DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are under consideration.
The instant application is a continuation (CON) of Application No. 18/501,536 filed November 3, 2023 (now abandoned), which is a CON of Application No. 18/124,079 filed March 21, 2023 (now abandoned), which is a CON of Application No. 16/894,121 filed June 5, 2020 (now abandoned), which is a CON of Application No. 16/376,907 filed April 5, 2019 (now abandoned), which is a CON of Application No. 15/159,008 filed May 19, 2016 (now U.S. Patent No. 10,300,039), which is a divisional (DIV) of Application No. 13/255,326 filed September 8, 2011 (now US Patent No. 9,387,191), which is a national stage entry of PCT/US10/42788 filed July 21, 2010.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16, drawn to tablets comprising granule particles comprising ferric citrate and a binder in the reply filed on October 1, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-22 and 26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-16 as filed on October 1, 2026 are pending and under consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-10, 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7: “carbolpol” appears to be a misspelling of Carbopol®.
Claim 7: “PVP/VA” should presumably recite “polyvinylpyrrolidone / vinyl acetate (PVP/VA)” or some variation thereof as supported by the specification because acronyms should be spelled out at the first recitation thereof.
Claims 8-10, 13, 15: the comma after the preamble should be deleted consistent with the formatting of the other dependent claims. Alternatively, a comma could be inserted within the other dependent claims.
Claim 8: “LOD%” should presumably recite “loss on drying (LOD%)” or some variation thereof as supported by the specification.
Claim 13 recites percentages without providing a basis for the determination thereof, e.g., by weight.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites carbolpol which is presumably a misspelling of Carbopol®. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a specific type of polymer and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 7 recites cellulose gum (carboxymethyl cellulose) and starch (partially or fully pregelatinized starch). It is unclear whether the parenthetical information is a positive claim limitation or is merely exemplary. See MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 13 recites a tablet comprising 65 to 95% ferric citrate, 4.5 to 30% binder and 0.5 to 3 % lubricant, however, claim 1 from which claim 13 depends recites a tablet comprising granule particles. It is unclear how the tablet of claim 13 relates to the tablet of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 13 recites a tablet comprising 65 to 95% ferric citrate, 4.5 to 30% binder and 0.5 to 3 % lubricant, however, claim 1 from which claim 13 depends recites a tablet comprising granule particles. Because claim 13 omits the granule particles, claim 13 fails to include all of the limitations of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ). See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 61/227,124, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The prior-filed application does not disclose granule particles comprising ferric citrate and a binder and does not disclose the mean surface area to mass ratio of granule particles greater than or equal to 1 m2/g as required by claim 1; does not disclose the ratio as required by claims 2, 3; does not disclose the LOD % water less than 20 as required by claims 8-10; and does not disclose at least 80% ferric citrate dissolution within 60 minutes as required by claim 16.
The earliest date potentially available to the pending claims is July 21, 2010.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-7 and 11-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al. (US 2012/0121703, filed July 20, 2011 and claiming priority to July 20, 2010) as evidenced by Kwok et al. ’04 (WO 2004/074444) in view of Kwok et al. (US 2006/0020026, published January 26, 2006).
Because the earliest date available to claims 1-16 is July 21, 2020, Fukushima is prior art under pre-AIA 102(e)
Fukushima teaches tablets comprising ferric citrate in a high content; the tablets comprise 70 to 90 wt% ferric citrate (title; abstract; claims; paragraphs [0001], [0025], [0026], [0028], [0029]), as required by instant claims 4-6, 13. See MPEP 2144.05. The exemplary tablets comprise 600 mg ferric citrate (Tables 1A and 2A). The ferric citrate may be produced by the method described in WO 2004/074444 (paragraphs [0021]-[0024]), which is PCT/US2004/004646. Ferric citrate is effective for the treatment of hyperphosphatemia (paragraphs [0002], [0112]).
The ferric citrate is granulated with partially pregelatinized starch; pregelatinized starch is a binder (paragraphs [0053], [0118]; claims 27, 28), as required by instant claims 7, 14. The tablets comprise 3 to 20 wt% starch relative to the ferric citrate (paragraph [0033]), as required by instant claim 13.
The tablets may further comprise disintegrants such as crospovidone (paragraph [0052]), as required by instant claim 11.
The tablets may further comprise lubricants such as magnesium stearate, calcium stearate and sodium stearyl fumarate (paragraphs [0055], [0120]), as required by instant claims 12, 15. Lubricants may be present from 0.01 to 6 wt% (paragraph [0104]), as required by instant claim 13.
The tablets show a dissolution ratio of the ferric citrate in a 30 minute dissolution time of not less than 70% (paragraph [0110]), as required by instant claim 16.
Fukushima does not teach the granules have a mean surface area to mass ratio equal to or greater than 1 m2 per gram as required by claim 1.
Fukushima does not teach the granules have a mean surface area to mass ratio equal to or greater than 5 m2 per gram, than 10 m2 per gram as alternatively required by claims 2, 3.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Kwok.
Kwok, which is a CIP of PCT/US2004/004646, teaches a novel form of ferric citrate which is soluble over a wider range of pH and which has a large active surface area; the BET surface area exceeds 16 m2/g (title; abstract; claims, in particular 85; paragraph [0044]), as required by instant claims 2, 3. The unique significantly large active surface area is believed to cause the increased solubility (paragraph [0060]; also [0071], [0073], [0074], Table 4). The ferric citrate may be formulated as a tablet (paragraph [0058]). The ferric citrate may be formulated with carriers such as starch and magnesium stearate (paragraph [0054]). The ferric citrate has better delivery to treat patients suffering from hyperphosphatemia; because the ferric citrate is more soluble smaller amounts can be used to effectively treat patients (abstract; paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ferric citrate of the tablets of Fukushima to comprise the ferric citrate of Kwok having a large surface area exceeding 16 m2/g because the large surface area improves the solubility of the ferric citrate and has better delivery to treat patients suffering from hyperphosphatemia. Additionally or/and alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ferric citrate granules of the tablets of Fukushima to have a large surface area exceeding 16 m2/g as taught by Kwok because a large surface area improves the solubility and has better delivery to treat patients suffering from hyperphosphatemia. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Fukushima expressly teaches the ferric citrate may be produced by the method disclosed by Kwok.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al. (US 2012/0121703, filed July 20, 2011 and claiming priority to July 20, 2010) as evidenced by Kwok et al. ’04 (WO 2004/074444) in view of Kwok et al. (US 2006/0020026, published January 26, 2006) as applied to claims 1-7 and 11-16 above, and further in view of Chan et al. (US 2008/0274210, published November 6, 2008).
The teachings of Fukushima and Kwok have been described supra.
Fukushima further teaches after granulation the granules are dried (paragraph [0119]).
They do not teach the LOD is less than 20%, less than 15%, or less than 10% as alternatively required by claims 8-10.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Chan.
Chan, which is a CIP of a CIP of PCT/US2004/004646, teaches a manufacturing and quality control process for making a pharmaceutical grade ferric citrate which is soluble over a wider range of pH and which has a large active surface area; an additional embodiment provides pharmaceutical compositions inclusive of tablets (title; abstract; claims; paragraphs [0015], [0019], [0073], [0121], [0141], [0142]; Table 2). The process comprises testing the ferric citrate for compliance with the release specification of Table A inclusive of loss on drying test; the limit of specification for loss on drying is NMT 20% (paragraph [0096]; Table A), as required by instant claims 8-10. Ferric citrate is supplied in 500 mg capsules (paragraphs [0221], [0224]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ferric citrate tablets of Fukushima in view of Kwok to have loss on drying of no more than 20% as taught by Chan because this specification indicates the ferric citrate is compliant with quality control measures for pharmaceutical applications.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kwok et al. (US 2006/0020026, published January 26, 2006) in view of Weibel-Furer et al. (WO 2009/062993, published May 22, 2009) and Pennell et al. (WO 2007/088343, published August 9, 2007).
Kwok teaches a novel form of ferric organic compounds, including a form of ferric citrate, which can be delivered effectively by oral route with better delivery to treat patients suffering from hyperphosphatemia, metabolic acidosis and other disorders responsive to ferric organic compound therapy (title; abstract; claims; paragraph [0010]). The ferric citrate is soluble over a wider range of pH and has a large active surface area; the BET surface area exceeds 16 m2/g (abstract; paragraph [0044]; claim 85), as required by instant claims 2, 3. The unique significantly large active surface area is believed to cause the increased solubility (paragraph [0060]; also [0071], [0073], [0074], Table 4). Figure 2 illustrates a dissolution profile of the novel form of ferric citrate; about 50% of the ferric citrate dissolves in the first 5 minutes and about 80% is dissolved after about 50 minutes, as required by instant claim 16. Compositions for oral administration include tablets formulated with conventional excipients such as starch and magnesium stearate (paragraphs [0050], [0054], [0064]; claims 91, 92).
Kwok does not teach granule particles comprising a binder as required by claim 1.
Kwok does not teach at least 70 wt%, at least 80 wt%, at least 90 wt% ferric citrate as alternatively required by claims 4-6.
Kwok does not teach a binder from the group of claim 7 inclusive of pregelatinized starch.
Kwok does not teach the LOD is less than 20%, less than 15%, less than 10% as alternatively required by claims 8-10.
Kwok does not teach a disintegrant from the group of claim 11 inclusive of microcrystalline cellulose or/and croscarmellose sodium.
Kwok does not teach a lubricant from the groups of claims 12 and 15 inclusive of calcium stearate and sodium stearyl fumarate.
Kwok does not teach about 65 to 92% ferric citrate, about 4.5 to 30 wt% binder and 0.5 to 3 wt% lubricant as required by claim 13.
Kwok does not teach the binder comprises pregelatinized starch as required by claim 14.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Weibel-Furer and Pennell.
Weibel-Furer teaches an oral delivery system for iron(III) oxy-hydroxide (Fe2O3 x H2O)) in high loading for use in the treatment of hyperphosphatemia (title; abstract; claims; page 7, lines 11-22; page 21, lines 1-6). Oral dosage forms such as tablets are the preferred form of delivery for a wide range of drugs due the high level of patient acceptability and compliance as well as advantageous manufacturing characteristics (paragraph bridging pages 3 and 4). The dosages achieve both high loadings and suitable disintegration characteristics while maintaining minimal size (page 4, lines 25-29). High loading, in preferred embodiments, indicates more than 50 to 90 wt% iron oxy-hydroxide (page 9, lines 10-20), as required by instant claims 4-6, 13. It is desirable to administer high dosages in order to achieve maximum efficacy while maintaining patient compliance (page 2, lines 4-9). The iron oxy-hydroxide may be present in an amount of greater than 300 mg per dosage form, preferably 300 to 2000 mg (page 9, lines 21-28). The tablet comprises one or more carbohydrates and/or humic acid to act as binder and/or filler and/or disintegrant (paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6). Preferred products include native and pregelatinized starch since it allows for compression of a suitable tablet either directly or with a very small amount of further excipients (paragraph bridging pages 8 and 9), as required by instant claims 7, 14. The amount of the starch may be 1 to 50 wt%, preferably 5 to 30 wt% (page 9, lines 5-6), as required by instant claim 13. The tablet may comprise a superdisintegrant or a common disintegrant such as microcrystalline cellulose (page 12, line 23 through page 13, line 27), as required by instant claim 11. The tablet may comprise a lubricant to facilitate tablet manufacture by achieving suitable flowability and compressibility such as for example calcium stearate and magnesium stearate and sodium stearyl fumarate in an amount from 0.01 to 10 wt% (page 14, lines 9-26), as required by instant claims 12, 13, 15. In the processing of the tablet, the use of water as a solvent for wet granulation results in the release of iron from the product; wet processing techniques must be avoided (paragraph bridging pages 17 and 18). The exemplary formulations of Table 1 (page 22) comprise approximately 5% water, as required by instant claims 8-10.
Pennell teaches a granular material comprising at least 50 wt%, at least 75 wt% of a compound capable of binding phosphate, from 3 to 12 wt% non-chemically bound water, and no greater than 47 wt% of an excipient (title; abstract; claims; page 1, lines 5-8; page 2, lines 10-19; page 16, lines 1-13; page 19, line 16 through page 20, line 11; Examples and Table 1), as required by instant claims 4-6, 8-10, 13. The granular material may be compacted into a tablet (page 3, lines 5-7; claim 10). The excipient includes structurants or adhesives, disintegrants or swelling agents; a preferred excipient is pregelatinized starch in amounts from 5 to 20 wt% which improves the durability and cohesion of the tablets without impeding the disintegration or phosphate binding of the tablets in use (page 17, lines 20-21; page 18, lines 18-27; claim 5), as required by instant claims 7, 13, 14. Suitable disintegrants include cross-linked sodium carboxymethylcellulose (croscarmellose sodium) (paragraph bridging pages 17 and 18), as required by instant claim 11. Prior to tableting the granules are blended with a lubricant such as calcium or magnesium stearate and sodium stearyl fumarate; the lubricant is added at a level of from 0.1 to 0.4 wt% by weight of the granules (page 20, lines 15-31), as required by instant claims 12, 13, 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ferric citrate tablets of Kwok to further comprise excipients inclusive of pregelatinized starch as taught by Weibel-Furer because the starch allows for compression of a suitable tablet with a very small about of further excipients, allowing for high drug loading. It would have been obvious to granulate the ferric citrate with the starch as taught by Pennell because such granules improve the durability and cohesion of tablets without impeding the disintegration or phosphate binding of the tablets in use. It would have been obvious to modify the modify the ferric citrate granules of the tablets of Kwok in view of Weibel-Furer and Pennell to have a large surface area exceeding 16 m2/g as taught by Kwok because a large surface area improves the solubility and has better delivery to treat patients suffering from hyperphosphatemia. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Kwok teaches the tablets may be formulated with conventional excipients such as starch.
Regarding claims 4-6 and 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ferric citrate tablets of Kwok in view of Weibel-Furer and Pennell to comprise the ferric citrate in amounts of 50 to 90 wt% as taught by Weibel-Furer or/and in amounts in excess of 50 wt%, in excess of 75 wt% as taught by Pennell in order to form a tablet with high drug / phosphate binder loading because higher dosages maximize efficacy while maintaining patient compliance.
Regarding claims 8-10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ferric citrate tablets of Kwok in view of Weibel-Furer and Pennell to comprise approximately 5% water as exemplified by Weibel-Furer because Weibel-Furer caution that contact with water during tableting may result in an undesirable release of iron. One would be further motivated to minimize the water content of the tablets because one of the advantages of the novel compounds of Kwok is a higher solubility.
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ferric citrate tablets of Kwok in view of Weibel-Furer and Pennell to further comprise a disintegrant such as microcrystalline cellulose as taught by Weibel-Furer or/and cross-linked sodium carboxymethylcellulose (croscarmellose sodium) as taught by Pennell in order to obtain tablets that achieve both high loadings and suitable disintegration characteristics while maintaining minimal size. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Kwok teaches the tablets may be formulated with conventional excipients and disintegrants are a species falling within this genus.
Regarding claims 12, 13 and 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ferric citrate tablets of Kwok in view of Weibel-Furer and Pennell to further comprise 0.01 to 10 wt% of a lubricant such as calcium stearate, magnesium stearate or/and sodium stearyl fumarate as taught by Weibel-Furer or/and as taught by Pennell in order to facilitate tablet manufacturing by achieving suitable flowability and compressibility. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Kwok teach the tablets may be formulated with conventional excipients and because Pennel teach such lubricants should be combined with the granules prior to tableting.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the amount of pregelatinized starch in the ferric citrate tablets of Kwok in view of Weibel-Furer and Pennell within the range of 1 to 50 wt% as taught by Weibel-Furer or/and within 5 to 20 wt% as taught by Pennell because these amounts are taught as suitable for obtaining the desired cohesion of high drug load tablets suitable for treating hyperphosphatemia.
Regarding claim 16, although Kwok teaches a dissolution profile as claimed, in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ferric citrate tablets of Kwok in view of Weibel-Furer and Pennell to possess an enhanced dissolution profile such as that exemplified by Kwok in order to maximize the efficacy of the ferric citrate upon administration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,387,191 in view of Kwok et al. (US 2006/0020026, published January 26, 2006) and Pennell et al. (WO 2007/088343, published August 9, 2007).
The instant claims are drawn to tablets comprising granules comprising ferric citrate and a binder, the granules having a mean surface area to mass ratio equal to or greater than 1 m2/g, greater than 5 m2/g, greater than 10 m2/g. The tablets may comprise at least 70 wt%, at least 80 wt%, at least 90 wt% ferric citrate. The binder may comprise pregelatinized starch. The LOD may be less than 20%, less than 15%, less than 10%. The tablet may further comprise a disintegrant such as starch or a lubricant such as calcium stearate and sodium stearyl fumarate. The tablets may comprise about 65 to 92 wt% ferric citrate, about 4.5 to 30 wt% binder and 0.5 to 3 wt% lubricant. At least 80% of the ferric citrate in the tablets may dissolve in less than 60 minutes as measured by USP <711>.
The ‘191 Patent claims are drawn to tablets comprising about 90 to 92 wt% ferric citrate, about 4.5 to 30 wt% pregelatinized starch, and about 0.5 to 3 wt% lubricant, wherein at least 80% of the ferric citrate is dissolved in less than 60 minutes as measured by USP <711> and the moisture content of the tablet is less than 10% by LOD. The lubricant may comprise calcium stearate.
The conflicting claims differ with respect to the recitation of a granule and the specific area thereof, with respect to the disintegrant and types thereof, and with respect to the sodium stearyl fumarate lubricant. However, these differences are obvious in the view of the prior art as elaborated supra because Kwok discloses ferric citrate characterized by a BET surface area in excess of 16 m2/g and Pennell discloses phosphate binders granulated with excipients inclusive of pregelatinized starch prior to tableting as elaborated supra. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify tablets of the conflicting Patent claims to comprise granules of ferric citrate with the pregelatinized starch in order to facilitate compacting into tablets and it would have been obvious to modify the granules to have a significantly large active surface area as taught by Kwok in order to maximize dissolution upon administration. It would have been obvious to modify the tablets of the conflicting Patent claims in view of Kwok and Pennell to further comprise excipients inclusive of disintegrants inclusive of cross-linked sodium carboxymethylcellulose (croscarmellose sodium) or/and lubricants inclusive of calcium stearate and sodium stearyl fumarate as taught by Pennell because such are usual tableting excipients.
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 13, 18, 24, 25, 27, 29-31, 34 and 39 of copending Application No. 18/517,274 in view of Kwok et al. (US 2006/0020026, published January 26, 2006), Weibel-Furer et al. (WO 2009/062993, published May 22, 2009) and Pennell et al. (WO 2007/088343, published August 9, 2007).
The instant claims have been described supra.
The copending ‘274 claims are drawn to a dosages inclusive of tablets comprising granules comprising about 60 to 80 wt% ferric citrate, about 1 to 10 wt% binders inclusive of pregelatinized starch, disintegrants inclusive of starch, fillers inclusive of pregelatinized starch, and about 0.1 to 2 wt% lubricants inclusive of calcium stearate and sodium stearyl fumarate. The tablets may be formulated for immediate release such as having a disintegration time of less than about 20 minutes or may have a BET surface area greater than 5 m2/g.
The conflicting claims differ with respect to the recitation of the specific area of the granules, ferric citrate loadings in excess of 90 wt%, and the LOD% less than 20%. However, these differences are obvious in the view of the prior art as elaborated supra because Kwok discloses ferric citrate characterized by a BET surface area in excess of 16 m2/g, Weibel-Furer discloses minimizing water and exemplifies tablets comprising about 5 wt% water and high-loading of 50 to 90 wt% and Pennell discloses granules comprising at least 50 wt% of phosphate binders granulated with excipients inclusive of pregelatinized starch as elaborated supra. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify granules of the conflicting, copending claims to have a significantly large active surface area as taught by Kwok in order to maximize dissolution upon administration. It would have been obvious to modify the tablets of the conflicting, copending claims in view of Kwok comprise quantities of ferric citrate from 50 to 90 wt% as taught by Weibel-Furer or/and to comprise ferric citrate in an amount in excess of 50 wt% as taught by Pennell in order to provide high load tablets and it would have been obvious to modify the tablets to minimize the quantity of water as taught by Weibel-Furer because water may inadvertently release the ferric citrate during processing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luftensteiner et al. (US 2005/0267125) teaches high drug load tablets (title; abstract; claims).
Zalit et al. (US 2006/0099252) teaches compressed solid dosage forms comprising granules of an active and starch (title; abstract; claims).
Hsu (US 5,753,706) teaches methods of controlling phosphate metabolism and metabolic acidosis comprising the oral administration of a ferric-containing compound inclusive of ferric citrate (title; abstract; claims). The ferric compounds are formulated as tablets (column 2, lines 55-62). Each oral dosage form can contain from about 500 to 1000 mg of the ferric-containing compound (column 3, lines 6-8; claims 5-7).
Xu (CN 1446790 A, as evidenced by the Google translation) teaches ferric citrate and exemplifies granules and tablets thereof; the tablets further comprise starch and magnesium stearate (title; abstract; claims; Examples 6 & 7).
Ku et al. (PL 184893 B1, as evidenced by the Google translation) teaches tablets with a high relative amount of active agent and excellent wetting and disintegration properties (title; abstract; claims).
/ALISSA PROSSER/
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600