DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on June 20, 2024. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of papers, which have been placed of record in the file.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on October 3, 2024 and March 11, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al. (hereinafter Li) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0362741 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches and discloses a synchronization advancing method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device (UE, figure 7), a first message (RRC Reconfiguration, figure 7) from a first access network device (MN, figure 7), wherein the terminal device uses the first message to obtain a timing advance (TA) (TA offset/TA value; [0085]) of the terminal device in a target cell (target cell; [0085]), and the target cell is not currently accessed by the terminal device ([0085]; “…the first entity sends information such as TA offset…to the UE. The TA offset may be a TA value carrying with multiple time stamps, and the information may be transferred by, for example, RRC reconfiguration, wherein the TA offset may also be broadcast by a system information…”; [0210]; [0213]; [0214]; figure 7; teaches the UE receives a RRC reconfiguration message from a first network entity, such as MN, and the RRC reconfiguration message comprises a timing advance offset/value of the UE in a target cell, where the UE is not currently accessing the target cell); and
sending, by the terminal device (UE, figure 7), a second message (RRC reconfiguration complete, figure 7) to the first access network device (MN, figure 7), wherein the second message indicates the terminal device has completed configuration of the target cell ([0085]; “…the first entity sends information such as TA offset…to the UE. The TA offset may be a TA value carrying with multiple time stamps, and the information may be transferred by, for example, RRC reconfiguration, wherein the TA offset may also be broadcast by a system information. After receiving the message, the UE sends handover complete or reconfiguration complete to the first entity at a specific time according to the TA offset and uplink grant, the handover complete or reconfiguration complete may carry the UE ID and the measured beam ID information of the second entity, and the handover complete or reconfiguration complete may be transferred by a RRC reconfiguration complete message. In this way, the UE can successfully access the target cell and complete uplink synchronization…”; [0215]; figure 7; teaches the UE sends a RRC reconfiguration complete message to the first network entity).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches and discloses wherein the first message is a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (RRC Reconfiguration, figure 7), and the second message is an RRC reconfiguration complete message (RRC reconfiguration complete, figure 7) ([0085]; [0210]; [0215]; teaches the first message is a RRC reconfiguration message and the second message is a RRC reconfiguration complete message).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches and discloses wherein the first message includes the TA of the terminal device in the target cell and/or configuration information of the target cell ([0085]; “…the first entity sends information such as TA offset…to the UE. The TA offset may be a TA value carrying with multiple time stamps, and the information may be transferred by, for example, RRC reconfiguration, wherein the TA offset may also be broadcast by a system information. After receiving the message, the UE sends handover complete or reconfiguration complete to the first entity at a specific time according to the TA offset and uplink grant, the handover complete or reconfiguration complete may carry the UE ID and the measured beam ID information of the second entity, and the handover complete or reconfiguration complete may be transferred by a RRC reconfiguration complete message. In this way, the UE can successfully access the target cell and complete uplink synchronization…”; teaches the RRC reconfiguration message include the TA offset/value).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches and discloses receiving, by the terminal device, first indication information and second indication information from the first access network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to perform a synchronization-related operation, and the second indication information indicates a time-frequency resource available for the terminal device to send an uplink signal to the target cell ([0085]; [0109]; “…uplink grant refers to a scheduled time-frequency resource indication of a first uplink message when the UE access to the second entity, and may be forwarded to the UE by the first entity or notified the UE through scheduling information after the UE obtains downlink synchronization with the second entity…”; [0201]; [0214]; teaches the UE receives indication information, including synchronization-related operations and time-frequency resources available to the UE to send UL signals).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches and discloses wherein the target cell completes synchronization beam coverage before the terminal device receives the first indication information ([0111]; “…the second entity can infer the best beam after the UE accesses the target cell under the second entity according to the beam ID indication of the source serving cell under the first entity…”; [0263]; [0267]; “…serving cell configuration information…is used to infer the coverage area of the cell, so that the second entity can find or configure a cell with the same coverage area as the specific cell…a beam ID, used to indicate the beam currently used by the UE under the first entity…”; teaches the target cell completes synchronization beam coverage before the UE receives the indication information).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches and discloses detecting, by the terminal device, a synchronization signal of the target cell to complete downlink synchronization; and sending, by the terminal device, a first uplink signal to the target cell based on the second indication information, wherein the first uplink signal is used to determine the TA of the terminal device in the target cell ([0085]; [0109]; “…uplink grant refers to a scheduled time-frequency resource indication of a first uplink message when the UE access to the second entity, and may be forwarded to the UE by the first entity or notified the UE through scheduling information after the UE obtains downlink synchronization with the second entity…”; [0201]; [0214]; [0217]; teaches the UE receives indication information, including synchronization-related operations and time-frequency resources available to the UE to send UL signals).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches and discloses wherein the first message further comprises third indication information indicating a condition for handing over the terminal device to the target cell ([0011]; [0086]; [0269]; [0279]; [0323]; [0324]; teaches indicating a condition for handover for the UE to the target cell).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches and discloses evaluating, by the terminal device, the condition for handing over the terminal device to the target cell; and in association with the condition being met, performing, by the terminal device, cell handover based on the TA of the terminal device in the target cell ([0011]; [0172]; [0173]; [0279]; [0323]; [0324]; teaches determining that the condition for handover for the UE to the target cell has been met and performing cell handover based on the TA).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches and discloses wherein the condition being met includes: receiving information indicating that the condition is met ([0011]; [0172]; [0173]; [0279]; [0323]; [0324]; teaches communicating that the condition for handover for the UE to the target cell has been met).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches and discloses a synchronization advancing method, comprising: sending, by a first access network device (MN, figure 7), a first message (RRC Reconfiguration, figure 7) to a terminal device (UE, figure 7), wherein the first message is used by the terminal device to obtain a timing advance (TA) (TA offset/TA value; [0085]) of the terminal device in a target cell (target cell; [0085]), and the target cell is not currently accessed by the terminal device ([0085]; “…the first entity sends information such as TA offset…to the UE. The TA offset may be a TA value carrying with multiple time stamps, and the information may be transferred by, for example, RRC reconfiguration, wherein the TA offset may also be broadcast by a system information…”; [0210]; [0213]; [0214]; figure 7; teaches a first network entity, such as MN, sends a RRC reconfiguration message to a UE and the RRC reconfiguration message comprises a timing advance offset/value of the UE in a target cell, where the UE is not currently accessing the target cell); and
receiving, by the first access network device (MN, figure 7), a second message (RRC reconfiguration complete, figure 7) from the terminal device (UE, figure 7), wherein the second message indicates the terminal device has completed configuration of the target cell ([0085]; “…the first entity sends information such as TA offset…to the UE. The TA offset may be a TA value carrying with multiple time stamps, and the information may be transferred by, for example, RRC reconfiguration, wherein the TA offset may also be broadcast by a system information. After receiving the message, the UE sends handover complete or reconfiguration complete to the first entity at a specific time according to the TA offset and uplink grant, the handover complete or reconfiguration complete may carry the UE ID and the measured beam ID information of the second entity, and the handover complete or reconfiguration complete may be transferred by a RRC reconfiguration complete message. In this way, the UE can successfully access the target cell and complete uplink synchronization…”; [0215]; figure 7; teaches the first network entity receives from the UE a RRC reconfiguration complete message).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches and discloses wherein the first message is a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (RRC Reconfiguration, figure 7), and the second message is an RRC reconfiguration complete message (RRC reconfiguration complete, figure 7) ([0085]; [0210]; [0215]; teaches the first message is a RRC reconfiguration message and the second message is a RRC reconfiguration complete message).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches and discloses wherein the first message includes the TA of the terminal device in the target cell and/or configuration information of the target cell ([0085]; “…the first entity sends information such as TA offset…to the UE. The TA offset may be a TA value carrying with multiple time stamps, and the information may be transferred by, for example, RRC reconfiguration, wherein the TA offset may also be broadcast by a system information. After receiving the message, the UE sends handover complete or reconfiguration complete to the first entity at a specific time according to the TA offset and uplink grant, the handover complete or reconfiguration complete may carry the UE ID and the measured beam ID information of the second entity, and the handover complete or reconfiguration complete may be transferred by a RRC reconfiguration complete message. In this way, the UE can successfully access the target cell and complete uplink synchronization…”; teaches the RRC reconfiguration message include the TA offset/value).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches and discloses wherein before sending the first message to the terminal device, the method further comprises: sending, by the first access network device, first indication information and second indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to perform a synchronization-related operation, and the second indication information indicates a time-frequency resource available for the terminal device to send an uplink signal to the target cell ([0085]; [0109]; “…uplink grant refers to a scheduled time-frequency resource indication of a first uplink message when the UE access to the second entity, and may be forwarded to the UE by the first entity or notified the UE through scheduling information after the UE obtains downlink synchronization with the second entity…”; [0201]; [0214]; teaches the UE receives indication information, including synchronization-related operations and time-frequency resources available to the UE to send UL signals).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches and discloses wherein sending the first indication information to the terminal device comprises: sending, by the first access network device, the first indication information to the terminal device after the target cell completes synchronization beam coverage ([0111]; “…the second entity can infer the best beam after the UE accesses the target cell under the second entity according to the beam ID indication of the source serving cell under the first entity…”; [0263]; [0267]; “…serving cell configuration information…is used to infer the coverage area of the cell, so that the second entity can find or configure a cell with the same coverage area as the specific cell…a beam ID, used to indicate the beam currently used by the UE under the first entity…”; teaches the target cell completes synchronization beam coverage before the UE receives the indication information).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches and discloses receiving, by the first access network device, a first uplink signal from the terminal device, wherein the first uplink signal is used to obtain the TA of the terminal device in the target cell, and the first access network device is an entity corresponding to the target cell; or receiving, by the first access network device, a third message from a second access network device, wherein the third message includes the TA of the terminal device in the target cell, the second access network device is an entity corresponding to the target cell, and the first access network device and the second access network device are different entities ([0085]; [0109]; “…uplink grant refers to a scheduled time-frequency resource indication of a first uplink message when the UE access to the second entity, and may be forwarded to the UE by the first entity or notified the UE through scheduling information after the UE obtains downlink synchronization with the second entity…”; [0201]; [0214]; [0217]; teaches the UE receives indication information, including synchronization-related operations and time-frequency resources available to the UE to send UL signals).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches and discloses wherein the first message includes third indication information indicating a condition for handing over the terminal device to the target cell ([0011]; [0086]; [0269]; [0279]; [0323]; [0324]; teaches indicating a condition for handover for the UE to the target cell).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches and discloses sending, to the terminal device, information indicating that the condition is met before the cell currently accessed by the terminal device sleeps or recovers coverage ([0011]; [0172]; [0173]; [0279]; [0323]; [0324]; teaches communicating that the condition for handover for the UE to the target cell has been met before the current cell sleeps or recovers coverage).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches and discloses a synchronization advancing method, comprising: sending, by a second access network device (SN, figure 7), a third message (703, figure 7) to a first access network device (MN, figure 7), wherein the third message is used by the first access network device to obtain a timing advance (TA) of a terminal device in a target cell, the target cell is not currently accessed by the terminal device ([0085]; [0203]; [0207]; “…the new SN sends an acknowledgment for secondary node addition request message to the MN, wherein the message may carry at least one of the following…TA offset, used to indicate the time of the first uplink message sent after the handover of the UE to the target cell under the new SN, and may be a positive value or a negative value, and the specific sending time is the increase or decrease amount based on the original TA of the UE…”; figure 7; teaches a second network entity, such as new SN, sends to a first network entity, such as MN, a message comprises a timing advance offset/value of the UE in a target cell, where the UE is not currently accessing the target cell), and the second access network device (SN, figure 7) is an entity corresponding to the target cell, and the first access network device (MN, figure 7) is an entity corresponding to the cell currently accessed by the terminal device ([0201]; [0203]; [0207]; [0201]; figure 7; teaches the SN is a network entity corresponding to the target call and the MN is a network entity corresponding to the current, serving cell).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches and discloses wherein before sending the third message to the first access network device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the second access network device, a first uplink signal from the terminal device; and determining, by the second access network device, the TA of the terminal device in the target cell based on the first uplink signal ([0128]; [0156]; [0160]; [0199]; teaches the second network entity, such as the SN, received an uplink signal from the UE via the first network entity in order to determine the TA offset/value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (hereinafter Li) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0362741 A1) in view of PARK et al. (hereinafter Park) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0133633 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses indicating a condition for handover for the UE to the target cell, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the condition includes one or more of: signal quality of the cell currently accessed by the terminal device and measured by the terminal device being less than a first threshold, or signal quality of the target cell and measured by the terminal device being greater than or equal to a second threshold.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches and suggests wherein the condition includes one or more of: signal quality of the cell currently accessed by the terminal device and measured by the terminal device being less than a first threshold, or signal quality of the target cell and measured by the terminal device being greater than or equal to a second threshold ([0064]; [0069]; [0070]; teaches the condition for handover includes a signal quality greater than a threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the condition for handover includes a signal quality greater than a threshold as taught by Park with the method for indicating a condition for handover for the UE to the target cell as disclosed by Li for the purpose of providing timing and synchronization parameters for a handover, as suggested by Park.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
June 24, 2026