Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 14, 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: AFE, IAF, NRST, etc.. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5, 7-11, and 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-5 (Preamble) - missing "The pulse" at the beginning of the claim.
Claims 7-8 (Preamble) - missing "The" at the beginning of the claim.
Claims 9-11 (Preamble) - replace "A circuit" with "The circuit" in the preamble of the claim.
Claims 13-15 (Preamble) - missing "The" at the beginning of the claim..
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9 (line 2) recites "an acoustic characteristic extraction function". There is a lack of written description of this function. Thus, the specification fails to provide a demonstration of possession of such a function. Claim 10 (line 2) recites "to integrate a signal". There is a lack of written description as to the integration of the signal. Thus, the specification fails to provide a demonstration of possession of such a unit.
Claims 2-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 (Preamble) recites "Counter according to claim". It is unclear which 'counter' the applicant is referring to, 'pulse counter' or 'asynchronous counter'. For compact prosecution purposes, the examiner interprets the 'counter' of claims 2-5 to be 'the pulse counter' of claim 1. Thus, this is indefinite under 112(b).
Claim 10 (lines 2-3) recites "a signal supplied by the first circuit". It is unclear which signal the applicant is referring to (a clock signal, a first synchronization signal, or a second synchronization signal) or is this a new signal being introduced in this claim. For compact prosecution purposes, the examiner interprets the 'signal' of claim 10 is the same as the 'clock signal' of claim 1. Thus, this is indefinite under 112(b).
Claim 11 (line 3) recites "a signal supplied by said pulse counter". It is unclear which signal the applicant is referring to (a clock signal, a first synchronization signal, or a second synchronization signal) or is this a new signal being introduced in this claim. For compact prosecution purposes, the examiner interprets the 'signal' of claim 10 is the same as the 'clock signal' of claim 1. Thus, this is indefinite under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant is reminded that claim mapping is provided as a courtesy to the applicant, but applicant should consider a reference as a whole, as the entire reference gives context to mapped sections.
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YANG MINHAO ET AL: "Design of an Always-On Deep Neural Network-Based 1-micro-W Voice Activity Detector Aided With a Customized Software Model for Analog Feature Extraction", IEEE JOURNAL OF SOLID-STATE CIRCUITS, IEEE, USA, vol. 54, no. 6, 1 June 2019 (2019-06-01), pages 1764-1777, XP011726809, ISSN: 0018-9200, DOI: 10.1109/JSSC. 2019.2894360; hereinafter Yang.
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a pulse counter (Section III.E. and Fig. 16: the "binarized MLP" comprises counters - "Ripple counters") comprising an asynchronous counter (Section III.E.: "Nine-bit counter," "interface between the asynchronous feature extraction front-end and the synchronous inference computing") and a circuit configured to trigger a read operation of the value of said asynchronous counter (Section III.E.: "the control signals for the counters[...] are generated by the controller block"; Fig. 16: the "controller block" produces selection signals "sel0_cnt" and "sel1_cnt" to read the values of the "Nine-bit counters"), said circuit being synchronized by a clock signal (Fig. 16: the "controller block" is controlled by a clock signal "clk").
Regarding Claim 2, Yang discloses the counter according to claim 1, further comprising a flip-flop (Fig. 16: the presence of "reg" registers suggests the use of flip-flops) adapted to receive said value from said asynchronous counter during a reading phase (the registers serving to temporarily store the values of the "Nine-bit counters").
Regarding Claim 3, 4, and 5, Yang discloses the counter according to claim 1, in which a reading phase is triggered by an edge of a first synchronization signal, a reading phase is stopped by an edge of a second synchronization signal, and wherein said edge of the second synchronization signal further triggers the resetting of said value of said asynchronous counter (Fig. 16: the reading of counter values when signals "sel0_cnt" and "sel1_cnt" are received, and the resetting when a signal "rst_cnt" is received, are implicitly performed on the edges of the clock signal "clk").
Regarding Claim 6, Yang discloses a circuit (Section II and Fig. 3) suitable for recognizing words from an audio file comprising a pulse counter (see claim 1 rejection above) according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Yang discloses the circuit according to claim 6, further comprising a first circuit (Abstract, Fig. 3; analog signal processing) adapted to implement an acoustic characteristic extraction function (AFE).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses the circuit according to claim 6, further comprising a second circuit (Section II; Fig. 3; integrate-and-fire/IAF) adapted to integrate a signal supplied by the first circuit.
Regarding Claim 11, Yang discloses the circuit according to claim 6, further comprising a third circuit (Abstract, Sections II & III.E., Fig. 3 & 16; digital binarized MLP comprising a digital deep neural network/DNN) configured to implement digital processing of the signal supplied by said pulse counter (clk).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang discloses a device (Abstract) adapted to process an audio file comprising a circuit (see claim 6 rejection above) according to claim 6.
Regarding Claim 13, Yang discloses the device according to claim 12, further comprising a microphone (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 14, Yang discloses the device according to claim 12, further comprising a neural network (Abstract; digital deep neural network/DNN).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang discloses the device according to claims 12, adapted to detect the human voice (Abstract; voice activity detector/VAD).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant is reminded that claim mapping is provided as a courtesy to the applicant, but applicant should consider a reference as a whole, as the entire reference gives context to mapped sections.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, Yang discloses the claimed invention according to claim 6 except for having a clock frequency between 30 and 40 kHz; in which the clock frequency is equal to 32.728 kHz. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to specify the value of the clock frequency since the Applicant has not disclosed that a specific clock frequency solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any clock frequency provided.
Conclusion
/Amit R Bhatia/Examiner, Art Unit 2842
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2843