DETAILED ACTION
Authorization for Internet Communications
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax (not Examiner's Fax), Regular postal mail, or EFS Web using PTO/SB/439.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “307” has been used to designate both ADC and Relay (See figure 3).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 4, para 0019; the first occurrence of the acronym “ARM” and “MIPS” should be spelled out.
Page 5, para 0020; there appears to be a typographic error “storage module 103” of -- storage unit 103 --
Page 7, para 0026; the first occurrence of the acronym “LIN” should be spelled out.
Page 8, para 0033 - 0034; the refence characters “transceiver 202”, “analog multiplexers, 203 and 204” should apparently be -- transceiver 203 -- and -- analog multiplexers, 205 and 207 -- respectively.
Page 9, para 0034; the reference character “digital converter (ADC) 203” should apparently be -- digital converter (ADC) 209 –
Page 9, para 006; the refence characters “digital converter 301”, “variable voltage source 303” and “relay 302” should apparently be -- digital converter 307 --, -- variable voltage source 313 -- and -- relay 307 -- respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 – 8, 10, and 13 – 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3; the first occurrence of the acronym “CAN” should be spelled out. Further, the limitations “the ECU CAN pins”, “the CAN interface”, “the ECU power pins” and “the power connectors” lack proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4; the limitation “the microcontroller” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 5; the limitations “the power interface”, “the voltage level” and “the connected device” lack proper antecedent basis.
Claim 6 is a dependent claim and thus also objected.
Regarding claim 6; the limitations “the device” and “the board” lack proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 7; the limitations “the microcontroller” and “the board” lack proper antecedent basis.
Claim 8 is a dependent claim and thus also objected.
Regarding claim 10; the first occurrence of the acronym “JTAG” should be spelled out.
Regarding claims 13 and 15; there appears to be a typographical error “a automotive network interface” of -- an automotive network interface --.
Claims 14 and 16 – 20 are dependent claim and thus also objected.
Regarding claim 15; the limitation “the apparatus” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claims 16 – 20 are dependent claims and thus also objected.
Regarding claim 19; there appears to be a typographical error “where in” of -- wherein --.
Regarding claim 20; the limitation “the apparatus of claim 15” does not commensurate with its base claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 13, 15 – 16 and 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gintz et al., (US 2018/0151004 A1) (hereinafter “Gintz”) in view of Ballou et al., (4,757,463) (hereinafter “Ballou”).
Regarding claim 1, Gintz discloses; an apparatus [i.e., a system 2102 within local device 112 (see figures 1 and 21), (page 9, para 0180)] utilized for security testing one or more electronic control units (ECUs) [i.e., the local device 112 is hardwired to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1)], comprising:
a memory unit configured to store one or more instructions [i.e., program instructions stored on one or more memory 2116 and memory 2118 (page 9, para 0182), (see figure 21)];
a controller configured to execute one or more instructions [i.e., the Freescale IMX28 Microcontroller…application processor 2104 (page 9, para 0180), (see figure 21) i.e., program instructions stored on one or more memory 2116 and memory 2118 are executed by application processor 2104 (page 9, para 0182)];
a control network interface in communication with the controller [i.e., the application processor 2104 is connected a WIFI module 2120 (page 9, para 0182), (see figure 21) i.e., RJ45 Connector (see ref. 2122 of figure 21)], wherein the control network interface is configured to communicate instructions received from one or more control networks [i.e., SSP 2110 is connected to Wi-Fi module 2120 to allow for wireless communication (page 9, para 0182), (see figure 21)];
a interface [i.e., the system 2102 within the local device 112 includes CAN transceivers (see ref. 2124 and 2126 of figure 21 and figure 1), (page 9, para 0183)] configured to communicate with the one or more ECUs, wherein the interface is configured to send one or more instructions to the one or more ECU [i.e., the local device 112 is connected to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1) i.e., the commands from the local device 22074 is received by the vehicle device 22090…vehicle device 22090 is an engine control unit (page 11, para 0210), (see figures 22-2)];
a configurable [i.e., parameters are uploaded to the automotive controller (page 2, para 0045), (page 4, para 0080), (see ref. 222 of figure 2A), (see ref. 435 of figure 4B) i.e., CAN0_HI/LOW…CAN1_LOW_C (see figure 21)] automotive network interface [i.e., the system 2102 includes CAN transceivers (see ref. 2124 and 2126 of figure 21 and figure 1), (page 9, para 0183)] configured to communicate with one or more automotive networks [i.e., controller area network (CAN) interfaces 2112 and 2114 are connected to CAN transceivers (see ref. 2124 and 2126 of figure 21 and figure 1), (page 9, para 0183) Note; the CAN transceivers connects to multiple Controller Area Network (CAN) i.e., LIN (page 9, para 0180)];
a general purpose input-output (GPIO) interface [i.e., GPIO (see reference 2154 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0191)] including a plurality of GPIO pins configured to send signals to control functionality of the apparatus [i.e., The GPIO pins 2154 are connected to a LED 2160 that activates to indicate an error (page 10, para 0191), (see figure 21)];
a power interface [i.e., PSWITCH (see ref. 2146 of figure 21)]; and
one or more debug interfaces [i.e., debug connector (see ref. 2132 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0186) i.e., JTAG (see ref. 2144 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0186)] configured to allow communication between a debugger and the one or more ECUs as associated with security testing [i.e., debug connector 2132 is the physical access point for several debugging ports on processor 2104…(page 9, para 0186), (see figure 21) i.e., the local device 112 is connected to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1) Note; the debug interface allows debugging of the apparatus by interacting with the automotive controller 114 for diagnosing].
Gintz does not disclose;
a breakout interface, wherein the breakout interface is configured to send one or more instructions to the one or more ECU; a general purpose input-output (GPIO) breakout interface; a configurable power interface configured to supply variable power to the one or more ECUS.
However, Ballou discloses;
a breakout interface [i.e., a vehicle probe interface (VPI) (col. 6, lines 51 – 57), (see figure 8B)], wherein the breakout interface is configured to send one or more instructions to one or more ECU [i.e., the connector 176 of the VPI cable is inserted in line with the component to be tested (col. 6, lines 57 - 58), (see figure 8B) i.e., electronic control unit (ECM) 110 (col. 6, lines 45), (see figure 8B), (col. 4, lines 59 – 60)];
a general purpose input-output (GPIO) breakout interface [i.e., the prove adapter card including a probe controller…it attaches to the computer in the terminal and is supported as an I/O device. When the probe enters the terminal, the conductors contained within it are fed into a programmable crosspoint switch 183 which is controlled by the micro-controller 184 (col.11, lines 1 – 4), (see figure 15)]; and
a configurable i.e., the level of voltage to be applied is programable (col. 12, lines 30 – 31), (see figure 15) power interface [i.e., a program controlled DC voltage source and ground sink 188 by use of the programmable crosspoint switch can be connected to any probe conductor (col. 2, lines 26 – 27), (see figure 15)] configured to supply variable power to the one or more ECUS [i.e., a program controlled DC voltage source and ground sink 188 by use of the programmable crosspoint switch can be connected to any probe conductor (col. 2, lines 26 – 27), (see figure 15) i.e., the connector 176 of the VPI cable is inserted in line with the component to be tested (col. 6, lines 57 - 58), (see figure 8B) i.e., electronic control unit (ECM) 110 (col. 6, lines 45), (see figure 8B), (col. 4, lines 59 – 60)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz by adapting the teachings of Ballou to provide semi-automated diagnostic apparatus for vehicles (See Ballou; col. 2, lines 8 – 12).
Regarding claim 2, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the automotive interface includes a controller area network (CAN) transceiver configured to receive both a CAN-high and CAN-low signal [i.e., CAN0 interface is 2112 is connected to a first CAN transceiver 2124 of a vehicle via the CAN0_HI/LOW link (page 9, para 0183), (see figure 21)].
Regarding claim 3, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 1, connection of the ECU CAN pins to the CAN interface described here, connection of the ECU power pins to the power connectors described here and the connection of ECU sensor inputs and outputs [i.e., CAN0 interface is 2112 is connected to a first CAN transceiver 2124 of a vehicle via the CAN0_HI/LOW link (page 9, para 0183), (see figure 21)].
Regarding claim 5, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 1 [i.e., (claim 1 above)].
Gintz does not disclose;
wherein the power interface is configured to allow software control of the voltage level supplied to the connected device.
However, Ballou discloses;
a power interface is configured to allow software control of the voltage level supplied to the connected device [i.e., a program controlled DC voltage source and ground sink 188 by use of the programmable crosspoint switch can be connected to any probe conductor (col. 2, lines 26 – 27), (see figure 15)], [i.e., a program controlled DC voltage source and ground sink 188 by use of the programmable crosspoint switch can be connected to any probe conductor (col. 2, lines 26 – 27), (see figure 15) i.e., the connector 176 of the VPI cable is inserted in line with the component to be tested (col. 6, lines 57 - 58), (see figure 8B) i.e., electronic control unit (ECM) 110 (col. 6, lines 45), (see figure 8B), (col. 4, lines 59 – 60)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz by adapting the teachings of Ballou to provide semi-automated diagnostic apparatus for vehicles (See Ballou; col. 2, lines 8 – 12).
Regarding claim 6, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 5 [i.e., (see claim 5 above)].
Gintz does not disclose;
wherein the power interface power is to be disconnected to the device through software instructions on the board.
However, Ballou discloses;
the power interface power is to be disconnected to the device through software instructions on the board [i.e., a program controlled DC voltage source and ground sink 188 by use of the programmable crosspoint switch can be connected to any probe conductor (col. 2, lines 26 – 27), (see figure 15)], [i.e., a program controlled DC voltage source and ground sink 188 by use of the programmable crosspoint switch can be connected to any probe conductor (col. 2, lines 26 – 27), (see figure 15) i.e., the connector 176 of the VPI cable is inserted in line with the component to be tested (col. 6, lines 57 - 58), (see figure 8B) i.e., electronic control unit (ECM) 110 (col. 6, lines 45), (see figure 8B), (col. 4, lines 59 – 60)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz by adapting the teachings of Ballou to provide semi-automated diagnostic apparatus for vehicles (See Ballou; col. 2, lines 8 – 12).
Regarding claim 7, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 1, wherein analog inputs and outputs to the connected ECU are provide from the microcontroller on the board [i.e., analog MUX (see ref. 2128 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0183)].
Regarding claim 8, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the input and output values are received or transmitted from other nodes over the control network [i.e., the local device 112 is hardwired to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1) i.e., analog MUX (see ref. 2128 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0183)].
Regarding claim 9, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control network interface is remote to the apparatus and the control network interface is a wireless transceiver.
Regarding claim 10, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the debug interface includes either a JTAG connector [i.e., JTAG (see ref. 2144 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0186)] or a serial connector [i.e., serial port …serial bus (page 9, para 0186)].
Regarding claim 11, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the automotive interface includes a controller area network (CAN) transceiver [i.e., CAN XVCR (see ref. 2126 of figure 21)] in communication with a first analog multiplexer [i.e., Analog MUX (see ref. 2128 of figure 21)] in communication with a CAN-high network [i.e., CAN1_HI (see figure 21)], a second analog multiplexer [i.e., Analog MUX (see ref. 2128 of figure 21) Note; Since CAN is differential (HL/LOW), and the multiplexer routes the CAN signal, it necessarily switches both lines, which functionality constitutes two multiplexers] in communication with a CAN-low network [i.e., CAN LOW_C (see figure 21)], and an analog-to-digital converter [i.e., CAN XVCR (see ref. 2126 of figure 21) Note; CAN transceiver receives analog voltages CAN_H/CAN_L and converts the differential signal into a digital RX output. Thus there must be an ADC].
Regarding claim 12, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the GPIO interface is connected to a Field Programmable Array (FGPA) that is connected to the controller [i.e., the Freescale IMX28 Microcontroller…application processor 2104 (page 9, para 0180), (see figure 21)].
Gintz does not disclose;
a breakout interface.
However, Ballou discloses;
a general purpose input-output (GPIO) breakout interface [i.e., the prove adapter card including a probe controller…it attaches to the computer in the terminal and is supported as an I/O device. When the probe enters the terminal, the conductors contained within it are fed into a programmable crosspoint switch 183 which is controlled by the micro-controller 184 (col.11, lines 1 – 4), (see figure 15)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz by adapting the teachings of Ballou to provide semi-automated diagnostic apparatus for vehicles (See Ballou; col. 2, lines 8 – 12).
Regarding claim 13, Gintz discloses; an apparatus [i.e., a system 2102 within local device 112 (see figures 1 and 21), (page 9, para 0180)] utilized for security testing one or more electronic control units (ECUs) [i.e., the local device 112 is hardwired to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1)], comprising:
a memory unit configured to store one or more instructions [i.e., program instructions stored on one or more memory 2116 and memory 2118 (page 9, para 0182), (see figure 21)];
a controller configured to execute one or more instructions [i.e., the Freescale IMX28 Microcontroller…application processor 2104 (page 9, para 0180), (see figure 21) i.e., program instructions stored on one or more memory 2116 and memory 2118 are executed by application processor 2104 (page 9, para 0182)];
a control network interface in communication with the controller [i.e., the application processor 2104 is connected a WIFI module 2120 (page 9, para 0182), (see figure 21) i.e., RJ45 Connector (see ref. 2122 of figure 21)], wherein the control network interface is configured to communicate instructions received from one or more control networks [i.e., SSP 2110 is connected to Wi-Fi module 2120 to allow for wireless communication (page 9, para 0182), (see figure 21)];
a interface [i.e., the system 2102 within the local device 112 includes CAN transceivers (see ref. 2124 and 2126 of figure 21 and figure 1), (page 9, para 0183)] configured to communicate with the one or more ECUs, wherein the interface is configured to send one or more instructions to the one or more ECU [i.e., the local device 112 is connected to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1) i.e., the commands from the local device 22074 is received by the vehicle device 22090…vehicle device 22090 is an engine control unit (page 11, para 0210), (see figures 22-2)];
a automotive network interface [i.e., the system 2102 includes CAN transceivers (see ref. 2124 and 2126 of figure 21 and figure 1), (page 9, para 0183)] configured to communicate signals to one or more automotive networks [i.e., controller area network (CAN) interfaces 2112 and 2114 are connected to CAN transceivers (see ref. 2124 and 2126 of figure 21 and figure 1), (page 9, para 0183) Note; the CAN transceivers connects to multiple Controller Area Network (CAN) i.e., LIN (page 9, para 0180)];
a general purpose input-output (GPIO) interface [i.e., GPIO (see reference 2154 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0191)] including a plurality of GPIO pins configured to send signals to control functionality of the apparatus [i.e., The GPIO pins 2154 are connected to a LED 2160 that activates to indicate an error (page 10, para 0191), (see figure 21)]; and
one or more debug interfaces [i.e., debug connector (see ref. 2132 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0186) i.e., JTAG (see ref. 2144 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0186)] configured to allow communication between a debugger and the one or more ECUs [i.e., debug connector 2132 is the physical access point for several debugging ports on processor 2104…(page 9, para 0186), (see figure 21) i.e., the local device 112 is connected to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1) Note; the debug interface allows debugging of the apparatus by interacting with the automotive controller 114 for diagnosing].
Gintz does not disclose;
a breakout interface, wherein the breakout interface is configured to send one or more instructions to the one or more ECU; and a general purpose input-output (GPIO) breakout interface.
However, Ballou discloses;
a breakout interface [i.e., a vehicle probe interface (VPI) (col. 6, lines 51 – 57), (see figure 8B)], wherein the breakout interface is configured to send one or more instructions to one or more ECU [i.e., the connector 176 of the VPI cable is inserted in line with the component to be tested (col. 6, lines 57 - 58), (see figure 8B) i.e., electronic control unit (ECM) 110 (col. 6, lines 45), (see figure 8B), (col. 4, lines 59 – 60)]; and
a general purpose input-output (GPIO) breakout interface [i.e., the prove adapter card including a probe controller…it attaches to the computer in the terminal and is supported as an I/O device. When the probe enters the terminal, the conductors contained within it are fed into a programmable crosspoint switch 183 which is controlled by the micro-controller 184 (col.11, lines 1 – 4), (see figure 15)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz by adapting the teachings of Ballou to provide semi-automated diagnostic apparatus for vehicles (See Ballou; col. 2, lines 8 – 12).
Regarding claim 15, Gintz discloses; an electronic board [i.e., a system 2102 within local device 112 (see figures 1 and 21), (page 9, para 0180) Note; the system 2102 is a hardware assembly such as printed circuit board (PCB) where all the below hardware components or interfaces assemble into] utilized for testing one or more electronic control units (ECUs) [i.e., the local device 112 is hardwired to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1)], comprising:
a memory unit configured to store one or more instructions [i.e., program instructions stored on one or more memory 2116 and memory 2118 (page 9, para 0182), (see figure 21)];
a controller configured to execute one or more instructions [i.e., the Freescale IMX28 Microcontroller…application processor 2104 (page 9, para 0180), (see figure 21) i.e., program instructions stored on one or more memory 2116 and memory 2118 are executed by application processor 2104 (page 9, para 0182)];
a control network interface in communication with the controller [i.e., the application processor 2104 is connected a WIFI module 2120 (page 9, para 0182), (see figure 21) i.e., RJ45 Connector (see ref. 2122 of figure 21)], wherein the control network interface is configured to communicate instructions received from one or more control networks [i.e., SSP 2110 is connected to Wi-Fi module 2120 to allow for wireless communication (page 9, para 0182), (see figure 21)];
a interface [i.e., the system 2102 within the local device 112 includes CAN transceivers (see ref. 2124 and 2126 of figure 21 and figure 1), (page 9, para 0183)] configured to communicate with the one or more ECUs, wherein the interface is configured to send one or more instructions to the one or more ECU [i.e., the local device 112 is connected to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1) i.e., the commands from the local device 22074 is received by the vehicle device 22090…vehicle device 22090 is an engine control unit (page 11, para 0210), (see figures 22-2)];
a automotive network interface [i.e., the system 2102 includes CAN transceivers (see ref. 2124 and 2126 of figure 21 and figure 1), (page 9, para 0183)] configured to communicate signals to one or more automotive networks [i.e., controller area network (CAN) interfaces 2112 and 2114 are connected to CAN transceivers (see ref. 2124 and 2126 of figure 21 and figure 1), (page 9, para 0183) Note; the CAN transceivers connects to multiple Controller Area Network (CAN) i.e., LIN (page 9, para 0180)]; and
a general purpose input-output (GPIO) interface [i.e., GPIO (see reference 2154 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0191)] including a plurality of GPIO pins configured to send signals to control functionality of the apparatus [i.e., The GPIO pins 2154 are connected to a LED 2160 that activates to indicate an error (page 10, para 0191), (see figure 21)], wherein the controller is further configured to monitor interaction of the one or more ECUS in response to signals at one or more automotive networks and the signals sent by the GPIO breakout interface [i.e., The GPIO pins 2154 are connected to a LED 2160 that activates to indicate an error (page 10, para 0191), (see figure 21)].
Gintz does not disclose;
a breakout interface, wherein the breakout interface is configured to send one or more instructions to the one or more ECU; and a general purpose input-output (GPIO) breakout interface.
However, Ballou discloses;
a breakout interface [i.e., a vehicle probe interface (VPI) (col. 6, lines 51 – 57), (see figure 8B)], wherein the breakout interface is configured to send one or more instructions to one or more ECU [i.e., the connector 176 of the VPI cable is inserted in line with the component to be tested (col. 6, lines 57 - 58), (see figure 8B) i.e., electronic control unit (ECM) 110 (col. 6, lines 45), (see figure 8B), (col. 4, lines 59 – 60)]; and
a general purpose input-output (GPIO) breakout interface [i.e., the prove adapter card including a probe controller…it attaches to the computer in the terminal and is supported as an I/O device. When the probe enters the terminal, the conductors contained within it are fed into a programmable crosspoint switch 183 which is controlled by the micro-controller 184 (col.11, lines 1 – 4), (see figure 15)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz by adapting the teachings of Ballou to provide semi-automated diagnostic apparatus for vehicles (See Ballou; col. 2, lines 8 – 12).
Regarding claim 16, Gintz discloses; the electronic board of claim 15, wherein the electronic board is configured to connect with a second electronic board including a second automotive network interface [i.e., i.e., the local device 112 i.e., system 2102 is hardwired to the automotive controller 114 (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figures 1 and 21)] and second interface [i.e., i.e., the local device 112 i.e., system 2102 is hardwired to the automotive controller 114 (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figures 1 and 21)].
Gintz does not disclose;
a breakout interface.
However, Ballou discloses;
a breakout interface [i.e., a vehicle probe interface (VPI) (col. 6, lines 51 – 57), (see figure 8B)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz by adapting the teachings of Ballou to provide semi-automated diagnostic apparatus for vehicles (See Ballou; col. 2, lines 8 – 12).
Regarding claim 18, Gintz discloses; the electronic board of claim 15, wherein the automotive network interface communicate signals to one or more automotive networks without a host computer [i.e., the local device 112 is hardwired to the automotive controller 114 for performing diagnostics (page 2, para 0037 and 0040), (see figure 1)].
Regarding claim 19, Gintz discloses; the electronic board of claim 15, where in the GPIO interface is configured to emulate one or more sensors configured to interact with the one or more ECUs [i.e., The GPIO pins 2154 are connected to a LED 2160 that activates to indicate an error (page 10, para 0191), (see figure 21)].
Gintz does not disclose;
a breakout interface.
However, Ballou discloses;
a general purpose input-output (GPIO) breakout interface [i.e., the prove adapter card including a probe controller…it attaches to the computer in the terminal and is supported as an I/O device. When the probe enters the terminal, the conductors contained within it are fed into a programmable crosspoint switch 183 which is controlled by the micro-controller 184 (col.11, lines 1 – 4), (see figure 15)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz by adapting the teachings of Ballou to provide semi-automated diagnostic apparatus for vehicles (See Ballou; col. 2, lines 8 – 12).
Regarding claim 20, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the GPIO breakout interface is connected to a Field Programmable Array (FGPA) that is connected to the controller [i.e., the Freescale IMX28 Microcontroller…application processor 2104 (page 9, para 0180), (see figure 21)].
Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gintz in view of Ballou as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Litichever et al., (US 2015/0020152 A1) (hereinafter “Litichever”).
Regarding claim 4, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 1 [i.e., (claim 1 above)].
Gintz and Ballou do not disclose;
wherein the automotive interface is configured to allow the microcontroller to overwrite specific bits in a message transmitted from the ECU to the automotive network
However, Litichever discloses;
an automotive interface [i.e., one or more message receiving units…connected to one or more communication buses…for receiving all message sent from a source communication bus to a destination communication bus, prior to their arrival (para 0051) i.e., message analyzer units…decide whether to transfer the message…as is, block the message or transfer a modified version of the message (pare 0051) i.e., system comprises at least two bus interfaces and can filter message in each direction (para 0058)] is configured to allow a microcontroller to overwrite specific bits [i.e., transfer a modified version of the message (para 0051) i.e., message property comprises message ID, message data field, or message length (para 0060) i.e., rule can change the message properties, contents, or any other data related to the message (para 0183)] in a message transmitted from a ECU to an automotive network [i.e., ECU connected to communication buses (para 0082 – 0084) (see figures 1 and 2) i.e., receiving all messages send from a source communication bus to a destination communication bus, prior to their arrival (para 0051)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz and Ballou by adapting the teachings of Litichever to protect a vehicles electronic system or industrial control system from cyber threats (See Litichever; page 1, para 0001).
Regarding claim 14, Gintz discloses; the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the controller is configured to monitor signals and of the signals communicated to the one or more automotive networks [i.e., (see claim 13 above)].
Gintz and Ballou do not disclose;
modify bits.
However, Litichever discloses;
modify bits [i.e., transfer a modified version of the message (para 0051) i.e., message property comprises message ID, message data field, or message length (para 0060) i.e., rule can change the message properties, contents, or any other data related to the message (para 0183)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz and Ballou by adapting the teachings of Litichever to protect a vehicles electronic system or industrial control system from cyber threats (See Litichever; page 1, para 0001).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gintz in view of Ballou as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Sullam et al., (US 2011/0026519 A1) (hereinafter “Sullam”).
Regarding claim 17, Gintz discloses; the electronic board of claim 15, wherein the plurality of GPIO pins include digital pins in communication with the one or more ECUs [i.e., GPIO pins (see reference 2154 of figure 21), (page 9, para 0191)].
Gintz and Ballou do not disclose;
GPIO pins include both analog pins and digital pins.
However, Sullam discloses;
GPIO pins include both analog pins and digital pins [i.e., GPIOs configuration circuit 226 enable the GPIO pins 202-0 to be connected to an analog interconnect 230 to server as analog input and output and/or DSI 224 to server as digital input and output (page 2, para 0032), (see figure 2)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gintz and Ballou by adapting the teachings of Sullam for connecting input/output (I/Os) to one or more analog circuit blocks with multiple buses and connection circuits (See Sullam; page 1, para 0014).
Conclusion
/SYED A RONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432