DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to communications filed on 29 October 2025, claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application, of which, claims 1, 11 and 17 are presented in independent form. The Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1, 7, 9-11, 16-17, and 20. No claims were cancelled or newly added.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 29 October 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. 12,013,766 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
All objections and/or rejections issued in the previous Office Action, mailed 19 May 2025, have been withdrawn, unless otherwise noted in this Office Action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to amended features of the claims and therefore have been incorporated into the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Richardson, Craig, et al (U.S. 8,296,271, issued 23 October 2012, and known hereinafter as Richardson).
As per claim 1, Richardson teaches a computer program product, the computer program product being tangibly embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one computing device, are configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
query a database (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, lines 1-10], which discloses a user identification (User ID) parameter is provided which allows the database administrator or a user to scan (e.g. query) the transaction logs for specified user identification, uniquely distinguishing each user accessing the database, therefore log files can be scanned for all operations performed by that user. Additionally, see column 3, lines 20-25, which discloses a log scanner allows a DBMS to perform queries over the scanned transaction logs and determine the exact operations, or query that resulted in a corruption of data.) to retrieve a table movement of a moved table from a source tablespace to a target tablespace within the database (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses a log scanner may scan to determine (e.g. identify) a list of recent transaction, where the log information may include a time stamp, nature of change, source, target, etc. Richardson, see column 4, line 65 to column 5, line 30 discloses each of the nodes includes a corresponding node log, which tracks and maintains modifications, edits, or deletions performed to the database tables by the respective nodes, where a catalog node may also be provided which retrieves a list of transactions performed in each of the node logs and references the list of transactions for a selected set of nodes.), the database containing log record repository (e.g. Richardson, see column 5, lines 32-38], which discloses the database systems commonly employ transaction logs in order to provide transaction autonomy, where a transaction log is a file that records the state of the database before a modification is made and the state of the database after the modification has been made.);
query the log record repository (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, lines 1-10], which discloses a user identification (User ID) parameter is provided which allows the database administrator or a user to scan (e.g. query) the transaction logs for specified user identification, uniquely distinguishing each user accessing the database, therefore log files can be scanned for all operations performed by that user. Additionally, see column 3, lines 20-25, which discloses a log scanner allows a DBMS to perform queries over the scanned transaction logs and determine the exact operations, or query that resulted in a corruption of data.) for a plurality of log records to retrieve pre-move log records logged prior to the table movement and identifying the moved table as being included within the source tablespace (Richardson, see column 4, line 65 to column 5, line 30 discloses each of the nodes includes a corresponding node log, which tracks and maintains modifications, edits, or deletions performed to the database tables by the respective nodes, where a catalog node may also be provided which retrieves a list of transactions performed in each of the node logs and references the list of transactions for a selected set of nodes, where the database system commonly employ transaction logs in order to provide transaction autonomy, where a transaction log is a file that records the state of the database before a modification is made and the state of the database after the modification has been made.), and post-move log records logged after the table movement and identifying the moved table as being included within the target tablespace (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses the operation allows a user to scan all transactions of a specific type, where once the scan parameters are chosen, the log scanning algorithm scans the individual node transaction logs, the catalog, and any additional files for transactions that meet the selected scanning parameter. The rollback manager then assimilates the data received from the log scanner and provides an interface for the administrator to select the point to which the data in the database should be rolled-back and subsequently manages the rollback of the data. The Examiner notes that the rollback process is tracked and logged thereby illustrating most-move log records.); and
modify (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, lines 15-20[, which discloses operation parameters allow a user to scan all transaction of a specific type. Databases typically perform three types of activities: insert row, modify row, or delete which may be referred to simply as operations.) the pre-move log records to obtain updated pre-move log records identifying the moved table as being included within the target tablespace (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.).
As per claim 11, Richardson teaches a computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
query a database (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, lines 1-10], which discloses a user identification (User ID) parameter is provided which allows the database administrator or a user to scan (e.g. query) the transaction logs for specified user identification, uniquely distinguishing each user accessing the database, therefore log files can be scanned for all operations performed by that user. Additionally, see column 3, lines 20-25, which discloses a log scanner allows a DBMS to perform queries over the scanned transaction logs and determine the exact operations, or query that resulted in a corruption of data.) to retrieve a table movement of a moved table from a source tablespace to a target tablespace within the database (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses a log scanner may scan to determine (e.g. identify) a list of recent transaction, where the log information may include a time stamp, nature of change, source, target, etc. Richardson, see column 4, line 65 to column 5, line 30 discloses each of the nodes includes a corresponding node log, which tracks and maintains modifications, edits, or deletions performed to the database tables by the respective nodes, where a catalog node may also be provided which retrieves a list of transactions performed in each of the node logs and references the list of transactions for a selected set of nodes.), the database containing log record repository (e.g. Richardson, see column 5, lines 32-38], which discloses the database systems commonly employ transaction logs in order to provide transaction autonomy, where a transaction log is a file that records the state of the database before a modification is made and the state of the database after the modification has been made.);
query the log record repository (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, lines 1-10], which discloses a user identification (User ID) parameter is provided which allows the database administrator or a user to scan (e.g. query) the transaction logs for specified user identification, uniquely distinguishing each user accessing the database, therefore log files can be scanned for all operations performed by that user. Additionally, see column 3, lines 20-25, which discloses a log scanner allows a DBMS to perform queries over the scanned transaction logs and determine the exact operations, or query that resulted in a corruption of data.) for a plurality of log records to retrieve pre-move log records logged prior to the table movement and identifying the moved table as being included within the source tablespace (Richardson, see column 4, line 65 to column 5, line 30 discloses each of the nodes includes a corresponding node log, which tracks and maintains modifications, edits, or deletions performed to the database tables by the respective nodes, where a catalog node may also be provided which retrieves a list of transactions performed in each of the node logs and references the list of transactions for a selected set of nodes, where the database system commonly employ transaction logs in order to provide transaction autonomy, where a transaction log is a file that records the state of the database before a modification is made and the state of the database after the modification has been made.), and post-move log records logged after the table movement and identifying the moved table as being included within the target tablespace (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses the operation allows a user to scan all transactions of a specific type, where once the scan parameters are chosen, the log scanning algorithm scans the individual node transaction logs, the catalog, and any additional files for transactions that meet the selected scanning parameter. The rollback manager then assimilates the data received from the log scanner and provides an interface for the administrator to select the point to which the data in the database should be rolled-back and subsequently manages the rollback of the data. The Examiner notes that the rollback process is tracked and logged thereby illustrating most-move log records.); and
modify (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, lines 15-20[, which discloses operation parameters allow a user to scan all transaction of a specific type. Databases typically perform three types of activities: insert row, modify row, or delete which may be referred to simply as operations.) the pre-move log records to obtain updated pre-move log records identifying the moved table as being included within the target tablespace (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.).
As per claim 17, Richardson teaches a system comprising:
at least one memory including instructions (e.g. Richardson, see Figure 1, which discloses a processor coupled to memory.); and
at least one processor that is operably coupled to the at least one memory and that is arranged and configured to execute instructions that (e.g. Richardson, see Figure 1, which discloses a processor coupled to memory.), when executed, cause the at least one processor to:
query a database (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, lines 1-10], which discloses a user identification (User ID) parameter is provided which allows the database administrator or a user to scan (e.g. query) the transaction logs for specified user identification, uniquely distinguishing each user accessing the database, therefore log files can be scanned for all operations performed by that user. Additionally, see column 3, lines 20-25, which discloses a log scanner allows a DBMS to perform queries over the scanned transaction logs and determine the exact operations, or query that resulted in a corruption of data.) to retrieve a table movement of a moved table from a source tablespace to a target tablespace within the database (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses a log scanner may scan to determine (e.g. identify) a list of recent transaction, where the log information may include a time stamp, nature of change, source, target, etc. Richardson, see column 4, line 65 to column 5, line 30 discloses each of the nodes includes a corresponding node log, which tracks and maintains modifications, edits, or deletions performed to the database tables by the respective nodes, where a catalog node may also be provided which retrieves a list of transactions performed in each of the node logs and references the list of transactions for a selected set of nodes.), the database containing log record repository (e.g. Richardson, see column 5, lines 32-38], which discloses the database systems commonly employ transaction logs in order to provide transaction autonomy, where a transaction log is a file that records the state of the database before a modification is made and the state of the database after the modification has been made.);
query the log record repository (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, lines 1-10], which discloses a user identification (User ID) parameter is provided which allows the database administrator or a user to scan (e.g. query) the transaction logs for specified user identification, uniquely distinguishing each user accessing the database, therefore log files can be scanned for all operations performed by that user. Additionally, see column 3, lines 20-25, which discloses a log scanner allows a DBMS to perform queries over the scanned transaction logs and determine the exact operations, or query that resulted in a corruption of data.) for a plurality of log records to retrieve pre-move log records logged prior to the table movement and identifying the moved table as being included within the source tablespace (Richardson, see column 4, line 65 to column 5, line 30 discloses each of the nodes includes a corresponding node log, which tracks and maintains modifications, edits, or deletions performed to the database tables by the respective nodes, where a catalog node may also be provided which retrieves a list of transactions performed in each of the node logs and references the list of transactions for a selected set of nodes, where the database system commonly employ transaction logs in order to provide transaction autonomy, where a transaction log is a file that records the state of the database before a modification is made and the state of the database after the modification has been made.), and post-move log records logged after the table movement and identifying the moved table as being included within the target tablespace (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses the operation allows a user to scan all transactions of a specific type, where once the scan parameters are chosen, the log scanning algorithm scans the individual node transaction logs, the catalog, and any additional files for transactions that meet the selected scanning parameter. The rollback manager then assimilates the data received from the log scanner and provides an interface for the administrator to select the point to which the data in the database should be rolled-back and subsequently manages the rollback of the data. The Examiner notes that the rollback process is tracked and logged thereby illustrating most-move log records.); and
modify (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, lines 15-20[, which discloses operation parameters allow a user to scan all transaction of a specific type. Databases typically perform three types of activities: insert row, modify row, or delete which may be referred to simply as operations.) the pre-move log records to obtain updated pre-move log records identifying the moved table as being included within the target tablespace (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.).
As per claims 2, 12, and 18, Richardson teaches the computer program product of claim 1, the method of claim 11, and the system of claim 17, respectively, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
query a catalog of the database to identify table movement activity, including a list of moved tables (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the a log scanner function allows the database to perform queries over the scanned transaction logs and determine the exact operation or a query that resulted in a corruption of data.); and
identify the table movement from the table movement activity, including identifying the moved table from the list of moved tables (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses a log scanner may scan to determine (e.g. identify) a list of recent transaction, where the log information may include a time stamp, nature of change, source, target, etc.).
As per claims 3 and 13, Richardson teaches the computer program product of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, respectively, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
distinguish the pre-move log records from the post-move log records by analyzing a log order value of each of the plurality of log records with respect to a movement time at which the table movement occurred (e.g. Richardson, see column 5, line 1 to column 6, line 65, which discloses each of the nodes includes a corresponding node log which tracks and maintains modifications, edits, or deletions performed to the database tables, by the respective nodes. The information regarding the nature of the modification, the time the modification has taken place and the data in the table before and after the modification, and other pertinent information regarding activities by the nodes is stored in the transaction logs.).
As per claim 4, Richardson teaches the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
identify a reorganization process executed with respect to the database (e.g. Richardson, see column 5, line 1 to column 6, line 65, which discloses each of the nodes includes a corresponding node log which tracks and maintains modifications, edits, or deletions performed to the database tables, by the respective nodes. The information regarding the nature of the modification, the time the modification has taken place and the data in the table before and after the modification, and other pertinent information regarding activities by the nodes is stored in the transaction logs.); and
identify the table movement as occurring as part of the reorganization process (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses the operation allows a user to scan all transactions of a specific type, where once the scan parameters are chosen, the log scanning algorithm scans the individual node transaction logs, the catalog, and any additional files for transactions that meet the selected scanning parameter. The rollback manager then assimilates the data received from the log scanner and provides an interface for the administrator to select the point to which the data in the database should be rolled-back and subsequently manages the rollback of the data.).
As per claim 5, Richardson teaches the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
identify the table movement as occurring in response to a command of the database (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses the operation allows a user to scan all transactions of a specific type, where once the scan parameters are chosen, the log scanning algorithm scans the individual node transaction logs, the catalog, and any additional files for transactions that meet the selected scanning parameter. The rollback manager then assimilates the data received from the log scanner and provides an interface for the administrator to select the point to which the data in the database should be rolled-back and subsequently manages the rollback of the data.).
As per claims 6, 14 and 19, Richardson teaches the computer program product of claim 1, the method of claim 11, and the system of claim 17, respectively, wherein the database has a database identifier (ID) and includes the source tablespace with a source tablespace ID and the target tablespace with a target tablespace ID (e.g. Richardson, see column 5, line 35 to column 6, line 55, which discloses a transaction sequence begins with a log record, where every transaction sequence is uniquely identified by a transaction identifier assigned by the database system. A transaction ID field is present in every log record.), and wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
identify the moved table within the pre-move log records using a combination of the database ID, the source tablespace ID, and a table ID of the moved table (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses a log scanner may scan to determine (e.g. identify) a list of recent transaction, where the log information may include a time stamp, nature of change, source, target, etc.); and
change the source tablespace ID to the target tablespace ID within the pre-move log records to thereby obtain the updated pre-move log records (e.g. Richardson, see column 5, line 1 to column 6, line 65, which discloses each of the nodes includes a corresponding node log which tracks and maintains modifications, edits, or deletions performed to the database tables, by the respective nodes. The information regarding the nature of the modification, the time the modification has taken place and the data in the table before and after the modification, and other pertinent information regarding activities by the nodes is stored in the transaction logs.).
As per claims 7, 15, and 20, Richardson teaches the computer program product of claim 1, the method of claim 11, and the system of claim 17, respectively, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
obtain the pre-move log records and the post-move log records from log records of the database (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.);
store the pre-move log records and the post-move log records within a log record buffer to obtain stored pre-move log records and store post-move log records (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.); and
update the stored pre-move log records within the log record buffer to obtain the updated pre-move log records stored within the log records buffer (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.).
As per claim 8, Richardson teaches the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
request the updated pre-move log records and the post-move log records using an identification of the target tablespace (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.); and
execute processing of the updated pre-move log records and the post-move log records (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.).
As per claims 9 and 16, Richardson teaches the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
obtain, from a catalog of the database and in response to identifying the table movement, event data related to the source tablespace (e.g. Richardson, see column 6, line 58 to column 8, line 50, which discloses a log scanner may scan to determine (e.g. identify) a list of recent transaction, where the log information may include a time stamp, nature of change, source, target, etc.); and
process the updated pre-move log records and the post-move log records, using the event data to process the updated pre-move log records (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.).
As per claim 10, Richardson teaches the computer program product of claim 9, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one computing device to:
capture the event data prior to the table movement within an event repository that is external to the database (e.g. Richardson, see column 7, line 50 to column 10, line 35, which discloses the rollback function accumulates all changes that are needed in order to reverse each operation in a temporary rollback table, the changes are recorded as full data row images that are either inserted or deleted from a corresponding table (e.g. target) and updates the transaction log.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892 that includes additional prior art of record describing the general state of the art in which the invention is directed to.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/FARHAN M SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161 February 5, 2026