Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 12/15/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, 9 is/are drawn to method (i.e., a process), claim(s) 15 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1, 9, and 15 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-20 are directed to controlling access to resources. Specifically, the claims recite receiving, by the computer device, first indication information sent by the first network device, wherein the first indication information comprises at least a first verification code, the first verification code is obtained based on at least a first key, an association attribute, and a first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute, wherein the association attribute is an attribute associated with the source identifier, and the first target constraint item is a preset constraint range of information corresponding to the association attribute; obtaining, by the computer device, the association attribute;determining, by the computer device, first target information corresponding to the association attribute, wherein the first target information is information corresponding to the association attribute when the computer device accesses the target resource... determining, by the first network device based on the source identifier and the target identifier according to an access control policy, an association attribute and a first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute, wherein the access control policy comprises a condition for the computer device to access the target resource, the association attribute is an attribute associated with the source identifier, and the first target constraint item is a preset constraint range of information corresponding to the association attribute; determining, by the first network device, a first verification code based on at least a first key, the association attribute, and the first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute , which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (fundamental economic principles or practices including hedging insurance, mitigating risk) OR (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) OR (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities teaching, and following rules or instructions) OR Mental Processes and is similar to the concept of (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as computer device, network device, processor merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link(s) the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the computer device, network device, processor perform(s) the steps or functions of sending, by a computer device, a source identifier and a target identifier to a first network device in a communication network,wherein the communication network comprises the first network device, a second network device, and a communication device, wherein the source identifier indicates the computer device, wherein the target identifier indicates a target resource of the communication device, wherein the second network device provides access control for the target resource, and wherein the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device;; and sending, by the computer device, a packet for accessing the target resource, wherein the packet comprises at least the first indication information, the association attribute, and the first target information corresponding to the association attribute... receiving, by a first network device, a source identifier and a target identifier that are sent by a computer device, wherein the source identifier indicates the computer device, the target identifier indicates a target resource, and the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device; and sending, by the first network device, first indication information to the computer device, to enable the computer device to send, based on the first indication information, a packet for accessing the target resource, wherein the first indication information comprises at least the first verification code. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a computer device, network device, processor to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of controlling access to resources. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the computer device, network device, processor perform(s) the steps or functions of sending, by a computer device, a source identifier and a target identifier to a first network device in a communication network,wherein the communication network comprises the first network device, a second network device, and a communication device, wherein the source identifier indicates the computer device, wherein the target identifier indicates a target resource of the communication device, wherein the second network device provides access control for the target resource, and wherein the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device;; and sending, by the computer device, a packet for accessing the target resource to the second network device, wherein the packet comprises at least the first indication information, the association attribute, and the first target information corresponding to the association attribute... receiving, by a first network device, a source identifier and a target identifier that are sent by a computer device, wherein the source identifier indicates the computer device, the target identifier indicates a target resource, and the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device; and sending, by the first network device, first indication information to the computer device, to enable the computer device to send, based on the first indication information, a packet for accessing the target resource, wherein the first indication information comprises at least the first verification code. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of controlling access to resources. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-14, 16-20 further describe the abstract idea of controlling access to resources. The dependent claims do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the dependent claims are also not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Flamini (U.S. Patent App Pub 20170374060) in view of Blumenau (U.S. Patent App Pub 20040221049)
Regarding claim 1,
Flamini teaches an access control method, comprising: sending, by a computer device, a source identifier and a target identifier to a first network device, wherein the source identifier indicates the computer device, the target identifier indicates a target resource, and the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device; (See paragraphs 10, 18-20, Flamini teaches sending access domain with computer target id and resource)
receiving, by the computer device, first indication information sent by the first network device, wherein the first indication information comprises at least a first verification code, the first verification code is obtained based on at least a first key, an association attribute, and a first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute, wherein the association attribute is an attribute associated with the source identifier, and the first target constraint item is a preset constraint range of information corresponding to the association attribute; (See paragraphs 10, 18-20, 70 Flamini teaches sending access domain with computer target id and resource)
obtaining, by the computer device, the association attribute; determining, by the computer device, first target information corresponding to the association attribute, wherein the first target information is information corresponding to the association attribute when the computer device accesses the target resource; and See paragraphs 69-70, 10 Flamini teaches resource provisioning based on metering of resources and SLA’s)
sending, by the computer device, a packet for accessing the target resource, wherein the packet comprises at least the first indication information, the association attribute, and the first target information corresponding to the association attribute. See paragraphs 97-99, 10 Flamini teaches sending info to access resource)
Flamini does not explicitly teach but Blumenau teaches sending, by a computer device, a source identifier and a target identifier to a first network device in a communication network, wherein the communication network comprises the first network device, a second network device, and a communication device, wherein the source identifier indicates the computer device, (See paragraphs 54, 57, 58, 76 fig 1-3, Blumenau teaches source and target identifiers) wherein the target identifier indicates a target resource of the communication device, wherein the second network device provides access control for the target resource, and wherein the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device. (See paragraphs 76-78, 54, fig 1-3, Blumenau teaches resource access control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Blumenau with Flamini because both deal with access control. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Blumenau into Flamini is that Blumenau teaches protecting data from unprivileged accessing., therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0005] - [0008], Blumenau)
Regarding claim 2,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information further comprises the association attribute, and the obtaining, by the computer device, the association attribute comprises: obtaining, by the computer device, the association attribute from the first indication information. (See paragraphs 10, 37-38, Flamini)
Regarding claim 3,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by the computer device, the association attribute comprises: obtaining, by the computer device, the association attribute from a third network device. (See paragraphs 10, 37-38, claim1, Flamini)
Regarding claim 4,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by the computer device, the association attribute comprises: obtaining, by the computer device, the association attribute from second indication information, wherein the second indication information is information that comprises the association attribute and that is of the computer device. (See paragraphs 10, 12, 37, Flamini)
Regarding claim 5,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the computer device, a second key sent by the first network device, wherein the second key is obtained by the first network device based on the first indication information; determining, by the computer device, a second verification code based on the second key and the packet; and sending, by the computer device, the second verification code. (See paragraphs 79, 86, Flamini)
Regarding claim 6,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information further comprises the first target constraint item corresponding to at least one of the association attribute or a validity period, and the validity period is a validity period of the first verification code.(See paragraphs 36-37, Flamini)
Regarding claim 7,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the association attribute comprises at least one of the following: a login mode, behavior abnormality, access relationship abnormality, terminal health, traffic abnormality, a device security level, location information, security group information, or access time. (See paragraphs 19, 44, 70, Flamini)
Regarding claim 8,
Flamini teaches an access control method, comprising: receiving, by a first network device, a source identifier and a target identifier that are sent by a computer device, wherein the source identifier indicates the computer device, the target identifier indicates a target resource, and the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device; (See paragraphs 10, 18-20, Flamini teaches sending/receiving access domain with computer target id and resource)
determining, by the first network device based on the source identifier and the target identifier according to an access control policy, an association attribute and a first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute, wherein the access control policy comprises a condition for the computer device to access the target resource, wherein the association attribute is an attribute associated with the source identifier, and wherein the first target constraint item is a preset constraint range of information corresponding to the association attribute; (See paragraphs 10, 18-20, 70 Flamini teaches determining access domain with computer target id and resource)
determining, by the first network device, a first verification code based on at least a first key, the association attribute, and the first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute; and See paragraphs 69-70, 10 Flamini teaches resource provisioning based on metering of resources and SLA’s)
sending, by the first network device, first indication information to the computer device, to enable the computer device to send, based on the first indication information, a packet for accessing the target resource to the second network device, wherein the first indication information comprises at least the first verification code. See paragraphs 97-99, 10 Flamini teaches sending info to access resource)
Flamini does not explicitly teach but Blumenau teaches receiving, by a first network device in a communication network, a source identifier and a target identifier that are sent by a computer device, wherein the communication network comprises the first network device, a second network device, and a communication device, (See paragraphs 54, 57, 58, 76 fig 1-3, Blumenau teaches source and target identifiers) wherein the source identifier indicates the wherein the target identifier indicates a target resource of the communication device, wherein the second network device provides access control for the target resource, and wherein the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device. (See paragraphs 76-78, 54, fig 1-3, Blumenau teaches resource access control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Blumenau with Flamini because both deal with access control. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Blumenau into Flamini is that Blumenau teaches protecting data from unprivileged accessing., therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0005] - [0008], Blumenau)
Regarding claim 9,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 8, wherein the determining, by the first network device based on the source identifier and the target identifier according to an access control policy, an association attribute and a first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute comprises: determining, by the first network device, an association attribute list based on the source identifier and the target identifier according to the access control policy, wherein the association attribute list is a list that comprises at least the association attribute and the first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute; and (See paragraphs 98, 99, table 1, Flamini)
determining, by the first network device based on the association attribute list, the association attribute and the first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute. (See paragraphs 98, 99, table 1, Flamini)
Regarding claim 10,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the first network device, a second key based on the first indication information; and sending, by the first network device, the second key to the computer device, to enable the computer device to generate a second verification code based on the second key. See paragraphs 83-86, fig. 7 , Flamini)
Regarding claim 11,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 8, wherein the determining, by the first network device, a first verification code based on at least a first key, the association attribute, and the first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute comprises: determining, by the first network device, the first verification code based on (1) at least one of the source identifier, the target identifier, or a validity period, (2) the first key, (3) the association attribute, and (4) the first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute, wherein the validity period is a validity period of the first verification code. (See paragraphs 37-38, table 1, Flamini)
Regarding claim 12,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 8, wherein the first indication information further comprises at least one of the following information: a validity period, the association attribute, or the first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute. (See paragraphs 36-37, Flamini)
Regarding claim 13,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 8, wherein when the first indication information does not comprise the first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute, the method further comprises: sending, by the first network device to a second network device, the first target constraint item corresponding to the association attribute, to enable the second network device to verify, based on the first target constraint item, the packet for accessing the target resource by the computer device. (See paragraphs 102-103, Flamini)
Regarding claim 14,
Flamini and Blumenau teach the method according to claim 13, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first network device to the second network device or a fourth network device, the association attribute and second target information corresponding to the association attribute, to enable the second network device or the fourth network device to verify, based on the association attribute and the second target information corresponding to the association attribute, the packet for accessing the target resource by the computer device, wherein the second target information is preset information corresponding to the association attribute. (See paragraphs 10, 18-20, 70 Flamini teaches sending access domain with computer target id and resource)
Claims 15-20 list all the same elements of claims 1-6, but in medium form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1-6 applies equally as well to claims 15-20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A Prong One. As for Step 2A Prong One, of the Abstract idea is directed towards the abstract idea of controlling access to resources which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (fundamental economic principles or practices including hedging insurance, mitigating risk) OR (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) OR (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities teaching, and following rules or instructions) OR Mental Processes and is similar to the concept of (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
B. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A Prong Two. As for Step 2A Prong Two, the claim limitations do not include additional elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, and the claim is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception and the claim limitation simply describe the abstract idea. The limitation directed to controlling access to resources does not add technical improvement to the abstract idea. The recitations to computer device, network device, processor perform(s) the steps or functions of sending, by a computer device, a source identifier and a target identifier to a first network device in a communication network,wherein the communication network comprises the first network device, a second network device, and a communication device, wherein the source identifier indicates the computer device, wherein the target identifier indicates a target resource of the communication device, wherein the second network device provides access control for the target resource, and wherein the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device;; and sending, by the computer device, a packet for accessing the target resource to the second network device, wherein the packet comprises at least the first indication information, the association attribute, and the first target information corresponding to the association attribute... receiving, by a first network device, a source identifier and a target identifier that are sent by a computer device, wherein the source identifier indicates the computer device, the target identifier indicates a target resource, and the target resource is a resource to be accessed by the computer device; and sending, by the first network device, first indication information to the computer device, to enable the computer device to send, based on the first indication information, a packet for accessing the target resource, wherein the first indication information comprises at least the first verification code. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
C. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2B.
As for Step 2B, The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the limitation directed to controlling access to resources does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Furthermore, using well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea does not constitute significantly more. The recitations to computer device, network device, processor are generically recited computer structure. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of controlling access to resources. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and located in the PTO-892 form.
1.Copsey, U.S. Patent App 11057680, teaches a system for controlling access includes a computing device, configured to: determine a first identifier associated with a first access point being used by the computing device to access a network; determine first access control data associated with the first identifier and a first application executing on the computing device; and control access to data over the network by the first application based on the first access control data.
2. Ferrans, U.S. Patent App 10977380, teaches a method may include receiving, from a client device, a request for a resource of a computer system, determining one or more roles of a user associated with the client device, and determining one or more attributes of the user. The method may include determining one or more attributes of the resource and determining an access permission based on the one or more roles of the user and the resource. The method may include generating, by a processing device, a modified access permission by modifying the access permission based on at least one of: the one or more attributes of the user or the one or more attributes of the resource and providing or denying access to the resource of the computer system based on the modified access permission.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NINOS DONABED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444