DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation of “the screen” in 2nd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to the cited limitation, the claim fails to define “a screen”. Clarification is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation of “cylinder” in 2nd line which renders the claim vague and indefinite because it is not clear if the cited limitation refers to the previously cited limitation of the same in claim 1 or to a new limitation. Clarification is requested.
Claim 9 recites the limitation of “the other materials” in 1st line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is not clear if the limitation refers back to what other materials. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rubin et al. (US 2007/0062113)
Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose a method for implementing a compressed growing medium with reduced seed germination comprising dehydrating the coir and/or other bulking agents to about 25% moisture content in an air circulating oven set to approximately 95.degree. C. (step 1000). The growing medium components, including the bulking agent, the water-retentive polymer, the non-ionic surfactant, and any other additional components, are then blended together with a roller drum (step 1010). (See paragraph [0053])
[AltContent: textbox (Spikes)]
[AltContent: textbox (Rotary cylindrical grinder or blades)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Then, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose the growing medium, whether pre-seeded or non-seeded, is then compressed at a volume-to-volume ratio ranging from about 7:1 to about 10:1 in order to form a base material for regrind (step 1020). The growing medium is typically compressed into bricks, slabs, wafers, pellets and any other shape. (See paragraph [0054])
Further, once the base compressed material is produced, the material may then be reground (step 930). FIG. 10 illustrates a grinding process according to one exemplary embodiment. As shown, the base material (1100) is fed into a hopper or other collection bin, where the base material is placed in contact with a grinding apparatus (1110). As shown, the grinding apparatus (1110) includes a plurality of rollers rotating in opposing directions, as indicated by the arrows (R). While the grinding apparatus (1110) of FIG. 10 is shown as having a plurality of rollers with grinding teeth, any number of rollers or grinders may be used to regrind the base material (1100) including, but in no way limited to, a shredder, a ball mill, a roller mill, and the like. (See paragraph [0055])
Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose two counter-rotating blades (1110) for shredding compressed coir into shredded coir.
Therefore, as to claim 1, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose a method of processing coir, comprising: using counter-rotating blades (1110) having spikes on an outside surface of the cylinder to shred compressed coir into dry, shredded coir. (see ¶ [0055] – [0057] and above annotated figure 10)
Rubin et al. (US ‘113) teach the bulking agent used in the growing medium is also dehydrated, having a moisture of content of about 15% or less, and more preferably of about 11% or less. (see ¶ [0022])
As to claim 2, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose hydrating the dry, shredded coir to a predetermined moisture level to produce moist coir. (see ¶ [0022])
As to claim 3, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) teach grinding up the coir after using the cylinder to produce the dry, shredded coir. (see ¶ [0024])
As to claim 4, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose hydrating the dry, shredded coir to a predetermined moisture level comprises hydrating the coir to a level of 10% to 18%. (see ¶ [0022])
As to claim 5, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) teach hydrating the dry, shredded coir to a predetermined level comprises hydrating the coir to a level of 10% to 15%. (see ¶ [0022])
As to claim 6, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) discloses screening the dry, shredded coir to only pass coir of a desired size for further processing. (see ¶ [0024], last sentence)
As to claim 7, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose cycling dry, shredded coir caught in the screen back to cylinder. (see ¶ [0024], last sentence)
As to claim 8, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) teach pelletizing the moist coir and mixing with other materials to create a coir soil additive. (see claim 11)
As to claim 9, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose the other materials comprise one of plant seed (¶ [0030]) and polymer (¶ [0020] - ¶ [0022])).
As to claim 10, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) teach the compressed coir comprises one of blocks (¶ [0026], [0028]) or wafers ((¶ [0015], ¶ [0034])).
As to claim 11, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose the spikes on the outside surface of the cylinder is evenly spaced. (see the above annotated figure 10)
As to claim 12, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) teach the cylinder is one of solid or has a center hole to accommodate a rod. (See the above annotated figure 10)
As to claim 13, Rubin et al. (US ‘113) disclose a method of processing coir, comprising: using a rotating cylinder with spikes on an outside surface of the cylinder to shred compressed coir into dry, shredded coir; and hydrating the dry, shredded coir to a predetermined moisture level to produce moist coir. (see ¶ [0022], ¶ [0055] – [0057] and above annotated figure 10)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,018,197. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in the instant office action and the issued patent are a very similar, where they both claim “a method of processing coir, comprising using a rotating cylinder to shred compressed coir into dry, shredded coir, as claimed in claims 1 and 13 of the instant application and claim 1 of the issued patents. Similarly, the dependent claims 2-12 in the instant application and the dependent claims 2-8 in the issued patent are very similar and are not patentably distinct.
Claim 1-13 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,947,453. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in the instant office action and the issued patent are a very similar, where they both claim “a method of processing coir, comprising using a rotating cylinder to shred compressed coir into dry, shredded coir, as claimed in claims 1 and 13 of the instant application and claim 1 of the issued patents. Similarly, the dependent claims 2-12 in the instant application and the dependent claims 2-5 in the issued patent are very similar and are not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754
09/20/2025