DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-13, 15-17, 19-21 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 2, 14, 18 are Canceled. Claim 21 is New.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 12/08/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-11, 15-16, 19 is/are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirsch (US20130285841) in view of Garcia Ramirez (US20240083414).
Claim 1:
Kirsch explicitly teaches:
A method comprising: receiving charging capability information of one or more vehicles, wherein the charging capability information includes at least electric vehicle charge point requirements of the one or more vehicles and solar panel information of the one or more vehicles;
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
receiving information corresponding to charging profiles of the one or more vehicles;
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, information corresponding to charging profiles may correspond with any information related to charging a vehicle.
determining charge point data in a given area associated with the one or more vehicles, wherein the charge point data includes a charging score corresponding to one or more parking spaces in the given area based on an analysis of weather data corresponding to the one or more parking spaces, [wherein the weather data includes at least temperature data associated with the one or more parking spaces];
(Kirsch) – “According to a further embodiment, a method for directing the parking of an automotive vehicle including at least one solar panel and a battery rechargeable by the at least one solar panel is provided. The method comprises selecting a parking location and identifying geographically proximate parking facilities having surface or roof top parking spaces. The identified parking facilities are assessed based upon at least one of weather, time of day and date, and shading and a recommended parking facility is provided to a vehicle operator.” (Para 0011)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, charge point data may correspond with any information related to charge points. Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
determining map object data and point of interest data in the given area; and
(Kirsch) – “Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, map object data and point of interest data may correspond with any information related to any object and any point in a map, respectively.
generating a recommendation for an optimal charge position within the given area for a vehicle of the one or more vehicles based on a charging capability information of the vehicle, a charge profile of the vehicle, the determined charge point data in the given area, and the determined map object data and the point of interest data.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
Kirsch does not explicitly teach:
wherein the weather data includes at least temperature data associated with the one or more parking spaces
Garcia Ramirez, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle parking, teaches:
wherein the weather data includes at least temperature data associated with the one or more parking spaces
(Garcia Ramirez) – “After a driver parks a vehicle and has left the vehicle, a system relocates the autonomous vehicle into an optimized parking spot. The system obtains availability of other parking spots within a parking lot in which the vehicle is located. The system estimates whether any alternate parking spot would optimize cabin temperature and whether the energy consumed to complete an autonomous relocation of the vehicle will obtain a net savings in fuel economy relative to the energy expended by the relocation. The system determines the benefits of these optimized parking spots by using shaded and unshaded areas, GPS location of the vehicle, current date and time, and weather and fuel consumption estimates. If a favorable parking spot is determined, the autonomous vehicle relocates into the optimal alternate parking spot and informs the driver of the new location.” (Abstract)
“In 16, controller 70 inspects the estimates of induced vehicle cabin temperature for the different orientations calculated in step 14 to select an optimized parking spot. An optimal parking spot is defined as the best vehicle position for the lowest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in hot weather (or highest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in cold weather).” (Para 0021)
“FIG. 2 illustrates vehicle 30 parked in parking spot 34, in a parking lot 38 with other parking spots being occupied or reserved. Those not occupied or reserved are marked by an arrow in the parking spot. The location (latitude and longitude) of parking lot 38, the current date and time, the weather forecast, and the estimated length of parking stay are used to make different fuel consumption estimates at each parking spot that vehicle 30 determines as available. Each fuel consumption estimate depends on the projected cabin temperature to be reached at the vehicle position and orientation associated with each respective parking spot, which further depends on solar azimuth and any shading of the parking spots.” (Para 0022)
“Alternate parking spots 31 through 35 may be analyzed for their estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature at the end of one workday, and the resulting HVAC fuel consumptions required to restore vehicle 30 to a desired cabin temperature requested by an occupant are calculated. Alternate parking spot 35 is estimated to have a higher internal cabin temperature after one workday than at current parking spot 34 regardless of what azimuth angle the car is facing.” (Para 0024)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the cabin temperature control method of Garcia Ramirez. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that “an energy consumption for obtaining a comfortable temperature when a user returns to the vehicle is reduced.” (Garcia Ramirez Para 0003)
Claim 2: Canceled
Claim 3:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Kirsch does not explicitly teach the following limitations in full. Garcia Ramirez, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle charging, teaches:
wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle,
(Garcia Ramirez) – “After a driver parks a vehicle and has left the vehicle, a system relocates the autonomous vehicle into an optimized parking spot. The system obtains availability of other parking spots within a parking lot in which the vehicle is located. The system estimates whether any alternate parking spot would optimize cabin temperature and whether the energy consumed to complete an autonomous relocation of the vehicle will obtain a net savings in fuel economy relative to the energy expended by the relocation. The system determines the benefits of these optimized parking spots by using shaded and unshaded areas, GPS location of the vehicle, current date and time, and weather and fuel consumption estimates. If a favorable parking spot is determined, the autonomous vehicle relocates into the optimal alternate parking spot and informs the driver of the new location.” (Abstract)
wherein generating a recommendation for the optimal charge position includes providing an autonomous vehicle control signal to the vehicle that enables the vehicle to move from a first position to the optimal charge position.
(Garcia Ramirez) – “After a driver parks a vehicle and has left the vehicle, a system relocates the autonomous vehicle into an optimized parking spot. The system obtains availability of other parking spots within a parking lot in which the vehicle is located. The system estimates whether any alternate parking spot would optimize cabin temperature and whether the energy consumed to complete an autonomous relocation of the vehicle will obtain a net savings in fuel economy relative to the energy expended by the relocation. The system determines the benefits of these optimized parking spots by using shaded and unshaded areas, GPS location of the vehicle, current date and time, and weather and fuel consumption estimates. If a favorable parking spot is determined, the autonomous vehicle relocates into the optimal alternate parking spot and informs the driver of the new location.” (Abstract)
“In 16, controller 70 inspects the estimates of induced vehicle cabin temperature for the different orientations calculated in step 14 to select an optimized parking spot. An optimal parking spot is defined as the best vehicle position for the lowest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in hot weather (or highest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in cold weather)… If the relocating fuel consumption estimate to relocate to the optimal parking spot and the relocated HVAC pulldown estimate, are less than the HVAC pulldown estimate of the vehicle in the original parking spot, then the system will initiate the relocation in step 19. The initiation of the relocation comprises starting vehicle 30 followed by an autonomous drive to the optimal parking spot.” (Para 0021)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the cabin temperature control method of Garcia Ramirez. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that “an energy consumption for obtaining a comfortable temperature when a user returns to the vehicle is reduced.” (Garcia Ramirez Para 0003)
Claim 4:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Kirsch further teaches:
further comprising: receiving a request to charge a battery of a parked vehicle of the one or more vehicles;
(Kirsch) – “Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
determining a preferred charge level associated with the parked vehicle; and
(Kirsch) – “the system will provide the anticipated level of battery charge based on the anticipated parking duration.” (Para 0030)
“The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
based on the preferred charge level, generating a recommendation for moving the parked vehicle to a charge position for charging the parked vehicle via a solar panel of the parked vehicle.
(Kirsch) – “the system will provide the anticipated level of battery charge based on the anticipated parking duration.” (Para 0030)
“The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
Claim 5:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Kirsch further teaches:
further comprising: analyzing expected usage data corresponding to a parked vehicle of the one or more vehicles; and
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
generating the recommendation for the optimal charge position within the given area for the vehicle of the one or more vehicles based on the charging capability of the vehicle, the charge profile of the vehicle, the determined charge point data in the give area, the determined map object data and the point of interest data, and the usage data corresponding to the parked vehicle.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
Claim 6:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Kirsch further teaches:
wherein the vehicle is equipped with at least one solar panel, wherein determining the map object data and point of interest data in the given area includes: determining one or more expected shadows in one or more charge positions based on the map object data the point of interest data; and
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities…Preferred parking facilities having the relatively lowest shaded areas and/or the relatively lowest period of shaded time can be communicated to the vehicle operator on display device 120.” (Para 0028)
determining an expected amount of charge available to the vehicle via the at least one solar panel based on an analysis of the determined one or more expected shadows in one or more charge positions.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities…Preferred parking facilities having the relatively lowest shaded areas and/or the relatively lowest period of shaded time can be communicated to the vehicle operator on display device 120.” (Para 0028)
Claim 7:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Kirsch further teaches:
wherein generating the recommendation for the optimal charge position within the given area further includes a recommended interval of time for charging the vehicle of the one or more vehicles via a solar panel of the vehicle.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities…Preferred parking facilities having the relatively lowest shaded areas and/or the relatively lowest period of shaded time can be communicated to the vehicle operator on display device 120.” (Para 0028)
Claim 9:
Kirsch explicitly teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium carrying one or more sequences of one or more instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause an apparatus to perform the following steps: receive information corresponding to hardware charging capabilities of a vehicle;
(Kirsch) – “An automotive vehicle having at least one solar panel, a battery rechargeable by the at least one solar panel, and a computer system including one or more processors and memory storing one or more programs. The program(s) generate a list of parking locations, determine which of the one or more parking location provide sun exposure, and recommending at least one parking location to a vehicle operator.” (Abstract)
“The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
receive information corresponding to a vehicle charging profile of the vehicle;
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, information corresponding to charging profile may correspond with any information related to charging a vehicle.
analyze electric vehicle charge point data in a given area associated with the vehicle;
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, charge point data may correspond with any information related to charge points.
determine one or more electric vehicle charging spaces associated with a minimum level of direct exposure to the Sun based on an analysis of at least one of map object data and point of interest data in the given area;
(Kirsch) – “Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
“The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, map object data and point of interest data may correspond with any information related to any object and any point in a map, respectively.
determine a charging score corresponding to each of the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces based on an analysis of weather data corresponding to the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces, [wherein the weather data includes at least temperature data associated with the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces];
(Kirsch) – “According to a further embodiment, a method for directing the parking of an automotive vehicle including at least one solar panel and a battery rechargeable by the at least one solar panel is provided. The method comprises selecting a parking location and identifying geographically proximate parking facilities having surface or roof top parking spaces. The identified parking facilities are assessed based upon at least one of weather, time of day and date, and shading and a recommended parking facility is provided to a vehicle operator.” (Para 0011)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, charge point data may correspond with any information related to charge points. Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
generate a recommendation for an optimal electric vehicle charging space of the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces based on an analysis of at least one or more of the hardware charging capabilities of the vehicle, the charge profile of the vehicle, the electric vehicle charge point data, the determined one or more electric vehicle charging spaces associated with a minimum level of direct exposure to the Sun, and the determined charging score corresponding to each of the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces; and
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
provide one or more instructions for the vehicle to park at the optimal electric vehicle charging space.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, instructions for the vehicle to park includes recommending a parking facility.
Kirsch does not explicitly teach:
wherein the weather data includes at least temperature data associated with the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces
Garcia Ramirez, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle parking, teaches:
wherein the weather data includes at least temperature data associated with the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces
(Garcia Ramirez) – “After a driver parks a vehicle and has left the vehicle, a system relocates the autonomous vehicle into an optimized parking spot. The system obtains availability of other parking spots within a parking lot in which the vehicle is located. The system estimates whether any alternate parking spot would optimize cabin temperature and whether the energy consumed to complete an autonomous relocation of the vehicle will obtain a net savings in fuel economy relative to the energy expended by the relocation. The system determines the benefits of these optimized parking spots by using shaded and unshaded areas, GPS location of the vehicle, current date and time, and weather and fuel consumption estimates. If a favorable parking spot is determined, the autonomous vehicle relocates into the optimal alternate parking spot and informs the driver of the new location.” (Abstract)
“In 16, controller 70 inspects the estimates of induced vehicle cabin temperature for the different orientations calculated in step 14 to select an optimized parking spot. An optimal parking spot is defined as the best vehicle position for the lowest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in hot weather (or highest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in cold weather).” (Para 0021)
“FIG. 2 illustrates vehicle 30 parked in parking spot 34, in a parking lot 38 with other parking spots being occupied or reserved. Those not occupied or reserved are marked by an arrow in the parking spot. The location (latitude and longitude) of parking lot 38, the current date and time, the weather forecast, and the estimated length of parking stay are used to make different fuel consumption estimates at each parking spot that vehicle 30 determines as available. Each fuel consumption estimate depends on the projected cabin temperature to be reached at the vehicle position and orientation associated with each respective parking spot, which further depends on solar azimuth and any shading of the parking spots.” (Para 0022)
“Alternate parking spots 31 through 35 may be analyzed for their estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature at the end of one workday, and the resulting HVAC fuel consumptions required to restore vehicle 30 to a desired cabin temperature requested by an occupant are calculated. Alternate parking spot 35 is estimated to have a higher internal cabin temperature after one workday than at current parking spot 34 regardless of what azimuth angle the car is facing.” (Para 0024)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the cabin temperature control method of Garcia Ramirez. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that “an energy consumption for obtaining a comfortable temperature when a user returns to the vehicle is reduced.” (Garcia Ramirez Para 0003)
Claim 10:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Kirsch further teaches:
wherein the hardware charging capabilities includes information corresponding to the electric vehicle charge point requirements of the vehicle and information corresponding to at least one solar panel coupled to the vehicle.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
Claim 11:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 9. Kirsch further teaches:
wherein the one or more sequences of the one or more instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to generate
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
generate the recommendation for the optimal electric vehicle charging space of the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces based on an analysis of at least one or more of the hardware charging capabilities of the vehicle, the charge profile of the vehicle, the electric
vehicle charge point data, the determined one or more electric vehicle charging spaces associated with a minimum level of direct exposure to the Sun, and the expected usage of the vehicle.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
Claim 14: Canceled
Claim 15:
Kirsch explicitly teaches:
A method comprising: receiving parking data corresponding to one or more areas for parking vehicles; analyzing one or more parking spaces of the one or more areas;
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
determining a charging score corresponding to each of the one or more parking spaces based on an analysis of the parking data and weather data, [wherein the weather data includes at least temperature data associated with the one or more parking spaces]; and
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
“At step 320, a comparison of suitable parking facilities based on anticipated weather conditions, i.e., solar radiation availability, can be performed. At step 322, an analysis of sun blocking foliage and/or adjacent buildings relative to the suitable parking facilities is performed based on solar altitude and azimuth. At step 324, based upon the data obtained in steps 320 and 322, an analysis of whether or not a sufficient charge can be achieved is performed. If a sufficient charge cannot be achieved at any of the suitable parking facilities, step 326 recommends a plug-in parking facility. At step 328, if sufficient charge can be achieved at only one of the suitable parking facilities, a recommendation to park at that preferred parking facility can be made.” (Para 0038)
“If more than one preferred parking facility exists, an analysis of the cost of parking at the more than one preferred parking facility is performed in step 330 and a recommendation of the lowest cost option to achieve satisfactory charging is performed at step 332. At step 334, reserving of a suitable parking spot at a preferred parking facility can be performed.” (Para 0039)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, score may correspond with any criteria used to make a recommendation.
based on the determined charging score corresponding to each of the one or more parking spaces, generating an output signal [for moving a vehicle from a first parking space of the one or more parking spaces to a second parking space of the one or more parking spaces].
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
“At step 320, a comparison of suitable parking facilities based on anticipated weather conditions, i.e., solar radiation availability, can be performed. At step 322, an analysis of sun blocking foliage and/or adjacent buildings relative to the suitable parking facilities is performed based on solar altitude and azimuth. At step 324, based upon the data obtained in steps 320 and 322, an analysis of whether or not a sufficient charge can be achieved is performed. If a sufficient charge cannot be achieved at any of the suitable parking facilities, step 326 recommends a plug-in parking facility. At step 328, if sufficient charge can be achieved at only one of the suitable parking facilities, a recommendation to park at that preferred parking facility can be made.” (Para 0038)
“If more than one preferred parking facility exists, an analysis of the cost of parking at the more than one preferred parking facility is performed in step 330 and a recommendation of the lowest cost option to achieve satisfactory charging is performed at step 332. At step 334, reserving of a suitable parking spot at a preferred parking facility can be performed.” (Para 0039)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Kirsch does not explicitly teach:
wherein the weather data includes at least temperature data associated with the one or more parking spaces… for moving a vehicle from a first parking space of the one or more parking spaces to a second parking space of the one or more parking spaces
Garcia Ramirez, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle parking, teaches:
wherein the weather data includes at least temperature data associated with the one or more parking spaces… for moving a vehicle from a first parking space of the one or more parking spaces to a second parking space of the one or more parking spaces
(Garcia Ramirez) – “After a driver parks a vehicle and has left the vehicle, a system relocates the autonomous vehicle into an optimized parking spot. The system obtains availability of other parking spots within a parking lot in which the vehicle is located. The system estimates whether any alternate parking spot would optimize cabin temperature and whether the energy consumed to complete an autonomous relocation of the vehicle will obtain a net savings in fuel economy relative to the energy expended by the relocation. The system determines the benefits of these optimized parking spots by using shaded and unshaded areas, GPS location of the vehicle, current date and time, and weather and fuel consumption estimates. If a favorable parking spot is determined, the autonomous vehicle relocates into the optimal alternate parking spot and informs the driver of the new location.” (Abstract)
“In 16, controller 70 inspects the estimates of induced vehicle cabin temperature for the different orientations calculated in step 14 to select an optimized parking spot. An optimal parking spot is defined as the best vehicle position for the lowest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in hot weather (or highest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in cold weather)… If the relocating fuel consumption estimate to relocate to the optimal parking spot and the relocated HVAC pulldown estimate, are less than the HVAC pulldown estimate of the vehicle in the original parking spot, then the system will initiate the relocation in step 19. The initiation of the relocation comprises starting vehicle 30 followed by an autonomous drive to the optimal parking spot.” (Para 0021)
“FIG. 2 illustrates vehicle 30 parked in parking spot 34, in a parking lot 38 with other parking spots being occupied or reserved. Those not occupied or reserved are marked by an arrow in the parking spot. The location (latitude and longitude) of parking lot 38, the current date and time, the weather forecast, and the estimated length of parking stay are used to make different fuel consumption estimates at each parking spot that vehicle 30 determines as available. Each fuel consumption estimate depends on the projected cabin temperature to be reached at the vehicle position and orientation associated with each respective parking spot, which further depends on solar azimuth and any shading of the parking spots.” (Para 0022)
“Alternate parking spots 31 through 35 may be analyzed for their estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature at the end of one workday, and the resulting HVAC fuel consumptions required to restore vehicle 30 to a desired cabin temperature requested by an occupant are calculated. Alternate parking spot 35 is estimated to have a higher internal cabin temperature after one workday than at current parking spot 34 regardless of what azimuth angle the car is facing.” (Para 0024)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the cabin temperature control method of Garcia Ramirez. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that “an energy consumption for obtaining a comfortable temperature when a user returns to the vehicle is reduced.” (Garcia Ramirez Para 0003)
Claim 16:
Kirsch in combination with the references relied upon in claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Kirsch further teaches:
wherein the one or more areas for parking vehicles are part of a parking structure, wherein the parking structure includes a plurality of levels of parking.
(Kirsch) – “The method comprises selecting a parking location and identifying geographically proximate parking facilities having surface or roof top parking spaces. The identified parking facilities are assessed based upon at least one of weather, time of day and date, and shading and a recommended parking facility is provided to a vehicle operator.” (Para 0011)
Claim 18: Canceled
Claim 19:
Kirsch in combination with the references relied upon in claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Kirsch does not explicitly teach the following limitations in full. Garcia Ramirez, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle charging, teaches:
wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, wherein generating the output signal for moving the vehicle from the first parking space of the one or more parking spaces to the second parking space of the one or more parking spaces causes the vehicle to operate autonomously and reposition the vehicle from the first parking space to the second parking space.
(Garcia Ramirez) – “After a driver parks a vehicle and has left the vehicle, a system relocates the autonomous vehicle into an optimized parking spot. The system obtains availability of other parking spots within a parking lot in which the vehicle is located. The system estimates whether any alternate parking spot would optimize cabin temperature and whether the energy consumed to complete an autonomous relocation of the vehicle will obtain a net savings in fuel economy relative to the energy expended by the relocation. The system determines the benefits of these optimized parking spots by using shaded and unshaded areas, GPS location of the vehicle, current date and time, and weather and fuel consumption estimates. If a favorable parking spot is determined, the autonomous vehicle relocates into the optimal alternate parking spot and informs the driver of the new location.” (Abstract)
“In 16, controller 70 inspects the estimates of induced vehicle cabin temperature for the different orientations calculated in step 14 to select an optimized parking spot. An optimal parking spot is defined as the best vehicle position for the lowest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in hot weather (or highest estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature in cold weather)… If the relocating fuel consumption estimate to relocate to the optimal parking spot and the relocated HVAC pulldown estimate, are less than the HVAC pulldown estimate of the vehicle in the original parking spot, then the system will initiate the relocation in step 19. The initiation of the relocation comprises starting vehicle 30 followed by an autonomous drive to the optimal parking spot.” (Para 0021)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the cabin temperature control method of Garcia Ramirez. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that “an energy consumption for obtaining a comfortable temperature when a user returns to the vehicle is reduced.” (Garcia Ramirez Para 0003)
Claim(s) 8, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirsch (US20130285841) in view of Garcia Ramirez (US20240083414) further in view of Tzivanopoulos (US20200180572).
Claim 8:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Kirsch does not explicitly teach the following limitations in full. Tzivanopoulos, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle parking, teaches:
further comprising: providing a signal to a parking robot that is configured to move the vehicle from a first position to the optimal charge position.
(Tzivanopoulos) - “A parking robot is usually designed for transporting a motor vehicle inside a given infrastructural environment, for example, a parking garage, to a specified parking position. To this end, the parking robot extends, for example, a section thereof underneath the vehicle, lifts the vehicle and then travels with the lifted vehicle to the specified parking position, where it lowers the vehicle back to the ground. Using a parking robot, vehicles can therefore be moved completely autonomously within the infrastructural environment without any involvement of the driver of the vehicle and irrespective of whether or not the vehicle incorporates, for example, an advanced driver assistance system that is suited for at least partially autonomous parking.” (Para 0003)
“Alternatively or additionally, while they transport the vehicle through the parking garage, the four parking robots can be accompanied by a guide robot that travels autonomously ahead of the vehicle, which is being supported by the four parking robots, and provides, while moving, the respective control signals such as, for example, the trajectories of travel, respectively, to the parking robots of the robotic parking system, whereby the parking robots facilitate particularly fast travel that is suitable for negotiating inclined planes throughout the parking garage by means of a plurality of parking robots.” (Para 0029)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the parking robot of Tzivanopoulos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “Using a parking robot, vehicles can therefore be moved completely autonomously within the infrastructural environment without any involvement of the driver of the vehicle and irrespective of whether or not the vehicle incorporates, for example, an advanced driver assistance system that is suited for at least partially autonomous parking.” (Tzivanopoulos Para 0003)
Claim 20:
Kirsch in combination with the references relied upon in claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Kirsch does not explicitly teach the following limitations in full. Tzivanopoulos, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle parking, teaches:
wherein generating the output signal for moving the vehicle from the first parking space of the one or more parking spaces to the second parking space of the one or more parking spaces causes a mobile apparatus to move the vehicle from the first parking space to the second parking space.
(Tzivanopoulos) - “A parking robot is usually designed for transporting a motor vehicle inside a given infrastructural environment, for example, a parking garage, to a specified parking position. To this end, the parking robot extends, for example, a section thereof underneath the vehicle, lifts the vehicle and then travels with the lifted vehicle to the specified parking position, where it lowers the vehicle back to the ground. Using a parking robot, vehicles can therefore be moved completely autonomously within the infrastructural environment without any involvement of the driver of the vehicle and irrespective of whether or not the vehicle incorporates, for example, an advanced driver assistance system that is suited for at least partially autonomous parking.” (Para 0003)
“Alternatively or additionally, while they transport the vehicle through the parking garage, the four parking robots can be accompanied by a guide robot that travels autonomously ahead of the vehicle, which is being supported by the four parking robots, and provides, while moving, the respective control signals such as, for example, the trajectories of travel, respectively, to the parking robots of the robotic parking system, whereby the parking robots facilitate particularly fast travel that is suitable for negotiating inclined planes throughout the parking garage by means of a plurality of parking robots.” (Para 0029)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the parking robot of Tzivanopoulos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “Using a parking robot, vehicles can therefore be moved completely autonomously within the infrastructural environment without any involvement of the driver of the vehicle and irrespective of whether or not the vehicle incorporates, for example, an advanced driver assistance system that is suited for at least partially autonomous parking.” (Tzivanopoulos Para 0003)
Claim 21:
Kirsch in combination with the references relied upon in claim 9 teach those respective limitations. Kirsch further teaches:
wherein the one or more sequences of the one or more instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to provide one or more instructions for the vehicle to park at the optimal electric vehicle charging space
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
Kirsch does not explicitly teach:
includes instructions that cause a parking robot to move the vehicle to the optimal electric vehicle charging space.
Tzivanopoulos, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle parking, teaches:
includes instructions that cause a parking robot to move the vehicle to the optimal electric vehicle charging space.
(Tzivanopoulos) - “A parking robot is usually designed for transporting a motor vehicle inside a given infrastructural environment, for example, a parking garage, to a specified parking position. To this end, the parking robot extends, for example, a section thereof underneath the vehicle, lifts the vehicle and then travels with the lifted vehicle to the specified parking position, where it lowers the vehicle back to the ground. Using a parking robot, vehicles can therefore be moved completely autonomously within the infrastructural environment without any involvement of the driver of the vehicle and irrespective of whether or not the vehicle incorporates, for example, an advanced driver assistance system that is suited for at least partially autonomous parking.” (Para 0003)
“Alternatively or additionally, while they transport the vehicle through the parking garage, the four parking robots can be accompanied by a guide robot that travels autonomously ahead of the vehicle, which is being supported by the four parking robots, and provides, while moving, the respective control signals such as, for example, the trajectories of travel, respectively, to the parking robots of the robotic parking system, whereby the parking robots facilitate particularly fast travel that is suitable for negotiating inclined planes throughout the parking garage by means of a plurality of parking robots.” (Para 0029)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the parking robot of Tzivanopoulos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “Using a parking robot, vehicles can therefore be moved completely autonomously within the infrastructural environment without any involvement of the driver of the vehicle and irrespective of whether or not the vehicle incorporates, for example, an advanced driver assistance system that is suited for at least partially autonomous parking.” (Tzivanopoulos Para 0003)
Claim(s) 12-13, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirsch (US20130285841) in view of Garcia Ramirez (US20240083414) further in view of Dudar (US20230173937).
Claim 12:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 9. Kirsch further teaches:
wherein the one or more sequences of the one or more instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to generat
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
generate the recommendation for the optimal electric vehicle charging space of the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces based on an analysis of at least one or more of the hardware charging capabilities of the vehicle, the charge profile of the vehicle, the electric vehicle charge point data, the determined one or more electric vehicle charging spaces associated with a minimum level of direct exposure to the Sun, and the determined one or more charging spaces.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
Kirsch does not explicitly teach:
based on analysis of indirect sunlight corresponding to the charging space
Dudar, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle charging, teaches:
based on analysis of indirect sunlight corresponding to the charging space
(Dudar) - “As the vehicle 105 proceeds toward the vehicle parking region 210 with the intent to park the vehicle 105, which of these locations will provide direct sunlight exposure to the vehicle solar array panels 106 for the maximum time during the intended parking duration? The answer may depend on the relative position of the sun (not shown in FIG. 2), which may cast shadow on nearly any of the available parking locations 220-265, depending on the time of year, cloud coverage, and the time of day. Moreover, the surrounding buildings (buildings not shown in FIG. 2) may allow for direct sun exposure, partial sun exposure, or provide full shade to any of the parking locations 270 and 275 along the roadway 205, and/or the available parking locations 220-265.” (Para 0071)
“When the sun shines on a surface, the surface heats it up and tends to store cumulative heat throughout the day. If the surface is asphalt, the surface may heat up even more (e.g., store more thermal energy) than concrete. Earth surfaces may store less energy than concrete, asphalt or stone surfaces. The stored thermal energy may be measurable in terms of surface solar radiance output. As a respective surface receives longer durations of solar exposure, that surface may heat up, store thermal energy, and continue to emit that surface solar radiance output throughout the day, even after the heating cycle has ended (e.g., the sun goes down or the surface falls under shade).” (Para 0072)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the solar radiation mapping method of Dudar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to maximize solar exposure to the vehicle solar power generation system.” (Dudar Para 0015)
Claim 13:
Kirsch teaches the respective limitations of Claim 9. Kirsch further teaches:
wherein the one or more sequences of the one or more instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to generate determine a score associated with each of the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces; and
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“At step 320, a comparison of suitable parking facilities based on anticipated weather conditions, i.e., solar radiation availability, can be performed. At step 322, an analysis of sun blocking foliage and/or adjacent buildings relative to the suitable parking facilities is performed based on solar altitude and azimuth. At step 324, based upon the data obtained in steps 320 and 322, an analysis of whether or not a sufficient charge can be achieved is performed. If a sufficient charge cannot be achieved at any of the suitable parking facilities, step 326 recommends a plug-in parking facility. At step 328, if sufficient charge can be achieved at only one of the suitable parking facilities, a recommendation to park at that preferred parking facility can be made.” (Para 0038)
“If more than one preferred parking facility exists, an analysis of the cost of parking at the more than one preferred parking facility is performed in step 330 and a recommendation of the lowest cost option to achieve satisfactory charging is performed at step 332. At step 334, reserving of a suitable parking spot at a preferred parking facility can be performed.” (Para 0039)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, score may correspond with any criteria used to make a recommendation.
generate the recommendation for the optimal electric vehicle charging space of the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces based on an analysis of at least one or more of the hardware charging capabilities of the vehicle, the charge profile of the vehicle, the electric vehicle charge point data, the determined one or more electric vehicle charging spaces associated with a minimum level of direct exposure to the Sun, and the determined score associated with each of the one or more electric vehicle charging spaces.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“At step 320, a comparison of suitable parking facilities based on anticipated weather conditions, i.e., solar radiation availability, can be performed. At step 322, an analysis of sun blocking foliage and/or adjacent buildings relative to the suitable parking facilities is performed based on solar altitude and azimuth. At step 324, based upon the data obtained in steps 320 and 322, an analysis of whether or not a sufficient charge can be achieved is performed. If a sufficient charge cannot be achieved at any of the suitable parking facilities, step 326 recommends a plug-in parking facility. At step 328, if sufficient charge can be achieved at only one of the suitable parking facilities, a recommendation to park at that preferred parking facility can be made.” (Para 0038)
“If more than one preferred parking facility exists, an analysis of the cost of parking at the more than one preferred parking facility is performed in step 330 and a recommendation of the lowest cost option to achieve satisfactory charging is performed at step 332. At step 334, reserving of a suitable parking spot at a preferred parking facility can be performed.” (Para 0039)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
Kirsch does not explicitly teach:
analyze one or more images that include an aerial view of the one more electric vehicle charging spaces; based on the analysis,
Dudar, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle charging, teaches:
analyze one or more images that include an aerial view of the one more electric vehicle charging spaces; based on the analysis,
(Dudar) - “According to one or more disclosed embodiments, the collaborative solar radiance map system solar radiance map may also be generated by a flying an unmanned aerial vehicle (drone) with onboard temperature or camera sensory capability. The collaborative solar radiance map system may cause the vehicle and/or drone to collect sensory data, and may aggregate drone data with vehicle-generated data.” (Para 0019)
“The sensory system 182 may further include and/or communicate with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 114 disposed onboard the vehicle 105. The UAV 114 may include one or more sensory devices included in the VPS 181, and may provide data associated with an operating environment of the vehicle 105. For example, the UAV 114 may provide surface solar radiance information at or near parking locations” (Para 0059)
“An unmanned aerial vehicle (e.g., the UAV 114) may observe parking locations from above. The collaborative generation solar radiance mapping system 107 may generate the solar radiance dataset and update the dataset in real time. The collaborative generation solar radiance mapping system 107 may also generate a solar radiance map that correlates the solar radiance dataset to localized areas in the vehicle parking region 210 (among other areas).” (Para 0073)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the solar radiation mapping method of Dudar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to maximize solar exposure to the vehicle solar power generation system.” (Dudar Para 0015)
Claim 17:
Kirsch in combination with the references relied upon in claim 16 teach those respective limitations. Kirsch further teaches:
wherein analyzing the one or more parking spaces of the one or more areas includes an analysis of the amount of direct [and indirect sunlight] associated with the one or more parking spaces.
(Kirsch) – “The methodology of the present disclosure can further be utilized to recommend cost effective parking options. For example, it is feasible to identify whether within the set of preferred parking locations, a relevant parking facility is a public (free) or private (pay) facility. A recommended parking facility can then be selected based on the predicted solar charging capabilities and the requirements of the vehicle calculated for each of the two facilities. For example, if it is determined that a free parking facility will provide sufficient, albeit less, solar radiation over the anticipated parking term but will still achieve a satisfactory or full battery charge, the free parking facility can be prioritized ahead of the pay facility.” (Para 0032)
“Turning now to FIG. 4, a flow chart of an exemplary analysis 310 of parking facilities and recommendation of preferred parking location for solar charging of an automotive vehicle is depicted. At step 312, a vehicle operator inputs a desired parking destination and an anticipated length of parking time. At step 314 analysis of weather at the desired parking location is performed, more particularly, the amount of solar radiation available at the desired parking destination is calculated. If it is determined that insufficient solar radiation will be available at the desired parking destination over the anticipated length of parking time to achieve significant charging of the vehicle, step 316 is the recommendation that the vehicle operator park at a location having plug-in availability.” (Para 0036)
“If sufficient solar radiation is expected to be available to achieve substantial battery charging, the process proceeds to step 318 wherein parking facilities having rooftop and/or surface parking spots are identified such that solar radiation can be received by the automotive vehicle. These parking facilities can be categorized suitable park facilities.” (Para 0037)
“Weather information retrieval may also be a feature performed by map database 116. Similarly, map database 116 can reside on the GPS 114.” (Para 0027)
“Data retrieved from map database 116 will further be used by controller 112 to calculate obstacles. More particularly, map database 116 will provide data concerning buildings and/or foliage in the vicinity of the suitable parking facilities. Using time of day and date information, controller 112 can calculate solar altitude and azimuth and predict the amount and duration of shading the buildings and/or foliage will have on the suitable parking facilities.” (Para 0028)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Kirsch does not explicitly teach:
and indirect sunlight
Dudar, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle charging, teaches:
and indirect sunlight
(Dudar) - “As the vehicle 105 proceeds toward the vehicle parking region 210 with the intent to park the vehicle 105, which of these locations will provide direct sunlight exposure to the vehicle solar array panels 106 for the maximum time during the intended parking duration? The answer may depend on the relative position of the sun (not shown in FIG. 2), which may cast shadow on nearly any of the available parking locations 220-265, depending on the time of year, cloud coverage, and the time of day. Moreover, the surrounding buildings (buildings not shown in FIG. 2) may allow for direct sun exposure, partial sun exposure, or provide full shade to any of the parking locations 270 and 275 along the roadway 205, and/or the available parking locations 220-265.” (Para 0071)
“When the sun shines on a surface, the surface heats it up and tends to store cumulative heat throughout the day. If the surface is asphalt, the surface may heat up even more (e.g., store more thermal energy) than concrete. Earth surfaces may store less energy than concrete, asphalt or stone surfaces. The stored thermal energy may be measurable in terms of surface solar radiance output. As a respective surface receives longer durations of solar exposure, that surface may heat up, store thermal energy, and continue to emit that surface solar radiance output throughout the day, even after the heating cycle has ended (e.g., the sun goes down or the surface falls under shade).” (Para 0072)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the solar charged vehicle of Kirsch with the solar radiation mapping method of Dudar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order “to maximize solar exposure to the vehicle solar power generation system.” (Dudar Para 0015)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 rejections mailed 09/08/2025 have been considered but are not convincing. Specifically, all claims are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 at least over Kirsch in view of Garcia Ramirez as necessitated by amendment. Examiner maintains that Garcia Ramirez resolves any alleged deficiencies of the prior art as fully evidenced in the updated rejection rationale.
Therefore, all outstanding claims remain rejected over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658