DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ response to restriction requirement filed on August 13, 2026, have been received and entered. Claims 20, 23 have been amended, while claims 24-34 have been newly added. Claims 1-34 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 23 (group IV) in the reply filed on August 13, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 23, 2026.
Priority
This application claims priority from the foreign application 10-2023-0076406 filed in Republic of Korea on June 14, 2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Applicants cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/29/2026, 01/15/2025 and 06/14/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claims 23-34 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-25, 30-31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Badran et al (WO2020247803, dated 10/12/2020, IDS).
Claim interpretation: Instant rejection is applied to the extent claims recite two active steps of providing a microbial strain and inducing or blocking expression step.
Claims are directed to a method comprising
providing a microbial strain comprising a nucleic acid molecule in which a triplet codon encoding a specific amino acid in any nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with any quadruplet codon, wherein the microbial strain comprises a quadruplet codon decoding system comprising (i) a tRNA with an anticodon complementary to the quadruplet codon and (ii) an aminoacyl- tRNA synthetase (AARS) that recognizes and acylates the tRNA, and
wherein the expression of the tRNA is controlled under an inducible promoter, such that in the presence of an inducer of the inducible promoter, the tRNA is expressed and the nucleic acid molecule is expressed as a protein, and in the absence of the inducer, the tRNA is not expressed and the nucleic acid molecule is not expressed as a protein
inducing or blocking the expression of a nucleic acid molecule containing the quadruplet codon depending on the presence or expression of a tRNA with an anticodon complementary to the quadruplet codon.
With respect to claim 23-24, 30-32, Badran teaches a method comprising: (i) providing a E.coli cells (see page 14, line 13) comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding the target protein luxAB, in which a triplet codon encoding a specific amino acid residue (arginine) in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with the quadruplet codon (AGTGT) (see fig. 9A, 13E, 19C). Badran teaches a decoding system comprising (i) a tRNA with an anticodon complementary to the quadruplet codon (see page 24, lines 23-230) and (ii) an aminoacyl- tRNA synthetase (AARS) pair that recognizes the tRNA (see page 17, lines 11-14, page 38, lines 8-12, example 3 and 6 ), wherein the expression of the tRNA is under the control of an IPTG inducible promoter (see fig. 4A, 19C), and
Badran further teaches inducing or blocking the expression of the nucleic acid molecule that is expressed as a protein if the expression of the qtRNA with the anticodon is present (limitation of claim 25), whereas in absence of the qtRNA, a frameshift is created and the polypeptide encoded by the nucleic acid is either not expressed or truncated (see page 6, last para. page 34, fig. 3-6, 14-15, 19, page 8, para. 2, para. 9, para. 2, page 14, lines 12-30, page 15, para. 2, page 19, para. 2, table 4, example 2, 4, 7 and 8) (limitation of claim 25). To the extent, prior art teaches the method as claimed it meets the claim limitation and inherently would produce the same resulting effect as that recited in the preamble of claims.
With respect to claim 24, Badran teaches that the nucleic acid molecule is a gene encoding a target protein luxAB (see fig. 19).
Accordingly, Barden anticipates claims 23-25, 30-31 and 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25, 30-32, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badran et al (WO2020247803, dated 10/12/2020) as evidenced by Lee et al (Nature Chemical Biology, 2018, 530-537) and Lee (2, ACS Chemical Biology, 2015, 10, 1648-1653).
With respect to claim 23-24, 30-32, Badran teaches a method comprising: (i) providing a E.coli cells (see page 14, line 13) comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding the target protein luxAB, in which a triplet codon encoding a specific amino acid residue (arginine) in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with the quadruplet codon (AGTGT) (see fig. 9A, 13E, 19C). Badran teaches a decoding system comprising (i) a tRNA with an anticodon complementary to the quadruplet codon (see page 24, lines 23-230) and (ii) an aminoacyl- tRNA synthetase (AARS) pair that recognizes the tRNA (see page 17, lines 11-14, page 38, lines 8-12, example 3 and 6 ), wherein the expression of the tRNA is under the control of an IPTG inducible promoter (see fig. 4A, 19C), and
Badran further teaches inducing or blocking the expression of the nucleic acid molecule that is expressed as a protein if the expression of the qtRNA with the anticodon is present (limitation of claim 25), whereas in absence of the qtRNA, a frameshift is created and the polypeptide encoded by the nucleic acid is either not expressed or truncated (see page 6, last para. page 34, fig. 3-6, 14-15, 19, page 8, para. 2, para. 9, para. 2, page 14, lines 12-30, page 15, para. 2, page 19, para. 2, table 4, example 2, 4, 7 and 8) (limitation of claim 25). To the extent, prior art teaches the method as claimed it meets the claim limitation and inherently would produce the same resulting effect as that recited in the preamble of claims.
With respect to claim 24, Badran teaches that the nucleic acid molecule is a gene encoding a target protein luxAB (see fig. 19).
Badran differs from claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing (i) in which argW gene encoding the strain's endogenous tRNA for arginine has been knocked out (claim 33).
Lee cures the deficiency by disclosing knocking out gene for tRNACCU Arg (argW) from the genome of E. coli DH10B using the homologous recombination method, and the resulting strain is named E. coli BS01 (Figure S1a). Lee further tested the necessity of knocking out the argW gene from the E. coli chromosome for incorporating unnatural amino acids into the AGG codon (see page 1651, col. 1, para. 1). Lee teaches reassignment of the AGG sense codon using an orthogonal pair of tRNACCU and an aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase charging the tRNA with the unnatural amino acid. Lee successfully reported incorporating several unnatural amino acids into the AGG sites of the protein (see page 1651, col. 1, para. 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the method of Badran by using a E.Coli strain in which argW gene encoding the strain's endogenous tRNA for arginine has been knocked out as disclosed in Lee (2), in the method of incorporating unnatural quadruplet codons as disclosed in Bardan in a method of biocontainment as suggested in Lee (1), with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to replace AGG codons present within endogenous genome with synonymous quadruplet codon to (i) restore balanced cell growth without causing off-target interference and (ii) reduce native tRNA competition during quadruplet (see Lee 2 and Bardan). One of ordinary skill in art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success because prior art successfully reported knocking out argW gene encoding the E.Coli’s endogenous tRNA for arginine as evidenced from the teaching of Lee (2). It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support the finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Claims 23-25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badran et al (WO2020247803, dated 10/12/2020) as evidenced by Lee et al (Nature Chemical Biology, 2018, 530-537), and Lee (2, ACS Chemical Biology, 2015, 10, 1648-1653), .as applied above and further in view of Blasina et al (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 1996, 93, 3559-3564, 1996)
The teaching of Badran and Lee (1) have been discussed above and relied in same manner here. Briefly, Badran teaches a method comprising: (i) providing a E.coli cells (see page 14, line 13) comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding the target protein in which a triplet codon encoding an arginine residue in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with the quadruplet AGGT (see fig.9A, 19), It is noted that the composition comprises an aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase that recognizes and acylates the qtRNA (see page 14, fig. 19), wherein the expression of the qtRNA is under the control of an IPTG inducible promoter, and inducing or blocking the expression of the nucleic acid molecule that is expressed as a protein if the expression of the qtRNA with the anticodon is present, whereas in absence of the qtRNA, a frameshift is created and the polypeptide encoded by the nucleic acid is either not expressed or truncated.
Barden differs from claimed invention by not disclosing nucleic acid is a gene encoding a plasmid replication initiation protein Trfa (claims 24, 27).
Blasina cures the deficiency by disclosing TrfA protein and the oriV sequence are sufficient for the initiation and control of replication of RK2 in almost all gram-negative bacteria including E.Coli (see page 3559, col. 1, para. 1). It is further disclosed that deletion of the upstream three-iteron cluster does not inactivate the origin in E. coli but does result in an increase in copy number (see page 3559, col. 1, para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the method of incorporating Q-codon in a gene by substituting target gene disclosed in Badran with another target gene encoding a replication initiation protein TrfA and the replication origin oriV as suggested in Blasina, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as plasmid containing the oriV and TrfA containing the Q-codon in place of arginine could not be maintained in a non-permissive setting in absence of Q-codon decoding system. One of ordinary skill in art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success because prior art successfully reported introducing a nucleic acid molecule encoding the target protein, in which a triplet codon encoding an arginine residue in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with the quadruplet AGGT as evident in Badran. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support the finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396).
Claims 23-25, 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badran et al (WO2020247803, dated 10/12/2020) as evidenced by Lee et al (Nature Chemical Biology, 2018, 530-537), and Lee (2, ACS Chemical Biology, 2015, 10, 1648-1653), as applied above and further in view of Fredens (US Patent 12385035, 8/12/2025, EFD 5/14/2019)/
The teaching of Badran and Lee (1) have been discussed above and relied in same manner here. Briefly, Badran teaches a method comprising: (i) providing a E.coli cells (see page 14, line 13) comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding the target protein in which a triplet codon encoding an arginine residue in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with the quadruplet AGGT (see fig. 9A, fig. 13, E fig. 19) (limitation of claims 30-31), AGAA (limitation of claim 34)(see page 54, line 1, fig.4C 10, 12F, 13E, 14A), It is noted that the composition comprises an aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase that recognizes and acylates the qtRNA (see page 14, fig. 19), wherein the expression of the qtRNA is under the control of an IPTG inducible promoter, and inducing or blocking the expression of the nucleic acid molecule that is expressed as a protein if the expression of the qtRNA with the anticodon is present, whereas in absence of the qtRNA, a frameshift is created and the polypeptide encoded by the nucleic acid is either not expressed or truncated. Barden differs from claimed invention by not disclosing microbial strain is engineered with a gene encoding a protein essential for the growth of the microbial strain (claims 24, 27-28 and 34).
Fredens teaches genes essential for E. coli is selected from one or more of the lists consisting of: ftsL, ispU, cdsA, iPxC, cycS, asd, or fldA (See col. 5, lines 17-41),
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the method of incorporating Q-codon in a target gene by substituting the target gene disclosed in Badran with another target gene such as fldA as suggested in Fredens/Gauda, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as target gene containing the Q-codon in place of arginine could not be maintained in conditions wherein QtRNA is expressed. One of ordinary skill in art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success because prior art successfully reported introducing a nucleic acid molecule encoding the target protein, in which a triplet codon encoding an arginine residue in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with the quadruplet AGGT or AGAA as evident in Badran. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support the finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Claims 23-25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badran et al (WO2020247803, dated 10/12/2020) as evidenced by Lee et al (Nature Chemical Biology, 2018, 530-537), and Lee (2, ACS Chemical Biology, 2015, 10, 1648-1653), as applied above and further in view of Wang (Molecules. 2020 Jul 9;25(14):3136, 1-14).
The teaching of Badran and Lee (1) have been discussed above and relied in same manner here. Briefly, Badran teaches a method comprising: (i) providing a E.coli cells (see page 14, line 13) comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding the target protein in which a triplet codon encoding an arginine residue in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with the quadruplet AGGT (see fig. 19) (limitation of claims 30-31), AGAA (limitation of claim 34)(see fig. 12), It is noted that the composition comprises an aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase that recognizes and acylates the qtRNA (see page 14, fig. 19), wherein the expression of the qtRNA is under the control of an IPTG inducible promoter, and inducing or blocking the expression of the nucleic acid molecule that is expressed as a protein if the expression of the qtRNA with the anticodon is present, whereas in absence of the qtRNA, a frameshift is created and the polypeptide encoded by the nucleic acid is either not expressed or truncated.
Barden differs from claimed invention by not disclosing wherein the nucleic acid molecule is a gene involved in a metabolite synthesis pathway, and metabolites are not synthesized in the absence of the inducer of the inducible promoter for the tRNA is absent (claim 26).
Wang teaches expression of three key enzymes, CrtE, CrtB, and CrtI [are the primary biosynthetic route and strategy in the metabolic engineering of E. coli for lycopene production. (see page 3, last para. to page 4, para. 1, page 5, para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the method of incorporating Q-codon in a target gene by substituting the target gene disclosed in Badran with another target gene such as CrtE as suggested in Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as target gene containing the Q-codon in place of arginine could not be maintained in conditions wherein QtRNA is expressed. One of ordinary skill in art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success because prior art successfully reported introducing a nucleic acid molecule encoding the target protein, in which a triplet codon encoding an arginine residue in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with the quadruplet AGGT or AGAA as evident in Badran. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support the finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims embrace providing any microbial strain comprising a nucleic acid molecule in which any triplet codon encoding any specific amino acid in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with a quadruplet codon. wherein the microbial strain comprises a quadruplet codon decoding system comprising (i) a tRNA with an anticodon complementary to the quadruplet codon and (ii) an aminoacyl- tRNA synthetase (AARS) that recognizes and acylates the tRNA. Dependent claims limiting the nucleic acid molecule is one, two or three types of nucleic acid molecules selected from the group consisting of a gene encoding any target protein, a gene encoding any plasmid replication initiation protein, and a gene encoding any protein essential for cell growth.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991), clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d at 1117. The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d at 1116.
The present invention relates to a genetic system that uses quadruplet codon instead of the normal triplet codon. The specification changes selected triplet codons in a gene into a quadruplet codon, called a Q-codon. That altered gene could be translated into protein only when a matching engineered tRNA decoding system is present. It is disclosed that the decoding tRNA is absent, the gene is not properly translated, so the protein, plasmid function, pathway output, or strain survival is blocked.
As stated above claimed genus encompasses modifying any microbial strain comprising any nucleic acid molecule in which any triplet codon encoding any specific amino acid in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with any quadruplet codon. wherein the microbial strain comprises a quadruplet codon decoding system comprising (i) a tRNA with an anticodon complementary to the quadruplet codon and (ii) an aminoacyl- tRNA synthetase (AARS) that recognizes and acylates the tRNA. Dependent claims limit the nucleic acid molecule to a gene encoding any target protein, a gene encoding any plasmid replication initiation protein or a gene encoding any protein essential for cell growth.
The specification describes that microbial strain herein may be any strain known in the art that can clone or express a nucleic acid molecule into which a Q-codon has been introduced that includes a prokaryotic cell, which may include E. coli, such as E. coli JM109, E. coli BL21, E. coli RR1, E. coli LE392, E. coli B, E. coli X 1776, E. coli W3110; strains of the genus Bacillus, such as Bacillus subtilis, Bacillus thuringensis; strains of the genus Corynebacterium, such as Corynebacterium glutamicum; Enterobacteriaceae strains, such as Salmonella Typhimurium, Serratia marcescens, and various Pseudomonas species. Further, the microbial strain may be a eukaryotic cell, which may include yeast (Saccharomyce cerevisiae), insect cells, plant cells, and animal cells, such as CHO cell lines (Chinese hamster ovary), W138, BHK, COS-7, 293, HepG2, 3T3, RIN, and MDCK cell lines, but is not limited thereto (see page 26 of the specification). The specification further discloses using a rare codon to minimize interference, and selected AGG, the rarest codon encoding arginine, and its tRNA as the manipulation target. Thus, Q-codons (e.g., AGGA, AGCA or AGTA) created based on AGG, a rare codon for arginine, were used, and the anticodon of the endogenous tRNA, which decodes the original triplet codon AGG, was changed to UCCU, UGCU or UACU (Q-tRNA) to utilize the strain’s unique system with minimal engineering (see pages 8, 15 of the specification). The specification teaches using a rare codon of the E. coli, and chose the two rarest codons, AGG and AGA encoding arginine, and the cognate tRNAs as the engineering targets (FIG. 1a). The specification teaches replacing anticodons of the two cognate tRNAs tRNA (tRNAArg CCU and tRNAArg UCU) with UCCU, resulting in the Q-tRNAw and Q-tRNAu, respectively. The specification teaches substituting its original triplet codon for 31R with the Q-codon, AGGA, and also introduced a silent mutation at 45L site, from CGT to CTT, intending to cause a premature termination of translation in case of incorrect Q-codon decoding (FIG. 1b). The results demonstrated that the Q-tRNAs are correctly charged with arginine and decoded the Q-codon in the Q-GFP. Additional experiments further establish and confirm that fluorescence is expressed only in the presence of appropriate Q-tRNA even when a gene expression system is constructed using AGCA or AGTA as Q-codons. (FIG. 2).
The subsequent experiments were performed using AGGA as a Q-codon in order to improve quadruplet codon decoding to decrease the competition between the native tRNAs and the Q-tRNAs, we deleted argW gene that encodes tRNAArg CCU by Lambda Red-mediated recombination, resulting in the argW strain. The tRNAArg CCU incorporates arginine exclusively in response to the AGG codon, but the AGG codon can be decoded by another tRNA, tRNAArg UCU. Thus, the absence of tRNAArg UCU might exert less impact on cellular fitness or proteome. The specification teaches argW strains exhibits a significant increase in the Q-codon decoding with both Q-tRNAs (FIGs. 3a and 3b), revealing the competition between the Q-tRNA and the native tRNA had restricted the efficient Q-codon decoding. Although the gene deletion increased GFP expression of the positive control that contained no Q-codon, the expression of the Q-tRNAs in the ?argW strain allowed a comparable full-length translation of Q-GFP to the positive control in the wild type strain. The guidance provided in the specification is limited to use of Escherichia coli DH10β that is used for cloning and plasmid construction. And E. coli DH10β and E. coli MG1655 are used for protein expression and Q-codon tests.
The art reported there are known unpredictability regarding prokaryotes viability when its genome is recoded. For instance, Ostrov (Science. 2016; 353(6301):819-22) teaches six sense codons that were fully replaced in the protein-coding region of the genome of E. coli (abstract). Ostrov states that “13 recoded essential genes were found that failed to support cell viability because of synonymous codon replacement,” (page 821, col. 2, para. 2). Thus, recoding of genes does not always yield viable genomes (emphasis added). Ostrov further teaches that “in 10 cases, reconstructed bacteria were not viable,” (article Summary, and last page). Thus, Ostrov teaches that recoding even just the protein-coding region of a prokaryote, let alone the entire genome, does not always yield viable organism “genomes.” Furthermore, Ostrov has tested only 6 sense codons restricted to protein-coding regions of the genome, and there is no evidence that recoding more sense codons with synonymous replacements would increase the chances of cell viability.
The genus of microbial strain comprising a nucleic acid molecule in which a triplet codon encoding any of the amino acid in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with any quadruplet codon, other than the Q-codons (e.g., AGGA, AGCA or AGTA) based on AGG, a rare codon for arginine in E.coli, and the anticodon of the endogenous tRNA, which decodes the original triplet codon AGG, that is changed to UCCU, UGCU or UACU (Q-tRNA) encompassed within genus have not been disclosed. Based upon prior art there is expected to be variation between different microbial species that could differ sufficiently in that containment strategy based on codon interpretation. This is evidenced from the teaching of Young (Plant Biotechnology Journal (2016) 14, pp. 1251–1260) who reported replacement of tryptophan codons with the spare codon (UGG?UGA) within a transgene prevents functional expression in E. coli and in the chloroplast, and that co-introduction of a plastidial trnW gene carrying a modified anticodon restores function only in the latter by allowing UGA readthrough (see abstract). The study of Young explicitly shows that the translation of an Alge/chloroplast could differ sufficiently in that a containment strategy based on codon interpretation has to be designed for a specific organism. This is further evidenced in a post filing art of Choi (Nucleic Acid Research, 2025, 52, 1-13) who emphasizes extending the results observed in species other than E. coli requires (i) carefully selecting a target Q-codon based on its codon usage to minimize cross-reactions ii) additional genome engineering to further minimize off-target effects; and (iii) constructing a tightly regulated genetic circuit” (see page 10, col. 2, para. 2). The specification and Choi both teaches potential occurrence of unintended frameshifts within the native genetic context when the AGG codon for arginine is followed by any codon beginning with adenine (A), resulting in mistranslation or premature termination. It is disclosed that such off-target decoding impact cell growth in the ΔargW strain; nonetheless, that could overcome by substituting AGGA with AGAA at key genomic locations, which helped to effectively reduce unintended frameshifting and restore normal cell growth (see page 10, col. 2, para. 3). There is no evidence on the record of a relationship between the disclosed E.Coli comprising a replacement of an arginine triplet codon with a quadruplet codon such as AGGA, AGCA, or AGTA and a cognate tRNA anticodon (UCCU) so it reads the quadruplet codon would provide any reliable information about the other microbial strain within the genus. The claimed invention as a whole is not adequately described if the claims require essential or critical elements which are not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional in the art before the applicants effective filing date. Possession may be shown by actual reduction to practice, clear depiction of the invention in a detailed drawing, or by describing the invention with sufficient relevant identifying characteristics such that a person skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Pfaff v. Wells Electronics, Inc., 48 USPQ2d 1641, 1646 (1998).
In the instant case, the claimed embodiments of using genus of microbial strain, other than the E.coli strain comprising a target gene containing the Q-codon (AGGA) that is translated by Q-tRNA in which the anticodon is replaced with UCCU and the full-length protein is expressed, but the target gene containing the Q-codon is not properly translated by native N-tRNA in which the anticodon is not replaced encompassed within the genus of microbial stain as broadly claimed lack a written description. The specification fails to describe what microbial strain falls into this genus. The skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed microbial strain, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991). One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483. In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF’s were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Therefore, Applicant was not in possession of using the genus of microbial strain encompassed by the claims. University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404, 1405 held that to fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24, 31 and 34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 is vague and indefinite to the extent it is unclear as to how a nucleic acid molecule could be three different types of molecules at the same time including a gene encoding a target protein, a gene encoding a plasmid replication initiation protein and a gene encoding a protein essential for cell growth. A direct recitation of –wherein the nucleic acid molecule is selected form the group consisting of a gene encoding a target protein, a gene encoding a plasmid replication initiation protein and a gene encoding a protein essential for cell growth—would be remedial. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 31 recite, "- AGNN (N is A, T, C or G) -". The limitations intended to be captured by placing the term " (N is A, T, C or G) " within parentheses are not apparent. Parenthesis is used in claims to delineate an abbreviation of a term that is recited just prior to the parentheses and does not further impart limitations to the claim. However, in this instant, no term is recited prior to the parentheses. As such, it is not apparent how the parentheses are to be interpreted or if the terms in the parenthesis are intended to be further limiting to the claim are not. For art purposes, the term "- AGNN (N is A, T, C or G)-" will be interpreted as a structural limitation as if the parentheses were not present. Amending the claim to remove the parentheses and explicitly reciting, wherein N is A, T, V or G would be remedial. Claim 34 is included in the rejection because it directly depends from the rejected base claim. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Claim 34 is free of prior art.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Calles et al (Nucleic Acids Research, 2019, Vol. 47, No. 19 10439–10451) teaches designing quadruplet-codon codes that should ensure all single point mutations in protein-coding sequences are selected against while maintaining expression of 20 or more amino acids. We demonstrate experimentally that a reduced set of 21 tRNAs is capable of expressing a protein encoded by only 20 sense codons, whereas a standard 64 codon encoding is not expressed.
Gaudu et al (Jornal of Bacteriology, 2000, 1788-1793) teaches fldA insertion mutation in E.coli is lethal (abstract).
Debenedictis et al (Nature Communication, 202021, 12, 1-13) teaches screening a large pool of tRNA variants to find high-efficiency quadruplet codon–anticodon pairs. Debenedictis teaches E.coli comprising a a nucleic acid molecule encoding a target protein in which a triplet codon encoding an specific amino acid in a nucleic acid sequence has been replaced with a quadruplet, wherein the nucleic acid molecule is expressed as a protein if the expression Of the quadruplet-tRNA with the anticodon complementary to the quadruplet present in the nucleic aicd sequence is present. In the absence of the qtRNA, a frameshift is created and the polypeptide encoded by the nucleic acid is either not expressed or truncated. It further comprises an aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase that recognizes and acylates the qtRNA. Debenedictis discloses the expression of the qtRNA is under the control of an inducible promoter.
/ANOOP K SINGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632