2. This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/743,280 and the amendments filed on 1/5/2026.
3. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 1/5/2026, with respect to the objections to claims 14, 15, and 18 for minor informalities have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of 10/21/2025 has been withdrawn.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-6 and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding independent claim 1, the Examiner agrees that US 20160346930 A1 to Hares fails to teach all of the amendments to the claim. However, in light of the amendments and the Applicant’s remarks, an updated search was conducted, and a new ground of rejection concerning claim 1 has been determined, in which will be described later.
Regarding independent claim 16, as this claim contains similar limitations to claim 1, is still rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 is, in which will be described later.
Regarding dependent claims 2-6, 13-15, and 17-20, as all of these claims depend from either claims 1 or 16, are still rejected, in which will be described later.
6. The Examiner notes that dependent claims 7-12 were previously objected to in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/21/2025 for containing allowable subject matter, but depended upon a rejected claim. This objection is still present, in which will also be described later.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hares (US 20160346930 A1 hereinafter Hares) in view of Harmalkar et al. (US 20230234220 A1 hereinafter Harmalkar).
Regarding Claim 1, Hares teaches a mobile robot calibration device ([0073] via “To calibrate the position and/or orientation of the first robot 10 relative to the second robot 11, the arm of the first robot 10 is manipulated so that the first datum 70 mates with the third datum 77.”), comprising:
a first positioning block having a positioning protrusion ([0069] via “First robot 10
comprises a first datum 70 carried on its arm. In this example, the first datum is located on the part of the first robot arm that interfaces with the instrument, herein referred to as the instrument interface.”), ([0078] via “FIG. 9 illustrates a further example in which a first datum 125 on the arm of the first robot 10 mates with a second datum 121 on the arm of the second robot 11. In this example, the first datum 125 is a 3D formation integral with the arm of the first robot 10.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the first datum as the first positioning block.); and
a second positioning block having a positioning slot ([0069] via “There is also a third datum 77 positioned within the environment of the first and second robots 10 and 11. The third datum 77 is proximal to the first and/or second robot.”), the positioning protrusion complements and is adapted to mate with the positioning slot ([0072] via “The first datum 70
and/or the part of the first robot arm on which the first datum 70 is located, and the third datum 77 are mutually configured so that when the datums 70 and 77 are mated, the configuration of the first robot arm 10 is dependent on the position and orientation of the third datum 77. … The third datum 77 is a 3D formation which may take any shape so long as the first datum 70 is only able to mate with the third datum 77 in a single position and orientation relative to the third datum 77. Thus, there is only one configuration of the part of the first robot arm on which the first datum 70 is located which is able to engage with the third datum 77. The third datum 77 may be a 3D formation which has an interface having the same shape as the part of an instrument that interfaces with the robot. … The third datum 77
may comprise a socket configured to receive the first datum 70, as shown in FIG. 4. In this example, the socket defines a complementary space to the shape delineated by the instrument interface, or a part thereof. In all examples, when mated, the position and orientation of the first datum 70 is fixed relative to the third datum 77.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets third datum 77 as the second positioning block),
one of the first positioning block or the second positioning block is adapted to be installed on a flange or tool at an end of a mobile robot ([0069] via “First robot 10 comprises a first datum 70 carried on its arm. In this example, the first datum is located on the part of the first robot arm that interfaces with the instrument, herein referred to as the instrument interface.”), ([0078] via “FIG. 9 illustrates a further example in which a first datum 125 on the arm of the first robot 10 mates with a second datum 121 on the arm of the second robot 11. In this example, the first datum 125 is a 3D formation integral with the arm of the first robot
10.”), and the other is adapted to be installed on a support base ([0069] via “There is also a third datum 77 positioned within the environment of the first and second robots 10 and 11. The third datum 77 is proximal to the first and/or second robot. In FIG. 5, the third datum 77
is located proximal to the base of robot 11.”), (Note: See Figure 5 of Hares as well.).
Hares is silent on wherein the first positioning block and the second positioning block are fixed together by a connection member extending into the first positioning block and the second positioning block.
However, Harmalkar teaches wherein the first positioning block and the second positioning block are fixed together by a connection member extending into the first positioning block and the second positioning block ([0144] via “FIGS. 8A-C illustrate a temporary calibration target that can be used during a calibration procedure to calibrate the robot relative to the vision station. Referring to FIG. 8A, the illustrated calibration target can be grasped by the robot arm gripper (also referred to as an end-effector) during a calibration procedure. Referring to FIG. 8B, the target can be precisely positioned in the robot arm gripper by two dowel pins (not shown) that can be press-fit into the target and can extend from one side of the target into locating holes in one the gripper fingers. In order to secure the target, the gripper fingers can be opened, the target's dowel pins can be inserted into the locating holes on one of the gripper fingers, and then the gripper fingers can be closed.”), (Note: See Figures 8A-C of Harmalkar as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Harmalkar wherein the first positioning block and the second positioning block are fixed together by a connection member extending into the first positioning block and the second positioning block. Doing so positions the first and second positioning blocks together more precisely, as stated above by Harmalkar.
Regarding Claim 3, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration device according to claim 1, wherein the first positioning block comprises a base, the positioning protrusion is formed on a first flat surface of the base and protrudes to a predetermined height in a direction perpendicular to the first flat surface ([0072] via “The first datum 70 and/or the part of the first robot arm on which the first datum 70 is located, and the third datum 77 are mutually configured so that when the datums 70 and 77 are mated, the configuration of the first robot arm 10 is dependent on the position and orientation of the third datum 77. … The third datum 77 is a 3D formation which may take any shape so long as the first datum 70 is only able to mate with the third datum 77 in a single position and orientation relative to the third datum 77.”), ([0078] via “FIG. 9 illustrates a further example in which a first datum 125 on the arm of the first robot 10 mates with a second datum 121 on the arm of the second robot 11. In this example, the first datum 125 is a 3D formation integral with the arm of the first robot 10.”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration device according to claim 3, wherein the positioning slot is formed on a second flat surface of the second positioning block and has a predetermined depth corresponding to the predetermined height ([0072] via “The third datum 77 is a 3D formation which may take any shape so long as the first datum 70 is only able to mate with the third datum 77 in a single position and orientation relative to the third datum 77. … The third datum 77 may be a 3D formation which has an interface having the same shape as the part of an instrument that interfaces with the robot. … In this example, the socket defines a complementary space to the shape delineated by the instrument interface, or a part thereof.”).
Regarding Claim 5, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration device according to claim 4, wherein when the first positioning block and the second positioning block are mated together, the first flat surface abuts the second flat surface ([0092] via “In this example, to calculate the relative positions and orientations of the first and second robots 10 and 11, both the first and second robot arms are manipulated so that both the first and second datums 70 and 79 mate with respective sockets of the common datum 111 concurrently, or simultaneously.”), (Note: See Figure 7 as well.).
Regarding Claim 6, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration device according to claim 5, wherein the positioning slot has an installation opening located on the second flat surface of the second positioning block, and the positioning protrusion adapted to be inserted into the positioning slot through the installation opening ([0072] via “The third datum 77 is a 3D formation which may take any shape so long as the first datum 70 is only able to mate with the third datum 77 in a single position and orientation relative to the third datum 77. … The third datum 77 may be a 3D formation which has an interface having the same shape as the part of an instrument that interfaces with the robot. … The third datum 77 may comprise a socket configured to receive the first datum 70, as shown in FIG. 4. In this example, the socket defines a complementary space to the shape delineated by the instrument interface, or a part thereof.”).
Regarding Claim 16, Hares teaches a mobile robot calibration system ([0073] via “To calibrate the position and/or orientation of the first robot 10 relative to the second robot 11, the arm of the first robot 10 is manipulated so that the first datum 70 mates with the third datum 77.”), comprising:
a workbench which is fixed and stationary ([0036] via “Robot 10 comprises an arm 20
and a base 21 in the form of a movable cart. The cart is equipped with wheels 22 by means of which it can be rolled along the floor, and brakes (not shown in the figure) which can be operated to block each wheel from rotating so as to lock the cart in place once it has been positioned appropriately.”), (Note: See Figures 1, 5, and 8 where the bases are fixed and stationary.);
a mobile robot movable relative to the workbench ([0038] via “Each robot arm has a series of rigid arm members 23, 43. … Each subsequent arm member in the series is joined to the preceding arm member by a respective revolute joint 24, 44. … One or more of the arm joints could move linearly or with a compound motion rather than being simply rotational. The joints of each arm are configured so that collectively they provide the arm with flexibility allowing the distal end of the arm to be moved to an arbitrary point in a contiguous three-dimensional working volume.”); and
a mobile robot calibration device, including: a first positioning block having a positioning protrusion ([0069] via “First robot 10 comprises a first datum 70 carried on its arm. In this example, the first datum is located on the part of the first robot arm that interfaces with the instrument, herein referred to as the instrument interface.”), ([0078] via “FIG. 9 illustrates a further example in which a first datum 125 on the arm of the first robot 10 mates with a second datum 121 on the arm of the second robot 11. In this example, the first datum 125 is a 3D formation integral with the arm of the first robot 10.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the first datum as the first positioning block.); and
a second positioning block having a positioning slot ([0069] via “There is also a third datum 77 positioned within the environment of the first and second robots 10 and 11. The third datum 77 is proximal to the first and/or second robot.”), the positioning protrusion complements and is adapted to mate with the positioning slot ([0072] via “The first datum 70
and/or the part of the first robot arm on which the first datum 70 is located, and the third datum 77 are mutually configured so that when the datums 70 and 77 are mated, the configuration of the first robot arm 10 is dependent on the position and orientation of the third datum 77. … The third datum 77 is a 3D formation which may take any shape so long as the first datum 70 is only able to mate with the third datum 77 in a single position and orientation relative to the third datum 77. Thus, there is only one configuration of the part of the first robot arm on which the first datum 70 is located which is able to engage with the third datum 77. The third datum 77 may be a 3D formation which has an interface having the same shape as the part of an instrument that interfaces with the robot. … The third datum 77
may comprise a socket configured to receive the first datum 70, as shown in FIG. 4. In this example, the socket defines a complementary space to the shape delineated by the instrument interface, or a part thereof. In all examples, when mated, the position and orientation of the first datum 70 is fixed relative to the third datum 77.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets third datum 77 as the second positioning block),
one of the first positioning block or the second positioning block is installed on a flange or tool at an end of the mobile robot ([0069] via “First robot 10 comprises a first datum 70
carried on its arm. In this example, the first datum is located on the part of the first robot arm that interfaces with the instrument, herein referred to as the instrument interface.”), ([0078] via “FIG. 9 illustrates a further example in which a first datum 125 on the arm of the first robot 10 mates with a second datum 121 on the arm of the second robot 11. In this example, the first datum 125 is a 3D formation integral with the arm of the first robot 10.”), and the other is installed on a support base ([0069] via “There is also a third datum 77 positioned within the environment of the first and second robots 10 and 11. The third datum 77 is proximal to the first and/or second robot. In FIG. 5, the third datum 77 is located proximal to the base of robot 11.”), (Note: See Figure 5 of Hares as well.),
wherein when calibrating the mobile robot, the first positioning block and the second positioning block are mated and fixed together, so that the one positioning block installed on the mobile robot is accurately positioned at a known predetermined position ([0072] via “The third datum 77 is a 3D formation which may take any shape so long as the first datum 70 is only able to mate with the third datum 77 in a single position and orientation relative to the third datum 77. Thus, there is only one configuration of the part of the first robot arm on which the first datum 70 is located which is able to engage with the third datum 77. The third datum 77 may be a 3D formation which has an interface having the same shape as the part of an instrument that interfaces with the robot. … The third datum 77 may comprise a socket configured to receive the first datum 70, as shown in FIG. 4. In this example, the socket defines a complementary space to the shape delineated by the instrument interface, or a part thereof. In all examples, when mated, the position and orientation of the first datum 70 is fixed relative to the third datum 77. Since the third datum 77 has a fixed position and orientation with respect to the second robot 11, the orientation of the first datum 70 is also fixed with respect to the second robot 11 when the first datum 70 is mated with the third datum 77.”).
Hares is silent on wherein when calibrating the mobile robot, the first positioning block and the second positioning block are mated and fixed together by a connection member extending into the first positioning block and the second positioning block.
However, Harmalkar teaches wherein when calibrating the mobile robot, the first positioning block and the second positioning block are mated and fixed together by a connection member extending into the first positioning block and the second positioning block ([0144] via “FIGS. 8A-C illustrate a temporary calibration target that can be used during a calibration procedure to calibrate the robot relative to the vision station. Referring to FIG. 8A, the illustrated calibration target can be grasped by the robot arm gripper (also referred to as an end-effector) during a calibration procedure. Referring to FIG. 8B, the target can be precisely positioned in the robot arm gripper by two dowel pins (not shown) that can be press-fit into the target and can extend from one side of the target into locating holes in one the gripper fingers. In order to secure the target, the gripper fingers can be opened, the target's dowel pins can be inserted into the locating holes on one of the gripper fingers, and then the gripper fingers can be closed.”), (Note: See Figures 8A-C of Harmalkar as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Harmalkar wherein when calibrating the mobile robot, the first positioning block and the second positioning block are mated and fixed together by a connection member extending into the first positioning block and the second positioning block. Doing so positions the first and second positioning blocks together more precisely, as stated above by Harmalkar.
Regarding Claim 17, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration system according to claim 16, wherein the first positioning block is installed on the flange or tool at the end of the mobile robot ([0069] via “First robot 10 comprises a first datum 70
carried on its arm. In this example, the first datum is located on the part of the first robot arm that interfaces with the instrument, herein referred to as the instrument interface.”), ([0078] via “FIG. 9 illustrates a further example in which a first datum 125 on the arm of the first robot 10 mates with a second datum 121 on the arm of the second robot 11. In this example, the first datum 125 is a 3D formation integral with the arm of the first robot 10.”), and the second positioning block is installed on the workbench ([0069] via “There is also a third datum 77 positioned within the environment of the first and second robots 10 and 11. The third datum 77 is proximal to the first and/or second robot. In FIG. 5, the third datum 77 is located proximal to the base of robot 11.”), (Note: See Figure 5 of Hares as well.).
10. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hares (US 20160346930 A1 hereinafter Hares) in view of Harmalkar et al. (US 20230234220 A1 hereinafter Harmalkar), and further in view of Miyagawa (JP H0911168 A hereinafter Miyagawa).
Regarding Claim 2, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration device according to claim 1, but is silent on wherein the positioning protrusion and the positioning slot each define an L-shaped cross-section.
However, Miyagawa teaches wherein the positioning protrusion and the positioning slot each define an L-shaped cross-section (Page 7 paragraphs 5-6 via “FIG. 11 shows a modification of the third embodiment. In FIG. 11, two manipulators 2, 2B, the calibration jigs 30 and 32 are attached to both the hand parts 4 and 4b, and one of the calibration jigs 30 is fitted into the recess formed in the other calibration jig 30. The calibration jig 32 on the manipulator 2B side is pressed against the calibration jig 30 on the side to apply a known load in the Fz direction to the multiaxial force sensor 3.”), (Note: See Figure 11 of Miyagawa (reproduced below) wherein both the protrusion and the slot each define an L-shaped cross-section.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Miyagawa wherein the positioning protrusion and the positioning slot each define an L-shaped cross-section. Doing so accurately calibrates the robot to the jig by using this specific shape, as stated by Miyagawa (Page 7 paragraph 7 via “With such a configuration, the accurate reference force and moment can be set, so that the multi-axis force sensor 3 can be calibrated as described above.”).
Figure 11 of Miyagawa
11. Claim(s) 13, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hares (US 20160346930 A1 hereinafter Hares) in view of Harmalkar et al. (US 20230234220 A1 hereinafter Harmalkar), and further in view of Nagayama (US 20190160680 A1 hereinafter Nagayama).
Regarding Claim 13, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration device according to claim 5, but is silent on wherein a first installation hole is formed in the base of the first positioning block and enables a first connection member to pass through, so that the first positioning block can be installed on one of the mobile robot or the support base through the first connection member.
However, Nagayama teaches wherein a first installation hole is formed in the base of the first positioning block and enables a first connection member to pass through, so that the first positioning block can be installed on one of the mobile robot or the support base through the first connection member ([0015] via “The positioning jig 20 is attached to the distal end 5a
of the second arm 5 of the robot 1 by means of bolts. … As shown in FIG. 2, the positioning jig 20 has a shape in which a cuboid part is cut out from a rectangular flat plate shape. The positioning jig 20 is provided with: four bolt insertion holes 23 that penetrate therethrough in the thickness direction; a first side surface (positioning surface) 21 which is one side surface of the cut-out shape; a second side surface (positioning surface) 22 which is the other side surface of the cut-out shape; and a bottom surface (positioning surface) 24 that faces downward when the positioning jig 20 is attached to the distal end 5a of the robot 1.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Nagayama wherein a first installation hole is formed in the base of the first positioning block and enables a first connection member to pass through, so that the first positioning block can be installed on one of the mobile robot or the support base through the first connection member. Doing so attaches the first positioning block to the mobile robot using a known hardware connection means, as stated above by Nagayama.
Regarding Claim 14, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration device according to claim 13, but is silent on wherein a second installation hole is formed in the second positioning block and enables a second connection member to pass through, so that the second positioning block can be installed on the other of the mobile robot or the support base through the second connection member.
However, Nagayama teaches wherein a second installation hole is formed in the second positioning block and enables a second connection member to pass through, so that the second positioning block can be installed on the other of the mobile robot or the support base through the second connection member ([0014] via “With the robot 1, a plate portion 2a located on the bottom side of the base 2 is fixed on the installation surface 30 by means of bolts. As shown in FIG. 1, the first reference surface (reference surface) 2b and the second reference surface (reference surface) 2c, which are formed so as to be orthogonal to the installation surface 30, are formed at a corner of the plate portion 2a of the base 2.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Nagayama wherein a second installation hole is formed in the second positioning block and enables a second connection member to pass through, so that the second positioning block can be installed on the other of the mobile robot or the support base through the second connection member. Doing so fixes the second positioning block to the base upon which is stands on using a known connection means, as stated above by Nagayama.
Regarding Claim 15, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration device according to claim 14, but is silent on the mobile robot calibration device further comprising: a first connection member which passes through the first installation hole of the first positioning block and connected to one of the mobile robot or the support base; and a second connection member which passes through the second installation hole of the second positioning block and connected to the other of the mobile robot or the support base.
However, Nagayama teaches a first connection member which passes through the first installation hole of the first positioning block and connected to one of the mobile robot or the support base ([0015] via “The positioning jig 20 is attached to the distal end 5a of the second arm 5 of the robot 1 by means of bolts. … As shown in FIG. 2, the positioning jig 20 has a shape in which a cuboid part is cut out from a rectangular flat plate shape. The positioning jig 20 is provided with: four bolt insertion holes 23 that penetrate therethrough in the thickness direction; a first side surface (positioning surface) 21 which is one side surface of the cut-out shape; a second side surface (positioning surface) 22 which is the other side surface of the cut-out shape; and a bottom surface (positioning surface) 24 that faces downward when the positioning jig 20 is attached to the distal end 5a of the robot 1.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the bolts as the first connection member.); and
a second connection member which passes through the second installation hole of the second positioning block and connected to the other of the mobile robot or the support base ([0014] via “With the robot 1, a plate portion 2a located on the bottom side of the base 2 is fixed on the installation surface 30 by means of bolts. As shown in FIG. 1, the first reference surface (reference surface) 2b and the second reference surface (reference surface) 2c, which are formed so as to be orthogonal to the installation surface 30, are formed at a corner of the plate portion 2a of the base 2.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the bolts as the second connection member.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Nagayama wherein the mobile robot calibration device further comprises: a first connection member which passes through the first installation hole of the first positioning block and connected to one of the mobile robot or the support base; and a second connection member which passes through the second installation hole of the second positioning block and connected to the other of the mobile robot or the support base. Doing so attaches the respective positioning blocks to the robot/support base using known connection means, as stated above by Nagayama in both citations.
12. Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hares (US 20160346930 A1 hereinafter Hares) in view of Harmalkar et al. (US 20230234220 A1 hereinafter Harmalkar), and further in view of Shen et al. (US 20200198146 A1 hereinafter Shen).
Regarding Claim 18, modified reference Hares teaches a mobile robot calibration method, comprising the following steps of: S10: providing the mobile robot calibration system as claimed in claim 16 (See the rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above.);
S12: matching and fixing the first positioning block and the second positioning block together ([0072] via “The third datum 77 is a 3D formation which may take any shape so long as the first datum 70 is only able to mate with the third datum 77 in a single position and orientation relative to the third datum 77. Thus, there is only one configuration of the part of the first robot arm on which the first datum 70 is located which is able to engage with the third datum 77. The third datum 77 may be a 3D formation which has an interface having the same shape as the part of an instrument that interfaces with the robot.”), ([0073] via “To calibrate the position and/or orientation of the first robot 10 relative to the second robot 11, the arm of the first robot 10 is manipulated so that the first datum 70 mates with the third datum 77. The arm of the first robot 10 may be manipulated in any of the ways described above.”).
Hares is silent on S11: moving the mobile robot to an initial position; and S13: calculating an initial position Pb0 of the base of the mobile robot and an initial position Pj0 of each joint of the mobile robot according to the following formula, Pb0=Tb0 * P, Pj0=Tj0 * P, in which, Tb0 is a transfer matrix of the base of the mobile robot relative to the workbench when the mobile robot is in its initial position, wherein the transfer matrix Tb0 can be calculated based on angles of the joints of the mobile robot, Tj0 is a transfer matrix of the joint of the mobile robot relative to the workbench when the mobile robot is in its initial position, wherein the transfer matrix Tj0 can be calculated based on angles of the joints of the mobile robot, and P is a known and constant position of the workbench.
However, Shen teaches S11: moving the mobile robot to an initial position ([0048] via “Afterward, when the tool 22 (new tool, or old tool needing calibration) is placed on the flange 21 of the robot arm 2, the robot controller 20 controls the robot arm 2 to move such that the TWP 221 of the tool 22 moves into the imaging sensing area 33 established by the imaging device 3 (step S22).”); and
S13: calculating an initial position Pb0 of the base of the mobile robot and an initial position Pj0 of each joint of the mobile robot according to the following formula, Pb0=Tb0 * P, Pj0=Tj0 * P, in which, Tb0 is a transfer matrix of the base of the mobile robot relative to the workbench when the mobile robot is in its initial position, wherein the transfer matrix Tb0 can be calculated based on angles of the joints of the mobile robot, Tj0 is a transfer matrix of the joint of the mobile robot relative to the workbench when the mobile robot is in its initial position, wherein the transfer matrix Tj0 can be calculated based on angles of the joints of the mobile robot, and P is a known and constant position of the workbench ([0051] via “Refer back to FIG. 3. When the TWP 221 of the tool 22 is within the imaging sensing area 33, the robot controller 20 records the current gesture of the robot arm 2 (step S24), and at the same time records the specific coordinate of the TWP 221 in the imaging device coordinate system {I} (step S26). Afterward, the robot controller 20 further obtains the pre-established transformation matrix (step S28) and imports the current gesture and the specific coordinate of the TWP 221 into the transformation matrix, thus obtain the absolute position of the TWP
221 in the robot arm coordinate system {B} through the transformation (step S30). In this embodiment, the absolute position of the TWP 221 in the robot arm coordinate system {B} can be represented by the following formula:
P
t
B
=
T
I
B
P
t
I
, where
P
t
B
is a point of the TWP 221
in the robot arm coordinate system {B},
T
I
B
is the transformation matrix representing a relationship between the robot arm coordinate system {B} and the imaging device coordinate system {I}, and
P
t
I
is a point of the TWP 221 in the imaging device coordinate system {I}.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the imaging sensing area of Shen as functionally equivalent to the workbench. Also, see Figure 1 of Shen, wherein the robot arm coordinate system originates at the base of the robot arm.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shen wherein the method comprises: S11: moving the mobile robot to an initial position; and S13: calculating an initial position Pb0 of the base of the mobile robot and an initial position Pj0 of each joint of the mobile robot according to the following formula, Pb0=Tb0 * P, Pj0=Tj0 * P, in which, Tb0 is a transfer matrix of the base of the mobile robot relative to the workbench when the mobile robot is in its initial position, wherein the transfer matrix Tb0 can be calculated based on angles of the joints of the mobile robot, Tj0 is a transfer matrix of the joint of the mobile robot relative to the workbench when the mobile robot is in its initial position, wherein the transfer matrix Tj0 can be calculated based on angles of the joints of the mobile robot, and P is a known and constant position of the workbench. Doing so increases the accuracy in operating the robot by obtaining the absolute position of the robot in both the robot coordinate system and the workbench coordinate system, as stated by Shen ([0042] via “In a word, the calibration system 1 of the present invention can pre-establish the transformation matrix once the robot arm coordinate system {B} and the imaging device coordinate system {I} can be ensured. Therefore, the absolute position of the TWP 221 in the robot arm coordinate system {B} can be obtained by using the coordinate of the TWP 221 in the imaging device coordinate system {I}, the gesture of the robot arm 2 and the imaging device coordinate system {I} when performing calibration for the tool 22 of the robot arm 2, thus effectively enhance the operation preciseness of the robot arm 2.”).
Regarding Claim 19, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration method according to claim 18, further comprising the steps of: S25: matching and fixing the first positioning block and the second positioning block together ([0072] via “The third datum 77 is a 3D formation which may take any shape so long as the first datum 70 is only able to mate with the third datum 77 in a single position and orientation relative to the third datum 77. Thus, there is only one configuration of the part of the first robot arm on which the first datum 70 is located which is able to engage with the third datum 77. The third datum 77
may be a 3D formation which has an interface having the same shape as the part of an instrument that interfaces with the robot.”), ([0073] via “To calibrate the position and/or orientation of the first robot 10 relative to the second robot 11, the arm of the first robot 10
is manipulated so that the first datum 70 mates with the third datum 77. The arm of the first robot 10 may be manipulated in any of the ways described above.”).
Hares is silent on S24: moving the mobile robot to a new position; and S26: calculating a new position Pb1 of the base of the mobile robot according to the following formula, Pb1=Tb1 * P, in which, Tb1 is a transfer matrix of the base of the mobile robot relative to the workbench when the mobile robot is in the new position, wherein the transfer matrix Tb1 can be calculated based on angles of the joints of the mobile robot.
However, Shen teaches S24: moving the mobile robot to a new position ([0064] via “Afterward, the robot controller 20 further controls the flange 21 to move to the second position in the imaging sensing area 33 while the Z-axis height of the flange 21 is not changed, and records the gesture data of the robot arm 2 at the same time (step S66).”); and
S26: calculating a new position Pb1 of the base of the mobile robot according to the following formula, Pb1=Tb1 * P, in which, Tb1 is a transfer matrix of the base of the mobile robot relative to the workbench when the mobile robot is in the new position, wherein the transfer matrix Tb1 can be calculated based on angles of the joints of the mobile robot ([0051] via “Refer back to FIG. 3. When the TWP 221 of the tool 22 is within the imaging sensing area 33, the robot controller 20 records the current gesture of the robot arm 2 (step S24), and at the same time records the specific coordinate of the TWP 221 in the imaging device coordinate system {I} (step S26). Afterward, the robot controller 20 further obtains the pre-established transformation matrix (step S28) and imports the current gesture and the specific coordinate of the TWP 221 into the transformation matrix, thus obtain the absolute position of the TWP 221 in the robot arm coordinate system {B} through the transformation (step S30). In this embodiment, the absolute position of the TWP 221 in the robot arm coordinate system {B} can be represented by the following formula:
P
t
B
=
T
I
B
P
t
I
, where
P
t
B
is a point of the TWP 221 in the robot arm coordinate system {B},
T
I
B
is the transformation matrix representing a relationship between the robot arm coordinate system {B} and the imaging device coordinate system {I}, and
P
t
I
is a point of the TWP 221 in the imaging device coordinate system {I}.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shen wherein the method comprises: S24: moving the mobile robot to a new position; and S26: calculating a new position Pb1 of the base of the mobile robot according to the following formula, Pb1=Tb1 * P, in which, Tb1 is a transfer matrix of the base of the mobile robot relative to the workbench when the mobile robot is in the new position, wherein the transfer matrix Tb1 can be calculated based on angles of the joints of the mobile robot. Doing so allows for the calibration of the robot’s position to be performed at any time within the operation process, as stated by Shen ([0075] via “After the step S80, the robot controller 20 may calculate the transformation matrix based on the calculated rotation matrix and the translation matrix (step S82). After the step S82, the robot controller 20 finishes the preparation process of the calibration for arbitrary tool 22 arranged on the flange 21 of the robot arm 2, namely, finding the absolute positions of the TWP 221 in the robot arm coordinate system {B}. Therefore, the robot controller 20
can then execute the steps shown in FIG. 3 at any time to perform calibration for the arranged or replaced tool 22 on the robot arm 2.”).
13. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hares (US 20160346930 A1 hereinafter Hares) in view of Harmalkar et al. (US 20230234220 A1 hereinafter Harmalkar), further in view of Shen et al. (US 20200198146 A1 hereinafter Shen), and further in view of Minami et al. (US 20200189115 A1 hereinafter Minami).
Regarding Claim 20, modified reference Hares teaches the mobile robot calibration method according to claim 19, but is silent on the method further comprising the steps of: S27: calculating the difference ΔPb between the new position Pb1 and the initial position Pb0 of the base of the mobile robot according to the following formula, ΔPb=Pb1- Pb0; and S28: compensating the calculated difference ΔPb to the initial positions Pj0 of each joint of the mobile robot, in order to obtain the new positions Pj1 of each joint.
However, Minami teaches S27: calculating the difference ΔPb between the new position Pb1 and the initial position Pb0 of the base of the mobile robot according to the following formula, ΔPb=Pb1- Pb0 ([0061] via “The position detector 114 may further detect a positional deviation of the hand 30 in the scanning direction (e.g., X-axis direction), based on the timing at which the side 33a reaches the reference position RP while the scanning controller 113 is moving the hand 30. Specifically, the position detector 114 calculates a difference between the X coordinate of the position of the hand 30 at the timing when the side 33a reaches the reference position RP and the X coordinate of the position of the hand 30 at a scheduled timing when the side 33a reaches the reference position RP.”); and
S28: compensating the calculated difference ΔPb to the initial positions Pj0 of each joint of the mobile robot, in order to obtain the new positions Pj1 of each joint ([0093] via “In step S01, the arm inclination detector 121 causes the scanning controller 113 to move the hand 30
using each of the first position RP1 and the second position RP2 as the reference position RP, and detects the inclination of the base mount 41 of the arm 40 based on the timing at which the side 33a reaches the first position RP1 while the scanning controller 113 is moving the hand 30 using the first position RP1 as the reference position RP, and the timing at which the side 33a reaches the second position RP2 while the scanning controller 113 is moving the hand 30 using the second position RP2 as the reference position RP. … In step S02, the pivoting command correction unit 122 corrects the control command of the arm 40, to reduce the positional deviation of the hand 30 caused from the inclination of the base mount 41 that has been detected by the arm inclination detector 121. For example, the pivoting command correction unit 122 corrects the swivel angle target value of the first arm 43 in the opposite direction to the direction in which the base mount 41 is inclined, with the same correction amount as the angle in which the base mount 41 is inclined.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Minami wherein the method further comprises the steps of: S27: calculating the difference ΔPb between the new position Pb1 and the initial position Pb0 of the base of the mobile robot according to the following formula, ΔPb=Pb1- Pb0; and S28: compensating the calculated difference ΔPb to the initial positions Pj0 of each joint of the mobile robot, in order to obtain the new positions Pj1 of each joint. Doing so corrects any positional deviations between within the joints of the robot arm such that they are all within the target orientation, as stated above by Minami in paragraph [0093].
Examiner’s Note
14. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the
references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references
in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the
context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP
2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole,
including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates,
Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851
(1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
16. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to BYRON X KASPER whose telephone number is (571)272-3895.
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Adam Mott can be reached on (571) 270-5376. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BYRON XAVIER KASPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657