DETAILED ACTION
This application is a CON of 17/478,323 09/17/2021 PAT 12,015,228.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 7358625 B2).
In regard to claim 21, Cheng et al. discloses a power receptacle assembly (fig. 1), comprising:
a housing 100 comprising:
a housing component with first and second side walls (see annotated drawing below) extending from opposing sides of a bottom structure 190;
a face plate 210 connected to a front portion (see annotated drawing below) of the housing component, wherein the face plate includes a plurality of apertures (see annotated drawing below); and
a back plate 210 connected to a back portion (see annotated drawing below) of the housing component, wherein the housing component, the face plate, and the back plate together define a housing interior;
a plurality of power receptacles 140 disposed in the housing interior and electronically coupled to a constant voltage driver 304, wherein the plurality of power receptacles 140 have connection openings (the square perimeter of 140 as shown in Fig. 2) aligned with the plurality of apertures in the face plate for receiving an electrical plug through the corresponding aperture into the corresponding power receptacle; and
a power cord 10 extending through the 1st side wall of the housing 100 and configured to be coupled to a power source, wherein the power cord is electronically coupled to the plurality of power receptacles 140 to deliver power from the power source to the plurality of power receptacles 140.
However, Cheng et al. does not disclose the power cord 10 extending through the back plate 210 of the housing 100
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Cheng et al. by having the power cord 10 extending through the back plate since applicants have presented no explanation that this particular location of the power cord is significant or is anything more than one of numerous locations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing an accessible location for the power cord in respect to the location of the power source. A shifting in location is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the operation of the device would not thereby be modified. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
In regard to claim 22, Cheng et al. discloses the first and second side walls are integral to the bottom structure 190 of the housing component.
In regard to claim 23, Cheng et al. discloses a housing cover 212 is coupled to the first and second side walls.
In regard to claim 24, Cheng et al. discloses the housing cover 212 is integral to the first and second side walls and the bottom structure 190.
In regard to claim 25, Cheng et al. discloses the back plate 210 is coupled with the first and second side walls and the bottom structure 190.
In regard to claim 26, Cheng et al. discloses the face plate 210 is coupled with a front edge of the first and second side walls and the bottom structure 190.
In regard to claim 27, Cheng et al. discloses the housing 100 comprises first and second end caps (see annotated drawing below) coupled to the bottom structure 190 to surround the housing interior.
In regard to claim 28, Cheng et al. discloses the plurality of power receptacles 140 includes at least one of an AC or a DC power receptacle.
In regard to claim 29, Cheng et al. does not disclose the plurality of power receptacles includes a USB power receptacle.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing a power strip which include an AC, a DC and USB power receptacles are well known and expected in the art.
In regard to claim 30, Cheng et al. discloses power that is output by the plurality of power receptacles 140 matches power output by the constant voltage driver 304 (see fig. 4).
Claim(s) 31, 32-37, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. in view of CN 112787148 A.
In regard to claim 31, Cheng et al. does not disclose the housing 100 includes a clamp configured to secure the housing to a mounting surface.
CN 112787148 A discloses the housing 10 of a power strip 10 includes a clamp (see fig. 2) configured to secure the housing 10 to a mounting surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Cheng et al. by constructing the clamp as disclosed by CN 112787148 A in order to secure the power strip to any surfaces of tables or desks.
In regard to claims 32, 37, Cheng et al. discloses a power receptacle assembly, comprising:
a housing 100 component defining a housing interior;
a face plate 210 disposed at an opening on a front side (see annotated drawing below) of the housing interior; back plate 210 disposed at an opening on a back side (see annotated drawing below) of the housing interior;
a power receptacle 140 disposed in the housing interior, wherein the power receptacle is
aligned with an aperture (see annotated drawing below) in the face plate 210 for receiving an electrical plug through the aperture;
a power cord 10 extending through the side wall and into the housing, wherein the power cord electrically connects to the power receptacle and is configured to be electrically connected to a power source; and
However, Cheng et al. does not disclose the power cord 10 extending through the back plate 210 of the housing 100
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Cheng et al. by having the power cord 10 extending through the back plate since applicants have presented no explanation that this particular location of the power cord is significant or is anything more than one of numerous locations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing an accessible location for the power cord in respect to the location of the power source. A shifting in location is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the operation of the device would not thereby be modified. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Further, Cheng et al. does not disclose a mounting member coupled to the back plate and configured to secure the housing to a mounting surface of a work station, wherein the mounting member comprises a clamp.
CN 112787148 A discloses the housing 10 of a power strip 10 includes a clamp (see fig. 2) configured to secure the housing 10 to a mounting surface, wherein the mounting member comprises a clamp.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Cheng et al. by constructing the clamp as disclosed by CN 112787148 A in order to secure the power strip to any surfaces of tables or desks.
In regard to claim 33, Cheng et al. discloses the power receptacle 140 is electronically coupled to a constant voltage driver 304 disposed in the housing 100.
In regard to claim 34, Cheng et al. discloses the constant voltage driver 304 is configured to output the same power that is output by the power receptacle 140.
In regard to claim 35, Cheng et al. discloses the housing 100 includes first and second side walls (see annotated drawing below) extending from a bottom structure 190.
In regard to claim 36, Cheng et al. discloses the first and second side walls extend between the face plate 210 and the back plate 210.
In regard to claim 39, Cheng et al. discloses the power receptacle140 is a DC power receptacle (see fig. 4).
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. as modified by CN 112787148 A as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Byrne et al. (US 20200388971 A1).
Cheng et al. as modified by CN 112787148 A does not disclose the mounting member comprises an end cap having a flange configured to be coupled to the mounting surface.
Byrne et al. disclose the mounting member of the power strip 112a comprises an end cap having a flange 130c configured to be coupled to the mounting surface (para.[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Cheng et al. as modified by CN 112787148 A by constructing the end cap having a flange as disclosed by Byrne et al. in order to secure the power strip to any surfaces of tables or desks.
[AltContent: textbox (1st end cap)][AltContent: textbox (2nd end cap)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (front portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (back portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2nd side wall)][AltContent: textbox (1st side wall)]
[AltContent: textbox (aperture)]
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
3/26/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834