DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed 3/3/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the species election in the reply filed on 3/3/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of all species is sufficiently related that a thorough search of the subject matter for one species would encompass a search for the remaining species. This is not found persuasive because:
The Examiner respectfully notes that the arguments by applicant generically assert that a search for one species would reasonably encompass all species without any specific explanation supporting this argument. In the instant case, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. For example, some species require all sensors to have at least some elements covered by the wiring layer, while some species require certain sensors to not be covered while others are covered by the wiring layer. For example, some species require only some sensors to be covered by the wiring layer while others in that same species cover the sensors with a dummy element. A search for the species of Figure 16, for example, which requires only some sensors covered with the wiring layer while others are covered by a dummy layer, would not reasonably find art where all sensors are covered by the wiring layer as found in the species of Figure 13, for example. Searching for a dummy element or layer would not reasonably uncover art for a mutually exclusive species that does not use such a dummy element and instead uses a different element (the wiring layer itself).
Similarly, a search for a current sensor would not reasonably identify prior art for an angle sensor, magnetic compass, or camera module. The Examiner therefore respectfully disagrees with applicant, as the identified species are mutually exclusive, distinct, non-obvious, and a serious search burden would exist to search for each of the species given their clear distinctions as evidenced by the figures and disclosure.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3 and 5-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2022-158932 (‘932).
Note that the cited paragraphs for this reference come from the provided English machine translation.
‘932 discloses A magnetic sensor device comprising: a plurality of magnetic detection element arrays formed in a first layer (Figures 21 and 23 / note Figure 21 is relied upon solely to show a cross section for how the sensor elements are connected), (Paragraph [0095] / note the array of elements are indicated by element (2)); and a wiring layer (3,4) that is formed in a second layer different from the first layer and electrically connected to the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays (Figures 21,23), (Paragraphs [0087],[0096]), wherein the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays include a first magnetic detection element array (20a) and a second magnetic detection element array (20b) (Figure 23), and the first magnetic detection element array and the second magnetic detection element array are each configured of the same number of magnetic detection elements (Figure 23), and in a plane-normal direction from the second layer to the first layer, the number of magnetic detection elements of the first magnetic detection element array overlapping an outline of the wiring layer is substantially the same as the number of magnetic detection elements of the second magnetic detection element array overlapping the outline of the wiring layer (Figure 23 / note the sensor elements are overlapped by the wiring layer in the same way and by the same amount for both array 20a and array 20b).
As to Claim 2,
‘932 discloses the first magnetic detection element array and the second magnetic detection element array are connected in series to each other (Figure 23 / note the elements are connected in the same manner as applicant and therefore must be in series) , with an output port (43) being interposed therebetween to form part of a bridge circuit (Figure 23)
As to Claim 4,
‘932 discloses An angle sensor comprising the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1 (Paragraph [0091]), (Figure 23 / note the intent of this device is as an angle sensor, and further that because the device is reasonably capable of functioning as an angle sensor as it discloses all of the structural elements of the claim, it is reasonably an angle sensor).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 1) US 2018/0246177 to Deak et al. which disclose a single-chip magnetoresistive sensor, 2) US 2010/0259257 to Sasaki et al. which discloses a magnetic sensor with wiring connectors, and 3) US 2014/0062472 to Nishikawa which discloses a magnetic sensor using connectors overlapping magnetic sensor elements.
DAVID M. SCHINDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/DAVID M SCHINDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858