DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on August 06, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims received on August 06, 2026 has been entered.
The amendment of claims 1, 10, 11, 18, 19 and 20 is acknowledged.
The new claim 21-22 are acknowledged.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a printer unit” in claim 1, “a display screen” in claim 1, “an operation interface” in claim 1, “an external interface” in claim 1, “a communication interface” in claim 1, “a storage unit” in claim 8, “a printer unit” in claim 11, “a touch panel” in claim 11, “an external interface” in claim 11, “a communication interface” in claim 11, “a storage unit” in claim 16, “a printer unit” in claim 19, “a display screen” in claim 19, “an operation interface” in claim 19, “an external interface” in claim 19 and “a communication interface” in claim 19.
“a printer unit” in claim 1 is read as the printer 24 shown in Fig.2, “a display screen” in claim 1 is read as the operation panel 25 shown in Fig.2, “an operation interface” in claim 1 is read as the operation panel 25 shown in Fig.2, “an external interface” in claim 1 is read as the external interface 26 shown in Fig.2, “a communication interface” in claim 1 is read as the communication interface 27 shown in Fig.2, “a storage unit” in claim 8 is read as the storage unit 23 shown in Fig.2, “a printer unit” in claim 11 is read as the printer 24 shown in Fig.2, “a touch panel” in claim 11 is read as the operation panel 25 shown in Fig.2, “an external interface” in claim 11 is read as the external interface 26 shown in Fig.2, “a communication interface” in claim 11 is read as the communication interface 27 shown in Fig.2, “a storage unit” in claim 16 is read as the storage unit 23 shown in Fig.2, ; “a printer unit” in claim 19 is read as the printer 24 shown in Fig.2, “a display screen” in claim 19 is read as the operation panel 25 shown in Fig.2, “an operation interface” in claim 19 is read as the operation panel 25 shown in Fig.2, “an external interface” in claim 19 is read as the external interface 26 shown in Fig.2 and “a communication interface” in claim 19 is read as the communication interface 27 shown in Fig.2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-9, 11, 13, 16-17, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De’100 (US 2011/0255100), and further in view of Miyashita’926 (US 2019/0369926) and Kobayashi’548 (US 2021/0211548).
With respect to claim 1, De’100 teaches an image forming apparatus [regarding to the label printer (claim 1)], comprising:
a printer unit (Fig.1, item 18) configured to print images (paragraph 87);
a display screen (Fig.3, item 612) for displaying information to an operator (paragraph 92);
an operation panel (Fig.3, item 612) for permitting the operator to select an image template for printing, the image template including a fixed data region and a variable data region (Fig.8A and paragraph 162).
De’100 does not teach an external interface configured to connect to an external input device to receive input data to be included in the variable data region of a selected image template; a communication interface for receiving requests and operating instructions from an external terminal of the operator; and a processor configured to: generate a preview image of an image to be printed by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region, store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the external terminal of the operator, generate a code image indicating the storage location, and display the code image on the display screen upon a request of the operator.
Miyashita’926 teaches an external interface (Fig.1, item 105H) configured to connect to an external input device (Fig.1, item 200) to receive input data to be included in the variable data region of a selected image template [As shown in Fig.5, the weight measuring apparatus 200 transmits the measure data (variable data) to the printing label preparing apparatus 100 for printing a label (Fig.6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to consider the character string “Weight [g]” in Fig.6 to be the fix data and the number, 1500 in Fig.6 to be the variable data since only the number of the weight information is changed when the label shown in Fig.6 is changed every time.];
a communication interface (Fig.3, item 45) for receiving requests and operating instructions from an external terminal (Fig.1, item 30) of the operator (paragraphs 67 and 134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of De’100 according to the teaching of Miyashita’926 to include a communication interface and an external interface in a printer to connect to a host computer and a weight measuring apparatus respectively for obtaining the print data including the variable data for printing labels because this will allow the labels to be printed more effectively.
The combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 does not teach a processor configured to: generate a preview image of an image to be printed by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region, store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the external terminal of the operator, generate a code image indicating the storage location, and display the code image on the display screen upon a request of the operator.
Since De’100 has suggested proving a preview image of label according to the selected template (Fig.8A) and Miyashita’926 teaches that a mobile terminal (Fig.5, item 30) transmits the print data including the variable data to the printing label preparing apparatus (Fig.5, item 100) for printing (Fig.5), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable a printer to receive print data including the variable data from a host computer for printing and then to generate a preview image associated with the received print data including the variable data (generate a preview image of an image to be printed by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region) because this will allow a user know the quality of a printout before printing it.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 to enable a printer to receive print data including the variable data from a host computer for printing and then to generate a preview image associated with the received print data including the variable data (generate a preview image of an image to be printed by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region) because this will allow a user know the quality of a printout before printing it.
The modification of combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 does not teach a processor configured to: store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the external terminal of the operator, generate a code image indicating the storage location, and display the code image on the display screen upon a request of the operator.
Kobayashi’548 teaches a processor configured to: store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the external terminal of the operator [the preview image in step ACT3-1 in Fig.5 is considered being stored in step ACT4-1 in Fig.5 to be accessed by a user (paragraph 67)], generate a code image indicating the storage location (Fig.5, step ACT5-1), and display the code image on the display screen upon a request of the operator [as shown in Fig.4, the code image is being displayed on an operation panel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to display the code image on an operation panel when a user wants to obtain the image data associated with the code image because this will allow the image data to be obtained more effectively].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 according to the teaching of Kobayashi’548 to create a QR code for accessing the image data of a label because this will allow the image data of label to be obtained more effectively.
With respect to claim 2, which further limits claim 1, De’100 teaches wherein the display screen is integrated with the operation panel (Fig.3, item 612 and Fig.4A).
With respect to claim 3, which further limits claim 1, the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 does not teach wherein the external input device is directly connected to the external interface.
Miyashita’926 teaches wherein the external input device is directly connected to the external interface [as shown Fig1, the weight measuring apparatus 200 transmits the measure data (variable data) to the printing label preparing apparatus 100 using the USB cable 159].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Miyashita’926 to include a weight measuring apparatus to transmit the measure data (variable data) to the printer using the USB cable this will enhance the connection security between a printer and a weight measuring apparatus.
With respect to claim 5, which further limits claim 3, the combination of De’100, and Kobayashi’548 does not teaches the external input device is a weight scale.
Miyashita’926 teaches the external input device is a weight scale (Fig.1, item 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Miyashita’926 to include a weighing sensor in the label printing system because this will allow the label printing system to print information regarding to weight information of a product on a label.
With respect to claim 8, which further limits claim 1, De’100 teaches a storage unit, wherein the storage unit stores a plurality of image templates [as shown in Fig.8A, a list of templates are being displayed for selection for printing the labels. Therefore, a storage unit is considered being used to store a plurality of image templates for displaying them on a window].
With respect to claim 9, which further limits claim 8, the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 teaches wherein the storage location for the preview image is in the storage unit.
Kobayashi’548 teaches wherein the storage location for the preview image is in the storage unit (paragraph 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 according to the teaching of Kobayashi’548 to create a QR code for encoding the address where the image data of a label to be obtained because this will allow the image data of label to be obtained more effectively.
With respect to claim 11, De’100 teaches a barcode printer [regarding to the label printer (claim 1)], comprising:
a printer unit (Fig.1, item 18) configured to print images on label stock (paragraph 87);
a touch panel display screen (Fig.3, item 612) for displaying information to an operator and for permitting the operator to select a label template for printing, the label template including a fixed data region and a variable data region (Fig.8A and paragraph 162);
De’100 does not teach an external interface connected to an external input device to receive input data to be included in the variable data region of a selected label template; a communication interface for receiving requests and operating instructions from a smart device of the operator; and a processor configured to: generate a preview image of an image to be printed on a label by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region, store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the smart device, generate a code image indicating the storage location, and display the code image on the touch panel display screen upon a request of the operator.
Miyashita’926 teaches an external interface (Fig.1, item 105H) configured to connect to an external input device (Fig.1, item 200) to receive input data to be included in the variable data region of a selected image template [As shown in Fig.5, the weight measuring apparatus 200 transmits the measure data (variable data) to the printing label preparing apparatus 100 for printing a label (Fig.6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to consider the character string “Weight [g]” in Fig.6 to be the fix data and the number, 1500 in Fig.6 to be the variable data since only the number of the weight information is changed when the label shown in Fig.6 is changed every time.];
a communication interface (Fig.3, item 45) for receiving requests and operating instructions from a smart device (Fig.1, item 30) of the operator (paragraphs 67 and 134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of De’100 according to the teaching of Miyashita’926 to include a communication interface and an external interface in a printer to connect to a host computer and a weight measuring apparatus respectively for obtaining the print data including the variable data for printing labels because this will allow the labels to be printed more effectively.
The combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 does not teach a processor configured to: generate a preview image of an image to be printed on a label by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region, store the preview image in a storage location accessible by an external smart device, generate a code image indicating the storage location, and display the code image on the touch panel display screen upon a request of the operator.
Since De’100 has suggested proving a preview image of label according to the selected template (Fig.8A) and Miyashita’926 teaches that a mobile terminal (Fig.5, item 30) transmits the print data including the variable data to the printing label preparing apparatus (Fig.5, item 100) for printing (Fig.5), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable a printer to receive print data including the variable data from a host computer for printing and then to generate a preview image associated with the received print data including the variable data (generate a preview image of an image to be printed by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region) because this will allow a user know the quality of a printout before printing it.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 to enable a printer to receive print data including the variable data from a host computer for printing and then to generate a preview image associated with the received print data including the variable data (generate a preview image of an image to be printed on a label by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region) because this will allow a user know the quality of a printout before printing it.
The modification of combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 does not teach a processor configured to: store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the smart device, generate a code image indicating the storage location, and display the code image on the touch panel display screen upon a request of the operator.
Kobayashi’548 teaches a processor configured to: store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the smart device [the preview image in step ACT3-1 in Fig.5 is considered being stored in step ACT4-1 in Fig.5 to accessed by the user terminal (the smart device) (paragraph 67)], generate a code image indicating the storage location (Fig.5, step ACT5-1), and display the code image on the touch panel display screen upon a request of the operator [as shown in Fig.4, the code image is being displayed on an operation panel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to display the code image on an operation panel when a user wants to obtain the image data associated with the code image because this will allow the image data to be obtained more effectively].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 according to the teaching of Kobayashi’548 to create a QR code for accessing the image data of a label because this will allow the image data of label to be obtained more effectively.
With respect to claim 13, which further limits claim 11, the combination of De’100, and Kobayashi’548 does not teaches the external input device is a weight scale.
Miyashita’926 teaches the external input device is a weight scale (Fig.1, item 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Miyashita’926 to include a weighing sensor in the label printing system because this will allow the label printing system to print information regarding to weight information of a product on a label.
With respect to claim 16, which further limits claim 11, De’100 teaches a storage unit, wherein the storage unit stores a plurality of image templates [as shown in Fig.8A, a list of templates are being displayed for selection for printing the labels. Therefore, a storage unit is considered being used to store a plurality of image templates for displaying them on a window].
With respect to claim 17, which further limits claim 16, the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 teaches wherein the storage location for the preview image is in the storage unit.
Kobayashi’548 teaches wherein the storage location for the preview image is in the storage unit (paragraph 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 according to the teaching of Kobayashi’548
to create a QR code for encoding the address where the image data of a label to be obtained because this will allow the image data of label to be obtained more effectively.
With respect to claim 19, De’100 teaches A label printing system [regarding to the label printer (claim 1), comprising:
an image forming apparatus [regarding to the label printer (claim 1) including:
a printer unit (Fig.1, item 18) configured to print images (paragraph 87);
a display screen (Fig.3, item 612) for displaying information to the operator (paragraph 92);
an operation panel (Fig.3, item 612) for permitting the operator to select an image template for printing, the image template including a fixed data region and a variable data region (Fig.8A and paragraph 162).
De’100 does not teach an external input device operable by an operator; a smart device of the operator; an external interface connected to the external input device to receive input data from the external input device to be included in the variable data region of a selected image template; a communication interface for wireless receiving request from the smart device; and a processor configured to: generate a preview image of an image to be printed by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region, store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the smart device, generate a code image indicating the storage location, and display the code image on the display screen upon a request of the operator.
Miyashita’926 teaches an external input device [regarding to the weight measuring apparatus (Fig.1, item 200)] operable by an operator [as shown in Fig.1, the weight measuring apparatus is operable by a user to weight an object]
an external interface (Fig.1, item 105H) connected to the external input device (Fig.1, item 200) to receive input data from the external input device to be included in the variable data region of a selected image template [As shown in Fig.5, the weight measuring apparatus 200 transmits the measure data (variable data) to the printing label preparing apparatus 100 for printing a label (Fig.6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to consider the character string “Weight [g]” in Fig.6 to be the fix data and the number, 1500 in Fig.6 to be the variable data since only the number of the weight information is changed when the label shown in Fig.6 is changed every time.];
a communication interface (Fig.3, item 45) for wireless receiving requests from the smart device (Fig.1, item 30) (paragraphs 67 and 134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of De’100 according to the teaching of Miyashita’926 to include a communication interface and an external interface in a printer to connect to a host computer and a weight measuring apparatus respectively for obtaining the print data including the variable data for printing labels because this will allow the labels to be printed more effectively.
Since De’100 has suggested proving a preview image of label according to the selected template (Fig.8A) and Miyashita’926 teaches that a mobile terminal (Fig.5, item 30) transmits the print data including the variable data to the printing label preparing apparatus (Fig.5, item 100) for printing (Fig.5), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable a printer to receive print data including the variable data from a host computer for printing and then to generate a preview image associated with the received print data including the variable data (generate a preview image of an image to be printed by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region) because this will allow a user know the quality of a printout before printing it.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 to enable a printer to receive print data including the variable data from a host computer for printing and then to generate a preview image associated with the received print data including the variable data (generate a preview image of an image to be printed by the printer unit, the preview image corresponding to the selected image template with the received input data included in the variable data region) because this will allow a user know the quality of a printout before printing it.
The modification of combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 does not teach a processor configured to: store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the smart device, generate a code image indicating the storage location, and display the code image on the display screen upon a request of the operator.
Kobayashi’548 teaches a processor configured to: store the preview image in a storage location accessible by the smart device [the preview image in step ACT3-1 in Fig.5 is considered being stored in step ACT4-1 in Fig.5 to accessed by the user terminal (the smart device) (paragraph 67)], generate a code image indicating the storage location (Fig.5, step ACT5-1), and display the code image on the display screen upon a request of the operator [as shown in Fig.4, the code image is being displayed on an operation panel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to display the code image on an operation panel when a user wants to obtain the image data associated with the code image because this will allow the image data to be obtained more effectively].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Miyashita’926 according to the teaching of Kobayashi’548 to create a QR code for accessing the image data of a label because this will allow the image data of label to be obtained more effectively.
With respect to claim 21, which further limits claim 1, the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 does not teach wherein the external input device is at least one of the following: a code reader, a scanner, a keyboard, a weight scale, a thermometer, and a multifunctional peripheral.
Kobayashi’548 teaches wherein the external input device is at least one of the following: a code reader, a scanner, a keyboard, a weight scale [regarding to the weight measuring apparatus 200 shown in Fig.1], a thermometer, and a multifunctional peripheral.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Miyashita’926 to include a weight measuring apparatus because this will allow the weight of an object to be obtain more effectively.
With respect to claim 22, which further limits claim 11, the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 does not teach wherein the external input device is connected to the external input device by a wired connection, and the communication interface is a wireless communication interface to which the smart device is connectable.
Kobayashi’548 teaches wherein the external input device is connected to the external input device by a wired connection [as shown in Fig.1, the weight measuring apparatus 300 and the printing label preparing apparatus 100 using the wired connection], and
the communication interface is a wireless communication interface to which the smart device is connectable [as shown in Fig.1, the mobile terminal 30 and the printing label preparing apparatus 100 using the wireless communication].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Miyashita’926 to include a communication interface and an external interface in a printer to connect to a host computer wirelessly and a weight measuring apparatus wired respectively for obtaining the print data including the variable data for printing labels because this will allow the labels to be printed more effectively.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De’100 (US 2011/0255100), Miyashita’926 (US 2019/0369926) and Kobayashi’548 (US 2021/0211548) and further in view of JP 3649627 B2.
With respect to claim 4, which further limits claim 3, the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926, and Kobayashi’548 does not teach wherein the external input device is a code reader.
JP 3649627 B2 teaches wherein the external input device is a code reader [a scanner is being used to read the printed weight information (page 13) and it is connect to scale]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Kobayashi’548 to in include a scanner to read the printed weight because this will allow the printed weight information to be obtained more effectively.
With respect to claim 12, which further limits claim 11, the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926, and Kobayashi’548 does not teach wherein the external input device is a code reader.
JP 3649627 B2 teaches wherein the external input device is a code reader [a scanner is being used to read the printed weight information (page 13) and it is connect to scale]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Kobayashi’548 to in include a scanner to read the printed weight because this will allow the printed weight information to be obtained more effectively.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De’100 (US 2011/0255100), Miyashita’926 (US 2019/0369926) and Kobayashi’548 (US 2021/0211548) and further in view of Ke’520 (CN 109969520).
With respect to claim 6, which further limits claim 3, the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 does not teach wherein the external input device is a thermometer.
Ke’520 teaches the external input device is a weight scale [as shown in Fig.1, the host 4 provides the temperature information obtained from the temperature sensor 1 to the label printer 5 for printing (page 5)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Ke’520 to include a temperature sensor in the label printing system because this will allow the label printing system to print information regarding to the temperature of the pre-packaged food production environment on a label.
With respect to claim 14, which further limits claim 11, the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 does not teach wherein the external input device is a thermometer.
Ke’520 teaches the external input device is a weight scale [as shown in Fig.1, the host 4 provides the temperature information obtained from the temperature sensor 1 to the label printer 5 for printing (page 5)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Ke’520 to include a temperature sensor in the label printing system because this will allow the label printing system to print information regarding to the temperature of the pre-packaged food production environment on a label.
Claims 10, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De’100 (US 2011/0255100), Miyashita’926 (US 2019/0369926) and Kobayashi’548 (US 2021/0211548) and further in view of Sekine’526 (US 2012/0026526).
With respect to claim 10, which further limits claim 1, the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 does not teach wherein the communication interface is configured to connect to an external server, and wherein the storage location for the preview image is in the external server.
Sekine’526 teaches communication interface (Fig.2, item 204) is configured to connect to an external server (Fig.1, item 30), and the storage location for the preview image is in the external server (paragraph 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Sekine’526 to include a server for storing the preview image data because this will allow the preview image data to be distributed more effectively.
With respect to claim 18, which further limits claim 11, the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 does not teach wherein the communication interface is configured to connect to an external server, wherein the storage location for the preview image is in the external server.
Sekine’526 teaches communication interface (Fig.2, item 204) configured to connect to an external server (Fig.1, item 30), wherein the storage location for the preview image is in the external server (paragraph 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Sekine’526 to include a server for storing the preview image data because this will allow the preview image data to be distributed more effectively.
With respect to claim 20, which further limits claim 19, the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 does not teach an external server connectable to the image forming apparatus and the smart device, wherein the storage location is in the external server; the external input device is not connected to the external server.
Miyashita’926 teaches the external input device is not connected to the external server [as shown in Fig.1, the weight measuring apparatus 200 only connects to the printing label preparing apparatus 100 and connect to the external server 50].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Miyashita’926 to include a communication interface and an external interface in a printer to connect to a host computer and a weight measuring apparatus respectively for obtaining the print data including the variable data for printing labels because this will allow the labels to be printed more effectively.
The combination De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 does teach an external server connectable to the image forming apparatus and the smart device, wherein the storage location is in the external server.
Sekine’526 teaches an external server (Fig.1, item 30) connectable to the image forming apparatus (Fig.1, item 20) and the smart device (Fig.1, item 10), wherein the storage location for the preview image is in the external server (paragraph 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of De’100, Miyashita’926 and Kobayashi’548 according to the teaching of Sekine’526 to include a server for storing the preview image data because this will allow the preview image data to be distributed more effectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUO LONG CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3759. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tieu, Benny can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUO LONG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682