DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 8, 15 are each directed to an apparatus, which is considered a machine. A machine is defined as “a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices” (MPEP 2106). However, the body of each claim contains no clear structure or elements. Instead, the components are mentioned in the preamble of each claim. In addition, the body of each claim is a series of steps.
Claims 2-7 depend from claim 1, claims 9-14 depend from claim 8, and claims 16-20 depend from claim 15; therefore, they contain the same problem explained above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (PG Pub US 2023/0164772 A1) in view of Wang et al. (PG Pub US 2021/0360603 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor coupled with a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, where when the instructions executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform a method (figs. 4, 9).
scheduling a data transmission (“the base station 102 may schedule the uplink transmission and the sidelink transmission” [0070]) between the apparatus (base station 102, fig. 4) and a first user equipment (UE) (UEs 104a or 104b, fig. 4) at least partially via at least one other UE (UEs 104a or 104b, fig. 4); and
transmitting a control signal for the first UE and the at least one other UE, the control signal carrying scheduling information of the scheduled data transmission between the apparatus and the first UE at least partially via the at least one other UE (“The joint scheduling component 198 may transmit a joint grant 420 on a PDCCH to schedule both the uplink transmission 426 and the sidelink transmission 436” [0070], “The joint scheduling component 198 may also transmit a grant 422 to the UE 104b for receiving the sidelink transmission (e.g., when operating in sidelink mode 1)” [0071]).
However, Cao does not explicitly disclose at least partially via the at least one other UE.
Nevertheless, Wang discloses “the base station may utilize other UEs, e.g., UE2 and UE3, to perform multi-TRP sidelink transmissions to relay the packets to the first UE” [0033], “the base station 602 may transmit communication to one or more UEs 604b and 604c near the target UE 604a for relaying the communication to the target UE 604a over a sidelink” [0073].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to schedule at least partially via the at least one other UE because “A base station may coordinate multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) to relay communication over sidelink to one or more UEs” [0033].
Regarding claim 2, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses transmitting at least a first portion of data to the at least one other UE based on the scheduling information for the at least one other UE (“receiving the downlink transmission from the base station on the third set of resources and the sidelink reception from the other UE on the fourth set of resources” [0082], “scheduling a joint transmission on a Uu link and a sidelink” [0083]). Further, Wang discloses to forward to the first UE (“the base station 602 may transmit communication to one or more UEs 604b and 604c near the target UE 604a for relaying the communication to the target UE 604a over a sidelink” [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses transmitting at least a second portion of the data to the first UE based on the scheduling information (“receiving the downlink transmission from the base station on the third set of resources and the sidelink reception from the other UE on the fourth set of resources” [0082], “scheduling a joint transmission on a Uu link and a sidelink” [0083]).
Regarding claim 4, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses receiving at least a first portion of data of the first UE from the at least one other UE based on the scheduling information (“receiving the downlink transmission from the base station on the third set of resources and the sidelink reception from the other UE on the fourth set of resources” [0082], “scheduling a joint transmission on a Uu link and a sidelink” [0083]).
Regarding claim 5, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses receiving a second portion of data from the first UE based on the scheduling information (“receiving the downlink transmission from the base station on the third set of resources and the sidelink reception from the other UE on the fourth set of resources” [0082], “scheduling a joint transmission on a Uu link and a sidelink” [0083]). Further, Wang discloses combining the at least first portion of data and the second portion of data (“the second UE 604b (or other TRP) is in, or near, a helping group of devices that are able to facilitate communication between the base station 602 and the target UE 604a. Accordingly, in FIG. 6, the second UE 604b may help or assist the target UE 604a by forwarding or retransmitting data received from the base station 602 to the target UE 604a through the sidelink 608” [0072], [0107]).
Regarding claim 8, Cao discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor coupled with a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, where when the instructions executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform a method (figs. 4, 8).
receiving a control signal from one or more RAN nodes of a RAN (base station 102, fig. 4), the control signal carrying scheduling information for data transmissions between a source node and a destination node (“The joint scheduling component 198 may transmit a joint grant 420 on a PDCCH to schedule both the uplink transmission 426 and the sidelink transmission 436” [0070], “The joint scheduling component 198 may also transmit a grant 422 to the UE 104b for receiving the sidelink transmission (e.g., when operating in sidelink mode 1)” [0071]);
after decoding the control signal (“decoded and deinterleaved to recover the data and control signals that were originally transmitted by the base station” [0056]); and
receiving data based on the scheduling information (“For a UE 104 (e.g., UE 104b) receiving a sidelink transmission (e.g., sidelink reception 440), the joint scheduling component 198 may schedule a third set of resources 550 for a downlink reception and a fourth set of resources 530 for a sidelink transmission from a set of common resources 542” [0076]).
However, Cao does not explicitly disclose determining that the source node and the destination node indicated in the scheduling information carried in the control signal are different from the apparatus.
Nevertheless, Wang discloses “the base station transmits communication for a target UE to multiple TRPs, such as multiple other UEs, for relaying the communication to the target UE over a sidelink” [0095], “the base station 602 may transmit communication to one or more UEs 604b and 604c near the target UE 604a for relaying the communication to the target UE 604a over a sidelink” [0073], “The TCI state indications may include indications to the target UE and/or the relay UEs” [0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine that the source node and the destination node indicated in the scheduling information carried in the control signal are different from the apparatus because “A base station may coordinate multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) to relay communication over sidelink to one or more UEs” [0033].
Regarding claim 9, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses receiving the data from a second UE based on the scheduling information (“receive a sidelink reception 440 associated with the downlink transmission on the PSSCH .. the sidelink transmission from another UE (e.g., UE 104a) on a fourth set or resources” [0072]); and transmitting the received data to the one or more RAN nodes of the RAN based on the scheduling information (“uplink transmission on a Uu link with a base station” [0078]). Further, Wang discloses transmitting the received data (“the second UE 604b may help or assist the target UE 604a by forwarding or retransmitting data” [0072], “The UE 104 may also transmit a beamformed signal to the base station 180” [0046] and vice versa).
Regarding claim 10, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses receiving the data from the one or more RAN nodes of the RAN based on the scheduling information; and transmitting the received data to a second UE (“For a UE 104 (e.g., UE 104b) receiving a sidelink transmission (e.g., sidelink reception 440), the joint scheduling component 198 may schedule a third set of resources 550 for a downlink reception and a fourth set of resources 530 for a sidelink transmission from a set of common resources 542” [0076]).
Regarding claim 11, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses the control signal comprises a PDCCH signal carrying the scheduling information (“The joint scheduling component 198 may transmit a joint grant 420 on a PDCCH to schedule both the uplink transmission 426 and the sidelink transmission 436” [0070]).
Regarding claim 15, Cao discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor coupled with a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, where when the instructions executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform a method (figs. 4, 8).
receiving a control signal from one or more RAN nodes of a RAN (base station 102, fig. 4), the control signal carrying scheduling information for data transmission between the apparatus and the one or more RAN nodes of the RAN at least partially via at least one other UE (“The joint scheduling component 198 may transmit a joint grant 420 on a PDCCH to schedule both the uplink transmission 426 and the sidelink transmission 436” [0070], “The joint scheduling component 198 may also transmit a grant 422 to the UE 104b for receiving the sidelink transmission (e.g., when operating in sidelink mode 1)” [0071]); and
transmitting or receiving at least a first portion of data to or from the at least one other UE (“For a UE 104 (e.g., UE 104a) transmitting an uplink transmission 426 and a sidelink transmission 436, a transmission gap 512 may separate a first set of resources 520 for the uplink transmission 426 from a second set of resources 510 for the sidelink transmission 436” [0075], “For a UE 104 (e.g., UE 104b) receiving a sidelink transmission (e.g., sidelink reception 440), the joint scheduling component 198 may schedule a third set of resources 550 for a downlink reception and a fourth set of resources 530 for a sidelink transmission from a set of common resources 542” [0076]).
However, Cao does not explicitly disclose at least partially via the at least one other UE.
Nevertheless, Wang discloses “the base station may utilize other UEs, e.g., UE2 and UE3, to perform multi-TRP sidelink transmissions to relay the packets to the first UE” [0033], “the base station 602 may transmit communication to one or more UEs 604b and 604c near the target UE 604a for relaying the communication to the target UE 604a over a sidelink” [0073].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to schedule at least partially via the at least one other UE because “A base station may coordinate multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) to relay communication over sidelink to one or more UEs” [0033].
Regarding claim 16, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses receiving the at least first portion of data from the at least one other UE based on the scheduling information (“For a UE 104 (e.g., UE 104b) receiving a sidelink transmission (e.g., sidelink reception 440), the joint scheduling component 198 may schedule a third set of resources 550 for a downlink reception and a fourth set of resources 530 for a sidelink transmission from a set of common resources 542” [0076]).
Regarding claim 17, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses receiving a second portion of data from the one or more RAN nodes of the RAN based on the scheduling information (“receiving the downlink transmission from the base station on the third set of resources and the sidelink reception from the other UE on the fourth set of resources” [0082], “scheduling a joint transmission on a Uu link and a sidelink” [0083]). Further, Wang discloses combining the at least first portion of data and the second portion of data (“the second UE 604b (or other TRP) is in, or near, a helping group of devices that are able to facilitate communication between the base station 602 and the target UE 604a. Accordingly, in FIG. 6, the second UE 604b may help or assist the target UE 604a by forwarding or retransmitting data received from the base station 602 to the target UE 604a through the sidelink 608” [0072], [0107]).
Regarding claim 18, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses transmitting the at least first portion of data to the at least one other UE for the at least one other UE to transmit to the one or more RAN nodes of the RAN (“receive a sidelink reception 440 associated with the downlink transmission on the PSSCH .. the sidelink transmission from another UE (e.g., UE 104a) on a fourth set or resources” [0072], “uplink transmission on a Uu link with a base station” [0078]). Further, Wang discloses transmitting the received data (“the second UE 604b may help or assist the target UE 604a by forwarding or retransmitting data” [0072], “The UE 104 may also transmit a beamformed signal to the base station 180” [0046] and vice versa).
Regarding claim 19, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses transmitting the at least first portion of data to the at least one other UE based on the scheduling information for the at least one other UE to transmit to the one or more RAN nodes of the RAN (“receive a sidelink reception 440 associated with the downlink transmission on the PSSCH .. the sidelink transmission from another UE (e.g., UE 104a) on a fourth set or resources” [0072], “uplink transmission on a Uu link with a base station” [0078]). Further, Wang discloses transmitting the received data (“the second UE 604b may help or assist the target UE 604a by forwarding or retransmitting data” [0072], “The UE 104 may also transmit a beamformed signal to the base station 180” [0046] and vice versa).
Regarding claim 20, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses transmitting a second portion of data to the one or more RAN nodes of the RAN based on the scheduling information (“the base station 102 may schedule both an uplink transmission 426 on a PUSCH from a UE 104a and a sidelink transmission 436 on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) from the UE 104a” [0066]).
Claims 6-7, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, Wang further in view of Li et al. (PG Pub US 2021/0219268 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Cao, Wang does not explicitly disclose assigning a group identifier (group-ID) to the first UE and the at least one other UE.
Nevertheless, Li discloses “scrambled or carried with the group member ID” [0270].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to assign a group identifier (group-ID) to the first UE and the at least one other UE because “A much more scalable and flexible resource structure may be needed to support both small and big data” [0139].
Regarding claim 7, Cao, Wang, Li discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Cao discloses the control signal comprises at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signal carrying the scheduling information (“The joint scheduling component 198 may transmit a joint grant 420 on a PDCCH to schedule both the uplink transmission 426 and the sidelink transmission 436” [0070]).
Regarding claim 12, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Li discloses the PDCCH signal is scrambled by at least a group-ID (“scrambled or carried with the group member ID” [0270]).
Regarding claim 13, Cao, Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Li discloses searching for the PDCCH signal in a group common search space; and retrieving the scheduling information carried in the PDCCH signal received in the group common search space (“Control Resource Set (CORESET) carried on Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) is configured at Common Search Space (CSS)” [0168]).
Regarding claim 14, Cao, Wang, Li discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Li discloses the group common search space is in a control resource region associated with a common search space (“Control Resource Set (CORESET) carried on Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) is configured at Common Search Space (CSS)” [0168]).
Conclusion
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 07/02/2026