DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 06/14/2024 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-18 have been canceled. New claims 19-38 have been added and are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 06/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy accompanies this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/14/2024 have been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-25 and 27-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,046,420 B2 (hereinafter US’420). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US’420 discloses an engineered material comprises a first layer comprising graphene formed from a graphene precursor and a second layer comprising glassy carbon formed from a glassy carbon precursor wherein the first layer is applied on top of the second layer (See claims 1 and 9 of US’420). US’420 anticipates the claimed invention.
Claims 19-30, 33, 34, and 36-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 7-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,515,099 B2 (hereinafter US’099). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US’099 discloses an engineered material comprises a first layer comprising graphene and a second layer comprising glassy carbon wherein the first layer is applied on top of the second layer (See claims 1-2 of US’099). US’099 anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by an article to “Composite materials {glassy carbon/graphene/zero-valent metal (Pd0)} for building three-dimensional redox electrodes” (hereinafter Jouikov).
Regarding claims 19 and 27, Jouikov discloses a graphene layer on a glassy carbon layer useful as an electrode (See Abstract; Page 36, Scheme 1; Conclusion Section). The graphene layer is inherently formed from a graphene precursor and meets the claimed first layer. The glassy carbon is inherently formed from a glassy carbon precursor and meets the claimed second layer. Jouikov discloses a structure having the graphene layer (claimed first layer) is applied on top of the glassy carbon layer (claimed second layer) as claimed. Therefore, the electrode of Jouikov meets the claimed engineered material.
Regarding claim 20, Jouikov discloses a substrate including silicon carbide paper (See page 35, right column, 2nd full paragraph). The silicon carbide paper of Jouikov fulfills the claimed third layer comprising a silicon substrate.
Regarding claim 21, the graphene layer on a glassy carbon layer of Jouikov is formed on silicon carbide paper substrate (See page 35, left column, 2nd full paragraph). Thus, the glassy carbon layer (claimed second layer) on a silicon substrate (claimed third substrate).
Regarding claims 22-25, Jouikov discloses that the electrode (claimed engineered material) is useful in electrochemical and energy-related fields (See page 35, left column). The electrochemical and energy-related fields encompasses of energy storage device and capacitor as recited in claims 22-23. These devices are commonly known to have two electrodes (cathode and anode) in contact with an electrolyte as recited in claim 24. Thus, the outer most layer of the electrode, i.e., claimed first layer of graphene, is in contact with the electrolyte as recited in claim 25.
The reference specifically or inherently meets each of the claimed limitations in their broadest interpretations. The reference is anticipatory.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26 and 28-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 34-38 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: currently, there is no prior art alone or in combination that teaches or fairly suggests a method for fabricating an engineered material to form the claimed structure as recited in claim 34. Therefore, claim 34 is allowable over the prior art of record.
Claims 35-38 directly or in indirectly depend from claim 24 and are allowable based on their dependencies.
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761