DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4347052 A (hereinafter “REED’052”).
Regarding Claim 1, REED’052 discloses a liquid fuel or hybrid fuel burner (10) comprising: a plenum (20) having a combustion air inlet and a NOx reducing medium inlet (26); a burner tile (88) connected to the plenum, the burner tile forming a primary combustion zone (80/92); a NOx reducing medium conduit (56) positioned in the plenum, the NOx reducing medium conduit comprising a NOx reducing medium conduit inlet (any one of inlets 60; see also the “WATER INJECTION” reference label/box in Fig. 1) and a NOx reducing medium conduit outlet (see the downstream end of the NOx reducing medium conduit 56), the NOx reducing medium conduit outlet positioned in the primary combustion zone (80/92); a liquid fuel injector (48) positioned in the NOx reducing medium conduit (56), the liquid fuel injector comprising an inlet (see upstream end of liquid fuel injector tube 48) and an outlet (see 94), the outlet positioned in the primary combustion zone (80/92); a passage (91) through the burner tile from the plenum to the primary combustion zone for combustion air (66) and NOx reducing medium (see Col. 4, Lns. 7-12: “Means can also be provided for the introduction of water in gaseous or liquid form in the first plenum so that by reforming action, the water will provide additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen, which will enhance the reduction of any NOX that might form in the combustion chamber.”; see also Col. 6, Lns. 54-68: “It is well-known that, in the reducing atmosphere in the first combustion zone 80, there is incomplete combustion of the fuel and, therefore, there will be present carbon monoxide and hydrogen and other combustibles. It is also well-known that the introduction of water in the form of vapor or minute droplets with the primary and secondary combustion air can produce additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen in the primary combustion chamber 80 with beneficial effects as regards the quantity of NOX produced, While there is not shown the presence of such water or water vapor in the path of the primary and secondary air flows 65 and 63, it is possible to provide these in the first plenum as shown in Serial No. 916,766, with increased benefit to the reduction of NOX in the effluent gases.”); and a primary fuel gas conduit (42) comprising a primary fuel gas inlet (see 16) and a primary fuel gas outlet (see 44/46), the primary fuel gas outlet positioned in the primary combustion zone (80/92).
Regarding Claim 2, REED’052 further discloses wherein NOx reducing medium conduit (56) further comprises a combustion air inlet (any one of inlets 60) located in the plenum (20).
Regarding Claim 5, REED’052 further discloses wherein the NOx reducing medium conduit (56) and the liquid fuel injector (48) are in a concentric arrangement.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, REED’052 further discloses comprising a flame stabilization device (90) in the primary combustion zone (80/92); wherein the flame stabilization device (90) comprises an oil tile (see Col. 4, Lns. 58-65: “Immediately surrounding the primary burner head, or liquid burner head, is a small chamber 92, in which combustion of the liquid fuel starts. This space 92 is lined with refractory tile 90, which is supported by the steel cylinder 56 and a bulkhead 54, having a central opening 93 surrounding the first burner so that primary air can flow in accordance with arrows 52.”), a flame diffuser, a flame holder, a bluff body, or combinations thereof.
Regarding Claim 8, REED’052 further discloses wherein the passage (91) through the burner tile (88) surrounds the NOx reducing medium conduit (56).
Regarding Claim 9, REED’052 further discloses wherein the passage (91) through the burner tile (88) and the NOx reducing medium conduit (56) are in a concentric arrangement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REED’052 in view of US 6422858 B1 (hereinafter “CHUNG”).
Regarding Claims 3-4, REED’052 does not disclose further comprising: a secondary fuel gas conduit comprising a secondary fuel gas inlet and a secondary fuel gas outlet, the secondary fuel gas outlet positioned outside the burner tile; wherein the secondary fuel gas conduit is connected to the primary fuel gas conduit.
CHUNG teaches a liquid fuel or hybrid fuel burner comprising: a secondary fuel gas conduit (64) comprising a secondary fuel gas inlet (see 60) and a secondary fuel gas outlet (62), the secondary fuel gas outlet positioned outside the burner tile (36); wherein the secondary fuel gas conduit (64) is connected (via header 60) to the primary fuel gas conduit (58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify REED’052 to further comprise: a secondary fuel gas conduit comprising a secondary fuel gas inlet and a secondary fuel gas outlet, the secondary fuel gas outlet positioned outside the burner tile; wherein the secondary fuel gas conduit is connected to the primary fuel gas conduit as taught and/or suggested by CHUNG, since CHUNG states at Col. 4, Lns. 4-28: “As best shown in FIG. 1, four secondary gaseous fuel nozzles 62 for discharging secondary gaseous fuel into the furnace space 24 are attached to and spaced around the discharge end of the housing 12 within the annular space 46 between the exterior of the combustion compartment 30 and the interior of the housing 12. The nozzles 62 are connected to conduits 64 which are in turn connected to the gaseous fuel header 60. Four spaced air baffle members 66 are positioned in the annular space 46 adjacent to the secondary gaseous fuel nozzles 62 to shield the fuel nozzles 62 and to cause the secondary air flowing through the annular space 46 to be discharged into the furnace space 24 by way of spaced openings 67 formed between the baffle members 66. This staggered arrangement of the openings 67 and the discharge of the secondary air into the furnace space 24 allows the secondary air to entrain flue gases and carry them into the combustion zone thereby reducing thermal NO.sub.x. The secondary gaseous fuel discharged by the nozzles 62 also mixes with flue gases in the furnace space 24, unburned liquid fuel discharged into the space 24 from the primary combustion zone 31 (when liquid fuel is simultaneously burned with gaseous fuel) and secondary air discharged from the spaces 67 between the baffles 66. The resulting mixture is burned in a secondary combustion zone in the furnace space 24 downstream of the primary combustion zone 31.”
Claims 10-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REED’052 in view of US 3180395 A (hereinafter “REED’395”).
Regarding Claim 10, REED’052 discloses a method of reducing production of NOx gases at a burner comprising: injecting a liquid fuel (see 48) from a liquid fuel injector (see 94) into a primary combustion zone (see 80/92) defined by a burner tile (88) forming an atomized liquid fuel; injecting a first portion of NOx reducing medium into the primary combustion zone (see Col. 4, Lns. 7-12: “Means can also be provided for the introduction of water in gaseous or liquid form in the first plenum so that by reforming action, the water will provide additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen, which will enhance the reduction of any NOX that might form in the combustion chamber.”; see also Col. 6, Lns. 54-68: “It is well-known that, in the reducing atmosphere in the first combustion zone 80, there is incomplete combustion of the fuel and, therefore, there will be present carbon monoxide and hydrogen and other combustibles. It is also well-known that the introduction of water in the form of vapor or minute droplets with the primary and secondary combustion air can produce additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen in the primary combustion chamber 80 with beneficial effects as regards the quantity of NOX produced, While there is not shown the presence of such water or water vapor in the path of the primary and secondary air flows 65 and 63, it is possible to provide these in the first plenum as shown in Serial No. 916,766, with increased benefit to the reduction of NOX in the effluent gases.”) from a NOx reducing medium conduit (56) surrounding the liquid fuel injector; and injecting combustion air (see 66) and a second portion of NOx reducing medium into the primary combustion zone through a passage (91) in the burner tile, whereby the combustion air and the atomized liquid fuel react and produce a flame in the primary combustion zone (see 80/92).
REED’052 does not disclose an atomizing medium.
REED’395 teaches a method of reducing production of NOx gases at a burner comprising: injecting a liquid fuel and an atomizing medium from a liquid fuel injector (see Col. 2, Lns. 34-36: “A nozzle 36 is arranged within the housing 26; and is supplied with liquid fuel and an atomizing medium through a supply pipe 37.”) into a primary combustion zone defined by a burner tile (12) forming an atomized liquid fuel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify REED’052 to incorporate an atomizing medium as taught and/or suggested by REED’395, since such a modification would enhance the atomization of said liquid fuel thus producing a more thorough combustion of said liquid fuel. Furthermore, Official Notice is taken that using an atomizing medium in combination with a liquid fuel atomizing injector is a conventional or well-known liquid fuel injector. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify REED’052 to incorporate/comprise an atomizing medium in order to enhance the atomization of said liquid fuel.
Regarding Claim 11, REED’052 further discloses passing a first portion of the combustion air into the NOx reducing medium conduit; and wherein injecting the first portion of the NOx reducing medium into the primary combustion zone comprises injecting the first portion of the NOx reducing medium and the first portion of the combustion air into the primary combustion zone (see Col. 4, Lns. 7-12: “Means can also be provided for the introduction of water in gaseous or liquid form in the first plenum so that by reforming action, the water will provide additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen, which will enhance the reduction of any NOX that might form in the combustion chamber.”; see also Col. 6, Lns. 54-68: “It is well-known that, in the reducing atmosphere in the first combustion zone 80, there is incomplete combustion of the fuel and, therefore, there will be present carbon monoxide and hydrogen and other combustibles. It is also well-known that the introduction of water in the form of vapor or minute droplets with the primary and secondary combustion air can produce additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen in the primary combustion chamber 80 with beneficial effects as regards the quantity of NOX produced, While there is not shown the presence of such water or water vapor in the path of the primary and secondary air flows 65 and 63, it is possible to provide these in the first plenum as shown in Serial No. 916,766, with increased benefit to the reduction of NOX in the effluent gases.”).
Regarding Claim 12, REED’052 further discloses injecting primary fuel gas through a primary fuel gas outlet (see 44) into the primary combustion zone (80/92) wherein the combustion air (see 63/66) and the primary fuel gas (see 46) react and produce a flame inside the primary combustion zone (80/92).
Regarding Claims 15-16, REED’052 further discloses stabilizing the flame with a flame stabilization device (90) in the primary combustion zone (80/92); wherein the flame stabilization device comprises an oil tile (see Col. 4, Lns. 58-65: “Immediately surrounding the primary burner head, or liquid burner head, is a small chamber 92, in which combustion of the liquid fuel starts. This space 92 is lined with refractory tile 90, which is supported by the steel cylinder 56 and a bulkhead 54, having a central opening 93 surrounding the first burner so that primary air can flow in accordance with arrows 52.”), a flame diffuser, a flame holder, a bluff body, or combinations thereof.
Regarding Claim 17, REED’052 further discloses wherein injecting the combustion air (66) and the second portion of NOx reducing medium (see Col. 4, Lns. 7-12: “Means can also be provided for the introduction of water in gaseous or liquid form in the first plenum so that by reforming action, the water will provide additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen, which will enhance the reduction of any NOX that might form in the combustion chamber.”; see also Col. 6, Lns. 54-68: “It is well-known that, in the reducing atmosphere in the first combustion zone 80, there is incomplete combustion of the fuel and, therefore, there will be present carbon monoxide and hydrogen and other combustibles. It is also well-known that the introduction of water in the form of vapor or minute droplets with the primary and secondary combustion air can produce additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen in the primary combustion chamber 80 with beneficial effects as regards the quantity of NOX produced, While there is not shown the presence of such water or water vapor in the path of the primary and secondary air flows 65 and 63, it is possible to provide these in the first plenum as shown in Serial No. 916,766, with increased benefit to the reduction of NOX in the effluent gases.”) into the primary combustion zone through the passage in the burner tile (88) comprises introducing the combustion air (66) and the second portion of NOx reducing medium into a plenum (20) connected to the burner tile (88) and wherein the combustion air (66) and the second portion of NOx reducing medium pass from the plenum (20) through the passage (91) in the burner tile (88) to the primary combustion zone (80/92).
Regarding Claim 18, REED’052 further discloses wherein the passage (91) in the burner tile (88) surrounds the NOx reducing medium conduit (56).
Regarding Claim 19, REED’052 further discloses wherein the first portion of NOx reducing medium, or the second portion of NOx reducing medium, or both comprise: flue gas from a combustion zone; flue gas from the exhaust of a heater, a boiler, or a furnace; steam; nitrogen; carbon dioxide; or combinations thereof (see Col. 4, Lns. 7-12: “Means can also be provided for the introduction of water in gaseous or liquid form in the first plenum so that by reforming action, the water will provide additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen, which will enhance the reduction of any NOX that might form in the combustion chamber.”; see also Col. 6, Lns. 54-68: “It is well-known that, in the reducing atmosphere in the first combustion zone 80, there is incomplete combustion of the fuel and, therefore, there will be present carbon monoxide and hydrogen and other combustibles. It is also well-known that the introduction of water in the form of vapor or minute droplets with the primary and secondary combustion air can produce additional quantities of carbon monoxide and hydrogen in the primary combustion chamber 80 with beneficial effects as regards the quantity of NOX produced, While there is not shown the presence of such water or water vapor in the path of the primary and secondary air flows 65 and 63, it is possible to provide these in the first plenum as shown in Serial No. 916,766, with increased benefit to the reduction of NOX in the effluent gases.”).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REED’052 in view of REED’395 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of CHUNG.
Regarding Claim 13, REED’052 in view of REED’395 does not disclose further comprising; injecting secondary fuel gas through a secondary fuel gas outlet into an area outside the burner tile wherein the combustion air from the passage and the secondary fuel gas react and produce a flame outside the primary combustion zone.
CHUNG teaches a liquid fuel or hybrid fuel burner comprising: injecting secondary fuel gas through a secondary fuel gas outlet (62) into an area outside the burner tile (36) wherein the combustion air from the passage (46) and the secondary fuel gas react and produce a flame outside the primary combustion zone (31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify REED’052 in view of REED’395 to further comprise: injecting secondary fuel gas through a secondary fuel gas outlet into an area outside the burner tile wherein the combustion air from the passage and the secondary fuel gas react and produce a flame outside the primary combustion zone as taught and/or suggested by CHUNG, since CHUNG states at Col. 4, Lns. 4-28: “As best shown in FIG. 1, four secondary gaseous fuel nozzles 62 for discharging secondary gaseous fuel into the furnace space 24 are attached to and spaced around the discharge end of the housing 12 within the annular space 46 between the exterior of the combustion compartment 30 and the interior of the housing 12. The nozzles 62 are connected to conduits 64 which are in turn connected to the gaseous fuel header 60. Four spaced air baffle members 66 are positioned in the annular space 46 adjacent to the secondary gaseous fuel nozzles 62 to shield the fuel nozzles 62 and to cause the secondary air flowing through the annular space 46 to be discharged into the furnace space 24 by way of spaced openings 67 formed between the baffle members 66. This staggered arrangement of the openings 67 and the discharge of the secondary air into the furnace space 24 allows the secondary air to entrain flue gases and carry them into the combustion zone thereby reducing thermal NO.sub.x. The secondary gaseous fuel discharged by the nozzles 62 also mixes with flue gases in the furnace space 24, unburned liquid fuel discharged into the space 24 from the primary combustion zone 31 (when liquid fuel is simultaneously burned with gaseous fuel) and secondary air discharged from the spaces 67 between the baffles 66. The resulting mixture is burned in a secondary combustion zone in the furnace space 24 downstream of the primary combustion zone 31.”
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REED’052 in view of REED’395 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 4160526 A (hereinafter “FLANAGAN”).
Regarding Claim 14, REED’052 in view of REED’395 does not explicitly disclose wherein the atomizing medium comprises steam, air, nitrogen, fuel gas, or combinations thereof.
FLANAGAN teaches a liquid fuel injector wherein the atomizing medium comprises steam, air, nitrogen, fuel gas, or combinations thereof (see at least the abstract: “A liquid fuel atomizer nozzle having a liquid fuel input and an air input, the nozzle including an internal mixing chamber in which the incoming liquid fuel to be atomized is subjected to high velocity air streams both within the central core of the liquid and about its periphery to effect thorough atomization of the liquid even at low atomizing air flow rates and pressures.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify REED’052 in view of REED’395 wherein the atomizing medium comprises steam, air, nitrogen, fuel gas, or combinations thereof as taught and/or suggested by FLANAGAN, since such a modification would effect thorough atomization of the liquid even at low atomizing air flow rates and pressures.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REED’052 in view of REED’395 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 20220316700 A1 (hereinafter “KRAUS”).
Regarding Claim 20, REED’052 in view of REED’395 does not disclose further comprising: monitoring at least one NOx value for the flame; and adjusting a flowrate of the first portion of NOx reducing medium, the second portion of NOx reducing medium, or both based on the at least one NOx value.
KRAUS teaches a gas burner and more particularly to a gas burner having a lower NOx production comprising: monitoring at least one NOx value for the flame; and adjusting a flowrate of the first portion of NOx reducing medium, the second portion of NOx reducing medium, or both based on the at least one NOx value (see para. [0019]: “The process may include monitoring at least one NOx value for the flame and adjusting a flowrate of the NOx reducing medium based on the at least one NOx value.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify REED’052 in view of REED’395 to further comprise: monitoring at least one NOx value for the flame; and adjusting a flowrate of the first portion of NOx reducing medium, the second portion of NOx reducing medium, or both based on the at least one NOx value as taught and/or suggested by KRAUS, since KRAUS states at para. [0072]: “Generally, the NOx emissions from the heater may be monitored along with the stack oxygen and the combustion chamber pressure or draft. The rate, the amount of NOx reducing medium delivered, or both may be increased at the desired locations in the flame zone until the required NOx reduction is achieved. Once the desired NOx level is achieved no additional NOx reducing medium may be introduced. If the burner becomes unstable, the rate and/or location of the NOx reducing medium can be controlled or the excess air, oxygen levels adjusted as suggested in U.S. Pat. No. 7,950,919 until burner stability is achieved.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799