Detailed Action
This application is a continuation of US application 15/483858, now abandoned, filed April 10, 2017, which is a continuation of US application 13/609985, now abandoned, filed September 11, 2012. Claims 1-16 are pending in this application and examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 15, and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hahnlein et al. (US pre-grant publication 2003/0143304, cited in PTO-892) in view of Destaillats et al. (US pre-grant publication 2011/0028434, cited in PTO-1449)
Independent claim 1 is directed to a composition of three different forms of folate, specifically pteroylmonoglutamic acid, (folic acid) 5-formyltetrahydrofolic acid, (folinic acid or leucovorin) and 5-methyl-tetrahydrofolic acid, in combination with a phospholipid conjugate containing at least one of a number of unsaturated fatty acids.
Hahnlein et al. discloses a composition of folic acid, 5-methyltetrahydrofolic acid, and a dietary or nutrient component. (p. 2 paragraphs 14-18) These compositions are intended to ensure adequate folate supply to subjects suffering from folate deficiency, including those having disorders in folate metabolism, including genetic disorders. (p. 2 paragraph 12) Hahnlein et al. additionally discloses a preferred embodiment in which the composition contains at least one other reduced folate besides 5-methyltetrahydrofolate, including for example 5-formyltetrahydrofolate. (p. 3 paragraph 27) Therefore Hahnlein et al. discloses an embodiment wherein the composition discloses folic acid, 5-methyltetrahydrofolate, and 5-formyltetrahydrofolate. Additionally, even if it were concluded that the reference does not specifically disclose such a combination, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make a combination of these three folates given the general disclosure of “other reduced folates” by Hahnlein.
Furthermore, while Hahnlein does not specifically disclose including in the composition a phospholipid containing one of the recited fatty acids, Destaillats et al. discloses administering a nutritional composition to a pregnant subject to increase DHA levels in the neonate, providing adequate levels in the brain and retina of the neonate. (p. 1 paragraphs 12-14) These compositions preferably include a fatty acid such as ARA, EPA, or DHA in the form of a phospholipid such as PC. (p. 1 paragraphs 17-19) The phospholipids can be obtained from various animal sources including egg lecithins. (p. 2 paragraph 22) The composition can further include 0.5-1.5 mg vitamin B6 (pyridoxine) and 0.5-2 µg vitamin B12. (pp. 2-3 paragraph 39) Additionally Hahnlein et al. discloses their multiple folate compositions as being useful for administration to pregnant subjects. (p. 5 paragraph 50 – p. 5 paragraph 52) It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to additionally include phospholipids such as egg lecithin containing ARA, EPA, or DHA in the compositions described by Hahnlein et al. Specifically, one of ordinary skill in the art would have seen that “nutritional” components as described by Hahnlein et al. would include any other nutrient reasonably expected to be useful to the subject population consuming the supplement, and would have expected based on Destaillats that the recited phospholipids would be useful for pregnant subjects.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 11, Hahnlein et al. discloses that the composition preferably comprises vitamin B6 and/or vitamin B12. (p. 4 paragraph 33) The vitamin B12 is preferably present in an amount of 0.4mg. (p. 4 paragraph 40) Regarding claim 5, Hahnlein discloses doses of 200 or 400 µg of folic acid and 400 or 800 µg 5-methyltetrahydrofolic acid. (p. 4 paragraphs 46-48) Elsewhere higher doses of folates are disclosed including for example 4-8 mg of 5-methyltetrahydrofolic acid. (p. 4 paragraph 37) It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate dosage for each of the three claimed folates, when all three are present together. Regarding claims 7, 8, 15, and 16, Hahnlein et al. discloses that specific isomers of the folate compounds can be used, including preferably the 6S isomers. (pp. 2-3 paragraphs 25 and 27)
For these reasons the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Claims 3, 13, and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hahnlein et al. in view of Destaillats et al. as applied to claims 1-12, 15, and 16 above, and further in view of Edwards et al. (US pre-grant publication 2006/0217385, cited in PTO-1449)
The disclosures of Hahnlein et al. and Destaillats et al. are discussed above. Hahnlein et al. do not specifically disclose the particular combination of vitamin B12 compounds recited in claims 13 and 14.
Edwards et al. discloses a composition for improving the nutritional status of a pregnant subject and child during all stages of pregnancy. (p. 2 paragraph 19) The composition contains one or more folates as well as one or more essential fatty acids. (p. 2 paragraph 20) These compositions are especially beneficial to subjects having a folate deficiency or folate metabolic disorder. (p. 3 paragraph 24) The composition additionally comprises vitamin B₆ such as pyridoxine or derivatives thereof, as well as vitamin B₁₂ including methylcobalamin, deoxyadenosylcobalamin, and combinations thereof in an amount of 20-250ug, which overlaps the range recited in present claims 3, 13, and 14.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include methylcobalamin and adenosylcobalamin in the claimed amounts in a composition as described by Hahnlein et al. in view of Destaillats et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Edwards et al. describes combinations of these two ingredients as being useful for administration to the same subject population along with folates, reduced folates, and essential fatty acids.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hahnlein et al. in view of Destaillats et al. as applied to claims 1-12, 15, and 16 above, and further in view of Freisen et al. (US pre-grant publication 2006/0148763, cited in PTO-1449)
The disclosures of Hahnlein et al. and Destaillats et al. are discussed above. Hahnlein et al. do not specifically disclose the particular vitamin B6 compounds recited in claims 4 and 11.
Friesen et al. discloses administering vitamin B₆ to a patient to prevent or treat hypertriglyceridemia. (p. 2 paragraph 11) The vitamin B₆ can be in the form of pyridoxal-5'-phosphate. (p. 2 paragraph 13) In a specific embodiment the patient being treated has a hormonal disturbance such as pregnancy. (p. 3 paragraph 57) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use pyridoxal-5'-phosphate. as the vitamin B₆ in the prior art composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so and would have reasonably expected success because Friesen et al. specifically discloses that pyridoxay-5'-phosphate is one of the forms of vitamin B₆ that can be administered to pregnant subjects.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 15, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 9, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 9216199 (Cited in PTO-1449, herein referred to as ‘199) in view of Hahnlein et al. (US pre-grant publication 2003/0143304, cited in PTO-892)
Claim 1 of ‘199 claims a composition comprising phosphatidylcholine:DHA, folate, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12. Claim 2 of ‘199 further claims specific amounts for each of these compounds. Claim 9 of ‘199 further describes the folate as comprising multiple folates. While the claims of ‘199 do not specifically require that the “multiple folates” comprise the three specific compounds recited in the present claims, claim 11 describes the composition as specifically being used for providing prenatal and postnatal nutrition for a mother.
The disclosure of Hahnlein et al. is as discussed previously under 35 USC 103.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a combination of three different folates among those recited by Hahnlein et al. as the “more than one form of folate” described in the claims of ‘199. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the recitation of “more than one form of folate” as suggesting looking to prior art combinations of multiple forms of folate, such as that described by Hahnlein et al.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 9, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 9216199 (Cited in PTO-1449, herein referred to as ‘199) in view of Hahnlein et al. (US pre-grant publication 2003/0143304, cited in PTO-892) in view of Freisen et al. (US pre-grant publication 2006/0148763, cited in PTO-1449)
The claims of ‘199 and the disclosure of Hahnlein et al. is discussed above. The claims of ‘199 in view of Hahnlein et al. do not specifically disclose the particular vitamin B6 compounds recited in claims 4 and 11.
Friesen et al. discloses administering vitamin B₆ to a patient to prevent or treat hypertriglyceridemia. (p. 2 paragraph 11) The vitamin B₆ can be in the form of pyridoxal-5'-phosphate. (p. 2 paragraph 13) In a specific embodiment the patient being treated has a hormonal disturbance such as pregnancy. (p. 3 paragraph 57) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use pyridoxal-5'-phosphate. as the vitamin B₆ in the prior art composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so and would have reasonably expected success because Friesen et al. specifically discloses that pyridoxay-5'-phosphate is one of the forms of vitamin B₆ that can be administered to pregnant subjects.
Claims 3, 13, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 9, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 9216199 (Cited in PTO-1449, herein referred to as ‘199) in view of Hahnlein et al. (US pre-grant publication 2003/0143304, cited in PTO-892) in view of Edwards et al. (US pre-grant publication 2006/0217385, cited in PTO-1449)
The claims of ‘199 and the disclosure of Hahnlein et al. is discussed above. The claims of ‘1998 in view of Hahnlein et al. do not specifically disclose the particular combination of vitamin B12 compounds recited in claims 13 and 14.
Edwards et al. discloses a composition for improving the nutritional status of a pregnant subject and child during all stages of pregnancy. (p. 2 paragraph 19) The composition contains one or more folates as well as one or more essential fatty acids. (p. 2 paragraph 20) These compositions are especially beneficial to subjects having a folate deficiency or folate metabolic disorder. (p. 3 paragraph 24) The composition additionally comprises vitamin B₆ such as pyridoxine or derivatives thereof, as well as vitamin B₁₂ including methylcobalamin, deoxyadenosylcobalamin, and combinations thereof in an amount of 20-250ug, which overlaps the range recited in present claims 3, 13, and 14.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include methylcobalamin and adenosylcobalamin in the claimed amounts in a composition as recited in the claims of ‘199 One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Edwards et al. describes combinations of these two ingredients as being useful for administration to the same subject population along with folates, reduced folates, and essential fatty acids.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
/ANDREA OLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693 10/13/2026