Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any references (QIN 20200349953) and (Diamant 20190341050) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to teach the limitation
“Assigning respective indicators to the plurality of text strings based on the plurality of speaker identities, wherein text strings associated with one speaker are assigned to the same indicator and each respective indicator being a unique speaker color”
After further search and consideration, it was found that prior art DeLuca -20200145536 teaches Assigning respective indicators to the plurality of text strings based on the plurality of speaker identities, wherein text strings associated with one speaker are assigned to the same indicator and each respective indicator being a unique speaker color”
See below for detailed explanation In paragraph 0028-0030 Deluca teaches identifying speakers in a teleconference by analyzing voice data and speech patterns, tagging each unique speaker voice, associating those tagged voices with participant identities or participant data, and automatically inserting speaker indicators into text notes while the teleconferences occurs.
Deluca further discloses that the speaker indicator can be a text color or background color, and a consistent color may be assigned to each speaker, such that text entered while a particular speaker is displayed with that speaker’s assigned color. See paragraph 0028 -“consider a conference call with three participants, Anna, Bob, and Chris. Anna might speak first and be tagged as “voice 1”. An embodiment notifies the writing system that “voice 1” is speaking, triggering text to be displayed in color 1—perhaps black—as the user types text. If Bob speaks next and is tagged as “voice 2”, the embodiment notifies the writing system that “voice 2” is speaking, triggering text to be displayed in color 2—perhaps blue—as the user types text. If Anna then responds, the embodiment triggers a text color change back to color 1. If Chris speaks next and is tagged as “voice 3”, the embodiment triggers a third text color change to color 3—perhaps red.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin 20200349953 in view of Diamant (20190341050) and further in view of DeLuca (US20200145536)
Qin discloses a computer-implemented method for automatic conversation transcription, (Section 0001 conversation and generate speaker transcript) comprising:
receiving audio streams from at least one audio source (Section 0031, lines 3-6 “receive audio streams” Fig. 5 section 510);
generating speech based on voice activity detection; (Section 0086 lines 12-14 “speech recognition and generate transcript” and Section 0090 lines 6-8 “voice activity detection)
generating a plurality of text strings by transcribing the speech segments with a speech recognition system; (Section 0029, lines 3-6 “generating transcript from recognizing speech from users speaking from the meeting” Section 0051 also talks about generating a transcript of the ad-hoc meeting)
determining a plurality of speaker identities associated with the plurality of text strings based on a speaker diarization model; (Section 0091, lines 1-3 speaker diarization modules receives and a third operation assigns a speaker ID which results in an assignment of a speaker label)
assigning respective indicators to the plurality of text strings based on the plurality of speaker identities, wherein text strings associated with one speaker are assigned to the same indicator; (Section 0091 lines 14-16 the speaker labels and speaker embeddings which recognized each word of the top SR hypothesis) and
generating a transcript by combining the plurality of text strings associated with the respective indicators, (Section 0136 lines 4-8 the transcript is generated prior to translating the transcript)
wherein the speaker diarization model is configured to utilize one or more diarization factors comprising audio channel data to determine the plurality of speaker identities. (Section 0121 audio and video channels are used to attribute speech to users for creating diarized transcript)
Qin fails to clearly disclose generating a voice segment by segmenting the audio streams.
Diamant discloses transcription of conference using a computerized intelligent assistant that generates a voice segment by segmenting the audio streams. (Section 0053, this section talks about a speech recognition machine that translates signal into text “Shall we play a game?” See the screenshot below)
Therefore, it will be obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of generating segments based on speech recognition or voice detection. The motivation is that it makes analyzing voice activity effective.
Qin in view of Diamant fails to disclose wherein each respective indicator being a unique speaker color”
DeLuca discloses wherein each respective indicator being a unique speaker color”
(The speaker indicator can be a text color or background color, and that a consistent color may be assigned to each speaker, such that text entered while a particular speaker is speaking is displayed with that speaker’s assigned color. See paragraphs 0028-0030).
Therefore, it will be obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of using specific colors to identify speakers within a conference. The motivation is that it makes it easier for conference participants to be identified.
Claim 2, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses when the one or more diarization factors comprise speech feature vectors data, (Qin: embedding feature in Section 0091 lines 8-9) the computer-implemented method further comprising:
determining the distance between the speech feature vectors of a group of speech segments is below a threshold; (Qin: Section 0091, lines 11-14 “cosine similarity, negative Euclidian distance” ) and
clustering the group of speech segments by assigning the same indicator to the group of speech segments. (Qin: Section 0091, lines 8-10 agglomerative clustering)
Claim 3, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses wherein the one or more diarization factors comprise acoustic beamforming data. (Qin: Section 0095, lines 1-3 agnostic beam forming)
Claim 5, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising timestamping the plurality of text strings according to a common clock;
storing the timestamps associated with the text strings; (Qin: Section 0100, Each utterance is assigned to a universal timestamp, associated speaker, associated text and an associated audio segment)
receiving a request from an editing application to play audio corresponding to a text string; and playing audio beginning at the timestamp corresponding to the requested text string. (Qin: Section 0100, lines 3-9 the media in the chat are associated to the transcript inline through a timestamp)
Claim 6, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising displaying, on a screen, the transcript; and automatically scrolling through the plurality of text strings associated with audio streams being played. (Qin: Section 0135, the translated transcript is provided to a device for example a text displayed on a display, Also see Section 0043)
Claim 7, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising receiving video streams associated with the at least one audio source. (Qin: Section 0058, lines 11-13 a meeting assistance type of device in a conference room or video camera having a field of view of a meeting)
Claim 8, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses wherein the one or more diarization factors comprise speaker visual data. (Qin: Section 0121 audio and video channels are used to attribute speech to users for creating diarized transcript)
Claim 9, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising displaying, on a screen, video streams accompanying the audio streams capturing screenshots of video streams accompanying the audio streams; (Qin: video or still images described in Section 0108 reads on the captured screenshots) and
generating the transcript by combining the plurality of text strings associated with the respective indicators and the screenshots based on the timestamps. (Qin: Section 0100, lines 1-7 thus transcript inline through a timestamp to the whole meeting)
Claim 10, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca further comprising displaying, on the screen, the screenshots of video streams in a grid, wherein the screenshots of video streams are configured to associate with corresponding text strings and to represent the content of the video streams; (Qin: Section 0055, lines 5-7 performing image recognition on images from video signals. This means the captured video can be used as a video stream)
receiving a selection of a screenshot in the grid; displaying the corresponding text strings based on the selected screenshot; and playing audio associated with the corresponding text strings. (Diamant: Looking at figs, 1, 4 and 5 shows a screenshots of the users and it can be used for playbacks)
Claim 11, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising: capturing a plurality of screenshots of video streams with respective timestamps based on a common clock; (Qin, Section 0100 , lines 1-7 a picture of a whiteboard can be captured and uploaded at time t where time t is the timestamps)
generating a plurality of animated video files based on the plurality of screenshots; (Qin, Section 0118, a camera providing video of at least one of the users reads on animated video files)
displaying, on the screen, the plurality of animated videos in a grid, wherein the animated video are configured to associate with corresponding text strings and to represent the content of the video streams; (Diamant: Section 0061, Transcriptions includes information such as times each speech utterance)
Fig 10 shows a display of video of the speakers with the transcript of their corresponding text string. That represent the content of the video streams.
receiving a selection of an animated video file in the grid; playing the selected animated video file on the screen; playing audio associated with the selected animated video file; and (Qin, Section 0043 lines 3-4 streaming audio and/or video from a camera distributed to a meeting server reads on playing audio and video file)
displaying, on the screen, the corresponding text strings based on the selected animated video file. (Diamant: Section 0061 fig. 10 shows conference transcript that includes text attributed and the times of each speech utterance or the position of the speaker of each utterance)
Claim 12, Qin discloses a computer-implemented method for automatic conversation transcription, (Section 0001 conversation and generate speaker transcript) comprising:
receiving audio streams from at least one audio source; (Section 0031, lines 3-6 “receive audio streams” Fig. 5 section 510);
generating a plurality of text strings by transcribing the audio streams with a speech recognition system; (Section 0086 lines 12-14 “speech recognition and generate transcript” and Section 0090 lines 6-8 “voice activity detection)
determining a plurality of speaker identities associated with the plurality of text strings based on a speaker diarization model; (Section 0029, lines 3-6 “generating transcript from recognizing speech from users speaking from the meeting” Section 0051 also talks about generating a transcript of the ad-hoc meeting)
assigning respective indicators to the plurality of text strings based on the plurality of speaker identities, wherein text strings associated with one speaker are assigned to the same indicator; (Section 0091 lines 14-16 the speaker labels and speaker embeddings which recognized each word of the top SR hypothesis)
generating a transcript by combining the plurality of text strings associated with the respective indicators, (Section 0136 lines 4-8 the transcript is generated prior to translating the transcript)
wherein the speaker diarization model is configured to utilize one or more diarization factors comprising audio channel data to determine the plurality of speaker identities. (Section 0121 audio and video channels are used to attribute speech to users for creating diarized transcript)
Qin fails to clearly disclose generating a voice segments by segmenting the audio streams.
Diamant discloses transcription of conference using a computerized intelligent assistant that generates a voice segments by segmenting the audio streams. (Section 0053, this section talk about a speech recognition machine that translates signal into text “Shall we play a game?” See the screenshot below)
Therefore it will be obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of generating segments based on speech recognition or voice detection. The motivation is that it makes analyzing voice activity effective.
Qin in view of Diamant fails to disclose wherein each respective indicator being a unique speaker color”
DeLuca discloses wherein each respective indicator being a unique speaker color”
(The speaker indicator can be a text color or background color, and that a consistent color may be assigned to each speaker, such that text entered while a particular speaker is speaking is displayed with that speaker’s assigned color. See paragraphs 0028-0030).
Therefore, it will be obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of using specific colors to identify speakers within a conference. The motivation is that it makes it easier for conference participants to be identified.
Claim 14, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising:
generating speech segments by segmenting the audio streams, wherein the segmenting is based on voice activity detection. (Diamant: Section 0053, this section talk about a speech recognition machine that translates signal into text “Shall we play a game?” See the screenshot below)
timestamping the plurality of text strings according to a common clock. storing the timestamps associated with the text strings; receiving a request from an editing application to play audio corresponding to a text string; (Qin: Section 0100, Each utterance is assigned a universal timestamp, associated speaker, associated text and an associated audio segment)
and playing audio beginning at the timestamp corresponding to the requested text string.(Qin: Section 0100, lines 3-9 the media in the chat are associated to the transcript inline through a timestamp)
Claim 15, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising displaying the transcript on a screen; and automatically scrolling through the plurality of text strings associated with audio streams being played. (Qin: Section 0135, the translated transcript is provided to a device for example a text displayed on a display, Also see Section 0043)
Claim 16, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising receiving video streams associated with at least one audio source. (Qin: video or still images described in Section 0108 reads on the captured screenshots)
Claim 17, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses wherein the one or more diarization factors comprise speaker visual data. (Qin: Section 0121 audio and video channels are used to attribute speech to users for creating diarized transcripts)
Claim 18, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses comprising displaying, on a screen, video streams accompanying the audio streams; (Diamant: Fig. 10 shows audio streams)
capturing screenshots of video streams accompanying the audio streams; (Qin: video or still images described in Section 0108 reads on the captured screenshots) and
generating the transcript by combining the plurality of text strings associated with the respective indicators and the screenshots based on the timestamps. (Qin: Section 0100, lines 1-7 thus transcript inline through a timestamp to the whole meeting)
Claim 19, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising:
displaying, on the screen, the screenshots of video streams in a grid, wherein the screenshots of video streams are configured to associate with corresponding text strings and to represent the content of the video streams; (Qin: Section 0055, lines 5-7 performing image recognition on images from video signals. This means the captured video can be used as a video stream)
receiving a selection of a screenshot in the grid; displaying the corresponding text strings based on the selected screenshot; and playing audio associated with the corresponding text strings. (Diamant: Looking at figs, 1, 4 and 5 shows a screenshot of the users and it can be used for playbacks)
Claim 20, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca discloses further comprising capturing a plurality of screenshots of video streams with respective timestamps based on a common clock; (Qin, Section 0100 , lines 1-7 a picture of a whiteboard can be captured and uploaded at time t where time t is the timestamps)
generating a plurality of animated video files based on the plurality of screenshots; (Qin, Section 0118, a camera providing video of at least one of the users reads on animated video files)
and displaying, on the screen, the plurality of animated videos in a grid, wherein the animated video are configured to associate with corresponding text strings and to represent the content of the video streams; (Diamant: Section 0061, Transcriptions includes information such as times each speech utterance)
Fig 10 shows a display of video of the speakers with the transcript of their corresponding text string. That represent the content of the video streams.
receiving a selection of an animated video file in the grid; playing the selected animated video file on the screen; playing audio associated with the selected animated video file; (Qin, Section 0043 lines 3-4 streaming audio and/or video from a camera distributed to a meeting server reads on playing audio and video file)
and displaying, on the screen, the corresponding text strings based on the selected animated video file. (Diamant: Section 0061 fig. 10 shows conference transcript that includes text attributed and the times of each speech utterance or the position of the speaker of each utterance).
Claim(s) 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin 20200349953 in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca (20200145536) as applied to claim 1-3, 5-12 and 14-20 above, and further in view of Gauci (20170011740)
Claim 4, Qin in view of Diamant discloses further comprising speech segment (See Diamant Section 0053)
Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca fails to disclose embedding hyperlinks within the plurality of text strings, wherein the hyperlinks are associated with corresponding speech segments of the audio streams; and
enabling, by receiving a selected hyperlink associated with a speech segment, a playback of relevant audio streams.
Gauci discloses embedding hyperlinks within the plurality of text strings, wherein the hyperlinks are associated with corresponding speech segments of the audio streams; (Section 0017 lines 19-23 during transcription certain portions of text may be replaced with hyperlinks or references associated with the text ( e.g Maps, phone number and web elements) and
enabling, by receiving a selected hyperlink associated with a speech segment, a playback of relevant audio streams. (Section 0017, certain portion of the text is replaced with hyperlinks and therefore reads on selected hyperlink)
Therefore, it will be obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of generating segments based on speech recognition or voice detection. The motivation is that it makes analyzing voice activity effective.
Claim 13, Qin in view of Diamant and further in view of DeLuca and further in view of Gauci discloses further comprising:
generating speech segments by segmenting the audio streams, wherein the segmenting is based on voice activity detection.
embedding hyperlinks within the plurality of text strings, wherein the hyperlinks are associated with corresponding speech segments of the audio streams; (Gauci: Section 0017 lines 19-23 during transcription certain portions of text may be replaced with hyperlinks or references associated with the text (e.g. Maps, phone number and web elements) and
enabling, by receiving a selected hyperlink associated with a speech segment, a playback of relevant audio streams. (Gauci: Section 0017, certain portion of the text is replaced with hyperlinks and therefore reads on selected hyperlink)
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Trim discloses a conference call system can determine speaker fluency level of a particular language (e.g., first language) using various machine learning techniques contemplated herein (e.g., RNN, LSTM, and CNN). In these embodiments, conference call system can observe one or more speaker attributes in voice data of speaker during the conference call. Conference call system can further analyze the one or more speaker attributes. Analyzing, using various machine learning techniques can allow conference call system to properly determine whether the one or more speaker attributes observed are indicative of a high fluency level, a low fluency level, or somewhere in between a low and high fluency level. In embodiments, conference call system can compare the one or more speaker attributes of speaker to a historical repository of speaker attributes. By comparing the one or more speaker attributes to a historical repository of speaker attributes, we can allow conference call system to properly determine the fluency level associated with known speaker attributes
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 8/22/2026