detecting element (53) comprising a detection shaft (38a), a detection disc (59a) which is fixed to the detection shaft, a magnetic piece (59b) which is fixed to the outer circumference edge of the detection disc, a yoke (59c) which is disposed to hold the magnetic piece in a predetermined shaped gap, and the magnet and the magnetic detecting element both fixed to the yoke. The sensor is used for a drive force auxiliary device which combines a human power drive force and a motor drive force. Specifically, FIG. 29 shows that a temperature compensating circuit 57 comprises an amplifier 57a to which the output terminal of the Hall element or magnetic detecting element 53 is connected, a temperature compensating element 57b having a property opposite from the temperature property of the Hall element 53, and an op-amp 57c to which their output terminals are connected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855