DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 9 states “One or more computer-readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers” and does not claim a non-transitory embodiment. Examiner Note; Applicant can amend to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim (i.e. A non-transitory one or more computer-readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers …”), such an amendment would not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent, unless the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20230343029 A1) in view of Zhang (US 20210326721 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method comprising: obtaining geological composition data from at least one drilled well within a geographical area (obtaining new borehole data of a plurality of boreholes at the geographic site and/or new trusted geological data associated with the geographic site). (Paragraphs 30, 102)
Wang also teaches generating preprocessed data using at least one of (i) the obtained geological composition data (the processing in step 1602 includes applying the borehole data and the trusted geological data to a 3D coordinate system) or (ii) an image representing the geographical area that preserves first spatial data. (Paragraphs 17, 19-20, 103-104, 122)
Wang also teaches providing the preprocessed data to one or more machine learning models (machine-learning-based model), wherein the one or more machine learning models are trained to predict trend mappings of facies using second spatial data or location-based data (2D cross-sections of the slices are sequentially predicted) (As the spatial prediction proceeds, stratigraphic connectivity extracted from the 2D perpendicular training images are gradually added to the 3D point cloud). (Paragraphs 108, 120, 122, 137-138 Figs.16-17)
Wang does not explicitly teach controlling a drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models.
Zhang teaches controlling a drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models (generating an earth model based on output values from the candidate machine learning model, and adjusting a drilling operation according to the earth model). (Paragraphs 12-13, Figs.2A-2B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Wang to incorporate controlling a drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models in order to adjust a relative contribution of each input variable to the overall model and effectively use earth models that are updated during drilling, conventional and time-consuming processes to convert data between domains of time and depth can be avoided.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches wherein obtaining the geological composition data from the at least one drilled well within the geographical area comprises: obtaining data collected during or after drilling in the geographical area. (Paragraphs 15, 17, 102)
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches wherein generating the preprocessed data comprises: generating a structured data container with two data dimensions, wherein the two dimensions match the dimensions of the image representing the geographical area. (Paragraphs 14-15, 104-108)
Wang also teaches sampling values from at least one of (i) the obtained geological composition data or (ii) the image representing the geographical area. (Paragraphs 104-108)
Wang also teaches generating values for each of element of the generated structured data container using the sampled values from at least one of (i) the obtained geological composition data or (ii) the image representing the geographical area. (Paragraphs 111, 20, Claims 1, 15)
Regarding claim 4, Wang does not explicitly teach wherein generating the preprocessed data comprises: determining a quality of the image representing the geographical area; and adjusting, based on the determined quality, the image representing the geographical area.
Zhang teaches wherein generating the preprocessed data comprises: determining a quality of the image representing the geographical area; and adjusting, based on the determined quality, the image representing the geographical area. (Paragraph 86, Fig.6)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Wang to incorporate wherein generating the preprocessed data comprises: determining a quality of the image representing the geographical area; and adjusting, based on the determined quality, the image representing the geographical area in order to for the processing system to output the intended prediction.
Regarding claim 5, Wang does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models comprises: providing data indicating the output of the one or more trained machine learning models to one or more computers controlling the drilling mechanism.
Zhang teaches wherein controlling the drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models comprises: providing data indicating the output of the one or more trained machine learning models to one or more computers controlling the drilling mechanism. (Paragraphs 89, 12-14, Fig.7)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Wang to incorporate wherein controlling the drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models comprises: providing data indicating the output of the one or more trained machine learning models to one or more computers controlling the drilling mechanism in order to adjust a relative contribution of each input variable to the overall model and effectively use earth models that are updated during drilling, conventional and time-consuming processes to convert data between domains of time and depth can be avoided.
Regarding claim 6, Wang does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models comprises: adjusting a steering direction or operation of the drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models.
Zhang teaches wherein controlling the drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models comprises: adjusting a steering direction or operation of the drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models. (Paragraphs 89, 12-14, 28, 42, Fig.7)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Wang to incorporate wherein controlling the drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models comprises: adjusting a steering direction or operation of the drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models in order to adjust a relative contribution of each input variable to the overall model and effectively use earth models that are updated during drilling, conventional and time-consuming processes to convert data between domains of time and depth can be avoided.
Regarding claim 7, Wang does not explicitly teach training the one or more machine learning models to predict trend mappings of facies using ground truth data generated by object modeling.
Zhang teaches training the one or more machine learning models to predict trend mappings of facies using ground truth data generated by object modeling. (Paragraph 86, Fig.6)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Wang to incorporate training the one or more machine learning models to predict trend mappings of facies using ground truth data generated by object modeling in order to for the processing system to output the intended prediction.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches wherein the second spatial data includes the first spatial data. (Paragraphs 16-17, 138, Claims 10-11)
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches One or more computer-readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: obtaining geological composition data from at least one drilled well within a geographical area (obtaining new borehole data of a plurality of boreholes at the geographic site and/or new trusted geological data associated with the geographic site). (Abstract, Paragraphs 30, 102)
Wang also teaches generating preprocessed data using at least one of (i) the obtained geological composition data (the processing in step 1602 includes applying the borehole data and the trusted geological data to a 3D coordinate system) or (ii) an image representing the geographical area that preserves first spatial data. (Paragraphs 17, 19-20, 103-104, 122)
Wang also teaches providing the preprocessed data to one or more machine learning models (machine-learning-based model), wherein the one or more machine learning models are trained to predict trend mappings of facies using second spatial data or location-based data (2D cross-sections of the slices are sequentially predicted) (As the spatial prediction proceeds, stratigraphic connectivity extracted from the 2D perpendicular training images are gradually added to the 3D point cloud). (Paragraphs 108, 120, 122, 137-138 Figs.16-17)
Wang does not explicitly teach controlling a drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models.
Zhang teaches controlling a drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models (generating an earth model based on output values from the candidate machine learning model, and adjusting a drilling operation according to the earth model). (Paragraphs 12-13, Figs.2A-2B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Wang to incorporate controlling a drilling mechanism using the output of the one or more trained machine learning models in order to adjust a relative contribution of each input variable to the overall model and effectively use earth models that are updated during drilling, conventional and time-consuming processes to convert data between domains of time and depth can be avoided.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, the claims disclose substantially the same limitations, as claim 2. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claims 10 and 17, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claims 10 and 17 are rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 2.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, the claims disclose substantially the same limitations, as claim 3. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claims 11 and 18, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claims 11 and 18 are rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 3.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, the claims disclose substantially the same limitations, as claim 4. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claims 12 and 19, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claims 12 and 19 are rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 4.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, the claims disclose substantially the same limitations, as claim 5. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claims 13 and 20, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claims 13 and 20 are rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 6. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 14, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 7. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 15, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 9. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 16, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 9.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645