DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: cuffs 36. Reference number 36 does not appear anywhere in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-8, 11-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Theuerkorn (US Patent No. 12,650,560).
Regarding claim 1, Theuerkorn teaches a linkage for releasably securing a cable, the linkage comprising: a central body (200) having a longitudinal axis; at least two cuffs (outer housing 150 and boot 96 are interpreted as meeting the limitations of the cuffs) that are each operatively connected to the central body and that are each defined by a top face, a bottom face, and a lateral face, the lateral face having an opening such that each cuff of the at least two cuffs is configured to releasably receive a portion of the cable therein (see Figure 2, col 9, lines 21-35), wherein the at least two cuffs includes a first cuff and a second cuff, and wherein the first cuff and the second cuff extend in opposing directions transverse to the longitudinal axis of the central body (see Figures 1-2, col 6 line 63 to col 7 line 30).
Regarding claim 4, Theuerkorn teaches the linkage of claim 1, wherein the at least two cuffs includes a third cuff (passageway for engagement 242), and wherein the third cuff extends in the same direction as the first cuff and is aligned with the first cuff (see Figure 2, col 11 lines 5-15).
Regarding claims 7-8, Theuerkorn teaches the linkage of claim 4, wherein the second cuff is located between the first cuff and the third cuff along the longitudinal axis of the central body and, wherein the opening in the lateral face of the first cuff is transverse to the longitudinal axis of the central body, and wherein the opening in the lateral face of the third cuff is in the same direction as the opening in the lateral face of the first cuff (see Figure 2, col 11 lines 5-15)..
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Theuerkorn teaches a cable arrangement comprising: a first cable and a second cable; and a linkage chain comprising a first linkage and a second linkage, wherein the first linkage and the second linkage include a central body and a first cuff, a second cuff, and a third cuff operatively connected to the central body, wherein each of the first cuff, the second cuff, and the third cuff has a lateral face with an opening so as to be configured to releasably receive a portion of the first cable or the second cable therein, and wherein the first cuff and the third cuff extend from the central body in a direction opposite that of the second cuff, wherein the first cable is releasably received by the first cuff and the third cuff of the first linkage, and wherein the second cable is releasably received by the second cuff of the first linkage and by the first cuff and the third cuff of the second linkage to form the linkage chain. Further regarding claim 15, as recited in similarity to claim 11 above, a method of arranging at least two cables using a linkage chain that includes at least a first linkage and a second linkage, wherein the first linkage and the second linkage each include a central body and a first cuff, a second cuff, and a third cuff operatively connected to the central body, the method comprising: releasably securing a first cable of the at least two cables to the first cuff and the third cuff of the first linkage; and releasably securing a second cable of the at least two cables to the second cuff of the first linkage and to the first cuff and the third cuff of the second linkage to form the linkage chain.
Regarding claim 12, Theuerkorn teaches the cable arrangement of claim 11, wherein the second cuff of the first linkage is located between the first cuff and the third cuff of the second linkage (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theuerkorn in view of White (US Patent No. 5,838,858).
Regarding claim 10, Theuerkorn fails to specifically teach wherein the linkage includes a labeling space.
White teaches a fiber optic connection unit wherein the unit is shown with an electrical module 100 in place having a front face 114, sockets 110 for electrical connectors and icon holders 112 for displaying a label or icon indicating the type of socket. Insulation displacement connectors 116 are attached at the rear of the electrical module 100 for connecting wires to the sockets 110. In the situation that no electrical connection is required, the electrical module 100 could be replaced by a blanking plate, or the cover plate 10 itself could form a continuous cover. Although a communications type electrical connector is shown, the unit may equally be used with an electrical power socket (see Figures 1-2, col 3, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a labeling space on the linkage so that the user knows efficiently and effectively what the cable is and what it entails for quicker identification and a more secure system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9, 13-14, and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The best prior art of record fails to specifically teach the specific geometry/radius of the cuffs and how they relate to other components of the invention.
Conclusion
/LISA M CAPUTO/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874