DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 10/07/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) The dimensions in both Claim 11 & Claim 12 do not specify what direction the dimensions are for. For the purposes of examination, “0.1 mm and 1.0 mm” has been construed to be 0.1-1.0mm thick, and “0.25mm” has been construed to be 0.25 mm thick.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 & 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 4,957,036 to Fujihara.
A) As per Claims 1, 14-15 & 18, Fujihara teaches an air register (Fujihara: Figure 8) comprising:
an air vent housing (Fujihara: Figures 8, Item 1) that defines an inlet that is fluidically coupled to an outlet via a cavity; and
an airflow redirector assembly positioned at the outlet and configured to adjust airflow from the cavity along an axis, wherein the airflow redirector assembly comprises
a first frame (Fujihara: Figure 8, Items 3 with portion of Item 1 connecting ends of Items 3), a second frame (Fujihara: Figure 8, Item 9) configured to translate relative to the first frame along the axis, and a plurality of flexible vanes (Fujihara: Figure 8, Items 2) that are coupled to each of the first frame and the second frame,
wherein each of the plurality of flexible vanes is configured to flex when the second frame translates relative to the first frame (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37), and
wherein the first airflow redirector assembly is configured to rotate about relative to the air vent housing about an axis of rotation that is parallel to the axis (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
B) As per Claims 2, 16 & 19, Fujihara teaches that each of the plurality of flexible vanes includes a first end that is fixedly coupled to the first frame (Fujihara: Figure 8, upper end of Item 2 attached to Item 3) and a second end that is slidingly coupled to the second frame (Fujihara: Figure 8, lower part of Item 2 attached to Item 11 with Item 5).
C) As per Claims 3, 17 & 20, Fujihara teaches that the second end of each of the plurality of flexible vanes is sandwiched between a set of nibs formed in or on the second frame (Fujihara: Figure 8, Item 5 is sandwiched between nibs forming each slot 11).
D) As per Claim 4, Fujihara teaches that the second frame is configured to translate relative to the first frame between a first extreme and a second extreme via a neutral position (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
E) As per Claim 5, Fujihara teaches that the plurality of flexible vanes is configured to direct airflow in a first direction along the axis when the second frame is positioned at the first extreme (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
F) As per Claim 6, Fujihara teaches that the plurality of flexible vanes is configured to direct airflow in a second direction along the axis that is opposite the first direction when the second frame is positioned at the second extreme (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
G) As per Claim 7, Fujihara teaches that the plurality of flexible vanes is linear when the second frame is positioned at the neutral position (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
H) As per Claim 8, Fujihara teaches that the plurality of flexible vanes is curved when the second frame is positioned at the first extreme or at the second extreme (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
I) As per Claim 9, Fujihara teaches that the second frame is configured to translate relative to the first frame via a third frame that is fixedly coupled to said first frame (Fujihara: Figure 8, Item 6 & 17) Col. 9, lines 10-37).
J) As per Claim 10, Fujihara teaches that the third frame defines one or more channels configured to receive at least a part of the second frame (Fujihara: Figure 8, channel Item 9 fits into on rear of Item 6 between Items 17).
K) As per Claim 13, Fujihara teaches that a second airflow redirector assembly configured to adjust the airflow along a second axis that is transverse to said axis (Fujihara: Figure 8, Items 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujihara.
A) As per Claims 11-12, Fujihara teaches all the limitations except explicitly that each of the plurality of flexible vanes is about 0.25 mm.
However, However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the thickness about 0.25mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (thin louvers), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that thickness is a result effective variable because the thinner, the more flexible but the thicker, the stronger and more robust the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the thickness 0.25mm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All of the following documents teach flexible louver systems.
A) US Patent Number 5,238,448 to Komori
B) US Patent Number 5,176,571 to Fujihara
C) US Patent Number 5,129,858 to Komori
D) US Patent Number 5,056,420 to Komori
E) US Patent Number 2,735,351 to Abrahamsen
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762