DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments received August 07, 2026 have been fully considered. With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose [see applicant argument pages 1-5]. This language corresponds to the newly amended language of claims 1-17 and 18.
As such, these have been considered but they are directed to newly amended language, which is addressed below. See the rejection below for how the art on record reads on the newly
amended language as well as the examiner's interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set. Furthermore, in response to applicant argument,
Izumikawa teaches the use of multiple circuity, [0036] The controller 30 functions as a main controller for executing drive control of the shovel. In the embodiment, the controller 30 is formed of a processor including a CPU and an internal memory. Various types of functions of the controller 30 are implemented by the CPU by executing a program stored in the internal memory.
[0037] The machine guidance device 50 is for guiding an operation of the shovel. In the embodiment, the machine guidance device 50, for example, visually and aurally informs an operator of a vertical distance between a target formation level set up by the operator and a position of a front edge (tip) of the bucket 6. By doing this, the machine guidance device 50 guides an operation of the shovel by the operator. The machine guidance device 50 may inform the operator of the distance only visually or only aurally. Specifically, the machine guidance device 50 may be formed of a processor including a CPU and an internal memory, similar to the controller 30. Various types of functions of the machine guidance device 50 are implemented by the CPU by executing a program stored in the internal memory. The machine guidance device 50 may be provided separately from the controller 30, or may be embedded in the controller 30.
As such, the examiner stands with the rejection since obviously the processor or CPU of Izumikawa consider to include different circuity that can be used at least by controller 30 and 50.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. While applicant specification describes the use of circuitry (a microcomputer including circuitry such as a central processing unit (CPU), a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a non-volatile auxiliary storage device, various input/output interfaces, and the like…--0066, 0085), however, applicant specification fails to explicitly describe the use or process of “first circuitry or second circuitry” in a method of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumikawa US 2018/0182120.
In regarding to claim 1 Izumikawa teaches:
1. An information processing system comprising: a shovel including an imaging device;
[0074] As illustrated in FIG. 4A, when the camera S6 as the stereo camera is attached to the shovel, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains a pair of camera images captured at the same time by a pair of image capturing units S61 and S62 of the camera S6 as the stereo-pair images. Then, based on the shift between a pixel of one of the pair of the captured camera images corresponding to the measurement point P and another pixel of the other of the pair of the captured camera images corresponding to the measurement point P, and the distance L between the image capturing unit S61 and the image capturing unit S62, the distance between the camera S6 and the measurement point P is obtained using the triangulation method.
Izumikawa, 0074, emphasis added
and first circuitry; and
an information processing device disposed separately from the shovel and connected to the shovel through a communication network, the information processing device including second circuitry,
[0036] The controller 30 functions as a main controller for executing drive control of the shovel. In the embodiment, the controller 30 is formed of a processor including a CPU and an internal memory. Various types of functions of the controller 30 are implemented by the CPU by executing a program stored in the internal memory.
[0037] The machine guidance device 50 is for guiding an operation of the shovel. In the embodiment, the machine guidance device 50, for example, visually and aurally informs an operator of a vertical distance between a target formation level set up by the operator and a position of a front edge (tip) of the bucket 6. By doing this, the machine guidance device 50 guides an operation of the shovel by the operator. The machine guidance device 50 may inform the operator of the distance only visually or only aurally. Specifically, the machine guidance device 50 may be formed of a processor including a CPU and an internal memory, similar to the controller 30. Various types of functions of the machine guidance device 50 are implemented by the CPU by executing a program stored in the internal memory. The machine guidance device 50 may be provided separately from the controller 30, or may be embedded in the controller 30.
[0117] The management device FS is a device for managing work of the shovel PS. For example, the management device FS is a computer provided with a display device, which is installed in a management center, etc., outside the work site. The management device FS may be a portable computer that can be carried by a user. The mobile terminal MS is a communication terminal provided with a display device, such as a smartphone, a tablet terminal, and a laptop personal computer.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0115-0118 and Figs. 3, 11
wherein the first circuitry configured to transmit data to the information processing device, the data including an image captured by the imaging device and at least one of a direction in which the shovel is oriented when the image is captured, a time when the image is captured, or a position of the shovel when the image is captured, the at least one of the direction, the time or the position being associated with the image,
[0036] The controller 30 functions as a main controller for executing drive control of the shovel. In the embodiment, the controller 30 is formed of a processor including a CPU and an internal memory. Various types of functions of the controller 30 are implemented by the CPU by executing a program stored in the internal memory.
[0037] The machine guidance device 50 is for guiding an operation of the shovel. In the embodiment, the machine guidance device 50, for example, visually and aurally informs an operator of a vertical distance between a target formation level set up by the operator and a position of a front edge (tip) of the bucket 6. By doing this, the machine guidance device 50 guides an operation of the shovel by the operator. The machine guidance device 50 may inform the operator of the distance only visually or only aurally. Specifically, the machine guidance device 50 may be formed of a processor including a CPU and an internal memory, similar to the controller 30. Various types of functions of the machine guidance device 50 are implemented by the CPU by executing a program stored in the internal memory. The machine guidance device 50 may be provided separately from the controller 30, or may be embedded in the controller 30.
[0074] As illustrated in FIG. 4A, when the camera S6 as the stereo camera is attached to the shovel, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains a pair of camera images captured at the same time by a pair of image capturing units S61 and S62 of the camera S6 as the stereo-pair images. Then, based on the shift between a pixel of one of the pair of the captured camera images corresponding to the measurement point P and another pixel of the other of the pair of the captured camera images corresponding to the measurement point P, and the distance L between the image capturing unit S61 and the image capturing unit S62, the distance between the camera S6 and the measurement point P is obtained using the triangulation method.
[0075] Alternatively, as illustrated in FIG. 4B, when the camera S6a as the monocular camera is attached to the shovel, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains two camera images captured by an image capturing unit S61a of the camera S6a at different timings as the stereo-pair images. For example, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains, as the stereo-pair images, a first camera image captured when the camera S6a is at the position indicated by the solid line and a second camera image captured when the camera S6a subsequently moves to the position indicated by the dashed line. In this case, the movement of the camera S6a is made, for example, by traveling of the shovel main body. Then, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 determines the shift amount L of the camera S6a from the positioning information of the GNSS, and obtains the distance between the camera S6a and the measurement point P using triangulation method, similar to the case of FIG. 4A.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0074-0076, emphasis added
and the second circuitry is configured to manage the image in association with the at least one of the direction, the time or the position, and perform, in response to designation of one or more of the direction, the time, or the position, control for displaying the image associated with the designated one or more of the direction, the time, or the position.
[0075] Alternatively, as illustrated in FIG. 4B, when the camera S6a as the monocular camera is attached to the shovel, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains two camera images captured by an image capturing unit S61a of the camera S6a at different timings as the stereo-pair images. For example, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains, as the stereo-pair images, a first camera image captured when the camera S6a is at the position indicated by the solid line and a second camera image captured when the camera S6a subsequently moves to the position indicated by the dashed line. In this case, the movement of the camera S6a is made, for example, by traveling of the shovel main body. Then, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 determines the shift amount L of the camera S6a from the positioning information of the GNSS, and obtains the distance between the camera S6a and the measurement point P using triangulation method, similar to the case of FIG. 4A.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0074-0075 and Fig. 3 display device D3, emphasis added.
However, Izumikawa fail to explicitly teach having multiple circuitry used for separate tasks. Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantage of using multiple circuitries for separate tasks are well known and expected in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, at the time of the applicant’s invention, to utilize said feature within said system taught by Izumikawa., because such incorporation would result in producing quality processing data since using more than one circuitry expect to handle more than one load simultaneously.
Note: The motivation that was applied to claim 1 above, applies equally as well to claim 2-18 as presented blow.
In regarding to claim 2 Izumikawa teaches:
2. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the shovel includes a plurality of the imaging devices oriented in different imaging directions, and wherein the first circuitry is further configured to transmit the data to the information processing device, the data including an image captured by each of the plurality of imaging devices.
[0079] For example, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains a pair of camera images captured by the camera S6 when the shovel is directed in a reference direction as indicated in FIG. 6A by the solid line, as stereo-pair images. The overlapping image capturing range R1 represents a overlapping image capturing range of the image capturing ranges of the pair of the camera images captured by the camera S6 at this time.
[0080] After that, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains a pair of camera images captured by the camera S6 when the upper turning body 3 turns in the right direction by the turning angle α as depicted by the dashed line in FIG. 6A, as stereo-pair images. The overlapping image capturing range R2 represents an overlapping image capturing range of the image capturing ranges of the pair of the camera images captured by the camera S6 at this time.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0051-0052 and 0079-0080, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 3 Izumikawa teaches:
3. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to, when the designated one or more of the direction, the time or the position include the position, perform control for displaying a screen, using the image associated with the designated position, the screen representing surroundings with the designated position serving as a viewpoint.
[0051] The display device D3 includes a conversion processor D3a for generating an image. In the embodiment, the conversion processor D3a generates a camera image to be displayed based on an output of the camera S6. Accordingly, the display device D3 obtains, through the machine guidance device 50, an output of the camera S6 connected to the machine guidance device 50. Note that the camera S6 may be connected to the display device D3, or the camera S6 may be connected to the controller 30.
[0052] The conversion processor D3a generates an image to be displayed based on an output of the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50. In the embodiment, the conversion processor D3a converts various types of information output by the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50 into image signals. The information output by the controller 30 includes, for example, data indicating a temperature of engine cooling water, data indicating a temperature of a hydraulic oil, data indicating a residual amount of fuel, and so forth. The information output by the machine guidance device 50 includes, data indicating a position of a front end (tip) of the bucket 6, data indicating an orientation of a sloop that is a work target, data indicating an orientation of the shovel, data indicating an operation direction for causing the shovel to normally face a slope, and so forth.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0051-0052 and Fig. 6, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 4 Izumikawa teaches:
4. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to, when the designated one or more of the direction, the time or the position include the time, perform control for displaying a screen using the image captured at the designated time.
[0051] The display device D3 includes a conversion processor D3a for generating an image. In the embodiment, the conversion processor D3a generates a camera image to be displayed based on an output of the camera S6. Accordingly, the display device D3 obtains, through the machine guidance device 50, an output of the camera S6 connected to the machine guidance device 50. Note that the camera S6 may be connected to the display device D3, or the camera S6 may be connected to the controller 30.
[0052] The conversion processor D3a generates an image to be displayed based on an output of the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50. In the embodiment, the conversion processor D3a converts various types of information output by the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50 into image signals. The information output by the controller 30 includes, for example, data indicating a temperature of engine cooling water, data indicating a temperature of a hydraulic oil, data indicating a residual amount of fuel, and so forth. The information output by the machine guidance device 50 includes, data indicating a position of a front end (tip) of the bucket 6, data indicating an orientation of a sloop that is a work target, data indicating an orientation of the shovel, data indicating an operation direction for causing the shovel to normally face a slope, and so forth.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0051-0052 and 0075-0076, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 5 Izumikawa teaches:
5. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein second circuitry is further configured to, upon receiving the designation of the direction after performing control for displaying a first screen using the image, perform control for displaying a second screen, the second screen representing the designated direction from the position at which the image is captured.
[0052] The conversion processor D3a generates an image to be displayed based on an output of the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50. In the embodiment, the conversion processor D3a converts various types of information output by the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50 into image signals. The information output by the controller 30 includes, for example, data indicating a temperature of engine cooling water, data indicating a temperature of a hydraulic oil, data indicating a residual amount of fuel, and so forth. The information output by the machine guidance device 50 includes, data indicating a position of a front end (tip) of the bucket 6, data indicating an orientation of a sloop that is a work target, data indicating an orientation of the shovel, data indicating an operation direction for causing the shovel to normally face a slope, and so forth.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0052 and fig. 2 item D3, D3a, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 6 Izumikawa teaches:
6. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to store the data in a storage unit for each of work sites in which the shovel has performed work, the data being received from the shovel, and wherein the second circuitry is further configured to, upon a desired work site being designated, perform control for displaying the image captured at the designated work site.
[0041] The storage device D4 is a device for storing various types of information. In the embodiment, a non-volatile storage medium, such as a semiconductor memory, is used as the storage device D4. The storage device D4 stores various types of information to be output by the machine guidance device 50, etc.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0041, 0051-0052 and 0072, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 7 Izumikawa teaches:
7. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to combine images differing in one or more of the at least one of the direction, the time, or the position included in the received data to perform control for displaying a combined image.
[0078] Here, an example of a capturing condition of the stereo-pair images is described by referring to FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B. FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B are top views of the shovel illustrating image capturing ranges of the camera S6. Specifically, FIG. 6A depicts overlapping image capturing ranges R1 and R2 of the camera S6; and FIG. 6B depicts blind spot regions BA1 and BA2 formed by an object B located behind the shovel. The parts indicated by the dashed lines in FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B, respectively, depict a state in which the upper turning body 3 is turned by a turning angle α around a turning axis SX.
[0079] For example, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains a pair of camera images captured by the camera S6 when the shovel is directed in a reference direction as indicated in FIG. 6A by the solid line, as stereo-pair images. The overlapping image capturing range R1 represents a overlapping image capturing range of the image capturing ranges of the pair of the camera images captured by the camera S6 at this time.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0051-0052 and 0078-0079, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 8 Izumikawa teaches:
8. The information processing system according to claim 7, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to combine a plurality of the images captured by the shovel at a same position, at a same time, and in different directions at a time of capturing the images to generate an overhead view, and to perform control for displaying the overhead view, the overhead view representing surroundings of the shovel.
[0078] Here, an example of a capturing condition of the stereo-pair images is described by referring to FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B. FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B are top views of the shovel illustrating image capturing ranges of the camera S6. Specifically, FIG. 6A depicts overlapping image capturing ranges R1 and R2 of the camera S6; and FIG. 6B depicts blind spot regions BA1 and BA2 formed by an object B located behind the shovel. The parts indicated by the dashed lines in FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B, respectively, depict a state in which the upper turning body 3 is turned by a turning angle α around a turning axis SX.
[0079] For example, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 obtains a pair of camera images captured by the camera S6 when the shovel is directed in a reference direction as indicated in FIG. 6A by the solid line, as stereo-pair images. The overlapping image capturing range R1 represents a overlapping image capturing range of the image capturing ranges of the pair of the camera images captured by the camera S6 at this time.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0078-0079 and 0095, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 9 Izumikawa teaches:
9. The information processing system according to claim 7, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to combine a plurality of images captured by the shovel at a same position, at different times, and in different directions to generate an overhead view, and to perform control for displaying the overhead view, the overhead view representing surroundings of the shovel.
[0095] Next, by referring to FIG. 8, another example of a procedure for generating the topography data is described. FIG. 8 is a top view or the shovel illustrating ranges to be measured by three cameras S6 (a rear camera S6B, a right side camera S6R, and a left side camera S6L) when the upper turning body 3 turns in the right direction. Specifically, the measurement target ranges X1, Y1, and Z1 are measurement target ranges included in pairs of camera images captured by the rear camera S6B, the right side camera S6R, and the left side camera S6R, respectively, when the shovel is directed in the reference direction as illustrated by the solid line in FIG. 8. The same applies to the measurement target ranges X2, Y2, Z2, X3, Y3, and Z3.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0095 and Figs. 6-8, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 10 Izumikawa teaches:
10. The information processing system according to claim 7, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to combine a plurality of the images captured by the shovel at a same position and in different directions, based on the data received from the shovel working in a work site to generate a first overhead view for each of positions included in the work site, and to subsequently generate a second overhead view, based on the generated first overhead views, the second overhead view representing the work site in an overhead view manner.
[0095] Next, by referring to FIG. 8, another example of a procedure for generating the topography data is described. FIG. 8 is a top view or the shovel illustrating ranges to be measured by three cameras S6 (a rear camera S6B, a right side camera S6R, and a left side camera S6L) when the upper turning body 3 turns in the right direction. Specifically, the measurement target ranges X1, Y1, and Z1 are measurement target ranges included in pairs of camera images captured by the rear camera S6B, the right side camera S6R, and the left side camera S6R, respectively, when the shovel is directed in the reference direction as illustrated by the solid line in FIG. 8. The same applies to the measurement target ranges X2, Y2, Z2, X3, Y3, and Z3.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0095 and Figs. 6-8, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 11 Izumikawa teaches:
11. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to perform control for displaying display information indicating a position of a work site on map data, and wherein the second circuitry is further configured to, upon the display information being designated, the circuitry causes the information processing device to perform control for displaying the image captured by the shovel existing in the work site, the work site being indicated by the display information.
[0051] The display device D3 includes a conversion processor D3a for generating an image. In the embodiment, the conversion processor D3a generates a camera image to be displayed based on an output of the camera S6. Accordingly, the display device D3 obtains, through the machine guidance device 50, an output of the camera S6 connected to the machine guidance device 50. Note that the camera S6 may be connected to the display device D3, or the camera S6 may be connected to the controller 30.
[0052] The conversion processor D3a generates an image to be displayed based on an output of the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50. In the embodiment, the conversion processor D3a converts various types of information output by the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50 into image signals. The information output by the controller 30 includes, for example, data indicating a temperature of engine cooling water, data indicating a temperature of a hydraulic oil, data indicating a residual amount of fuel, and so forth. The information output by the machine guidance device 50 includes, data indicating a position of a front end (tip) of the bucket 6, data indicating an orientation of a sloop that is a work target, data indicating an orientation of the shovel, data indicating an operation direction for causing the shovel to normally face a slope, and so forth.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0051-0052 and 0075-0076, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 12 Izumikawa teaches:
12. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to perform control for displaying display information indicating a position captured by the shovel on map data, the map data representing a work site, and wherein second circuitry is further configured to, upon the display information being designated, to perform control for displaying the image captured by the shovel at the position indicated by the display information.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0051-0052, 0097
In regarding to claim 13 Izumikawa teaches:
13. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to perform control for displaying operation information capable of setting a time span, together with displaying a first image, and wherein second circuitry is further configured to upon a time span being designated by the operation information, to perform control for displaying a second image, the second image being captured from a same position at which the first image is captured and being captured in the designated time span.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0095 and Figs. 6-8,
In regarding to claim 14 Izumikawa teaches:
14. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to capture an image by the imaging device every time the shovel moves by a predetermined distance or every time a predetermined time has elapsed.
[0097] Each time the upper turning body 3 turns by a turning angle α, the stereo pair image capturing unit 507 captures three pairs of stereo-pair images and derives a distance to each measurement point in the measurement target range included in each pair of stereo-pair images. Then, the topography data generator 508 derives three-dimensional coordinates of each measurement point in the camera coordinate system based on the distance to the measurement point derived by the stereo pair image capturing unit 507. Then, the coordinate converter 509 converts three-dimensional coordinates of each measurement point in the camera coordinate system derived by the topography data generator 508 into coordinates in the World Geodetic System.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0097, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 15 Izumikawa teaches:
15. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to further perform control for displaying display information on a screen represented based on the image, the display information representing a position at which the shovel has performed imaging, and wherein second circuitry is further configured upon the display information being designated, to perform control for displaying the screen represented based on the image, the image being captured at the position indicated by the display information.
[0051] The display device D3 includes a conversion processor D3a for generating an image. In the embodiment, the conversion processor D3a generates a camera image to be displayed based on an output of the camera S6. Accordingly, the display device D3 obtains, through the machine guidance device 50, an output of the camera S6 connected to the machine guidance device 50. Note that the camera S6 may be connected to the display device D3, or the camera S6 may be connected to the controller 30.
[0052] The conversion processor D3a generates an image to be displayed based on an output of the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50. In the embodiment, the conversion processor D3a converts various types of information output by the controller 30 or the machine guidance device 50 into image signals. The information output by the controller 30 includes, for example, data indicating a temperature of engine cooling water, data indicating a temperature of a hydraulic oil, data indicating a residual amount of fuel, and so forth. The information output by the machine guidance device 50 includes, data indicating a position of a front end (tip) of the bucket 6, data indicating an orientation of a sloop that is a work target, data indicating an orientation of the shovel, data indicating an operation direction for causing the shovel to normally face a slope, and so forth.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037, 0051-0052 and 0075-0076, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 16 Izumikawa teaches:
16. The information processing system according to claim 15, wherein the display information displayed on the screen is displayed in a different display mode according to the shovel that has performed imaging from the position indicated by the display information.
Izumikawa, 0036-0037 and Figs. 6-8,
Claims 17-18 list all similar elements of claim 1, but in non-transitory computer-readable medium and method form rather than device form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claims 17-18.
Conclusion
/DANIEL T TEKLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481