DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Ref. no. “200” (see at least parag. [0028])
Ref. no. “326” (see at least parag. [0046]; Examiner notes that it appears that the lower-most ref. no. “318” in Fig. 10 should be replaced with ref. no. --326-- since it appears to point to the “solid surface 326” of the mounting recess 316A, rather than the “exterior surface 318” of the tubular main body 304]
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
In line 4 of parag. [0034], “the accessory” should be replaced with --The accessory--.
In line 8 of parag. [0035], “the pair” should be replaced with --The pair--.
Lines 6-9 of parag. [0038] should be amended to read --Subsequently, the elongate pole 200 may be axially removed from the accessory connector 300 by pulling the elongate pole 200 through the axial opening 312, which leaves the accessory connector 300 (as well as any accessory connected thereto) mounted to the mounting connector 400.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chisholm (US Patent 6,237,974).
Re Claim 1: Chisholm discloses an accessory connector (20) for an elongate pole (for example, as shown for scoop 30), the elongate pole defining a pair of buttons (46, 48), the accessory connector comprising:
a tubular main body (22) extending from a first end (for example, at 26) to a second end (for example, at 24), the tubular main body defining a pair of connector apertures (52, 54) between the first end and the second end, the accessory connector (22) removably connectable to the elongate pole (30) and movable between a disconnected position (see Fig. 3) and a connected position (see Figs. 1 and 2) in which the pair of buttons (46, 48) extend through the pair of connector apertures (52, 54).
Re Claim 2: Chisholm discloses an accessory connector, wherein the tubular main body (22) further comprises a pair of mounting recesses (57, 57) defined in an exterior surface of the tubular main body.
Re Claim 5: Chisholm discloses an accessory connector, wherein the pair of connector apertures (52, 54) are aligned with and defined through the pair of mounting recesses (57, 57; see Fig. 3).
Re Claim 9: Chisholm discloses an accessory connector, further comprising an accessory mounting portion (80) extending from the second end (for example, at 24) of the tubular main body (22) for connecting to an accessory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chisholm (US Patent 6,237,974).
Re Claims 3-4: Chisholm, as discussed for claim 2 above, discloses an accessory connector significantly as claimed except wherein the pair of mounting recesses each have a bowtie shape (as is required by claim 3); and/or wherein the pair of mounting recesses each include a middle portion, a first wing portion extending from the middle portion, and a second wing portion extending from the middle portion (as is required by claim 4).
Examiner notes that it has been held that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) [discussed in MPEP 2144.04].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chisholm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the pair of mounting recesses each have a bowtie shape (as is required by claim 3); and/or wherein the pair of mounting recesses each include a middle portion, a first wing portion extending from the middle portion, and a second wing portion extending from the middle portion (as is required by claim 4), for the purpose of, for example, achieving a desired aesthetic look, and since such a design modification would require only a change in shape within the skill of the art.
Claims 6-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chisholm (US Patent 6,237,974), as applied to claims 1-2, 5, and 9 above, and further in view of Szymusiak (US Patent 10,166,665).
Re Claims 6-7: Chisholm, as discussed for claim 2 above, discloses an accessory connector significantly as claimed except wherein the pair of mounting recesses comprises a first pair of mounting recesses and a second pair of mounting recesses axially spaced apart from each other (as is required by claim 6); and wherein the second pair of mounting recesses include a solid surface (as is required by claim 7).
Szymusiak teaches the use of an accessory connector (10) comprising a tubular main body, and a pair of mounting recesses (the recesses surrounding the tabs 12); and further wherein the pair of mounting recesses comprises a first pair of mounting recesses (the recesses surrounding the tabs 12) and a second pair of mounting recesses (defined by the opposing sides of groove 14) axially spaced apart from each other; and wherein the second pair of mounting recesses (defined by the opposing sides of groove 14) include a solid surface, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector (20) so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chisholm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the pair of mounting recesses comprises a first pair of mounting recesses and a second pair of mounting recesses axially spaced apart from each other (as is required by claim 6); and wherein the second pair of mounting recesses include a solid surface (as is required by claim 7), as taught by Szymusiak, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
Re Claim 8: Chisholm further discloses an accessory connector, wherein the pair of connector apertures (52, 54; Chisholm Fig. 3) are aligned with and defined through the first pair of mounting recesses (57, 57).
Re Claim 10: Chisholm discloses a mounting connector system comprising:
an elongate pole (30), the elongate pole defining a pair of buttons (46, 48);
an accessory connector (20) comprising a tubular main body (22) extending from a first end (for example, at 26) to a second end (for example, at 24), the tubular main body (22) defining a pair of connector apertures (52, 54) and a pair of mounting recesses (57, 57) between the first end and the second end, the accessory connector removably connectable to the elongate pole (30) and movable between a disconnected position (see Fig. 3) and a connected position (see Figs. 1 and 3) in which the pair of buttons (46, 48) extend through the pair of connector apertures (52, 54).
Chisholm fails to explicitly disclose a mounting connector having a bracket body and a pair of connector arms extending from the bracket body.
Szymusiak teaches the use of a mounting connector system comprising an accessory connector (10) having a tubular main body, and further comprising a mounting connector (20) having a bracket body (22) and a pair of connector arms (24, 24/28, 28) extending from the bracket body, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector (20) so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chisholm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises a mounting connector having a bracket body and a pair of connector arms extending from the bracket body, as taught by Szymusiak, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
Re Claim 11: Szymusiak further teaches wherein the accessory connector (10) is mountable to the mounting connector (20) and movable between an unmounted position (see Figs. 1 and 3A) and a mounted position (see Fig. 3C) in which the pair of connector arms (24, 24/28, 28) extend into a pair of mounting recesses (the recesses surrounding tabs 12 and the opposing sides of groove 14), for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chisholm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the accessory connector is mountable to the mounting connector and movable between an unmounted position and a mounted position in which the pair of connector arms extend into the pair of mounting recesses, as taught by Szymusiak, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
Re Claim 12: Szymusiak further teaches wherein the pair of connector arms (28, 28) contact and compress a pair of buttons (12, 12) when in the mounted position (see Fig. 3C) such that an elongate pole is removable from the accessory connector when in the mounted position, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chisholm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the pair of connector arms contact and compress the pair of buttons when in the mounted position such that the elongate pole is removable from the accessory connector when in the mounted position, as taught by Szymusiak, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
Re Claims 13-14: Chisholm in view of Szymusiak, as discussed for claim 10 above, discloses an accessory connector significantly as claimed except wherein the pair of mounting recesses each have a bowtie shape (as is required by claim 13); and/or wherein the pair of mounting recesses each include a middle portion, a first wing portion extending from the middle portion, and a second wing portion extending from the middle portion (as is required by claim 14).
Examiner notes that it has been held that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) [discussed in MPEP 2144.04].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chisholm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the pair of mounting recesses each have a bowtie shape (as is required by claim 13); and/or wherein the pair of mounting recesses each include a middle portion, a first wing portion extending from the middle portion, and a second wing portion extending from the middle portion (as is required by claim 14), for the purpose of, for example, achieving a desired aesthetic look, and since such a design modification would require only a change in shape within the skill of the art.
Re Claim 15: Chisholm further discloses a mounting connector system, wherein the pair of connector apertures (52, 54) are aligned with and defined through the pair of mounting recesses (57, 57; see Fig. 3).
Re Claims 16-17: Chisholm in view of Szymusiak, as discussed for claim 10 above, discloses a mounting connector system significantly as claimed except wherein the pair of mounting recesses comprises a first pair of mounting recesses and a second pair of mounting recesses axially spaced apart from each other (as is required by claim 16); and wherein the second pair of mounting recesses include a solid surface (as is required by claim 17).
Szymusiak further teaches the use of a mounting connector system comprising an accessory connector (10) having a tubular main body, and a pair of mounting recesses (the recesses surrounding the tabs 12); and further wherein the pair of mounting recesses comprises a first pair of mounting recesses (the recesses surrounding the tabs 12) and a second pair of mounting recesses (defined by the opposing sides of groove 14) axially spaced apart from each other; and wherein the second pair of mounting recesses (defined by the opposing sides of groove 14) include a solid surface, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector (20) so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chisholm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the pair of mounting recesses comprises a first pair of mounting recesses and a second pair of mounting recesses axially spaced apart from each other (as is required by claim 16); and wherein the second pair of mounting recesses include a solid surface (as is required by claim 17), as taught by Szymusiak, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
Re Claim 18: Chisholm further discloses a mounting connector system, wherein the pair of connector apertures (52, 54; Chisholm Fig. 3) are aligned with and defined through the first pair of mounting recesses (57, 57).
Re Claim 19: Chisholm discloses a method of using a mounting connector system, the method comprising:
coupling an accessory connector (20) to an elongate pole (30) by inserting the elongate pole into the accessory connector until a pair of buttons (46, 48) on the elongate pole engage and extend through a pair of apertures (52, 54).
Chisholm fails to explicitly disclose the step of mounting the accessory connector to a mounting connector by inserting the accessory connector between a pair of connector arms of the mounting connector such that the pair of connector arms contact a pair of mounting recesses defined in the accessory connector.
Szymusiak teaches the use of a method of using a mounting connector system comprising the step of mounting an accessory connector (10) to a mounting connector (20) by inserting the accessory connector between a pair of connector arms (24, 24/28, 28) of the mounting connector such that the pair of connector arms contact a pair of mounting recesses (the recesses surrounding tabs 12/the opposing sides of groove 14) defined in the accessory connector, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chisholm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises the step of mounting the accessory connector to a mounting connector by inserting the accessory connector between a pair of connector arms of the mounting connector such that the pair of connector arms contact a pair of mounting recesses defined in the accessory connector, as taught by Szymusiak, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
Re Claim 20: Szymusiak further teaches the steps of compressing a pair of buttons (12, 12) with the pair of connector arms (28, 28) when inserting the accessory connector between the pair of connector arms; and decoupling the accessory connector (10) from a mating fitting, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chisholm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises the steps of compressing the pair of buttons with the pair of connector arms when inserting the accessory connector between the pair of connector arms; and decoupling the accessory connector from the elongate pole, as taught by Szymusiak, for the purpose of accommodating a mounting connector so as to aid in disconnection of the main body from the elongated pole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678