DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 17, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,023,469. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the elements of the application claims can be found in the patent claims.
Regarding claim 17 of the application, claim 3 of the patent, which includes claim 1, recites 17 an auto-injection apparatus for receiving a syringe (claim 1, lines 5-6), comprising: an outer casing which encloses: a syringe carrier comprising a barrel housing configured to hold a barrel of the syringe, the syringe carrier having a stowed position and a delivery position (claim 1, lines 7-10); an insertion actuator configured to move the syringe carrier forwards within the outer casing to insert a needle of the syringe into an injection site (claim 1, lines 31-33); an interlock which extends between the syringe carrier and a syringe carrier housing which at least partially surrounds the syringe carrier, the interlock preventing the forward motion of the syringe carrier under the influence of the insertion actuator whilst in the stowed position (claim 1, lines 11-16); and an interlock release mechanism comprising: interlock release mechanism features configured to release the interlock on actuation thereof such that the insertion actuator is released to drive the syringe carrier forward (claim 1, lines 17-20), and a shield moveable relative to the syringe carrier and configured to provide a pressure activated trigger to actuate the interlock release mechanism (claim 1, lines 21-23), wherein the barrel housing of the syringe carrier is received at least partially within the shield and provides an interface therebetween incorporating the interlock release mechanism features (claim 3), and wherein rearward movement of the shield into the outer casing and relative to the syringe carrier activates the interlock release mechanism features to release the insertion actuator to drive the syringe carrier forward (claim 1, lines 33-38). The difference between the application claim and the patent claim lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more features and is therefore more specific. It has been held that the generic claim is anticipated by the specific claim. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claim is anticipated by the patent claim it is not patentably distinct therefrom.
Regarding claim 18 of the application, claim 1 of the patent recites wherein the interlock release mechanism features comprise a track and a protrusion, wherein one of the track and the protrusion is located on the barrel housing, and the other of the track and protrusion is located on the shield (claim 1, lines 24-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-23, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karlsen et al (US 8,864,718).
Regarding claim 17, Karlsen discloses an auto-injection apparatus for receiving a syringe (container 50 and needle 26: col. 11, lines 65-66; fig. 9), comprising: an outer casing (proximal end of 12 fig. 9) which encloses: a syringe carrier 46 comprising a barrel housing configured to hold a barrel 50 of the syringe (fig. 10; col. 6, lines 66-67), the syringe carrier having a stowed position (fig. 14(a)) and a delivery position (fig. 14(b)); an insertion actuator configured to move the syringe carrier forwards within the outer casing to insert a needle of the syringe into an injection site (col. 11, lines 59-67); an interlock which extends between the syringe carrier and a syringe carrier housing which at least partially surrounds the syringe carrier (distal end of 12: fig. 9; col. 11, lined 54-60: second injection lock), the interlock preventing the forward motion of the syringe carrier under the influence of the insertion actuator whilst in the stowed position (col. 11, lines 55-60); and an interlock release mechanism comprising: interlock release mechanism features configured to release the interlock on actuation thereof such that the insertion actuator is released to drive the syringe carrier forward (col. 11, lines 58-67), and a shield 38 moveable relative to the syringe carrier and configured to provide a pressure activated trigger to actuate the interlock release mechanism (col. 11, lines 54-67), wherein the barrel housing of the syringe carrier is received at least partially within the shield and provides an interface therebetween incorporating the interlock release mechanism features (fig.14), and wherein rearward movement of the shield into the outer casing and relative to the syringe carrier activates the interlock release mechanism features to release the insertion actuator to drive the syringe carrier forward (col. 11, lines 54-52).
Regarding claim 18, Karlsen discloses that the interlock release mechanism features comprise a track 25 and a protrusion 56, wherein the track is located on the barrel housing, and the protrusion is located on the shield (fig. 12; col. 10, lines 42-66).
Regarding claim 19, Karlsen discloses that the track comprises a release portion (fig. 13(c): the straight portion of the track) and wherein the subsequent rearward movement of the shield causes the protrusion to move within the release portion to disengage the interlock (fig. 13(d)).
Regarding claim 20, Karlsen discloses that movement of the protrusion within the release portion causes rotation of the syringe carrier to disengage the interlock (fig. 13(d)).
Regarding claim 21, Karlsen discloses that the release portion comprises a release surface which is inclined axially, and wherein the protrusion slides against the release surface to rotate the syringe carrier (figs. 13(a)- 13(d)).
Regarding claim 22, Karlsen discloses that the track comprises an anti-rotation feature configured to allow a predetermined amount of axial movement of the shield without rotation of the syringe carrier (fig. 13(d)).
Regarding claim 23, Karlsen discloses that the anti-rotation feature comprises an axial surface of the track (fig. 13(d)).
Regarding claim 25, Karlsen discloses that the shield 38 is slidably arranged between the outer casing 36 and the syringe carrier 46 (fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karlsen.
Claim 24 calls for the protrusion to be located on the barrel housing and the track to be located on the shield. Karlsen discloses the reverse configuration. Per MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A), a mere reversal of parts has been held to be an obvious modification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Karlsen to have the track on the shield and the protrusion on the barrel housing because doing so would have been an obvious reversal of parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 26, Karlsen teaches a carrier housing stop 68 and a syringe carrier stop, but the shield intervenes so they do not abut one another.
Conclusion
LAURA A. BOUCHELLE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783