DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species B ( Fig. 3) claims 1-11 and 13-20 in the reply filed on 10/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/5/2026.
Claims 1-8 and 17 are generic.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: please correct the chain of continuity to update that the US application 16601824 is now US. Patent Mo, 12053617B2 issued on AUG. 6, 2024.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 19-23 of U.S. Patent No.12053617. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 of the current application comprises a drug delivery device (see Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60) comprising a housing (Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60); needle assembly (Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60); as drive assembly (Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60) and syringe barrel has 1 ml medication with at least 4cP and clearance greater than 10mm ( see Patent claim 8, Pg 28,lines 34-39).
Also, claims 2-11, 13-17 can be found in claim 1-9 of the patent such as claim 2 of the current application (Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60), claim 3 (Patent claim 7, Pg 28, lines 20-37), claim 4 (Patent claim 7, Pg 28, lines 20-37), claim 5 (Patent claim 7, Pg 28, lines 20-37), claim 6 (Patent claim 2, Pg 27, line 61-Pg28, line 2), claim 7 (Patent claim 7, Pg 28, lines 20-37), claim 8 (Patent claim 22, Pg 30, lines 12-16), claim9 (Patent claim 3, Pg 28, lines 3-4), claim 10 (Patent claim 4, Pg 28, lines 5-7), claim 11 (Patent claim 4, Pg 28, lines 5-7), claim 13 (Patent claim 6, Pg 28, lines 12-17), claim 14 (Patent claim 6, Pg 28, lines 12-17), claim 15 (Patent claim 6, Pg 28, lines 12-17), claim 16 (Patent claim 6, Pg 28, lines 12-17), claim 17 (Patent claim 7, Pg 28, lines 20-37).
Claim 18 of the current application comprises a drug delivery device (see Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60) comprising a housing (Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60); needle assembly (Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60); as drive assembly (Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60); a damper mechanism (Patent claim 2, Pg 27, line 61-Pg28, line 2) and syringe barrel has 1 ml medication with at least 4cP and clearance greater than 10mm ( see Patent claim 8, Pg 28,lines 34-39).
Also, claim 19 of the current application can be found in (Patent claim 7, Pg 28, lines 20-37), claim 20 (Patent claim 1, Pg 27, lines 42-60).
Note, a terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) can be used to overcome such rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein the plunger rod and the plunger face have an initial clearance …" in last 3 lines. It is unclear which :”plunger face” is referring to the distal face (top see ¶0050 of the specification) or proximal face (lower see ¶0044). For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as : plunger face that face the medicament see ¶0044 of the specification which include the plunger thickness 132 and washer 130 and space between washer and plunger 133 see Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eich et al. (US 20110054412 A1) (“Eich”) in view of Shenoy (US 20180333493 A1).
Re Claim 1, Eich discloses a drug delivery device (Figs. 1-14) comprising: a housing (12, Fig. 1, ¶0041) defining a shell (Fig. 1) having a proximal end (lower end of 12, not that the direction on the current case is the opposite as used in the art), a distal end (upper end of 12), and a longitudinal axis extending between the proximal end and the distal end thereof (axis of 12); a needle assembly ( include cartridge 27, ¶0041 and a needle, ¶0013) at least partially disposed within the housing at the proximal end thereof (Fig, 1, ¶0013, ¶0041), the needle assembly comprising a syringe barrel (27, ¶0041) containing a medicament (¶0031,¶0041) and a needle or a cannula (¶0013); and a drive assembly (15, 7 shaft , plunger rod 2, 13, plunger 28) at least partially disposed within the housing (Fig. 1) and operably coupled to the needle assembly to urge the medicament through the needle or cannula (¶0048), the drive assembly including a plunger assembly having a plunger rod (2) and a plunger face (lower face of 28) being moveable along the longitudinal axis of the housing (¶0048); wherein the syringe barrel is adapted to contain at least approximately 1 mL of medicament (Fig. 5) and wherein the plunger rod and the plunger face have an initial clearance ( plunger 2 and the lower face of 28) but it is silent with regards that medicament is having a viscosity of at least approximately 4cP and the clearance is greater than approximately 10 mm.
The instant disclosure describes the parameter of the clearance as being merely preferable, and does not describe the clearance as contributing any unexpected results to the system. As such, parameters such as clearance are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that the limitation of the clearance of plunger rod and plunger face would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
However, Shenoy discloses a medicament can be used to be injected by a syringe (¶0343) and wherein that medicament (such as Evolocumab ¶0195) is having a viscosity of at least approximately 4cP (¶0005, ¶0054)
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the medicament of Eich so that the medicament has a viscosity of at least approximately 4cP as taught by Shenoy for the purpose of using a specific medicament for specific illness that can be used in the injection syringe (Shenoy, ¶00195, ¶0005).
Re Claim 2, Eich discloses further comprising a damper mechanism ( brake mechanism 17, 18, ¶0073 , Fig. 1) configured to exert a force on at least one component operably coupled to the drive assembly (Fig. 1), upon activating the drive assembly, to dampen an effect of the drive assembly (brake, ¶0069).
Re Claim 3, Eich discloses wherein the damper mechanism exerts a torque on the at least one component operably coupled to the drive assembly (¶0071).
Re Claim 4, Eich discloses wherein the at least one component includes a plunger rod guide (7 drive shaft) coupled to the plunger assembly (Fig. 1).
Re Claim 5, Eich discloses wherein the drive assembly further comprises: a plunger rod guide (7) coupled to the plunger assembly to guide rotational movement of the plunger assembly (¶0047); and a torque spring (3) coupled to the plunger rod guide to exert a force on the plunger rod guide (¶0048) that causes the plunger rod guide to rotate, wherein rotation of the plunger rod guide causes the plunger assembly to advance towards the proximal end of the housing to urge the medicament through the needle assembly (¶0048).
Re Claim 17, Eich discloses wherein the syringe barrel is filled or pre-filled with the medicament (¶0066), but it fails to disclose that the medicament comprises evolocumab.
However, Shenoy discloses a medicament can be used to be injected by a syringe (¶0343) and wherein that medicament (such as Evolocumab ¶0195) is having a viscosity of at least approximately 4cP (¶0005, ¶0054)
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the medicament of Eich so that the medicament comprises evolocumab as taught by Shenoy for the purpose of using a specific medicament for specific illness that can be used in the injection syringe (Shenoy, ¶00195, ¶0005).
Claim(s) 6-11, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eich in view of Shenoy and further in view of Fourt et al. (US 20160001004 A1) (“Fourt”)
Re Claim 6, Eich discloses the damper mechanism comprises: a frame member (18), but it fails to disclose the damper mechanism comprises: a damper member operably coupled to the drive assembly; a chamber formed between a portion of the frame member and the damper member; and a damper fluid disposed within the chamber.
However, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig, 1-17) and wherein the damper mechanism (70, 170, 195, 180) Fig, 5, Fig. 9d) comprises: a frame member (170, 190); a damper member (180) operably coupled to the drive assembly (70, 62, 356); a chamber ( chamber 192, for the fluid 195, ¶0048-¶0049) formed between a portion of the frame member and the damper member (Fig. 5); and a damper fluid disposed within the chamber (¶0049).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the damper mechanism of Eich so that the damper mechanism comprises: a frame member; a damper member operably coupled to the drive assembly; a chamber formed between a portion of the frame member and the damper member; and a damper fluid disposed within the chamber as taught by Fourt for the purpose of selectively controlling the rotation motion of the syringe (Fourt, ¶042, ¶045).
Re Claim 7, Eich fails to wherein, upon activating the drive assembly, the damper member rotates relative to the frame member, and the damper fluid exerts a force on at least one of the frame member and the damper member.
However, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig, 1-17) and wherein the damper mechanism (70, 170, 195, 180) Fig, 5, Fig. 9d) comprises: a frame member (170, 190); a damper member (180) operably coupled to the drive assembly (70, 62, 356); a chamber (chamber for the fluid 195, ¶0049) formed between a portion of the frame member and the damper member (Fig. 5); and a damper fluid disposed within the chamber (¶0049) and upon activating the drive assembly, the damper member rotates relative to the frame member, and the damper fluid exerts a force on at least one of the frame member and the damper member (¶0049).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the damper mechanism of Eich so that, upon activating the drive assembly, the damper member rotates relative to the frame member, and the damper fluid exerts a force on at least one of the frame member and the damper member as taught by Fourt for the purpose of selectively controlling the rotation motion of the syringe (Fourt, ¶042, ¶045).
Re Claim 8, Eich fails to disclose wherein the force exerted by the damper mechanism on the at least one component operably coupled to the drive assembly is related to an amount of shear stress in the damper fluid.
However, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig, 1-17) and wherein the damper mechanism (70, 170, 195, 180) Fig, 5, Fig. 9d) comprises: a frame member (170, 190); a damper member (180) operably coupled to the drive assembly (70, 62, 356); a chamber (chamber for the fluid 195, ¶0049) formed between a portion of the frame member and the damper member (Fig. 5); and a damper fluid disposed within the chamber (¶0049) and wherein the force exerted by the damper mechanism on the at least one component operably coupled to the drive assembly is related to an amount of shear stress in the damper fluid (¶0049, resistance the rotation).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the damper mechanism of Eich so that the force exerted by the damper mechanism on the at least one component operably coupled to the drive assembly is related to an amount of shear stress in the damper fluid as taught by Fourt for the purpose of selectively controlling the rotation motion of the syringe (Fourt, ¶042, ¶045).
Re Claim 9, Eich discloses wherein the frame member is integrally formed with the housing (¶0070).
Re Claim 10, Eich fails to disclose further comprising an excess chamber fluidly coupled to the chamber, the excess chamber being adapted to receive excess damper fluid.
However, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig, 1-17) and wherein the damper mechanism (70, 170, 195, 180) Fig, 5, Fig. 9d) comprises: a frame member (170, 190); a damper member (180) operably coupled to the drive assembly (70, 62, 356); a chamber (chamber for the fluid 195, ¶0049) and an excess chamber (80, ¶0049)fluidly coupled to the chamber, the excess chamber being adapted to receive excess damper fluid (¶0049).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the damper mechanism of Eich so that an excess chamber fluidly coupled to the chamber, the excess chamber being adapted to receive excess damper fluid as taught by Fourt for the purpose of selectively controlling the rotation motion of the syringe (Fourt, ¶042, ¶049).
Re Claim 11, Eich fails to disclose wherein the excess damper fluid is configured to selectively adjust the force exerted by the damper mechanism.
However, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig, 1-17) and wherein the damper mechanism (70, 170, 195, 180) Fig, 5, Fig. 9d) comprises: a frame member (170, 190); a damper member (180) operably coupled to the drive assembly (70, 62, 356); a chamber (chamber for the fluid 195, ¶0049) and an excess chamber (80, ¶0049) and wherein the excess damper fluid is capable to selectively adjust the force exerted by the damper mechanism (¶0045).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the damper mechanism of Eich so that the excess damper fluid is configured to selectively adjust the force exerted by the damper mechanism as taught by Fourt for the purpose of selectively controlling the rotation motion of the syringe (Fourt, ¶042, ¶049).
Re Claim 13, Eich fails to disclose wherein the chamber is one of (a) through (c): (a) axially aligned with the longitudinal axis, (b) partially axially aligned and partially transversely aligned with the longitudinal axis, or (c) transversely aligned with the longitudinal axis.
However, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig, 1-17) and wherein the damper mechanism (70, 170, 195, 180) Fig, 5, Fig. 9d) comprises: a frame member (170, 190); a damper member (180) operably coupled to the drive assembly (70, 62, 356); a chamber ( chamber 192, for the fluid 195, ¶0048-¶0049) and wherein the chamber is one of (a) through (c): (a) axially aligned with the longitudinal axis ( centric Fig. 5), (b) partially axially aligned and partially transversely aligned with the longitudinal axis, or (c) transversely aligned with the longitudinal axis.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the damper mechanism of Eich so that the chamber is one of (a) through (c): (a) axially aligned with the longitudinal axis, (b) partially axially aligned and partially transversely aligned with the longitudinal axis, or (c) transversely aligned with the longitudinal axis as taught by Fourt for the purpose of selectively controlling the rotation motion of the syringe (Fourt, ¶042, ¶045).
Re Claim 14, Eich fails to disclose wherein the damper member includes a body and a winged portion positioned away from the body to define a channel between the body and the winged portion.
However, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig, 1-17) and wherein the damper mechanism (70, 170, 195, 180) Fig, 5, Fig. 9d) comprises: a frame member (170, 190); a damper member (180) operably coupled to the drive assembly (70, 62, 356); a chamber ( chamber 192, for the fluid 195, ¶0048-¶0049) and wherein the damper member includes a body (180) and a winged portion (200, Fig, 9d) positioned away from the body to define a channel between the body and the winged portion (174, ¶0047).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the damper mechanism of Eich so that the damper member includes a body and a winged portion positioned away from the body to define a channel between the body and the winged portion as taught by Fourt for the purpose of selectively controlling the rotation motion of the syringe (Fourt, ¶042, ¶045).
Re Claim 15, Eich fails to disclose wherein the body of the damper member includes an inner surface defining a central opening, and wherein the central opening is configured to receive at least a portion of the drive assembly.
However, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig, 1-17) and wherein the damper mechanism (70, 170, 195, 180) Fig, 5, Fig. 9d) comprises: a frame member (170, 190); a damper member (180) operably coupled to the drive assembly (70, 62, 356); a chamber ( chamber 192, for the fluid 195, ¶0048-¶0049) and wherein the damper member includes a body (180) and a winged portion (200, Fig, 9d) positioned away from the body to define a channel between the body and the winged portion (174, ¶0047) and wherein the body of the damper member includes an inner surface defining a central opening (184, Fig. 9e), and wherein the central opening is configured to receive at least a portion of the drive assembly (Fig 1).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the damper mechanism of Eich so that the body of the damper member includes an inner surface defining a central opening, and wherein the central opening is configured to receive at least a portion of the drive assembly as taught by Fourt for the purpose of selectively controlling the rotation motion of the syringe (Fourt, ¶042, ¶045).
Re Claim 16, Eich fails to disclose wherein the channel is configured to receive at least a portion of the frame member.
However, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig, 1-17) and wherein the damper mechanism (70, 170, 195, 180) Fig, 5, Fig. 9d) comprises: a frame member (170, 190); a damper member (180) operably coupled to the drive assembly (70, 62, 356); a chamber ( chamber 192, for the fluid 195, ¶0048-¶0049) and wherein the channel is configured to receive at least a portion of the frame member (Fig, 1).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the damper mechanism of Eich so that the channel is configured to receive at least a portion of the frame member as taught by Fourt for the purpose of selectively controlling the rotation motion of the syringe (Fourt, ¶042, ¶045).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fourt et al. (US 20160001004 A1) (“Fourt”) in view of Shenoy.
Re Claim 18, Fourt discloses a drug delivery device (Fig. 1-17) comprising: a housing (30, 37, Fig. 5, 6d, ¶0033) defining a shell (Fig. 1) having a proximal end ( lower end ), a distal end (upper end), and a longitudinal axis extending between the proximal end and the distal end thereof(axis of 30); a needle assembly ( syringe 350 and needle 370, 372) at least partially disposed within the housing (Fig. 5), the needle assembly comprising a syringe barrel (352, ¶0059) containing a medicament (¶0059) and a needle or a cannula (372); a drive assembly (62, 356) at least partially disposed within the housing (Fig. 5) and operably coupled to the needle assembly to urge the medicament through the needle or cannula (¶0068); and a damper mechanism (32, 70, 170, 180, 195) at least partially disposed within the housing (Fig. 5-9e), the damper mechanism comprising: a frame member (32, 170, 190, 180) integrally formed with the housing (Fig. 5-6d); a damper member (70, Fig. 12a, ¶0037) operably coupled to the drive assembly (Fig. 5); a chamber formed between a portion of the frame member and the damper member (192); a damper fluid (195, ¶0049) disposed within the chamber (Fig. 5); and an excess chamber (83, Fig. 12e, ¶0037, ¶0049) fluidly coupled to the chamber (¶0037,¶0049), the excess chamber being adapted to receive excess damper fluid (¶0037,¶0049), but it is silent with regards to the limitation wherein the syringe barrel is adapted to contain at least approximately 1mL of medicament having a viscosity of at least approximately 4cP.
The instant disclosure describes the parameter of the wherein the syringe barrel is adapted to contain at least approximately 1mL of medicament as being merely preferable, and does not describe the amount of medicament as contributing any unexpected results to the system. As such, parameters such as amount of medicament are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that the limitation of the amount of medicament in the syringe would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
However, Shenoy discloses a medicament can be used to be injected by a syringe (¶0343) and wherein that medicament (such as Evolocumab ¶0195) is having a viscosity of at least approximately 4cP (¶0005, ¶0054)
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the medicament of Fourt so that the medicament has a viscosity of at least approximately 4cP as taught by Shenoy for the purpose of using a specific medicament for specific illness that can be used in the injection syringe (Shenoy, ¶00195, ¶0005).
Re Claim 19, Fourt discloses upon activating the drive assembly, the damper member rotates relative to the frame member, and the damper fluid exerts a force on at least one of the frame member and the damper member (¶0049).
Re Claim 20, Fourt discloses the damper member includes a body (180) and a winged portion (200, Fig, 9d) positioned away from the body to define a channel between the body and the winged portion (174, ¶0047) and wherein at least a portion of the frame member is at least partially disposed within the channel (Fig. 5).
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783