DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because :
Figure 3 contains items that are blurry and illegible.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting of claims 1-2 in U.S. application 18/982169 in view of Holmbacka et al, Finland Patent Num FI20215944A1 (hereinafter Holmbacka). This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 of application 18/982169 fails to specify process information for at least one alternative energy source; and load shift power to the system between mains power and the battery backup based on one or more characteristics of the battery backup, and/or the at least one alternative energy source.
However, Holmbacka teaches process information for at least one alternative energy source (Holmbacka, lines 335-352 – The system is co-located with local energy production/”alternative energy source” equipment including solar panels or wind mill that may be used for further electrical power balancing based on information regarding operation modes, weather, and emergency situations.); and load shift power to the system between mains power and the battery backup based on one or more characteristics of the battery backup, and/or the at least one alternative energy source. (Holmbacka, lines 335-352 – The system adjusts/shifts the power source for equipment between local energy production/”alternative energy source” equipment, battery backup, and electric grid/”mains power” based on information/characteristics that include electric grid/”mains power” pricing, weather conditions that are optimal for local energy production, and battery charge status.)
Application 18/982169 and Holmbacka are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to cellular network battery backup systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above automation control system, as taught by application 18/982169, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Holmbacka.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to ensure operation of the telecommunications network during possible outages of the electric network by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Holmbacka (lines 17-20).
Instant Application
Application 18/982169
Claim 1
A cellular network system, comprising:
an energy controller having a processor and memory configured to:
provision a battery backup to supply power to the system for X number of hours;
process information for at least one alternative energy source; and
load shift power to the system between mains power and the battery backup based on one or more characteristics of the mains power, the battery backup, and/or the at least one alternative energy source.
Claim 1
A cellular network system, comprising:
an energy controller having a processor and memory configured to:
provision a battery backup to supply power to the system for X number of hours; and
load shift power to the system between mains power and the battery backup based on one or more characteristics of the mains power.
It is well settled that it is unobviousness in the overall appearance of the claimed design, when compared with the prior art, rather than minute details or small variations in design as appears to be the case here, that constitutes the test of design patentability. See In re Frick, 275 F.2d 741, 125 USPQ 191 (CCPA 1960) and In re Lamb, 286 F.2d 610, 128 USPQ 539 (CCPA 1961).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holmbacka et al, Finland Patent Num FI20215944A1 (hereinafter Holmbacka).
Claim 1
Holmbacka discloses a cellular network system (Holmbacka, lines 126-127 - Control power supply of telecommunications/cellular networks.), comprising: an energy controller having a processor and memory (Holmbacka, lines 172-184 – A general-purpose computer or server or some other electronic data processing apparatus.) configured to: provision a battery backup to supply power to the system for X number of hours (Holmbacka, lines 144-151, 363-369 – The discharging periods of backup batteries are scheduled so that the backup battery is discharged and used as a power supply for network devices during time periods/”X number of hours” when the load or spot pricing in the electric grid is high.); process information for at least one alternative energy source (Holmbacka, lines 335-352 – The system is co-located with local energy production/”alternative energy source” equipment including solar panels or wind mill that may be used for further electrical power balancing based on information regarding operation modes, weather, and emergency situations.); and load shift power to the system between mains power and the battery backup based on one or more characteristics of the mains power, the battery backup, and/or the at least one alternative energy source. (Holmbacka, lines 335-352 – The system adjusts/shifts the power source for equipment between local energy production/”alternative energy source” equipment, battery backup, and electric grid/”mains power” based on information/characteristics that include electric grid/”mains power” pricing, weather conditions that are optimal for local energy production, and battery charge status.)
Claim 3
Holmbacka discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Holmbacka further discloses the at least one alternative energy source comprises a solar system and/or wind power system. (Holmbacka, lines 335-352 – The system is co-located with local energy production/”alternative energy source” equipment including solar panels or wind mills.)
Claim 5
Holmbacka discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Holmbacka further discloses the processor and the memory are configured to load shift power to the system based on one or more characteristics of batteries in the battery backup. (Holmbacka, lines 284-316 - The discharging periods and the charging periods are scheduled so that battery specific context/”characteristics of batteries” is taken into account.)
Claim 6
Holmbacka discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Holmbacka further discloses the one or more characteristics of batteries in the battery backup include battery charge/discharge characteristics. (Holmbacka, lines 284-321 - The discharging periods and the charging periods are scheduled so that battery specific context/”characteristics of batteries” including backup battery degradation and/or reserve capacity/”battery charge-discharge characteristics” is taken into account.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmbacka et al, Finland Patent Num FI20215944A1 (hereinafter Holmbacka) as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-6 above, and in view of Patel, US Patent Pub US 20160043547 A1 (hereinafter Patel).
Claim 2
Holmbacka discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Holmbacka fails to specify the one or more characteristics of the mains power includes a cost schedule having on-peak and off-peak rates.
However Patel teaches the one or more characteristics of the mains power includes a cost schedule having on-peak and off-peak rates. (Patel, para 41-43 – Determination/schedule of electricity costs for peak and off-peak periods.)
Holmbacka and Patel are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to energy storage systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above energy storage system, as taught by Holmbacka, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Patel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to detect appropriate periods to reconnect the devices to the grid to replenish the expended energy in the energy storage capacity by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Patel (Abstract).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmbacka et al, Finland Patent Num FI20215944A1 (hereinafter Holmbacka) as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-6 above, and in view of Hill et al, US Patent Pub US 20210203182 A1 (hereinafter Hill).
Claim 4
Holmbacka discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Holmbacka fails to specify the at least one alternative energy source provides energy to the battery backup.
However Hill teaches the at least one alternative energy source provides energy to the battery backup. (Hill, para 14 - A solar panel used to charge a rechargeable battery pack.)
Holmbacka and Hill are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to energy storage systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above energy storage system, as taught by Holmbacka, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Hill.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide battery power to the cellular system when no grid connection is available by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Hill (para 15).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Krishnamoorthy et al, US Patent Pub US 20180054070 relates to claims regarding storing and supplying electrical energy to a load based on various external constraints arising from the availability of renewable electricity, utility electricity rates, and stability of the electrical grid.
Jammer, US Patent Pub US 20140316600 relates to claims regarding a battery backup system that provides power and charges batteries.
Prosser et al, US Patent Pub US 20120245744 relates to claims regarding a battery system that uses stored energy during peak demand periods and charges during off peak periods, and local generation systems including solar and wind.
Beeman, US Patent Pub US 20140172183 relates to claims regarding an input connectable to a mains electrical supply, an energy storage device, a supply converter selectively connectable to an electrical supply to convert electrical power from the electrical supply to energy for storage in the energy storage device, and a load converter arranged to convert energy from the energy storage device to electrical power for supply to an electrical load.
Conclusion
/DAVID EARL OGG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119