DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 6-7: “wherein the at least one wherein the at least one spring secures” should read “wherein the at least one spring secures”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 1, line 2, “a central connection” is not shown in the figures 1 to 9.
The feature must be shown, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 14 recite: “a central connection” configured to receive a central wire or “configured to threadbly receive a wire holder with one or more wires.” The specification, however, does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art the inventor possession of the full scope of a “central connection.” The disclosure provides number of embodiments (e.g., a threaded bore or a cone-shaped dowel), but does not describe the broader genus of “central connections” capable of receiving a central wire. Also, drawings elements are not supportive to exactly identify whether its position or configuration relative to a reference point and boundary. As drafted, the claim encompasses undisclosed variations and structural configurations not supported by the specification. Accordingly, claims 1, 8 and 14 lacks adequate written description under 35 U.S.C §112(a).
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 14 recite the phrase “a central connection”. The term “central” is ambiguous because the specification does not clearly define the reference point across the several embodiments relative to which the connection is “central”. Additionally, the structure of the” connection” is not sufficiently described, leaving a person of ordinary skill in the art unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim with reasonable certainty. Accordingly, claim 1 id indefinite under §112(b). For the sake of compact prosecution, a person of ordinary skilled in the art would understand the term to refer to a structural connection point located centrally within wiring connector assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radle (US Pub. 20090156041 A1) in view of Davis (US Pat. 6447302 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Radle discloses: a wiring connector assembly (“electrical connector for connections to multiple conductors”; ‘Title’; figs.1-26) comprising:
a central connection (36) configured to receive a central wire [ 20; para. 0031 teaches that electrical connector according to the present invention that includes six conductor-receiving passageways, thus, to receive a central wire];
at least one lever (26, figs. 8-11 and [0036]); and
at least one spring (18, [0035]);
wherein the lever (26) is movable between an open position (“open position”; [0035]) wherein the at least one spring (18) receives at least one perimeter wire (20; figs. 1-3)) therein [para. 0035 teaches that each spring clamp 18 has an open position to permit insertion of a conductor 20], and a closed position
Radle does not appear to explicitly teach the wiring connector assembly to connect a towing vehicle to a towed vehicle; however,
Davis in another towing connector similar to Radle teaches that the wiring connector assembly to connect a towing vehicle to a towed vehicle [ ‘Abstract’ teaches that an electrical interface device (10) is provided for attachment to a towing vehicle (14) in order to allow the connection of the electrical systems of differently configured towed vehicles without any modification of the device (10)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a wiring connector assembly of Radle and integrate its functionality to connect a towing vehicle to a towed vehicle as taught by Davis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously use the known cable wire connector assembly with some intent to provide the power management to the towed vehicle along with a predictable end product that does not produce any unexpected result. The modification represents nothing more than the predictable use of known wiring connector assembly in the hitch system, and therefore claim does not include any feature that would have rendered the combination non-obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Radle as modified above further teaches that the central connection (36) comprises a cone shaped dowel (“cam shaft 22”; [0035]; [ para. 0005 teaches that the connector further comprises a cam shaft having at least two axially spaced cam positions thereon. One of the cam positions is aligned with each spring clamp to open the spring clamp when the cam shaft is turned to an open position and to allow the spring clamp to close when the cam shaft is turned to a closed position; note that Cam shaft uses axially spaced conical cam lobes – functionally equivalent to a cone-shaped dowel that rotates to actuate spring.])
Regarding claim 4, Radle as modified above further teaches that the wiring connector assembly further comprises a plurality of sub-assembles (figs. 5-6 shows plurality of subassemblies) that are snap fit together (fig. 7 shows snap fit together).
Regarding claim 5, Radle as modified above further teaches that the plurality of sub-assemblies (figs. 5-6) are held in place with one or more latches (“contact posts” 134; fig. 25 and [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Radle as modified above further teaches that the at least one spring (“at least two spring clamps 18, so at least one 18) is configured to provide outward force [para. 0005 teaches: “each spring clamp has an open position to permit insertion of a conductor and a closed position in which the spring clamp engages the conductor to establish an electrical connection therewith”; thus, configured to provide outward force] to retain the at least one perimeter wire [para. 0006 teaches: “spring clamps are electrically connected to each other to electrically connect the conductors to each other”; thus, to retain the at least one perimeter wire] once the lever is in the closed position [para. 0005 teaches: “Each spring clamp has an open position to permit insertion of a conductor and a closed position in which the spring clamp engages the conductor to establish an electrical connection therewith;” thus, to retain the at least one perimeter wire once the lever is in the closed position.]
Regarding claim 7, Radle as modified above further teaches that at least one lever (26, figs. 8-11 and [0036]) and the at least one spring (18, [0035]) are located on an exterior edge (see fig. page 1, where spring 18 are located on an exterior edge) surrounding the central connection (36).
Regarding claim 14, Radle teaches: a method for connecting wiring (“electrical connector; figs. 1-26) using a wiring connector assembly comprising the steps of:
assembling a wiring connector assembly (“electrical connector for connections to multiple conductors”; ‘Title’; figs.1-26), wherein the wiring connector assembly comprises:
a central connection (36);
at least one lever (26, figs. 8-11 and [0036]); and
at least one spring (18; [0035]);
inserting a central wire holder (post 134, fig. 25) into the central connection (36);
positioning the one or more lever (36) into an open position to allow the one or more spring to receive a one or more perimeter wire (20, figs. 1-3);
inserting the one or more perimeter wire into an opening in the one or more spring [para. 0035 teaches that each spring clamp 18 has an open position to permit insertion of a conductor 20]; and
positioning the one or more lever (26) into a closed position that manipulates the one or more spring to secure the wire in place assembly [para. 0035 teaches that a closed position in which the spring clamps 18 engage the conductor 20 to establish an electrical connection].
Radle does not appear to explicitly teach that wiring from a towing vehicle to a towed vehicle using a wiring connector assembly; however,
Davis teaches that wiring from a towing vehicle to a towed vehicle using a wiring connector assembly (10; [ ‘Abstract’ teaches that an electrical interface device (10) is provided for attachment to a towing vehicle (14) in order to allow the connection of the electrical systems of differently configured towed vehicles without any modification of the device (10)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have wiring from a towing vehicle to a towed vehicle using a wiring connector assembly as taught by Davis into the invention of Radle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously use the known cable wire connector assembly with some intent to provide the power management to the towed vehicle along with a predictable end product that does not produce any unexpected result. The modification represents nothing more than the predictable use of known wiring connector assembly in the hitch system, and therefore claim does not include any feature that would have rendered the combination non-obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 16, Radle as modified above further teaches that the central connection (36) comprises a cone shaped dowel (“cam shaft 22”; [0035]; [ para. 0005 teaches that the connector further comprises a cam shaft having at least two axially spaced cam positions thereon. One of the cam positions is aligned with each spring clamp to open the spring clamp when the cam shaft is turned to an open position and to allow the spring clamp to close when the cam shaft is turned to a closed position; note that Cam shaft uses axially spaced conical cam lobes – functionally equivalent to a cone-shaped dowel that rotates to actuate spring.])
Regarding claim 17, Radle as modified above further teaches that a plurality of sub-assembles (figs. 5-6 shows plurality of subassemblies) that are snap fit together (fig. 7 shows snap fit together).
Regarding claim 18, Radle as modified above further teaches that the plurality of sub-assemblies figs. 5-6 shows plurality of subassemblies) are held in place with one or more latches (“contact posts” 134; fig. 25 and [0041]).
Regarding claim 19, Radle as modified above further teaches that the at least one spring (“at least two spring clamps 18, so at least one 18) is configured to provide outward force [para. 0005 teaches: “each spring clamp has an open position to permit insertion of a conductor and a closed position in which the spring clamp engages the conductor to establish an electrical connection therewith”; thus, configured to provide outward force] to retain the at least one perimeter wire once the lever is in the closed position [ para. 0005 teaches that a closed position in which the spring clamp engages the conductor to establish an electrical connection therewith; thus, to retain the at least one perimeter wire once the lever is in the closed position.]
Regarding claim 20, Radle as modified above further teaches that the at least one lever (26, figs. 8-11 and [0036]); and the at least one spring (18; [0035]) are located on an exterior edge surrounding (see fig. page 1, where spring 18 are located on an exterior edge surrounding) the central connection (36).
Regarding claim 21, Radle as modified above further teaches that the wiring connector assembly is performed without additional fasteners [ para. 0004 teaches: “tools are not required to rotate the cam levers. Such an electrical connector is beneficial since the live leads are concealed within the connector if it is disconnected without turning power off in the circuit”; thus, the wiring connector assembly is performed without additional fasteners.]
Claim(s) 2, 8-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radle in view of Davis and further in view of Trompka, Markus (DE 202020103416 U1; hereinafter, “Markus”).
Regarding claim 2, Radle as modified above further teaches the central connection, but fails to explicitly teach that the central connection has a set of threads configured to threadbly receive the central wire within a central wire holder; however,
Markus in another plug for the plug in on-board power socket similar to Radle teaches that the central connection [‘Abstract’ teaches that on a first contact element in the area of a central plug axis (102, 702) (130, 730) for contacting a positive contact (220) of the vehicle's electrical socket is arranged] has a set of threads (fig. 1) configured to threadbly (fig. 1) receive the central wire (‘cable’) within a central wire holder (180, fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the central connection that has a set of threads configured to threadbly receive the central wire within a central wire holder as taught by Markus into the invention of the modified Radle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously use the known cable wire connection configuration where the threaded connecting part retain mechanical reliability with predictable, repeatable retention force, reduce vibration and pulling force and resists thermal expansion/contraction. The modification represents nothing more than the predictable use of known wiring connector assembly in the hitch system, and therefore claim does not include any feature that would have rendered the combination non-obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Radle teaches: a wiring connector assembly (“electrical connector for connections to multiple conductors”; ‘Title’; figs.1-26) comprising:
at least one lever 26, figs. 8-11 and [0036] of Radle); and
at least one spring (18, [0035] of Radle);
wherein the lever (26) is movable between an open position wherein the at least one spring (18) receives at least one perimeter wire (20) therein [para. 0035 of Radle teaches that each spring clamp 18 has an open position to permit insertion of a conductor 20], and a closed position wherein the at least one wherein the at least one spring (18) secures the at least one perimeter wire (20) to the wiring connector assembly [para. 0035 teaches that a closed position in which the spring clamp 18 engages the conductor 20 to establish an electrical connection].
Radle fails to explicitly teach that a wiring connector assembly to connect a towing vehicle to a towed vehicle; however,
Davis teaches that a wiring connector assembly to connect a towing vehicle to a towed vehicle [ ‘Abstract’ teaches that an electrical interface device (10) is provided for attachment to a towing vehicle (14) in order to allow the connection of the electrical systems of differently configured towed vehicles without any modification of the device (10)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a wiring connector assembly of Radle and integrate its functionality to connect a towing vehicle to a towed vehicle as taught by Davis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously use the known cable wire connector assembly with some intent to provide the power management to the towed vehicle along with a predictable end product that does not produce any unexpected result. The modification represents nothing more than the predictable use of known wiring connector assembly in the hitch system, and therefore claim does not include any feature that would have rendered the combination non-obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Radle as modified above differs from the claimed limitation in that it has one or more wires and linear connection in the central connection but silent on “a central connection configured to threadbly receive a wire holder with one or more wires”; however,
Markus teaches that a central connection configured to [‘Abstract’ teaches that on a first contact element in the area of a central plug axis (102, 702) (130, 730) for contacting a positive contact (220) of the vehicle's electrical socket is arranged] threadbly (fig. 1 expressly shows the thread) receive a wire holder (180, fig. 1) with one or more wires.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a central connection configured to threadbly receive a wire holder as taught by Markus into the invention of the modified Radle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously use the multiple known wires and connection configuration where the threaded connecting part retain mechanical reliability with predictable, repeatable retention force, reduce vibration and pulling force and resists thermal expansion/contraction, ensuring such a modifications represent predictable uses of prior art elements according to their established functions that facilitate secure, releasable connections, and the combination yields no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 9, Radle as modified above further teaches that the central connection (36) comprises a cone shaped dowel (“cam shaft 22”; [0035]; [ para. 0005 of Radle teaches that the connector further comprises a cam shaft having at least two axially spaced cam positions thereon. One of the cam positions is aligned with each spring clamp to open the spring clamp when the cam shaft is turned to an open position and to allow the spring clamp to close when the cam shaft is turned to a closed position; note that Cam shaft uses axially spaced conical cam lobes – functionally equivalent to a cone-shaped dowel that rotates to actuate spring.])
Regarding claim 10, Radle as modified above further teaches that the wiring connector assembly (“electrical connector for connections to multiple conductors”; ‘Title’; figs.1-26) further comprises a plurality of sub-assembles (figs. 5-6) that are snap fit together (“contact posts” 134; fig. 25 and [0041]).
Regarding claim 11, Radle as modified above further teaches that the plurality of sub-assemblies (figs. 5-6 shows plurality of subassemblies) are held in place with one or more latches (“contact posts” 134; fig. 25 and [0041]).
Regarding claim 12, Radle as modified above further teaches that the at least one spring (“at least two spring clamps 18”, so at least one 18) is configured to provide outward force [para. 0005 teaches: “each spring clamp has an open position to permit insertion of a conductor and a closed position in which the spring clamp engages (outward force) the conductor to establish an electrical connection therewith”; thus, configured to provide outward force] to retain the at least one perimeter wire once the lever is in the closed position [para. 0005 teaches: “each spring clamp has an open position to permit insertion of a conductor and a closed position in which the spring clamp engages the conductor to establish an electrical connection therewith”; thus, configured to provide outward force] to retain the at least one perimeter wire [para. 0006 teaches: “spring clamps are electrically connected to each other to electrically connect the conductors to each other”; thus, to retain the at least one perimeter wire to retain the at least one perimeter wire once the lever is in the closed position].
Regarding claim 13, Radle as modified above further teaches that the at least one lever (26) and the at least one spring (18) are located on an exterior edge surrounding the central connection (36; see fig. page 1, where spring 18 are located on an exterior edge surrounding the central connection 36).
Regarding claim 15, Radle as modified above further teaches the central connection, but fails to explicitly teach that the central connection has a set of threads configured to threadbly receive the central wire within a central wire holder; however,
Markus in another plug for the plug in on-board power socket similar to Radle teaches that the central connection [‘Abstract’ teaches that on a first contact element in the area of a central plug axis (102, 702) (130, 730) for contacting a positive contact (220) of the vehicle's electrical socket is arranged] has a set of threads (fig. 1) configured to threadbly (fig. 1) receive the central wire (‘cable’) within a central wire holder (180, fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the central connection that has a set of threads configured to threadbly receive the central wire within a central wire holder as taught by Markus into the invention of the modified Radle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously use the known cable wire connection configuration where the threaded connecting part retain mechanical reliability with predictable, repeatable retention force, reduce vibration and pulling force and resists thermal expansion/contraction. The modification represents nothing more than the predictable use of known wiring connector assembly in the hitch system, and therefore claim does not include any feature that would have rendered the combination non-obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pat. 9444207 B1 to Smith discloses: an ergonomic electrical connector and circuit indicator that facilitates the establishment of electrical connections between a motor vehicle and a towed trailer.
US Pat. 10665965 B2 to Lorenschat discloses: a conductor terminal having at least one insulating material housing; at least one contact insert arranged at least partially in the housing and having at least one contact piece and at least one clamping spring.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
June 4, 2026