DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-10, 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/017736 A) (hereinafter Yokoyama) in view of Tanaka et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0181954 A1) (hereinafter Tanaka).
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama discloses A method of assembling a Halbach array for a motor rotor, the method comprising: assembling pre-magnetized magnets (Fig.1 RC3), which have magnetization directions, at selected intervals along a tangential direction of a cylindrical rotary body; assembling non-magnetized magnets (Fig. 1, RC 2), which are not magnetized, between the pre magnetized magnets (Fig. 1, RC 2, 3); and generating a magnetic field through the non-magnetized magnets and the pre-magnetized magnets using the magnetization yoke to implement a circular Halbach array by magnetizing the non-magnetized magnets (¶0019-¶0021). Yokoyama is silent about use of magnetization yoke concentric device, wherein the pre-magnetized are configured to perform boosting in a portion wherein a magnetic field direction generated by the magnetization yoke is dispersed during magnetization of the non-magnetized magnets.
Tanaka also discloses a method of assembling a Halback array for a motor rotor. The method comprising generating a magnetic field through the non-magnetized magnets and the pre- magnetized magnets using the magnetization yoke to implement a circular Halbach array by magnetizing the non-magnetized magnets, wherein the pre-magnetized magnets are configured to perform boosting in a portion where a magnetic field direction generated by the magnetization yoke is dispersed during magnetization of the non-magnetized magnets. (¶0060-0081). The benefit of doing so would have been to improve the method of manufacturing motor rotor by magnetizing magnets in flow of magnetic flux.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize magnetization yoke as taught by Tanaka within the method of assembling Halbach array as taught by Yokoyama. The benefit of doing so would have been to magnetizing magnets in flow of magnetic flux.
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka discloses placing air-cored coils (Fig. 6, RC Yb) of the magnetization yoke (Y), wherein the air-cored coils protrude radially inwardly and are arranged along an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical main yoke body at positions corresponding to the non-magnetized magnets (Fig. 6, RC 76a, 75a, 76b; ¶0079-¶0081).
Regarding claim 6, Yokoyama discloses the motor rotor is assembled to have a circular Halbach array structure of a four-part Halbach array, a six-part Halbach array, or an eight-part Halbach array, based on a number of poles and parts of post-magnetized magnets (¶0036).
Regarding claims 7, Yokoyama discloses wherein the circular Halbach array structure is the four-part Halbach array comprising: a fifth post-magnetized magnet having a fifth magnetic field ascending vertically in an outward radial direction, wherein the fifth post-magnetized magnet is positioned between two of the pre-magnetized magnets having clockwise and counterclockwise magnetic fields; and a sixth post-magnetized magnet having a sixth magnetic field descending vertically in an inward radial direction, wherein the sixth post-magnetized magnet is positioned between two of the pre-magnetized magnets having counterclockwise and clockwise magnetic fields (Fig. 12, ¶0031-¶0035).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Yokoyama discloses the motor rotor is assembled to have a circular Halbach array structure of a four-part Halbach array, a six-part Halbach array, or an eight-part Halbach array, based on a number of poles and parts of post-magnetized magnets (¶0036). Yokoyama discloses an example of four-part Halbach array as recited in claim rejection 7 above. A person of ordinary skill in the art can readily place more non-magnetized magnets between pre-magnetized magnets to obtain six-part or and eight-part Halbach array.
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Tanaka discloses placing the pre-magnetized magnets and the non-magnetized magnets on an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical rotary body to form an inner rotor structure for the motor rotor, and such that the placing of the magnetization yoke is concentrically around and outside of the cylindrical rotary body.
Regarding claim 23, the specification describes an axial flux rotor in which a circular Halbach array is formed on one surface of the rotary body (110) based on a direction of the rotational axis C (¶0042). Tanaka similarly discloses a circular Halbach array is formed on one surface of the rotary body (22) based on a direction of the rotational axis (J) (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/017736 A) (hereinafter Yokoyama) in view of Hyoung Nam (EP 3 832 859 A1) (hereinafter Nam), and further in view of Tanaka et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0181954 A1) (hereinafter Tanaka).
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama discloses A method of assembling a Halbach array for a motor rotor, the method comprising: assembling pre-magnetized magnets (Fig.1 RC3), which have magnetization directions, at selected intervals along a tangential direction of a cylindrical rotary body; assembling non-magnetized magnets (Fig. 1, RC 2), which are not magnetized, between the pre magnetized magnets (Fig. 1, RC 2, 3); and generating a magnetic field through the non-magnetized magnets and the pre-magnetized magnets using the magnetization yoke to implement a circular Halbach array by magnetizing the non-magnetized magnets (¶0019-¶0021). Yokoyama is silent about use of magnetization yoke concentric device, wherein the pre-magnetized are configured to perform boosting in a portion wherein a magnetic field direction generated by the magnetization yoke is dispersed during magnetization of the non-magnetized magnets.
Nam also discloses rotor magnetizing structure of a motor. Nam discloses the use of magnetization yoke concentric (200) to generate magnetic field and magnetize the surrounding magnets (Fig. 4; ¶0073). Tanaka also discloses a method of assembling a Halback array for a motor rotor. The method comprising generating a magnetic field through the non-magnetized magnets and the pre- magnetized magnets using the magnetization yoke to implement a circular Halbach array by magnetizing the non-magnetized magnets, wherein the pre-magnetized magnets are configured to perform boosting in a portion where a magnetic field direction generated by the magnetization yoke is dispersed during magnetization of the non-magnetized magnets. (¶0060-0081). The benefit of doing so would have been to improve the method of manufacturing motor rotor by magnetizing magnets in flow of magnetic flux.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize magnetization yoke concentric to generate magnetic field to magnetize the surrounding magnets as taught by Nam and Tanaka within the method of assembling Halbach array as taught by Yokoyama. The benefit of doing so would have been to magnetize the magnate in flow of magnetic flux.
Regarding claim 5, Nam discloses placing air-cored coils (Fig. 4, RC 230) of the magnetization yoke (200), wherein the air-cored coils protrude radially inwardly and are arranged along an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical main yoke body at positions corresponding to the non-magnetized magnets (Fig. 3-4; ¶0063-¶0075).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teaching of Yokoyama and Nam discloses wherein the assembling of the pre-magnetized magnets and the assembling the non-magnetized magnets comprises: placing the pre-magnetized magnets and the non-magnetized magnets on an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical rotary body to form an outer rotor structure for the motor rotor (Yokoyama; Fig. 4), and such that the placing of the magnetization yoke is concentrically within and inside of the cylindrical rotary body (Nam; Fig. 3-4; ¶0073).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama and Tanaka as applied to claims 1, 6-10 and 21 above, and further in view of Long (US Pub. No.: 2018/0191215 A1) (hereinafter Long).
Regarding claims 2-4, the limitations of claim 1 are taught by the combined teaching of Yokoyama and Tanaka as cited above.
Yokoyama further disclose applying a bonding agent onto a surface of each of the pre-magnetized magnets; and curing the bonding agent (¶0021). Yokoyama is silent about the use of robot for positioning the magnets.
Long also discloses the use of magnet arrays for electric rotors and motors. The method disclose the use of robot to move or position magnets (¶0030). The benefit of doing so would have been to assure the magnets are placed in correct position prior to molding/curing.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize robot for positioning or aligning the magnets during manufacturing process as taught by Long within the method of assembling a Halbach array as taught by the combined teaching of Yokoyama and Tanaka. The benefit of doing so would have been to improve accuracy and reduce manual labor.
Regarding claim 4, Yokoyama discloses applying a bonding agent onto a pre-magnetized magnet surface of each of the pre-magnetized magnets; placing the pre-magnetized magnets at corresponding assembling positions; applying the bonding agent onto a non-magnetized magnet surface of each of the non-magnetized magnets; placing the non-magnetized magnets between the placed pre-magnetized magnets; and curing the bonding agent after the placing of the pre-magnetized magnets and the non-magnetized magnets (¶0019-¶0021). However, Yokoyama is silent about the use of robot.
Long also discloses the use of magnet arrays for electric rotors and motors. The method disclose the use of robot to move or position magnets (¶0030). The benefit of doing so would have been to assure the magnets are placed in correct position prior to molding/curing.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize robot for positioning or aligning the magnets during manufacturing process as taught by Long within the method of assembling a Halbach array as taught by the combined teaching of Yokoyama and Tanaka. The benefit of doing so would have been to improve accuracy and reduce manual labor.
Regarding claim 3, Yokoyama discloses placing auxiliary magnets (3) (corresponding to pre-magnetized magnets) are placed in a circumferential direction they are placed in clockwise and counterclockwise direction (¶0020; Fig. 12). However, Yokoyama is silent about the use of robot.
Long also discloses the use of magnet arrays for electric rotors and motors. The method disclose the use of robot to move or position magnets (¶0030). The benefit of doing so would have been to assure the magnets are placed in correct position prior to molding/curing.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/0177036 A) (hereinafter Yokoyama) in view of Tanaka et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0181954 A1) (hereinafter Tanaka), and further in view of Long (US Pub. No.: 2018/0191215 A1) (hereinafter Long).
Regarding claim 24, Yokoyama discloses A method of assembling a Halbach array for a motor rotor, the method comprising: assembling pre-magnetized magnets (Fig.1 RC3), which have magnetization directions, at selected intervals along a tangential direction of a cylindrical rotary body; assembling non-magnetized magnets (Fig. 1, RC 2), which are not magnetized, between the pre magnetized magnets (Fig. 1, RC 2, 3); and generating a magnetic field through the non-magnetized magnets and the pre-magnetized magnets using the magnetization yoke to implement a circular Halbach array by magnetizing the non-magnetized magnets (¶0019-¶0021). Yokoyama is silent about use of magnetization yoke concentric device, wherein the pre-magnetized are configured to perform boosting in a portion wherein a magnetic field direction generated by the magnetization yoke is dispersed during magnetization of the non-magnetized magnets.
Tanaka also discloses a method of assembling a Halback array for a motor rotor. The method comprising generating a magnetic field through the non-magnetized magnets and the pre- magnetized magnets using the magnetization yoke to implement a circular Halbach array by magnetizing the non-magnetized magnets, wherein the pre-magnetized magnets are configured to perform boosting in a portion where a magnetic field direction generated by the magnetization yoke is dispersed during magnetization of the non-magnetized magnets. (¶0060-0081), wherein the portion where the magnetic field direction is dispersed comprises a diagonal direction portion of the rotary body distinct from the tangential direction in which the pre-magnetized magnets are assembled (Fig. 3 -notice the diagonal and tangential direction). The benefit of doing so would have been to improve the method of manufacturing motor rotor by magnetizing magnets in flow of magnetic flux.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize magnetization yoke as taught by Tanaka within the method of assembling Halbach array as taught by Yokoyama. The benefit of doing so would have been to magnetizing magnets in flow of magnetic flux.
Yokoyama discloses placing auxiliary magnets (3) (corresponding to pre-magnetized magnets) are placed in a circumferential direction they are placed in clockwise and counterclockwise direction (¶0020; Fig. 12). However, Yokoyama is silent about the use of robot.
Long also discloses the use of magnet arrays for electric rotors and motors. The method disclose the use of robot to move or position magnets (¶0030). The benefit of doing so would have been to assure the magnets are placed in correct position prior to molding/curing.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize robot to more or position magnets as taught by Long within the method of assembling a Halbach array as taught by the combined teaching of Yokoyama and Tanaka. The benefit of doing so would have been to assure the magnets are placed in correct position prior to molding/curing.
Regarding claim 25, Yokoyama discloses wherein the circular Halbach array comprises a four-part Halbach array structure comprising: a fifth post-magnetized magnet having a fifth magnetic field ascending vertically in an outward radial direction, wherein the fifth post-magnetized magnet is positioned between two of the pre-magnetized magnets having clockwise and counterclockwise magnetic fields; and a sixth post-magnetized magnet having a sixth magnetic field descending vertically in an inward radial direction, wherein the sixth post-magnetized magnet is positioned between two of the pre-magnetized magnets having counterclockwise and clockwise magnetic fields (Fig. 12, ¶0031-¶0036).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama, Tanaka and Long as applied to claims 24-25 above, and further in view of Tamada Kiyoshi (JP 2007159241 A) (hereinafter Kiyoshi).
Regarding claim 26, the limitations of claim 24 are taught by the combined teaching of Yokoyama, Tanak and Long as cited above. Yokoyama discloses the motor rotor is assembled to have a circular Halbach array structure of a four-part Halbach array, a six-part Halbach array, or an eight-part Halbach array, based on a number of poles and parts of post-magnetized magnets (¶0036). However, they are silent about limitations recited in claim 26.
Kiyoshi also discloses Hallbach arrangement composed of various magnets. Kiyoshi further discloses wherein the diagonal direction portion corresponds to positions of a first post-magnetized magnet having a first magnetic field ascending diagonally outward in a clockwise direction and a second post-magnetized magnet having a second magnetic field ascending diagonally outward in a counterclockwise direction, positioned together between two of the pre-magnetized magnets having clockwise and counterclockwise magnetic fields, and a third post-magnetized magnet having a third magnetic field descending diagonally inward in the counterclockwise direction and a fourth post-magnetized magnet having a fourth magnetic field descending diagonally inward in the clockwise direction, positioned together between two of the pre-magnetized magnets having counterclockwise and clockwise magnetic fields (Fig. 1). The benefit of doing so would have been to distribute magnetic flux density to increase the torque of motors equipped with such rotors.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to arrange the magnets in configuration as taught by Kiyoshi within the Halbach array as taught by the combined teaching of Yokoyama, Tanaka and Long. The benefit of doing so would have been to distribute magnetic flux density to increase the torque of motors equipped with such rotors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-30 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISHAL I PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746