DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description: “203” (see Specification, [0035-0036]; [0042]; [0059]; [0061]; [0071]; [0088-0089]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-11 and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“An attachment” recited in claims 2-11, ln. 1 should likely read “[[An]]The attachment”;
“to trigger” recited in claim 6, ln. 2 should likely read “to the trigger”;
“to mounting member” recited in claim 6, ln. 3 should likely read “to the mounting member”;
“a port” recited in claim 8, ln. 3 should likely read “[[a]]the port”;
“A video game input system” recited in claims 15-16, ln. 1 should likely read “[[A]]The video game input system”;
“an entertainment device” recited in claim 15, ln. 2 and claim 16, ln. 1-2 should likely read “[[an]]the entertainment device”; and
“an operation” recited in claim 16, ln. 5 should likely read “[[an]]the operation”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are accordingly being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The claim limitations are coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the limitations are not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
coupling means recited in claims 1 and 12-14; and
biasing means recited in claim 9.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the Specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 10, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Welch (U.S. 9,533,221 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Welch discloses an attachment for a video game controller (Figs. 10-17; Col. 1, ln. 13-22, wherein attachments (a variety of different firearm type devices) may be adapted to a video game controller device), comprising: a trigger (Figs. 9, 13, and 15-17; Col. 7, ln. 16-27, trigger 36);
a mounting member that is removably couplable to one of two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the trigger is movably coupled to the mounting member (Figs. 9-17; Col. 4, ln. 51-56; Col. 5, ln. 43-Col. 6, ln. 11; Col. 6, ln. 40-61; Col. 9, ln. 27-36, firearm 34 removably couplable to component 10 (one of two handle portions) of the video game controller, wherein a second handle portion of the video game controller (40) may be utilized); and
coupling means for coupling the trigger to the video game controller such that a motion of the trigger relative to the mounting member causes the video game controller to emit a control signal for controlling an operation of an entertainment device when the coupling means are coupled to the video game controller (Figs. 9 and 12-17; Col. 7, ln. 16-27; Col. 9, ln. 37-46; Col. 10, ln. 4-9, wherein trigger switch jack 24 of the video game controller device 10 may communicate with trigger switch 38 which is in communication with trigger 36 of the firearm such that when a user pulls trigger 36 of the firearm, video game controller device 10 in communication with a video game console simulates gunfire within the video game, or wherein trigger switch 38 may be a pressure sensitive trigger switch so that when trigger 36 is pulled it may contact trigger switch 38 and simulate firing in the video game).
Regarding claim 5, Welch further discloses wherein the coupling means comprises: generating circuitry configured to generate a signal in response to the motion of the trigger; and transmitting circuitry configured to transmit the generated signal to a port of the video game controller, wherein at least a part of the transmitting circuitry is couplable to the port of the video game controller (Figs. 9 and 12-17; Col. 7, ln. 16-27; Col. 9, ln. 37-46; Col. 10, ln. 4-9, wherein the trigger switch jack 24 of the video game controller device 10 may communicate with the trigger switch 38 which is in communication with the trigger 36 of the firearm such that when a user pulls trigger 36 of the firearm, video game controller device 10 in communication with a video game console simulates gunfire within the video game, or wherein trigger switch 38 may be a pressure sensitive trigger switch so that when trigger 36 is pulled it may contact trigger switch 38 and simulate firing in the video game).
Regarding claim 7, Welch further discloses wherein the generating circuitry comprises one of: a pressure sensor coupled to the mounting member such that the motion of the trigger brings the trigger into contact with the pressure sensor, and thereby causes the pressure sensor to output a voltage, wherein the generating circuitry is configured to generate the signal in dependence upon the voltage output from the pressure sensor; and a proximity sensor coupled to the mounting member such that the motion of the trigger brings the trigger within a threshold distance of the proximity sensor, and thereby causes the proximity sensor to output a voltage, wherein the generating circuitry is configured to generate the signal in dependence upon the voltage output from the proximity sensor (Figs. 9 and 12-17; Col. 7, ln. 16-27; Col. 9, ln. 37-46; Col. 10, ln. 4-9, wherein trigger switch jack 24 of the video game controller device 10 may communicate with trigger switch 38 which is in communication with trigger 36 of the firearm such that when a user pulls trigger 36 of the firearm, video game controller device 10 in communication with a video game console simulates gunfire within the video game, or wherein trigger switch 38 may be a pressure sensitive trigger switch so that when trigger 36 is pulled it may contact trigger switch 38 and simulate firing in the video game).
Regarding claim 8, Welch further discloses wherein the transmitting circuitry comprises an electrical cable or a wireless receiver and transmitter, the wireless receiver being couplable to a port of the video game controller (Figs. 9 and 12-17; Col. 7, ln. 16-27; Col. 9, ln. 37-46; Col. 10, ln. 4-9, wherein the trigger switch jack 24 (port) of the video game controller device 10 may communicate with trigger switch 38 which is in communication with trigger 36 of the firearm such that when a user pulls trigger 36 of the firearm, video game controller device 10 in communication with a video game console simulates gunfire within the video game).
Regarding claim 10, Welch further discloses a trigger guard (Figs. 13-15 & 17; Col. 7, ln. 28-47).
Regarding claim 13, Welch further discloses a video game input system (Figs. 10-17; Col. 1, ln. 13-22), comprising:
a video game controller (Figs. 10-17; Col. 4, ln. 51-56; Col. 5, ln. 43-Col. 6, ln. 11; Col. 9, ln. 27-36, video game controller device 10, which includes additional handle portion 40); and
couplable to the video game controller, an attachment for the video game controller, the attachment comprising: a trigger (Figs. 9, 13, and 15-17; Col. 4, ln. 51-56; Col. 5, ln. 43-Col. 6, ln. 11; Col. 7, ln. 16-27, trigger 36 of firearm 34);
a mounting member that is removably couplable to one of two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the trigger is movably coupled to the mounting member (Figs. 9-17; Col. 4, ln. 51-56; Col. 5, ln. 43-Col. 6, ln. 11; Col. 6, ln. 40-61; Col. 9, ln. 27-36, firearm 34 removably couplable to component 10 (one of two handle portions) of the video game controller, wherein a second handle portion of the video game controller (40) may be utilized); and
coupling means for coupling the trigger to the video game controller such that a motion of the trigger relative to the mounting member causes the video game controller to emit a control signal for controlling an operation of an entertainment device when the coupling means are coupled to the video game controller (Figs. 9 and 12-17; Col. 7, ln. 16-27; Col. 9, ln. 37-46; Col. 10, ln. 4-9, wherein trigger switch jack 24 of the video game controller device 10 may communicate with trigger switch 38 which is in communication with trigger 36 of the firearm such that when a user pulls trigger 36 of the firearm, video game controller device 10 in communication with a video game console simulates gunfire within the video game, or wherein trigger switch 38 may be a pressure sensitive trigger switch so that when trigger 36 is pulled it may contact trigger switch 38 and simulate firing in the video game).
Regarding claim 16, Welch further discloses an entertainment device comprising: receiving circuitry configured to receive at least the control signal emitted from the video game controller in response to the motion of the trigger, and processing circuitry configured to control an operation of the entertainment device based at least upon the received control signal (Figs. 9 and 12-17; Col. 7, ln. 16-27; Col. 9, ln. 37-46; Col. 10, ln. 4-9, where the video game controller is in communication with a video game console (entertainment device) which receives the control signal indicative of the trigger pull and simulates gunfire within the video game).
Claims 1-2, 9, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kotkin (U.S. Pub. 2010/0298053 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kotkin discloses an attachment for a video game controller (Figs. 2-3 & 5; [0027-0029]), comprising:
a trigger (Fig. 3; [0033], trigger/lever 218; Fig. 2; [0030-0031], or wherein a trigger may be a lever 212, 214, or 216);
a mounting member that is removably couplable to one of two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the trigger is movably coupled to the mounting member (Fig. 3; [0029-0030]; [0033-0034], wherein the trigger is hingedly mounted to skin 210’ that may be coupled to part (e.g., one of two handle portions) of a video game controller; Fig. 2; [0029-0031], or wherein the trigger (lever 212, 214, or 216) is hingedly mounted to skin 210 that may be coupled to part (e.g., one of two handle portions (i.e., a top portion)) of a video game controller); and
coupling means for coupling the trigger to the video game controller such that a motion of the trigger relative to the mounting member causes the video game controller to emit a control signal for controlling an operation of an entertainment device when the coupling means are coupled to the video game controller (Fig. 3; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0033], wherein line 219 and hinge 218a are used to connect the trigger (lever) 218 to sheet 220 attached to trigger/button 119B of the video game controller, which is used for game play with a Playstation 3 (entertainment device), wherein operation of the trigger 218 applies pressure to the line 219 to activate trigger/button 119B of the controller which causes an action within the game to be carried out; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0030], or wherein a trigger/lever (e.g., 212, 214, 216) is coupled to the skin and controller via a plate, arm, and hinge, and movement thereof causes actuation of a respective button (e.g., “X”, “Y”, “B”) of the video game controller, which is used for game play with a Playstation 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kotkin further discloses wherein the trigger is hingedly coupled to the mounting member, or the trigger is slidably coupled to the mounting member (Fig. 3; [0033-0034], wherein the trigger 218 is hingedly mounted to skin 210’ via hinge 218a; [0030], wherein the trigger/lever (212, 214, 216) is hingedly mounted to skin 210 via hinge 212a, 214a, or 216a).
Regarding claim 9, Kotkin further discloses biasing means for biasing a position of the trigger relative to the mounting member towards a predetermined position (Figs. 2 & 6A; [0030]; [0039], wherein hinges 212a, 214a, 216a are spring-biased, or wherein each lever is spring biased by a spring to return to an initial, open position when pressure on the lever is released).
Regarding claim 12, Kotkin discloses an attachment kit for a video game controller (Figs. 2-3 & 5; [0027-0029]), comprising:
an attachment for a video game controller, comprising: a trigger (Fig. 3; [0033], trigger/lever 218; Fig. 2; [0030-0031], or wherein a trigger may be a lever 212, 214, or 216);
a mounting member that is removably couplable to one of two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the trigger is movably coupled to the mounting member (Fig. 3; [0029-0030]; [0033-0034], wherein the trigger is hingedly mounted to skin 210’ that may be coupled to part (e.g., one of two handle portions) of a video game controller; Fig. 2; [0029-0031], or wherein the trigger (lever 212, 214, or 216) is hingedly mounted to skin 210 that may be coupled to part (e.g., one of two handle portions (i.e., a top portion)) of a video game controller); and
coupling means for coupling the trigger to the video game controller such that a motion of the trigger relative to the mounting member causes the video game controller to emit a control signal for controlling an operation of an entertainment device when the coupling means are coupled to the video game controller (Fig. 3; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0033], wherein line 219 and hinge 218a are used to connect the trigger (lever) 218 to sheet 220 attached to trigger/button 119B of the video game controller, which is used for game play with a Playstation 3 (entertainment device), wherein operation of the trigger 218 applies pressure to the line 219 to activate trigger/button 119B of the controller which causes an action within the game to be carried out; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0030], or wherein a trigger/lever (e.g., 212, 214, 216) is coupled to the skin and controller via a plate, arm, and hinge, and movement thereof causes actuation of a respective button (e.g., “X”, “Y”, “B”) of the video game controller, which is used for game play with a Playstation 3); and
at least one of: a second attachment for the video game controller, comprising one or more illuminating elements, and a second mounting member that is removably couplable to the other of the two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the one or more illuminating elements are coupled to the second mounting member; and a third attachment for the video game controller, comprising a sight for aiming, and a third mounting member that is removably couplable to the video game controller, wherein the sight is coupled to the third mounting member ([0034] wherein any of levers 212, 214, 216, and 218, hingedly attached to skin 210/210’, can be an LED lever (illuminating element)).
Regarding claim 13, Kotkin discloses a video game input system (Figs. 2-3 & 5; [0027-0029]), comprising:
a video game controller (Figs. 2-3; [0029], video game controller 200/200’); and
couplable to the video game controller, an attachment for the video game controller, the attachment comprising: a trigger (Fig. 3; [0033], trigger/lever 218; Fig. 2; [0030-0031], or wherein a trigger may be a lever 212, 214, or 216);
a mounting member that is removably couplable to one of two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the trigger is movably coupled to the mounting member (Fig. 3; [0029-0030]; [0033-0034], wherein the trigger is hingedly mounted to skin 210’ that may be coupled to part (e.g., one of two handle portions) of a video game controller; Fig. 2; [0029-0031], or wherein the trigger (lever 212, 214, or 216) is hingedly mounted to skin 210 that may be coupled to part (e.g., one of two handle portions (i.e., a top portion)) of a video game controller); and
coupling means for coupling the trigger to the video game controller such that a motion of the trigger relative to the mounting member causes the video game controller to emit a control signal for controlling an operation of an entertainment device when the coupling means are coupled to the video game controller (Fig. 3; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0033], wherein line 219 and hinge 218a are used to connect the trigger (lever) 218 to sheet 220 attached to trigger/button 119B of the video game controller, which is used for game play with a Playstation 3 (entertainment device), wherein operation of the trigger 218 applies pressure to the line 219 to activate trigger/button 119B of the controller which causes an action within the game to be carried out; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0030], or wherein a trigger/lever (e.g., 212, 214, 216) is coupled to the skin and controller via a plate, arm, and hinge, and movement thereof causes actuation of a respective button (e.g., “X”, “Y”, “B”) of the video game controller, which is used for game play with a Playstation 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kotkin discloses a video game input system (Figs. 2-3 & 5; [0027-0029]), comprising:
a video game controller (Figs. 2-3; [0029], video game controller 200/200’); and
an attachment kit for a video game controller, the attachment kit comprising: an attachment for a video game controller, comprising: a trigger (Fig. 3; [0033], trigger/lever 218; Fig. 2; [0030-0031], or wherein a trigger may be a lever 212, 214, or 216);
a mounting member that is removably couplable to one of two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the trigger is movably coupled to the mounting member (Fig. 3; [0029-0030]; [0033-0034], wherein the trigger is hingedly mounted to skin 210’ that may be coupled to part (e.g., one of two handle portions) of a video game controller; Fig. 2; [0029-0031], or wherein the trigger (lever 212,214, or 216) is hingedly mounted to skin 210 that may be coupled to part (e.g., one of two handle portions (i.e., a top portion)) of a video game controller); and
coupling means for coupling the trigger to the video game controller such that a motion of the trigger relative to the mounting member causes the video game controller to emit a control signal for controlling an operation of an entertainment device when the coupling means are coupled to the video game controller (Fig. 3; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0033], wherein line 219 and hinge 218a are used to connect the trigger (lever) 218 to sheet 220 attached to trigger/button 119B of the video game controller, which is used for game play with a Playstation 3 (entertainment device), wherein operation of the trigger 218 applies pressure to the line 219 to activate trigger/button 119B of the controller which causes an action within the game to be carried out; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0030], or wherein a trigger/lever (e.g., 212, 214, 216) is coupled to the skin and controller via a plate, arm, and hinge, and movement thereof causes actuation of a respective button (e.g., “X”, “Y”, “B”) of the video game controller, which is used for game play with a Playstation 3); and
at least one of: a second attachment for the video game controller, comprising one or more illuminating elements, and a second mounting member that is removably couplable to the other of the two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the one or more illuminating elements are coupled to the second mounting member; and a third attachment for the video game controller, comprising a sight for aiming, and a third mounting member that is removably couplable to the video game controller, wherein the sight is coupled to the third mounting member ([0034] wherein any of levers 212, 214, 216, and 218, hingedly attached to skin 210/210’, can be an LED lever (illuminating element)).
Regarding claim 16, Kotkin further discloses an entertainment device comprising: receiving circuitry configured to receive at least the control signal emitted from the video game controller in response to the motion of the trigger; and processing circuitry configured to control an operation of the entertainment device based at least upon the received control signal ([0027-0028]; [0031], wherein actuation of the trigger/lever coupled to the controller causes actuation of the attached control of the controller which emits a signal to the console (e.g., Playstation 3) to control an operation in a video game displayed by the console (e.g., walking, jumping, switching weapons, shooting, etc.)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch.
Regarding claim 2, Welch may not explicitly disclose wherein: the trigger is hingedly coupled to the mounting member, or the trigger is slidably coupled to the mounting member. However, Welch discloses wherein the trigger is configured to be pulled by the user (Fig. 9; Col. 7, ln. 16-27, wherein pulling of the trigger causes it to rotate and contact trigger switch 38). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the trigger to be hingedly attached to the mounting member (firearm) in order to be able to be pulled by a user to swing and contact the trigger switch and providing a realistic gaming experience (Welch, Col. 9, ln. 37-46).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotkin.
Regarding claim 3, Kotkin further discloses wherein the coupling means comprises a coupling element, wherein a first portion of the coupling element is coupled to the trigger and a second portion of the coupling element is removably coupled to the video game controller (Fig. 3; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0033], wherein the line 219 is used to connect the trigger (lever) 218 (i.e., via a first portion of the line) to sheet 220 attached to trigger/button 119B of the video game controller (i.e., via a second portion of the line); Fig. 2; [0030], or wherein the coupling means comprises a plate portion (second portion) that overlays a button of the video game controller, and an arm portion (first portion) that is coupled to the trigger/lever). While Kotkin may not explicitly disclose wherein the second portion of the coupling element is removably couplable to a thumbstick of the video game controller, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to alternatively attach the second portion of the coupling element to a different control of the video game controller (e.g., a thumbstick, as opposed to a button/trigger), depending on what functionality the trigger/lever is intended for, and/or to additionally attach a similar trigger/lever to additional controls (e.g., thumbstick) of the video game controller for controlling even more functions of the controller (Kotkin, [0028]; [0030-0031]; [0033], noting that it may be desirable to provide even more levers for controlling even more functions of the controller).
Regarding claim 4, Kotkin discloses, as noted above in claim 3, a coupling element which couples the trigger to a control of the video game controller, wherein the coupling element may be a line with a first portion coupled to a trigger and a second portion removably coupled to a control of the video game controller (Fig. 3; [0005]; [0027-0028]; [0033], wherein the line 219 is used to connect the trigger (lever) 218 to sheet 220 attached to trigger/button 119B of the video game controller, wherein actuating the trigger or pulling line 219 correspondingly actuates control/trigger 119B of the controller). Additionally, as noted above, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to alternatively and/or additionally couple the trigger to a thumbstick (another control) of the video game controller dependent upon what functionality the trigger/lever is intended for and/or for controlling more functions of the controller (Kotkin, [0028]; [0030-0031]; [0033], noting that it may be desirable to provide even more levers for controlling even more functions of the controller). While Kotkin may not further explicitly disclose one or more pulleys for adjusting a direction in which the thumbstick (a control upon which a trigger may be coupled thereto) moves when the motion of the trigger occurs, wherein the one or more pulleys are coupled to the mounting member, wherein the coupling element makes contact with at least one of the pulleys when coupled to the thumbstick, it would have been obvious to incorporate one or more pulleys with the line, for example, to adjust a direction upon which the control of the video game controller coupled to the trigger moves when the trigger is pulled based on the type of control coupled to the trigger (e.g., a thumbstick versus a trigger/button (i.e., 119B)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch in view of Samperi (U.S. Pub. 2023/0140183 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Welch may not explicitly further disclose wherein the generating circuitry comprises a potentiometer or electromagnetic generator, wherein a first part thereof is coupled to trigger and a second part thereof is coupled to mounting member such that the motion of the trigger causes the first part to move relative to the second part, and thereby cause the potentiometer or electromagnetic generator to output a voltage, wherein the generating circuitry is configured to generate the signal in dependence upon the voltage output from the potentiometer or electromagnetic generator. However, Samperi, directed to game controllers having a trigger button ([0002]), teaches the incorporation of a potentiometer to measure the analog position of the trigger as it is pulled ([0004-0005]; [0027]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a potentiometer with respect to the trigger in the invention of Welch to precisely detect the position of the trigger to determine firing.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch in view of Ironmonger et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0151494 A1) (hereinafter “Ironmonger”).
Regarding claim 9, Welch may not explicitly further disclose a biasing means for biasing a position of the trigger relative to the mounting member towards a predetermined position. However, Ironmonger, directed to a trigger mechanism for a game controller ([0002]), teaches a biasing mechanism in the form of a spring which biases the trigger body to a start or rest position ([0082]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a biasing means for biasing a position of the trigger to a rest position, as taught by Ironmonger, in the invention of Welch in order to ensure that the trigger consistently returns to a resting position after firing.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch in view of Huebner et al. (U.S. Pub. 2011/0092290 A1) (hereinafter “Huebner”).
Regarding claim 11, Welch may not further explicitly disclose a safety catch that is coupled to the mounting member. However, Huebner, directed to a video game controller in the form of a realistic replica of a weapon ([0006]), teaches this limitation (Figs. 2, 7-9, & 12; [0038], safety 52). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a safety in the mounting member (firearm) of Welch in order to provide a more realistic experience for the user (Huebner, [0038], wherein the safety is functioning and provides a realistic aspect to the firearm such that the player cannot fire the virtual weapon until the safety is turned off).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch in view of Mao (U.S. Pub. 2012/0122576 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Welch discloses an attachment kit for a video game controller (Figs. 10-17; Col. 1, ln. 13-22), comprising:
an attachment for a video game controller, comprising: a trigger (Figs. 9, 13, and 15-17; Col. 4, ln. 51-56; Col. 5, ln. 43-Col. 6, ln. 11; Col. 7, ln. 16-27, trigger 36 of firearm 34);
a mounting member that is removably couplable to one of two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the trigger is movably coupled to the mounting member (Figs. 9-17; Col. 4, ln. 51-56; Col. 5, ln. 43-Col. 6, ln. 11; Col. 6, ln. 40-61; Col. 9, ln. 27-36, firearm 34 removably couplable to component 10 (one of two handle portions) of the video game controller, wherein a second handle portion of the video game controller (40) may be utilized); and
coupling means for coupling the trigger to the video game controller such that a motion of the trigger relative to the mounting member causes the video game controller to emit a control signal for controlling an operation of an entertainment device when the coupling means are coupled to the video game controller (Figs. 9 and 12-17; Col. 7, ln. 16-27; Col. 9, ln. 37-46; Col. 10, ln. 4-9, wherein trigger switch jack 24 of the video game controller device 10 may communicate with trigger switch 38 which is in communication with trigger 36 of the firearm such that when a user pulls trigger 36 of the firearm, video game controller device 10 in communication with a video game console simulates gunfire within the video game, or wherein trigger switch 38 may be a pressure sensitive trigger switch so that when trigger 36 is pulled it may contact trigger switch 38 and simulate firing in the video game).
Welch may not further explicitly disclose the attachment for a video game controller further comprising at least one of: a second attachment for the video game controller, comprising one or more illuminating elements, and a second mounting member that is removably couplable to the other of the two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the one or more illuminating elements are coupled to the second mounting member; and a third attachment for the video game controller, comprising a sight for aiming, and a third mounting member that is removably couplable to the video game controller, wherein the sight is coupled to the third mounting member. However, Mao, directed to attachments to video game controllers ([0003]; [0018], the attachment comprising a gun-shaped shell apparatus), teaches wherein a game controller can be mated with a shell apparatus (gun), and wherein the video game controller (the mated controller and shell apparatus) may include an attachment comprising a scope for aiming (Figs. 1A-1B & 9-10; [0048]; [0064-0066], mounted scope 710). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a scope (sight for aiming) and corresponding mounting member for mounting the scope to the controller (e.g., firearm and mated video game controller), as taught by Mao, in the invention of Welch to provide a more realistic gameplay experience (Mao, Figs. 9-10; [0064-0065], e.g., to provide a view for the user when using a particular firearm, such as a sniper).
Regarding claim 14, Welch discloses a video game input system (Figs. 10-17; Col. 1, ln. 13-22), comprising:
a video game controller (Figs. 10-17; Col. 4, ln. 51-56; Col. 5, ln. 43-Col. 6, ln. 11; Col. 9, ln. 27-36, video game controller device 10, which includes additional component 40); and
an attachment kit for a video game controller, the attachment kit comprising: an attachment for a video game controller, comprising: a trigger (Figs. 9, 13, and 15-17; Col. 4, ln. 51-56; Col. 5, ln. 43-Col. 6, ln. 11; Col. 7, ln. 16-27, trigger 36 of firearm 34);
a mounting member that is removably couplable to one of two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the trigger is movably coupled to the mounting member (Figs. 9-17; Col. 4, ln. 51-56; Col. 5, ln. 43-Col. 6, ln. 11; Col. 6, ln. 40-61; Col. 9, ln. 27-36, firearm 34 removably couplable to component 10 (one of two handle portions) of the video game controller, wherein a second handle portion of the video game controller (40) may be utilized); and
coupling means for coupling the trigger to the video game controller such that a motion of the trigger relative to the mounting member causes the video game controller to emit a control signal for controlling an operation of an entertainment device when the coupling means are coupled to the video game controller (Figs. 9 and 12-17; Col. 7, ln. 16-27; Col. 9, ln. 37-46; Col. 10, ln. 4-9, wherein trigger switch jack 24 of the video game controller device 10 may communicate with trigger switch 38 which is in communication with trigger 36 of the firearm such that when a user pulls trigger 36 of the firearm, video game controller device 10 in communication with a video game console simulates gunfire within the video game, or wherein trigger switch 38 may be a pressure sensitive trigger switch so that when trigger 36 is pulled it may contact trigger switch 38 and simulate firing in the video game).
Welch may not further explicitly disclose the attachment for a video game controller further comprising at least one of: a second attachment for the video game controller, comprising one or more illuminating elements, and a second mounting member that is removably couplable to the other of the two handle portions of the video game controller, wherein the one or more illuminating elements are coupled to the second mounting member; and a third attachment for the video game controller, comprising a sight for aiming, and a third mounting member that is removably couplable to the video game controller, wherein the sight is coupled to the third mounting member. However, Mao, directed to attachments to video game controllers ([0003]; [0018], the attachment comprising a gun-shaped shell apparatus), teaches wherein a game controller can be mated with a shell apparatus (gun), and wherein the video game controller (the mated controller and shell apparatus) may include an attachment comprising a scope for aiming (Figs. 1A-1B & 9-10; [0048]; [0064-0066], mounted scope 710). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a scope (sight for aiming) and corresponding mounting member for mounting the scope to the controller (e.g., firearm and mated video game controller), as taught by Mao, in the invention of Welch to provide a more realistic gameplay experience (Mao, Figs. 9-10; [0064-0065], e.g., to provide a view for the user when using a particular firearm, such as a sniper).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch in view of Marks et al. (U.S. 10,143,920 B2) (hereinafter “Marks”).
Regarding claim 15, Welch discloses wherein the video game controller is communicatively coupled to an entertainment device (Col. 9, ln. 37-46). Welch may not further explicitly disclose an imaging device that is couplable to an entertainment device, wherein the imaging device is configured to capture one or more images of the video game controller when held by a user, and transmit one or more of the images to the entertainment device when coupled thereto. However, Marks teaches these limitations (Figs. 2, 11A-11B, & 13A-14D; Col. 4, ln. 17-Col. 5, ln. 14; Col. 13, ln. 14-36; Col. 15, ln. 14-54, wherein an image capture device 104, coupled to a computing system 102 (e.g., game console such as the Sony Playstation 2, Sony Playstation 3, etc.), captures one or more images of a controller (e.g., interface object 112, and/or interface object coupled with a video game controller) held by the user, wherein the computing system receives the image data captured from the image capture device and correspondingly controls an action in the application program being executed on the computing system). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an imaging device, coupled to an entertainment device (video game console), in order to capture image data of the video game controller and transmit said data to the entertainment device, as taught by Marks, in the invention of Welch to further effect an action in a displayed game by the entertainment device (e.g., movement of the weapon, change of field of view, etc.) (Marks, Col. 4, ln. 62-Col. 5, ln. 14; Col. 15, ln. 14-32).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotkin in view of Marks et al. (U.S. 10,143,920 B2) (hereinafter “Marks”).
Regarding claim 15, Kotkin discloses wherein the video game controller is communicatively coupled to an entertainment device ([0027-0028]; [0031]). Kotkin may not further explicitly disclose an imaging device that is couplable to an entertainment device, wherein the imaging device is configured to capture one or more images of the video game controller when held by a user, and transmit one or more of the images to the entertainment device when coupled thereto. However, Marks teaches these limitations (Figs. 2, 11A-11B, & 13A-14D; Col. 4, ln. 17-Col. 5, ln. 14; Col. 13, ln. 14-36; Col. 15, ln. 14-54, wherein an image capture device 104, coupled to a computing system 102 (e.g., game console such as the Sony Playstation 2, Sony Playstation 3, etc.), captures one or more images of a controller (e.g., interface object 112, and/or interface object coupled with a video game controller) held by the user, wherein the computing system receives the image data captured from the image capture device and correspondingly controls an action in the application program being executed on the computing system). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an imaging device, coupled to an entertainment device (video game console, e.g., Playstation 3), in order to capture image data of the video game controller and transmit said data to the entertainment device, as taught by Marks, in the invention of Kotkin to further effect an action in a displayed game by the entertainment device (e.g., movement of the weapon, change of field of view, etc.) (Marks, Col. 4, ln. 62-Col. 5, ln. 14; Col. 15, ln. 14-32).
Conclusion
/ALYSSA N BRANDLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3715