DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to communications filed on May 22nd 2026. Claims 1-5, 8-15, 18-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While applicant argues that the claims have been amended with additional technical detail that is not directed to any non-statutory subject matter, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that applicant’s amendments overcome the rejection under 35 USC 101.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5,8-9, 11-15 and 20 under 35 USC 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6,7, 10,16, and 17 under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 8-15, 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claim 1 is directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Does claim 1 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claim is directed toward a process (method) which falls within one of the statutory categories.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Regarding claim 1
A method, comprising:
receiving, in real-time, Global Positioning System (GPS) data from each device of a plurality of devices, each device of the plurality of devices corresponding to a supply agent executing a respective route for a respective trip, the GPS data comprising at least location information and GPS update rates for each device;
inputting the GPS data into each anomaly detector of a set of anomaly detectors, to generate an output for each anomaly detector and the respective trip, wherein one anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors comprises a location update anomaly detector to determine whether a given GPS update rate is lower than a predetermined rate;
integrating output from each anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors to generate a health status for each trip;
determining that the updated health status for a first trip triggers a notification; and providing the notification associated with the health status for the first trip.
The method in claim 1 is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of analyzing GPS data of a vehicle’s route and determining that an anomaly has occurred on the route. This is equivalent to a person observing a vehicle on a specific route and determining if the vehicle deviates from said route. Notably, the claim does not positively recite any limitations regarding the use of the GPS data in controlling the vehicle in a specific manner.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Regarding claim 1
A method, comprising:
receiving, in real-time, Global Positioning System (GPS) data from each device of a plurality of devices, each device of the plurality of devices corresponding to a supply agent executing a respective route for a respective trip, the GPS data comprising at least location information and GPS update rates for each device;
inputting the GPS data into each anomaly detector of a set of anomaly detectors, to generate an output for each anomaly detector and the respective trip, wherein one anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors comprises a location update anomaly detector to determine whether a given GPS update rate is lower than a predetermined rate;
integrating output from each anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors to generate a health status for each trip;
determining that the updated health status for a first trip triggers a notification; and
providing the notification associated with the health status for the first trip.
Claim 1 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application.
Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea is indicative that the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application. In the instant case, the steps of inputting data to generate an output and providing the notification are performed by a server, i.e. a computer. Thus, it is clear that the abstract idea is merely implemented on a computer, which is indicative of the abstract idea having not been integrated into a practical application.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Claim 1 does not recite any specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional (WURC) activity in the field. Receiving, inputting data and integrating outputs are fundamental, i.e. WURC, activities performed by computers.
CONCLUSION
Thus, since claim 1 is: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claim 10 is directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,8,9,11-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 1023 as being anticipated by Truong et al. (US 2017/0303110) in view of Thunga Gopal et al. (US 2020/0173802).
Regarding claim 1, Truong teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, in real-time, Global Positioning System (GPS) data each device from a plurality of devices (Para. [0026]…the mapping module 140 can receive the user location 116 and the driver locations 102 using location-based resources (e.g., GPS resources) of the driver devices 190 and the user device 185), each device of the plurality of devices corresponding to a supply agent executing a respective route for a respective trip, the GPs data comprising at lease location information (Para. [0012]…the anomaly detection system can further monitor vehicle trips of respective users in real-time by receiving location-data from mobile devices of the users and/or location-data from mobile devices of drivers that are transporting those user) ;
inputting the GPS data into each anomaly detector of a set of anomaly detectors,
to generate an output for each anomaly detector and the respective trip (Para. [0033]… The anomaly detector 160 can utilize the current location 116 of the user and/or the destination location 118, and, from the outset, determine whether a matching routine route profile 133 exists in the database 130. For example, the anomaly detector 160 can filter through a number of routine route profiles 134 for the requesting user),
integrating output from each anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors to generate a health status for each trip (Para. [0041]… when an anomaly is detected, the anomaly detector 160 can calculate several factors to determine whether the anomaly threshold has been met. As described herein, the anomaly threshold may set higher or lower depending on factors such as route divergence, driver profile data 131, flagged locations or areas, static activity, traffic data 144, third party data);
determining that the health status for a first trip triggers a notification (Para. [0041]… Once the anomaly threshold is met, the anomaly detector 160 can generate an anomaly trigger 162, which can identify a variable degree of urgency or seriousness in the detected anomaly. The anomaly trigger 162 can be received by the notification generator, which can transmit an appropriate notification in light of the anomaly trigger) ; and providing the notification associated with the health status for the first trip (Para. [0068]… the processor can generate and send notifications 551 via the communication interface 550 to the mobile computing devices of the users and drivers.)
Troung fails to teach the GPS data comprising GPS update rates for each device. Wherein one anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors comprises a location update anomaly detector to determine whether a given GPS update rate is lower than a predetermined rate.
However, Thunga teaches the GPS data comprising GPS update rates for each device (Thunga, Para. [0051]… a GPS signal loss is determined by checking update rates of the GPS message received through the communication interface 146….), wherein one anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors comprises a location update anomaly detector to determine whether a given GPS update rate is lower than a predetermined rate (Thunga, Para. [0051]… If a new GPS signal is not received within a certain time interval or predetermined time limit ( e.g., five times the normal refresh rate), a signal loss condition is set. In some embodiments, if the GPS signal lost circuit 114 determines that the GPS signal is lost, then the GPS signal lost circuit 114 indicates that the map data is no longer valid and communicates to the ECM 74 via the communication interface 146 that the RPM 78 should no longer dictate operating parameters of the vehicle 50...) ;
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trip anomaly detection system as taught by Troung with the route parameter manager system as taught by Thunga to improve vehicle performance during travel on the future road segment (Thunga, Para. [0004])
Regarding claim 2, Truong in view of Thunga teach the method of claim 1, wherein a second anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors comprises a detour anomaly detector (Truong, Para. [0037]), and the method further comprises analyzing the GPS data to generate the output associated with the detour anomaly detector by performing operations comprising:
determining, based on the GPS data, a remaining time to traverse the respective route
that has not been covered by the supply agent and a traveled time that the supply agent has already incurred on the first trip (Truong, Para. [0037]… the anomaly detector 160 monitors the current route 119, the anomaly detector 160 can identify that the current route 119 has diverged from the matching route profile 133) ;
detecting that a detour anomaly has occurred based on a sum of the remaining time and
the traveled time transgressing a time budget set for the first trip (Truong, Para. [0036]… the current route 119 diverges from the matching routine route profile 133, or any of the route shapes 121 therein, beyond a certain threshold (e.g., traveling a mile outside the matching
route profile 133), the anomaly detector 160 can perform an action-such as generating an anomaly trigger 162); and generating the output associated with the detour anomaly to indicate that a detour anomaly has occurred (Troung, Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Truong in view of Thunga teach the method of claim 2, further comprising: accessing one or more updated remaining times that have been updated within a predefined length of time (Para. [0049]… the route profiler 120 may identify temporal patterns for the user's routine trips (e.g., routine travel times to and from work));
determining a trend of the one or more updated remaining times based on a plurality of
time-based moving averages of the one or more updated remaining times (Truong, Para. [0049]… the route profiler 160 can match route shapes 121, or the routine route profile 134 itself, to timing data for the trips); and based on determining that the trend is a decreasing trend, updating the health status for the first trip to indicate that the first trip has recovered from the detour anomaly (Truong, Para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 4, Truong in view of Thunga teach the method of claim 1, wherein one anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors comprises a detour anomaly, and analyzing the received GPS data to generate the output associated with the detour anomaly comprises:
updating a remaining distance to traverse the respective route that has not been covered
by the supply agent based on the received GPS data and a traveled distance that the supply agent has already completed on the first trip (Truong, Para. [0048]… the anomaly may be a divergence between the current route 119 and the matching route profile 133. If the anomaly exceeds a certain threshold (e.g., a divergence of more than one mile), the service arrangement system 100 can initiate a safety protocol and transmit a status query 167 to the user device);
detecting that a detour anomaly has occurred based on a sum of the remaining distance
and the traveled distance transgressing a distance budget set for the first trip (Para. [0036]); and generating the output associated with the detour anomaly to indicate that a detour anomaly has occurred (Truong, Para. [0036]… the current route 119 diverges from the matching routine route profile 133, or any of the route shapes 121 therein, beyond a certain threshold (e.g., traveling a mile outside the matching route profile 133), the anomaly detector 160 can perform an action-such as generating an anomaly trigger 162).
Regarding claim 5, Truong in view of Thunga teach the method of claim 4, further comprising:
accessing one or more updated remaining distances that have been updated within a
predefined length of time (Truong, Para. [0042});
determining a trend of the one or more updated remaining distances based on a plurality
of distance-based moving averages of the one or more updated remaining distances (Truong, Para. [0042]); and
based on determining that the trend is a decreasing trend (Truong, Para. [0049]…the route profiler 120 can further identify route trends or routines using historical data 138 for each of the users), updating the health status for the first trip to indicate that the first trip has recovered from the detour anomaly.
Regarding claim 8, Truong in view of Thunga teach the method of claim 1, wherein one anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors corresponds to a low-speed anomaly, and analyzing the received GPS data to generate the output associated with the low-speed anomaly comprises:
accessing a traffic condition associated with a segment of the respective route (Truong, Para. [0040]… Abnormal behavior in the current route 119 may further include the vehicle remaining static for a period of time. Traffic data 144 may be utilized by the anomaly detector 160 to identify whether traffic may be the cause);
estimating a remaining time to traverse the segment based on the traffic condition (Truong, Para. [0038]) ;
determining an actual traversal time for traversing the segment (Truong, Para. [0038]);
detecting that the low-speed anomaly has occurred based on the actual traversal time
being longer than the estimated remaining time (Truong, Para. [0038])… traffic data 144 indicates heavy traffic along the route shapes 121 for the matching route profile 133, the anomaly detector 160 may determine that the cause of the divergence in the current route 119 is the avoidance of traffic. Accordingly, the anomaly detector 160 can set a higher anomaly threshold for this detected divergence); and
generating the output associated with the low-speed anomaly to indicate that the low speed anomaly has occurred (Truong, Para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Truong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a second anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors corresponds to a stop anomaly, and the method further comprises analyzing the GPS data to generate the output associated with the stop anomaly comprises:
computing an average speed associated with the supply agent within a predetermined
time window based on the received GPS data (Truong, Para. [0040]… Abnormal behavior in the current route 119 may further include the vehicle remaining static for a period of time);
detecting that the stop anomaly has occurred based on the average speed falling below a
predetermined speed (Truong, Para. [0041]… the anomaly threshold may set higher or lower depending on factors such as route divergence, driver profile data 131, flagged locations or areas, static activity…); and generating the output associated with the stop anomaly to indicate that the stop anomaly has occurred (Truong, Para. [0041]… Once the anomaly threshold is met, the anomaly detector 160 can generate an anomaly trigger 162, which can identify a variable degree of urgency or seriousness in the detected anomaly.)
Regarding claims 11-15 and 18-20, please refer to claims 1-5 and 8-9 which are commensurate in scope. Claims 1-5 and 8-9 being drawn to a method. Claims 11-15,18 and 19 being drawn to a computing system and claim 20 being drawn to the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. (US 2017/0303110) in view of Thunga Gopal et al. (US 2020/0173802) in further view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0312798).
Regarding claim 10, Truong in view of Thunga teach the method of claim 1, Huang teaches further wherein integrating output from each anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors to generate the health status for each trip further comprises:
generating a confidence score for each output from each anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors (Huang, Para. [0021]… The anomaly monitoring system can determine a confidence value associated with the anomaly entry); and
updating the health status for the first trip based on the outputs from the set of anomaly
detectors and the generated confidence scores (Huang, Para. [0131-0132]…the confidence value can be generated based on the anomaly type and the quality of the traffic data. Some
anomaly types can be more difficult to accurately detect than others. For example, if a human-driven vehicle 460 travels along a route that deviates from the optimal route, the data evaluation system 410 can initially have low confidence that an anomaly exists because a human-driven vehicle 460 may have a variety of potential reasons for departing from the optimal route.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trip anomaly detection system as taught by Truong in view of Thunga with the method of automatic generation of remote assistance based on anomaly data as taught by Huang to improve route generation for navigation systems (Huang, Para. [0137]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. (US 2017/0303110) in view of Thunga Gopal et al. (US 2020/0173802) Cui et al. (US 2017/0219360).
Regarding claim 21, Truong in view of Thunga teach the method of claim 1, Cui further teaches wherein the GPS data comprises GPS horizontal accuracies for each device, and the method further comprises: determining, by a GPS anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors, whether a GPS horizontal accuracy transgresses a predetermined distance (Cui, Para. [0057]… The selection module 205 determines the median position estimation error of the GPS points included in the neighbor portions. If the median horizontal accuracy is less than a threshold value (e.g., 15 meters), the selection module 205 selects the simplified portion of the GPS path of travel for inclusion in the final path of travel of the transportation vehicle. The selection module 205 operates under the assumption that if the GPS data corresponding to the neighboring portions of the GPS path of travel are accurate, it is likely that the GPS data for the simplified portion of the simplified GPS path of travel is more reliable than the map-matched path of travel.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Truong in view of Thunga with the method for simplifying GPS data for map building as taught by Cui to improve the completeness of the road segments specified in the map database (Cui, Para. [0005]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. (US 2017/0303110) in view of Thunga Gopal et al. (US 2020/0173802) in further view of Zhang et al. (US 20190384257).
Regarding claim 22, Truong in view of Thunga teach the method of claim 1, Zhang teaches further wherein each output from each anomaly detector from the set of anomaly detectors comprises a confidence score reflecting a level of confidence associated with the output (Zhang, Para. [0061]… One or more health indicator sequences 460 of states can be used to output anomaly detection 470 based on a failure threshold of health scores and confidence level), and wherein integrating output from each anomaly detector of the set of anomaly detectors to generate the health status for each trip comprises weighing each output based on the confidence score to determine the health status of the trip (Zhang, Para. [0061]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Truong in view of Thunga with the automatic health indicator as taught by Zhang to improve performance in anomaly detection and significantly outperforms conventional approaches in Remaining Useful Life (RUL) prediction (Zhang, Para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 23, Truong in view of Thunga teach the method of claim 1, Zhang teaches further wherein the health status comprises one of: healthy, indicating that a trip is proceeding as expected ,without any significant issues, or unhealthy, indicating that potential problems or anomalies are detected (Zhang, Para. [0023]… (a) Anomaly detection (AD): when health indicators are below certain threshold, it identifies the equipment
falls into failures and triggers an alarm.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to the method of Truong in view of Thunga with the automatic health indicator as taught by Zhang to improve performance in anomaly detection and significantly outperforms conventional approaches in Remaining Useful Life (RUL) prediction (Zhang, Para. [0031])
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 2020/0290641).
Regarding claim 24, Truong in view of Thunga teaches the method of claim 1, Kawakami further teaches wherein the health status comprises a recovered status indicating that one or more previously detected anomalies has been resolved or is no longer affecting a trip's progress (Para. [0053]… the anomaly detection ECU 13 is required to set the vehicle in a safety state within a period of time from detection of the anomaly until the time t3 is reached. In this case, the safety state of the vehicle is considered to be a safety state Sl indicating a state in which the vehicle is stopped, a safety state S2 indicating a state in which the vehicle is switched from the autonomous driving mode to a manual driving mode, or a safety state S3 indicating a state in which the anomaly is resolved and the vehicle returns to the autonomous driving mode.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Truong in view of Thunga with the vehicle control device as taught by Kawakami to provide appropriate fail-operational behavior depending on a situation that constantly changes at the time of occurrence of a failure (Kawakami, Para. [0008])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JODI JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666