Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The opening sentence, “Disclosed are various approaches for providing an in-cage system…” is improper.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Ingley et al. (Hereinafter, “Ingley”) in The US patent Application Publication Number US 20050241591 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ingley teaches a lick detection device (An animal control device including a top wall, a bottom wall, a front wall, at least one side wall, a rear wall, at least one sensor, and a monitoring linkage for displaying data from the at least one sensor to a display; Paragraph [0013] Line 2-5; FIG. 1-3 is a perspective view of one embodiment of an animal control cage 100) comprising:
a frame [102] (top wall 102 as the frame) (The cage 100 includes a top wall 102; Paragraph [0044] Line 3) comprising
at least one bottle [125] (The top wall 102 also includes a wire rack 116 for dispensing food and water, such as from a water bottle 125; Paragraph [0044] Line 8-10) orifice [112] (opening 112 as the bottle orifice) (FIG. 2 is an exploded view of the animal control cage 100 and shows the opening 112; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-2) and a hanger (guide 122 as the hanger) (FIG. 2 is an exploded view of the animal control cage 100 and shows the opening 112 and filter top 114 as well as the monitoring module 120 that is placed in guides 122; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-4);
a sipper clip (wire rack 116 as the sipper clip) (The top wall 102 includes an opening 112 for a filter top 114) connected to the frame [120] by a leg (The cage 100 includes a bottom wall 104, two side walls 106, a front wall 108 and a rear wall 110; Paragraph [0044] Line 3-5; a bottom wall 104, two side walls 106, a front wall 108 and a rear wall 110 makes the leg to connect the frame with the sipper clip); and
a conductive strip [116] (wire rack 116 as the conductive strip as the wire rack isa conductive) on an interior surface of the sipper clip [116] (The top wall 102 also includes a wire rack 116 for dispensing food and water, such as from a water bottle 125; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-10; Figure 2 shows that the wire rack 116 as the conductive strip [116] on an interior surface of the sipper clip [116]).
Regarding claim 2, Ingley teaches a lick detection device,
further comprising at least one bottle [125] inserted in the at least one bottle orifice [112] (The top wall 102 also includes a wire rack 116 for dispensing food and water, such as from a water bottle 125; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-10),
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Ingley
wherein the bottle [125] comprises a sipper that mates with the interior of the sipper clip [116] such that only an inferior surface of the sipper is exposed and wherein the sipper is in contact with the conductive strip [116] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Ingley above shows the bottle [125] comprises a sipper that mates with the interior of the sipper clip [116] such that only an inferior surface of the sipper is exposed and wherein the sipper is in contact with the conductive strip [116]).
Regarding claim 6, Ingley teaches a lick detection device,
wherein the leg comprises a wiring orifice [116] that connects to a wiring notch on the frame such that wires connected to the conductive strip exit the device from the wiring notch (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Ingley below shows the leg comprises a wiring orifice [116] that connects to a wiring notch on the frame such that wires connected to the conductive strip exit the device from the wiring notch).
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Ingley
Regarding claim 16, Ingley teaches a lick detection device (An animal control device including a top wall, a bottom wall, a front wall, at least one side wall, a rear wall, at least one sensor, and a monitoring linkage for displaying data from the at least one sensor to a display; Paragraph [0013] Line 2-5; FIG. 1-3 is a perspective view of one embodiment of an animal control cage 100) comprising:
a frame [102] (top wall 102 as the frame) (The cage 100 includes a top wall 102; Paragraph [0044] Line 3) comprising
at least one bottle [125] (The top wall 102 also includes a wire rack 116 for dispensing food and water, such as from a water bottle 125; Paragraph [0044] Line 8-10) orifice [112] (opening 112 as the bottle orifice) (FIG. 2 is an exploded view of the animal control cage 100 and shows the opening 112; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-2) and a hanger (guide 122 as the hanger) (FIG. 2 is an exploded view of the animal control cage 100 and shows the opening 112 and filter top 114 as well as the monitoring module 120 that is placed in guides 122; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-4);
a housing [100] (cage 100 in Figure 1 as the housing) disposed beneath the at least one bottle orifice [112] (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Ingley above shows a housing [100] (cage 100 in Figure 1 as the housing) disposed beneath the at least one bottle orifice [112]),
a sipper clip (wire rack 116 as the sipper clip) (The top wall 102 includes an opening 112 for a filter top 114) connected to the frame [120] by a leg (The cage 100 includes a bottom wall 104, two side walls 106, a front wall 108 and a rear wall 110; Paragraph [0044] Line 3-5; a bottom wall 104, two side walls 106, a front wall 108 and a rear wall 110 makes the leg to connect the frame with the sipper clip); and
a conductive strip [116] (wire rack 116 as the conductive strip as the wire rack isa conductive) on an interior surface of the sipper clip [116] (The top wall 102 also includes a wire rack 116 for dispensing food and water, such as from a water bottle 125; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-10; Figure 2 shows that the wire rack 116 as the conductive strip [116] on an interior surface of the sipper clip [116]).
Regarding claim 17, Ingley teaches a lick detection device,
wherein the at least one sensor comprises a radiofrequency identification (RFID) sensor (In another embodiment, the means for identifying the cage may include a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag that is attached to the cage; Paragraph [0040] Line 5-8).
Regarding claim 18, Ingley teaches a lick detection device,
further comprising at least one bottle [125] inserted in the at least one bottle orifice [112] (The top wall 102 also includes a wire rack 116 for dispensing food and water, such as from a water bottle 125; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-10),
wherein the bottle [125] comprises a sipper that mates with the interior of the sipper clip [116] such that only an inferior surface of the sipper is exposed and wherein the sipper is in contact with the conductive strip [116] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Ingley above shows the bottle [125] comprises a sipper that mates with the interior of the sipper clip [116] such that only an inferior surface of the sipper is exposed and wherein the sipper is in contact with the conductive strip [116]).
Regarding claim 20, Ingley teaches a lick detection device,
wherein the leg comprises a wiring orifice [116] that connects to a wiring notch on the frame such that wires connected to the conductive strip exit the device from the wiring notch (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Ingley above shows the leg comprises a wiring orifice [116] that connects to a wiring notch on the frame such that wires connected to the conductive strip exit the device from the wiring notch).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingley ‘591 A1 in view of Lepine et al. (Hereinafter, “Lepine”) in the US patent Number US 8366642 B2.
Regarding claim 3, Ingley fails to teach a lick detection device, wherein the conductive strip is copper tape.
Lepine teaches a management program for the benefit of a companion animal can maintain, enhance or improve the health and well-being of the companion animal (Abstract),
wherein the conductive strip is copper tape (FIG. 2 illustrates a portion of a flexible material layer 100 for use in the collection of footfall data of a companion animal. FIG. 3 illustrates a cross section of the flexible material layer 100 of FIG. 2 viewed along line 3-3. Flexible material layer 100 has inner and outer sides, 102 and 104 respectively. The flexible material layer may be fabricated from materials such as Mylar.RTM. or Kapton.RTM.. Electrodes fabricated from a conductive material, such as silver or copper, are associated with the inner side 102 of the flexible material layer 100 to form primary conductive traces such as those indicated as 106, 108 and 110; Column 13 Line 24-34). The purpose of doing so is to provide superior electrical and thermal conductivity, making it ideal for wiring and heat transfer; excellent corrosion resistance, ensuring durability; inherent antimicrobial properties, to maintain, improve or enhance the biological age of the companion animal.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley in view of Lepine because Lepine teaches to include a copper strip provides superior electrical and thermal conductivity, making it ideal for wiring and heat transfer; excellent corrosion resistance, ensuring durability; inherent antimicrobial properties and maintains, improve or enhance the biological age of the companion animal (Column 2 Line 7-8).
Regarding claim 19, Ingley fails to teach a lick detection device, wherein the conductive strip is copper tape.
Lepine teaches a management program for the benefit of a companion animal can maintain, enhance or improve the health and well-being of the companion animal (Abstract),
wherein the conductive strip is copper tape (FIG. 2 illustrates a portion of a flexible material layer 100 for use in the collection of footfall data of a companion animal. FIG. 3 illustrates a cross section of the flexible material layer 100 of FIG. 2 viewed along line 3-3. Flexible material layer 100 has inner and outer sides, 102 and 104 respectively. The flexible material layer may be fabricated from materials such as Mylar.RTM. or Kapton.RTM.. Electrodes fabricated from a conductive material, such as silver or copper, are associated with the inner side 102 of the flexible material layer 100 to form primary conductive traces such as those indicated as 106, 108 and 110; Column 13 Line 24-34). The purpose of doing so is to provide superior electrical and thermal conductivity, making it ideal for wiring and heat transfer; excellent corrosion resistance, ensuring durability; inherent antimicrobial properties, to maintain, improve or enhance the biological age of the companion animal.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley in view of Lepine because Lepine teaches to include a copper strip provides superior electrical and thermal conductivity, making it ideal for wiring and heat transfer; excellent corrosion resistance, ensuring durability; inherent antimicrobial properties and maintains, improve or enhance the biological age of the companion animal (Column 2 Line 7-8).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingley ‘591 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Ingley teaches a lick detection device, comprises a bottle [125] (The top wall 102 also includes a wire rack 116 for dispensing food and water, such as from a water bottle 125; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-10),
Ingley discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the bottle has a capacity of about 90 mL. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the bottle has a capacity of about 90 mL, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine Skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 4 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingley ‘591 A1 in view of Head et al. (Hereinafter, “Head”) in the US patent Number US 7290438 B2 and further in view of Betts-Lacroix; Jonathan et al. (Hereinafter, “Jonathan”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190037800 A1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ingley and Jonathan fails to teach a lick detection device, wherein the bottle is pyramidally shaped.
Head teaches an automated apparatus and method for testing cork wine bottle stoppers for the presence of an analyte that causes cork taint in bottled wine (Column 1 Line 17-19),
wherein the bottle is pyramidally shaped (Apparatus 100 may include, among other things, a hopper/dispenser 105 in Figure 1 shows a pyramid shape). The purpose of doing so is to reuse or discard inexpensive sensors with a rejected item, to provides a low-cost, reliable testing process for testing up to 100% of the items at production speed in a cost-effective way that is scalable to the general consumer market.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley and Jonathan in view of Head, because Head teaches to include the bottle as pyramidally shaped provides a low-cost, reliable testing process for testing up to 100% of the items at production speed in a cost-effective way that is scalable to the general consumer market (Column 4 Line 59-62).
Regarding claim 7, Ingley teaches a lick detection system comprising:
a lick detection device according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1), wherein the conductive strip is wired to a sensor (The module 120 also includes one or more sensors 130 to monitor various conditions. The module 120, in this embodiment, may be designed to snap into an opening 124 in the back of the cage; Paragraph [0048] Line 9-12).
However, Ingley fails to teach that the sensor is capacitive sensor and the capacitive sensor is in communication with a microcontroller; a data logger in communication with the microcontroller; a user device in communication with the microcontroller; and a power source.
Head teaches an automated apparatus and method for testing cork wine bottle stoppers for the presence of an analyte that causes cork taint in bottled wine (Column 1 Line 17-19),
wherein the sensor is in communication with a microcontroller [350] in Figure 3B; a data logger [385] in communication with the microcontroller [350]; a user device [205] in communication with the microcontroller [350]; and a power source [345] (Sensor system 215 may include a plurality of sensor electronics 225 (e.g., sensor electronics 225a, 225b and 225n, where n indicates the corresponding sensor unit 135 in apparatus 100). Sensor electronics 225 includes the electronic circuitry, such as a power regulator, processor, memory and storage, sufficient to interface sensor system 215 to computer 205 so as to operate sensor units 135 of apparatus 100. Sensor electronics 225 may further include the necessary circuitry, such as power regulator, processor, memory and storage, sufficient to run software applications (e.g., pattern signal handling capability and sensor pattern recognition algorithms) for sensor units 135 as described in more detail in reference to FIG. 3B. Such sensor electronics 225 can be readily designed by a person having ordinary skill in the art such that a detailed explanation of the sensor electronics is not necessary for those skilled in the art to understand and practice the present invention; Column 6 Line 36-52). The purpose of doing so is to reuse or discard inexpensive sensors with a rejected item, to provides a low-cost, reliable testing process for testing up to 100% of the items at production speed in a cost-effective way that is scalable to the general consumer market.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley in view of Head, because Head teaches to include the sensor is in communication with a microcontroller; a data logger in communication with the microcontroller; a user device in communication with the microcontroller; and a power source can reuse or discard inexpensive sensors with a rejected item, to provides a low-cost, reliable testing process for testing up to 100% of the items at production speed in a cost-effective way that is scalable to the general consumer market (Column 4 Line 59-62).
The combination of Ingley and Head fails to teach a system, wherein the sensor is a capacitive sensor.
Jonathan teaches the fields of this invention include using animals in vivariums, such as rodents, particularly mice. In a vivarium cage, mice generate ultrasonic vocalizations and video behaviors (Abstract),
wherein the sensor is a capacitive sensor (Yet another method of detecting the location of an animal is the use of an animal sensor outside of the cage, with a directional range or a short range. Examples of such detectors include thermal detectors, capacitive sensors, and motion sensors; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to provide for more accurate and comprehensive analysis than periodic monitoring, monitoring only in special cages, or monitoring by human observation (Paragraph [0008]), to collect weight data or exercise data automatically, continuously or continually, without any human, manual input (Paragraph [063]).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley and Head in view of Jonathan, because Jonathan teaches to include the capacitive sensor provides for more accurate and comprehensive analysis than periodic monitoring, monitoring only in special cages, or monitoring by human observation (Paragraph [0008]), collects weight data or exercise data automatically, continuously or continually, without any human, manual input (Paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 8, Ingley teaches a system,
wherein the user device is a touchscreen [142] (display 142 is a touchscreen as it shows the value in a screen) (On the front of the cage 102, a display 142 is provided for displaying information from the monitoring module that is transferred to the display 142 using the monitoring linkage 136. In addition, an RFID tag 144 is also located on a front of the cage 100 for providing identification information regarding the cage and/or the animals contained therein; Paragraph [0050] Line 5-11).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ingley and Jonathan fails to teach system, wherein the microcontroller wirelessly communicates with the user device.
Head teaches an automated apparatus and method for testing cork wine bottle stoppers for the presence of an analyte that causes cork taint in bottled wine (Column 1 Line 17-19),
wherein the microcontroller wirelessly communicates with the user device (Conveyor controller 220 and sensor system 215 may communicate with computer 205 via communication link 210, which may be any suitable wired or wireless communications link. For example, communication link 210 may be a universal serial bus (USB) and may transmit data bi-directionally between computer 205 and sensor system 215, and between computer 205 and conveyor controller 220. Alternatively, communication link 210 may be a wireless link, such as an infrared or radio frequency link, among others; Column 7 Line 15-24). The purpose of doing so is to reuse or discard inexpensive sensors with a rejected item, to provides a low-cost, reliable testing process for testing up to 100% of the items at production speed in a cost-effective way that is scalable to the general consumer market.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley and Jonathan in view of Head, because Head teaches to wirelessly communicate the microcontroller with the user device; a data logger in communication with the microcontroller; a user device in communication with the microcontroller; and a power source can reuse or discard inexpensive sensors with a rejected item, to provides a low-cost, reliable testing process for testing up to 100% of the items at production speed in a cost-effective way that is scalable to the general consumer market (Column 4 Line 59-62).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ingley and Jonathan fails to teach system, further comprising a removable memory.
Head teaches an automated apparatus and method for testing cork wine bottle stoppers for the presence of an analyte that causes cork taint in bottled wine (Column 1 Line 17-19),
further comprising a removable memory [355] (Referring to FIG. 3B, sensor electronics 225 may include a power regulator 345, a microprocessor 350, a memory 355; Column 9 Line 17-18; Memory 355 may provide storage of program codes, data, and other information. Examples of program code stored in memory 355 include program code that coordinates the operation of sensor units 135 and sensor pattern signal handling and pattern recognition algorithms or look-up tables to analyze data from nose chips 310; Column 9 Line 36-41). The purpose of doing so is to provide storage of program codes, data, and other information and to analyze data from nose chips.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley and Jonathan in view of Head, because Head teaches to include a removable memory provides storage of program codes, data, and other information and to analyze data from nose chips (Column 9 Line 36-40).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ingley and Jonathan fails to teach system, wherein the removable memory is an SD card.
Head teaches an automated apparatus and method for testing cork wine bottle stoppers for the presence of an analyte that causes cork taint in bottled wine (Column 1 Line 17-19),
wherein the removable memory is an SD card [355] (Referring to FIG. 3B, sensor electronics 225 may include a power regulator 345, a microprocessor 350, a memory 355; Column 9 Line 17-18; Memory 355 may provide storage of program codes, data, and other information. Examples of program code stored in memory 355 include program code that coordinates the operation of sensor units 135 and sensor pattern signal handling and pattern recognition algorithms or look-up tables to analyze data from nose chips 310; Column 9 Line 36-41; Memory is SD card as it stores program code). The purpose of doing so is to provide storage of program codes, data, and other information and to analyze data from nose chips.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley and Jonathan in view of Head, because Head teaches to include a removable memory as an SD card provides storage of program codes, data, and other information and to analyze data from nose chips (Column 9 Line 36-40).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ingley and Jonathan fails to teach a system, further comprising a data logger shield.
Head teaches an automated apparatus and method for testing cork wine bottle stoppers for the presence of an analyte that causes cork taint in bottled wine (Column 1 Line 17-19),
further comprising a data logger shield (PC interface as the data logger shield in Figure 3B) (Interface 385 facilitates communication between sensor electronics 225 and computer 205 and is in communication with computer 205 via communication link 210.; Column 9 Line 50-54). The purpose of doing so is to reuse or discard inexpensive sensors with a rejected item, to provides a low-cost, reliable testing process for testing up to 100% of the items at production speed in a cost-effective way that is scalable to the general consumer market.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley and Jonathan in view of Head, because Head teaches to include a data logger shield can reuse or discard inexpensive sensors with a rejected item, to provides a low-cost, reliable testing process for testing up to 100% of the items at production speed in a cost-effective way that is scalable to the general consumer market (Column 4 Line 59-62).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ingley and Head fails to teach a system, wherein the capacitive sensor is a multichannel sensor in communication with a plurality of sipper bottles.
Jonathan teaches the fields of this invention include using animals in vivariums, such as rodents, particularly mice. In a vivarium cage, mice generate ultrasonic vocalizations and video behaviors (Abstract),
wherein the capacitive sensor is a multichannel sensor in communication with a plurality of sipper bottles (Yet another method of detecting the location of an animal is the use of an animal sensor outside of the cage, with a directional range or a short range. Examples of such detectors include thermal detectors, capacitive sensors, and motion sensors; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to provide for more accurate and comprehensive analysis than periodic monitoring, monitoring only in special cages, or monitoring by human observation (Paragraph [0008]), to collect weight data or exercise data automatically, continuously or continually, without any human, manual input (Paragraph [063]).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ingley and Head in view of Jonathan, because Jonathan teaches to include the capacitive sensor as a multichannel sensor in communication with a plurality of sipper bottles provides for more accurate and comprehensive analysis than periodic monitoring, monitoring only in special cages, or monitoring by human observation (Paragraph [0008]), collects weight data or exercise data automatically, continuously or continually, without any human, manual input (Paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 14, Ingley teaches a lick detection device,
wherein the device comprises an interior wiring orifice for receiving wiring from the conductive strip and the capacitive sensor such that wiring to the microcontroller is not accessible to animals (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Ingley above shows an interior wiring orifice for receiving wiring from the conductive strip and the capacitive sensor such that wiring to the microcontroller is not accessible to animals).
Regarding claim 15, Ingley teaches a system according to claim 7,
wherein the data logger is configured to communicate data wirelessly to a wireless data storage. (In an alternative embodiment, a wireless fidelity (WiFi) system may be used as the monitoring linkage. The display on the front of the cage may be a liquid crystal display (LCD), a light emitting diode (LED) display, an infrared (IR) display, or any other display capable of displaying sensor data; Paragraph [00376] Line 11-16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Teller (US 20050237213 A1) discloses, “Service Transaction Monitoring System, Method And Device- [0004] This invention relates generally to the field of system, methods, and electronic devices used to monitor the dispensing of liquids, in particular, beverages dispensed at a bar or restaurant. [0040] FIGS. 2, 3A and 3B show first embodiment 32 of sensor device 12 as used with bottle 34. Sensor device 32 is disc-shaped and is about 2{fraction (5/8)} inches in diameter and about {fraction (3/8)} inch thick. Sensor device 32 includes housing 36, printed circuit board 38, and electronic components. Housing 36 has planar lid portion 40 and cup portion 42. Lid portion 40 is about 2{fraction (3/8)} inches in diameter and about {fraction (1/16)} inch thick. Lid portion 40 has upper surface 41 and lower surface 43. Cup portion 42 is about 2{fraction (5/8)} inches in diameter and {fraction (3/8)} inch thick. Cup portion 42 has a surrounding circular wall 45, upper rim 44, a planar bottom 47, inside bottom surface 46, inner ledge 48 running about the inside circumference 49 of circular wall 45, posts 50, and projections 52. Wall 45 has an interior and exterior surface. Interior surface of wall 45 and inside bottom surface 46 form a cavity to receive electronic circuit 39. Inner ledge 48 is located about {fraction (1/16)} inch below upper rim 44, such that when lid portion 40 is placed on top of and inside cup portion 42, lower surface 43 of lid portion 40 rests on inner ledge 48. Two posts 50 project upward from inside bottom surface 46. Posts 50 are located approximately in the center of cup portion 42 and are approximately {fraction (1/8)} inch tall. Four projections 52 are located on inside circumference 49 below inner ledge 48. [0041] Lid portion 40 and cup portion 42 are preferably made of rigid molded plastic, such as a polycarbonate or "ABS." These materials ensure that sensor device 32 can withstand the high temperatures and moisture common in a bar or restaurant, such as from steam cleaning, and can withstand physical shock. Lid portion 40 and cup portion 42 are non-removable attached to each other in a waterproof fashion to form housing 36. Preferable methods of attaching include sonic welding, epoxy sealant, or potting material-However Teller does not disclose a sipper clip connected to the frame by a leg; and a conductive strip on an interior surface of the sipper clip.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858