DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is response to the communication filed 02/02/2026. Claims 2-6, 8-22 are pending; claims 1 and 7 are canceled.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable subject matter in claim 4 is “permit reception of the reservation until a number of the reservation reaches a predetermined total number of the plurality of virtual machines that can operate simultaneously”. Claims 5-6 depend on objected claim 4, therefore claims 5-6 are also objected.
4. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable subject matter in claim 8 is “acquire a captured image captured by a user terminal used for the machine; detect a predetermined expression or behavior of the user from the captured image; and output to the user terminal information prompting the user to input the reservation based on the detection of the predetermined expression or the behavior”.
5. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable subject matter in claim 9 is “using a learning model for learning a past usage result of the virtual machine of the user with respect to a first reservation of the user, estimate a future usage status of the virtual machine of the user with respect to a new second reservation of the user; and output information for prompting change of the second reservation based on the estimated future usage status of the virtual machine”.
6. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable subject matter in claim 10 is “using a learning model for learning a past usage result of the virtual machine of the user with respect to a first reservation of the user, estimate a future usage status of the virtual machine of the user with respect to a new second reservation of the user; and correct the time slot specified in the second reservation based on the estimated future usage status of the virtual machine”.
7. Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable subject matter in claim 13 is “permitting reception of the reservation until a number of the reservation reaches a predetermined total number of the plurality of the virtual machines that can operate simultaneously”.
8. Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable subject matter in claim 18 is “permitting reception of the reservation until a number of the reservation reaches a predetermined total number of the plurality of virtual machines that can operate simultaneously”.
Claim rejections-35 USC § 103
9. Claims 2-3, 11-12, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 20170052826) in view of Bansal et al. (US 20100153945) and further in view of Yumiba (WO 2017104418 A1)
Regarding claim 2:
An information processing apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
the time chart including available time slots of one or more virtual machines: (reservation schedule table for managing timing of making reservations of resources for VMs: Sasaki [0109]-[0110]);
assign the reservation to at least one virtual machine, the at least one virtual machine being available for the user from the start time to the end time: (the reservation schedule table includes “reservation start” and the “reservation end” respectively store the starting and ending times for reserved VMs: Sasaki, figure 9; [0109]-[0110]).
However, Sasaki does not receive a reservation of a virtual machine based on input from a user to a screen displaying the time chart, the input being an input of first information regarding the reservation of the virtual machine, the first information regarding the reservation including information specifying a start time and an end time for using the virtual machine.
In similar art, Bansal teaches a virtual machine manager (VMM) enables provisioning of scheduling times for virtual machines. The VMM generates/provides GUIs to enable user to interact with, or manipulation of the VM configuration and client services, such as receiving input for scheduling completion of services by different virtual machines based on preset scheduling criteria with start-time and end-time, (see Bansal, [0027]; [0034]; [0036]; table I abstract; [0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Bansal's ideas into Sasaki's system in order to provide an efficient virtual machines management network (see Bansal, [0006]).
However, Sasaki-Bansal does not explicitly teach control to display a time chart before receiving a reservation for a machine by a user.
In similar art, Yumiba teaches a schedule table as a reservation reception screen corresponding to the preset type. Before displaying the schedule table for reservation, select the menu item and resource for selecting the reservation target, and display the schedule table corresponding to the menu item and resource. By selecting a reservation frame designated by the reservation applicant from the reservation frames displayed in the schedule table and entering information necessary for the reservation on the newly displayed input screen Make a reservation. As information necessary for the reservation, for example, the name of a reservation applicant, a user ID, and the like are applicable (Yumiba page 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yumiba's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal's system in order to provide an efficient reservation system (see Yumiba, abstract).
Regarding claim 3:
In addition to the rejection claim 2, Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba further teaches a time slot from the start time to the end time is within the available time slots of plurality of the virtual machines: (the reservation schedule table includes “reservation start” and the “reservation end” respectively store the starting and ending times for reserved VMs: Sasaki, figure 9; [0109]-[0110]).
Regarding claim 11:
An information processing method comprising:
the time chart including available time slots of one or more virtual machines: (reservation schedule table for managing timing of making reservations of resources for VMs: Sasaki [0109]-[0110]);
assigning the reservation to at least one virtual machine, the at least one virtual machine being available for the user from the start time to the end time: (the reservation schedule table includes “reservation start” and the “reservation end” respectively store the starting and ending times for reserved VMs: Sasaki, figure 9; [0109]-[0110]).
However, Sasaki does not receiving a reservation of a virtual machine based on input from a user to a screen displaying the time chart, the input being an input of first information regarding the reservation of the virtual machine, the first information regarding the reservation including information specifying a start time and an end time for using the virtual machine.
In similar art, Bansal teaches a virtual machine manager (VMM) enables provisioning of scheduling times for virtual machines. The VMM generates/provides GUIs to enable user to interact with, or manipulation of the VM configuration and client services, such as receiving input for scheduling completion of services by different virtual machines based on preset scheduling criteria with start-time and end-time, (see Bansal, [0027]; [0034]; [0036]; table I abstract; [0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Bansal's ideas into Sasaki's system in order to provide an efficient virtual machines management network (see Bansal, [0006]).
However, Sasaki-Bansal does not explicitly teach control to display a time chart before receiving a reservation for a machine by a user.
In similar art, Yumiba teaches a schedule table as a reservation reception screen corresponding to the preset type. Before displaying the schedule table for reservation, select the menu item and resource for selecting the reservation target, and display the schedule table corresponding to the menu item and resource. By selecting a reservation frame designated by the reservation applicant from the reservation frames displayed in the schedule table and entering information necessary for the reservation on the newly displayed input screen Make a reservation. As information necessary for the reservation, for example, the name of a reservation applicant, a user ID, and the like are applicable (Yumiba page 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yumiba's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal's system in order to provide an efficient reservation system (see Yumiba, abstract).
Regarding claim 12:
In addition to the rejection claim 11, Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba further teaches a time slot from the start time to the end time is within the available time slots of plurality of the virtual machines: (the reservation schedule table includes “reservation start” and the “reservation end” respectively store the starting and ending times for reserved VMs: Sasaki, figure 9; [0109]-[0110]).
Regarding claim 16:
A non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform:
the time chart including available time slots of one or more virtual machines: (reservation schedule table for managing timing of making reservations of resources for VMs: Sasaki [0109]-[0110]);
assigning the reservation to at least one virtual machine, the at least one virtual machine being available for the user from the start time to the end time: (the reservation schedule table includes “reservation start” and the “reservation end” respectively store the starting and ending times for reserved VMs: Sasaki, figure 9; [0109]-[0110]).
However, Sasaki does not receiving a reservation of a virtual machine based on input from a user to a screen displaying the time chart, the input being an input of first information regarding the reservation of the virtual machine, the first information regarding the reservation including information specifying a start time and an end time for using the virtual machine.
In similar art, Bansal teaches a virtual machine manager (VMM) enables provisioning of scheduling times for virtual machines. The VMM generates/provides GUIs to enable user to interact with, or manipulation of the VM configuration and client services, such as receiving input for scheduling completion of services by different virtual machines based on preset scheduling criteria with start-time and end-time, (see Bansal, [0027]; [0034]; [0036]; table I abstract; [0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Bansal's ideas into Sasaki's system in order to provide an efficient virtual machines management network (see Bansal, [0006]).
However, Sasaki-Bansal does not explicitly teach control to display a time chart before receiving a reservation for a machine by a user.
In similar art, Yumiba teaches a schedule table as a reservation reception screen corresponding to the preset type. Before displaying the schedule table for reservation, select the menu item and resource for selecting the reservation target, and display the schedule table corresponding to the menu item and resource. By selecting a reservation frame designated by the reservation applicant from the reservation frames displayed in the schedule table and entering information necessary for the reservation on the newly displayed input screen Make a reservation. As information necessary for the reservation, for example, the name of a reservation applicant, a user ID, and the like are applicable (Yumiba page 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yumiba's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal's system in order to provide an efficient reservation system (see Yumiba, abstract).
Regarding claim 17:
In addition to the rejection claim 2, Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba further teaches a time slot from the start time to the end time is within the available time slots of plurality of the virtual machines: (the reservation schedule table includes “reservation start” and the “reservation end” respectively store the starting and ending times for reserved VMs: Sasaki, figure 9; [0109]-[0110]).
10. Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba in view of Uchimura (US 20210035085)
Regarding claim 14:
Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 11, but does not explicitly teach assigning the reservation whose time from the current time to the start time is within a predetermined time to the virtual machine.
In similar art, Uchimura teaches an autonomous mobile POS apparatus confirms a pre-registered schedule and determines whether or not the current time is the time to start moving. If it is determined that the current time is the time to start moving, the autonomous mobile POS apparatus moves on a predetermined path based on a registered schedule (see, Uchimura [0070]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Uchimura's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba 's system in order to save resources and development time by implying Uchimura's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba's system.
Regarding claim 19:
Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 16, but does not explicitly teach assigning the reservation whose time from the current time to the start time is within a predetermined time to the virtual machine.
In similar art, Uchimura teaches an autonomous mobile POS apparatus confirms a pre-registered schedule and determines whether or not the current time is the time to start moving. If it is determined that the current time is the time to start moving, the autonomous mobile POS apparatus moves on a predetermined path based on a registered schedule (see, Uchimura [0070]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Uchimura's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba 's system in order to save resources and development time by implying Uchimura's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba's system.
11. Claims 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba in view of Coe et al. (US 11,660,748)
Regarding claim 15:
Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 11, but does not explicitly teach assigning the reservation based on a predefined priority for the plurality of virtual machines.
In similar art, Coe teaches the priority of a request can be based on a various factors or combinations of factors (Coe column 8, lines 44-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Coe's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba's system in order to save resources and development time by implying Coe's ideas into Sasaki-Yumiba's system.
Regarding claim 20:
Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 16, but does not explicitly teach assigning the reservation based on a predefined priority for the plurality of virtual machines.
In similar art, Coe teaches the priority of a request can be based on a various factors or combinations of factors (Coe column 8, lines 44-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Coe's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba's system in order to save resources and development time by implying Coe's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba's system.
12. Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki- Bansal-Yumiba in view of Watanabe et al. (US 20200278980)
Regarding claim 21:
Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 2, but does not explicitly teach acquire a CSV file including second information regarding the reservation; and receive the reservation of the virtual machine based on contents of the acquired CSV file.
In similar art, Watanabe teaches a database processing apparatus or the like is proposed, which is suitable for performing aggregation/search processing or the like for a database in the form of raw data such as CSV source data. The address map file is used to access each data item of the CSV file stored in the storage (Watanabe abstract; [0021]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Watanabe's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba's system in order to save resources and development time by implying Watanabe's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba's system.
Regarding claim 22:
Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 11, but does not explicitly teach acquire a CSV file including second information regarding the reservation; and receive the reservation of the virtual machine based on contents of the acquired CSV file.
In similar art, Watanabe teaches a database processing apparatus or the like is proposed, which is suitable for performing aggregation/search processing or the like for a database in the form of raw data such as CSV source data. The address map file is used to access each data item of the CSV file stored in the storage (Watanabe abstract; [0021]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Watanabe's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal-Yumiba's system in order to save resources and development time by implying Watanabe's ideas into Sasaki-Bansal- Yumiba's system.
Conclusions
/LAN DAI T TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444