DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7-14, 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki et al. (JP H11214242 A) in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 2021/0383973 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki et al. disclose in Fig. 1, a multilayered capacitor (3), comprising:
a capacitor body (2, 8-9) including a dielectric layer (2) and an internal electrode (8,9); and
an external electrode (7, 8) outside the capacitor body (2, 8-9),
wherein the internal electrode (8, 9) includes zirconium (Zr – Table 6 – sample 6-3), an average content of zirconium (Zr) for the internal electrode (8, 9) is greater than or equal to about 0.0005 mol% and less than about 1.0 mol% (0.65 mol%).
Miyazaki et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the dielectric layer includes a plurality of dielectric grains, at least one of the plurality of dielectric grains has a core-shell structure, and the core, or the core and the shell include zirconium (Zr), wherein the average content of Zr included in entirety of the shell is greater than an average content of Zr included in entirety of the core for a total core, wherein the at least one dielectric grain of the plurality of dielectric grains having the core-shell structure, the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %.
Matsumoto et al. disclose a multilayer ceramic capacitor (100), wherein the multilayer ceramic capacitor comprises a dielectric layer (11), the dielectric layer comprises a plurality of dielectric grains (17, 30, Fig. 4A-4B, 6), at least one of the plurality of dielectric grains (30) has a core-shell structure (31, 32), and an average content of Zr include in entirety of the shell (32) is greater than an average content of Zr included in entirety of the core (31) of the core for a total core [0026], wherein the at least one dielectric grain of the plurality of dielectric grains having the core-shell structure, the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 % (Fig. 4B, 6 – [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the dielectric layer art to form the dielectric of Miyazaki et al. using the dielectric material of Yoon et al., since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having a dielectric with high permittivity and improved reliability and stability.
Regarding claim 2, Miyazaki et al. disclose the internal electrode (8, 9) further includes a conductive metal (Ni, Table 6, Sample 6-3).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumoto et al. disclose the dielectric grain (11) includes a main component and a subcomponent, and the main component includes BaTiO3 (m = 1 – [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumoto et al. disclose the subcomponent includes at least Eu [0056] and Mn [0056].
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki et al. (JP H 11214242 A0 in view of Yoon et al. (US 2017/0271082 A).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki et al. disclose in Fig. 1, a multilayered capacitor (3), comprising:
a capacitor body (2, 8-9) including a dielectric layer (2) and an internal electrode (8,9); and
an external electrode (7, 8) outside the capacitor body (2, 8-9),
wherein the internal electrode (8, 9) includes zirconium (Zr – Table 6 – sample 6-3), an average content of zirconium (Zr) for the internal electrode (8, 9) is greater than or equal to about 0.0005 mol% and less than about 1.0 mol% (0.65 mol%).
Miyazaki et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the dielectric layer includes a plurality of dielectric grains, at least one of the plurality of dielectric grains has a core-shell structure, and the core, or the core and the shell include zirconium (Zr), wherein the average content of Zr included in entirety of the shell is greater than an average content of Zr included in entirety of the core for a total core.
Yoon et al. disclose a multilayer ceramic capacitor (4), wherein the multilayer ceramic capacitor comprises a dielectric layer (111, Fig. 1), the dielectric layer comprises a plurality of dielectric grains (11), at least one of the plurality of dielectric grains (11) has a core-shell structure (11a, 11b), and an average content of Zr include in entirety of the shell (11b) is greater than an average content of Zr included in entirety of the core (11a) of the core for a total core [0010].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the dielectric layer art to form the dielectric of Miyazaki et al. using the dielectric material of Yoon et al., since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having a dielectric with high permittivity and improved reliability.
Yoon et al. do not specifically state that the at least one dielectric grain of the plurality of dielectric grains having the core-shell structure, the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %.
The area of the core and shell regions is an important parameter to control the electrical properties of BaTiO3.
It is well known in the dielectric grain art to form a plurality of dielectric grains having a core-shell structure, wherein the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the at least one dielectric grain of the plurality of dielectric grains having the core-shell structure, the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %, since such a modification will produce a multilayer ceramic capacitor having improve efficiency, stability, and performance.
Regarding claim 2, Miyazaki et al. disclose the internal electrode (8, 9) further includes a conductive metal (Ni, Table 6, Sample 6-3).
Regarding claim 3, Yoon et al. disclose the dielectric grain (11) includes a main component and a subcomponent, and the main component includes Ba(Ti1-x Zrx) O3 (m = 1 , x < 0.03) - [0045].
Regarding claim 4, Yoon et al. disclose the subcomponent includes Mn, Cr [0049]-[0050], and Si [0063] – see also [0069].
Regarding claim 7, Yoon et al. disclose an average content of zirconium (Zr) included in entirety of the shell is in a range from about 0.001 mol% to about 10.0 mol% [0010].
Regarding claim 8, Yoon et al. disclose an average content of zirconium (Zr) included in entirety of the core is in a range from greater than about 0 mol% to about 2.0 mol% [0010].
Regarding claim 19, Miyazaki et al. disclose a multilayered capacitor (1), comprising:
an internal electrode (8, 9) comprising zirconium (Zr – Table 6 – sample 6-3) and a conductive metal (Ni – Table 6 – sample 6-3), wherein an average content of Zr in the internal electrode is in a range from about 0.001 mol% to about 1.0 mol% (Zr – Table 6 – sample 6-3 - 0.65 mol%), and a dielectric layer (2).
Miyazaki et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the dielectric comprising at least one dielectric grain having a core-shell structure, wherein core of the core-shell structure has an average Zr content greater than about 0 mol % and less than 0.5 mol%, and shell of the core-shell structure has an average Zr content in a range from about 0.1 mol% to about 5.0 mol%.
Yoon et al. disclose a multilayer ceramic capacitor (4), wherein the multilayer ceramic capacitor comprises a dielectric layer (111, Fig. 1), the dielectric layer comprises at least one dielectric grain (11) having a core-shell structure (11a, 11b), wherein core of the core-shell structure has an average Zr content greater than about 0 mol % and less than 0.5 mol% [0010], and shell of the core-shell structure has an average Zr content in a range from about 0.1 mol% to about 5.0 mol% [0010].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the dielectric layer art to form the dielectric of Miyazaki et al. using the dielectric material of Yoon et al., since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having a dielectric with high permittivity and improved reliability.
Yoon et al. do not specifically state that the at least one dielectric grain of the plurality of dielectric grains having the core-shell structure, the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %.
The area of the core and shell regions is an important parameter to control the electrical properties of BaTiO3.
It is well known in the dielectric grain art to form a plurality of dielectric grains having a core-shell structure, wherein the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the at least one dielectric grain of the plurality of dielectric grains having the core-shell structure, the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %, since such a modification will produce a multilayer ceramic capacitor having improve efficiency, stability, and performance.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki et al. (JP H11214242 A) and Matsumoto et al. (US 2021/0383973 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0063862 A).
Regarding claim 9, Miyazaki et al. disclose the claimed invention except for an average thickness of the dielectric layer is in a range from about 0.1 µm to about 5 µm.
Kim et al. disclose an average thickness of the dielectric layer is 0.1 µm to about 5 µm (table 1 – samples 2-3, 5-7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the dielectric layer art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the dielectric of Miyazaki et al. to have an average thickness of 0.1 µm to about 5 µm, since such a modification would form thin dielectric layers.
Regarding claim 10, Miyazaki et al. disclose the claimed invention except for an average thickness of the internal electrode is in a range from about 0.1 µm to about 2 µm.
Kim et al. disclose a multilayer ceramic component having internal electrodes (table 1), where in the internal electrodes have an average thickness in the range from about 0.1 µm to about 2 µm (table 1 - Samples 1-23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the internal electrode art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the internal electrodes of Miyazaki et al. to have a thickness of 0.1 µm to about 2 µm, since such a modification would form thin internal electrodes.
Claim(s) 11-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2017/0271082A) in view of Miyazaki et al. (JP H11214242 A).
Regarding claim 11, Yoon et al. disclose in fig. 4, a multilayered capacitor (100), comprising a capacitor body including a dielectric layer (111) and an internal electrode (121, 122), and an external electrode (131, 132) outside the capacitor body, the dielectric layer (111) includes a plurality of dielectric grains (11), at least one of the plurality of dielectric grains (11) has a core-shell structure (11a, 11b), the core (11a) and the shell (11b) include zirconium (Zr), an average content of zirconium (Zr) included in entirety of the shell is greater than an average content of zirconium (Zr) included in entirety of the core [0010], an average content of Zr in the core is greater than about 0 mol% and less than about 1 mol% [0010], and an average content of Zr in the shell is in a range from about 0.001 mol% to about 10 mol% [0010].
. Yoon et al. do not specifically state that the at least one dielectric grain of the plurality of dielectric grains having the core-shell structure, the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %.
The area of the core and shell regions is an important parameter to control the electrical properties of BaTiO3.
It is well known in the dielectric grain art to form a plurality of dielectric grains having a core-shell structure, wherein the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the at least one dielectric grain of the plurality of dielectric grains having the core-shell structure, the core has an average area of about 50 % to about 90 % and the shell has an average area of about 10 % to about 50 %, since such a modification will produce a multilayer ceramic capacitor having improve efficiency, stability, and performance.
Yoon et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the internal electrode comprises a conductive metal and Zr.
Miyazaki et al. disclose in Fig. 1, a multilayered capacitor (3), comprising: an internal electrode (8, 9) that includes a conductive metal (Ni) and zirconium (Zr - Table 6 - sample 6-3). It would have been obvious in the internal electrode art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of Yoon et al. using the internal electrode material of Miyazaki et al., since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor wherein the heat/shock resistance characteristic is improved.
Regarding claim 12, Yoon et al. disclose the dielectric grain (11) includes a main component and a subcomponent, and the main component includes Ba(Ti1-x Zrx) O3 (m = 1 , x < 0.03) - [0045].
Regarding claim 13, Yoon et al. disclose the subcomponent includes Mn, Cr [0049]-[0050], and Si [0063] – see also [0069].
Regarding claim 14, Miyazaki et al. disclose the average content of Zr of the internal electrode is 0.65 mol % (Zr – Table 6 – sample 6-3).
Regarding claim 16, Miyazaki et al. disclose the average content of Zr of the internal electrode is 0.65 mol % (Zr – Table 6 – sample 6-3).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2017/0271082A) and Miyazaki et al. (JP H11214242 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0063862 A).
Regarding claim 17, Yoon et al. disclose the claimed invention except for an average thickness of the dielectric layer is in a range from about 0.1 µm to about 5 µm.
Kim et al. disclose an average thickness of the dielectric layer is 0.1 µm to about 5 µm (table 1 – samples 2-3, 5-7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the dielectric layer art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the dielectric of Yoon et al. to have an average thickness of 0.1 µm to about 5 µm, since such a modification would form thin dielectric layers.
Regarding claim 18, Yoon et al. disclose the claimed invention except for an average thickness of the internal electrode is in a range from about 0.1 µm to about 2 µm.
Kim et al. disclose a multilayer ceramic component having internal electrodes (table 1), where in the internal electrodes have an average thickness in the range from about 0.1 µm to about 2 µm (table 1 - Samples 1-23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the internal electrode art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the internal electrodes of Yoon et al. to have a thickness of 0.1 µm to about 2 µm, since such a modification would form thin internal electrodes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Heath et al., “Simulation of Impedance Spectra for Core–Shell Grain Structures Using Finite Element Modeling” – Teaches the volume fraction of the core and shell regions is an important parameter for BaTiO3 ceramics.
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847