DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on February 5, 2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,011,280 in view of (Blauer: Pub. No. 2017/0296084). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present invention's claims are, except as indicated below, merely broader in scope than the patented claims. Once the applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention (see In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993)).
While the invention of ‘280 does not include the details of the catheter, the application of Blauer mirrors that presented below in the rejection of claims under §103 with regards to the use of the claimed catheter. The Blauer catheter is advantageous in that it allows mapping with standard basket catheter electrodes, while including a reference electrode configured to be immersed in blood, so as to allow the detection of injury currents typically induced in the mapping process. Those of ordinary skill would have therefore found it obvious to use the catheter of Blauer in the system of the ‘280 invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
In claims 7 and 11, stating that the reference electrode is immersed in blood and the sensing electrode is in contact with tissue, is impermissible. Reference to the body must be made only in a functional sense (e.g., “electrode is adapted to be” or “electrode is configured for”).
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) the mentally performable feat of comparing one or more signals to a predefined threshold to detect the presence of an injury current.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a); there is no application or use of
a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo; there is no application of the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b); there is no transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c); and there is no application or use of the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of intracardiac mapping using a basket catheter, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(e) and the Vanda Memo issued in June 2018.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the catheter with an elongated shaft, an expandable assembly comprising a plurality of splines, a sensing electrode coupled to at least one spline, and a reference electrode, function in their usual capacity to collect intracardiac signals. The electrode catheter represents necessary data gathering activity that would be required in any system attempting to perform the abstract idea, and is thus insignificant. As disclosed, while the claimed invention specifically uses a basket catheter for cardiac mapping, other distal end assemblies may be used (par. 0042). The one or more processors are also generic and function merely as a tool upon which the abstract idea is performed. The combination of the one or more processors with the electrode catheter function in their usual manner of collecting data and processing data.
The recited electrode catheter, the one or more processors and the combination of the electrode catheter and the one or more processors is also WURC in the art. The applicant indicates that a variety of commercially available intracardiac electrode arrangements may be used (par. 0042) and that a general-purpose computer may be used to process the signals (par. 0036). The combination of a basket catheter and one or more processors is further WURC in the art of cardiac mapping, as they are the basic building blocks of any conventional computerized mapping system.
Regarding claim 8, the use of the recited first and second signals using a sensing and surface electrode, and a reference electrode and a surface electrode, respectively, is not considered WURC in the art. Such a feature enables one to obtain a unipolar signal where none of the electrodes are in contact with cardiac tissue, so as to identify injury currents caused by the sensing electrode being in contact with cardiac tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blauer et al. (Blauer: Pub. No. 2017/0296084) in view of Deno et al. (Pub. No. 2016/0331471) and Govari et al. (Govari: Pub. No. 2020/0037924).
Regarding claim 1, Blauer discloses a system comprising: a catheter 10 comprising: an elongated shaft 14 extending along a longitudinal axis; an expandable assembly 40 disposed at a distal end of the elongated shaft and comprising a plurality of spines (see Fig. 1); a sensing electrode 44 coupled to at least one spine of the plurality of spines; and a reference electrode 48; and one or more processors (computational element of processing unit 34) configured to receive one or more signals from the sensing electrode and the reference electrode, for determining contact of the sensing electrode(s) with tissue (par. 0025).
Blauer does not explicitly state that the system compares the one or more signals to a predefined threshold to detect a presence of an injury current. The applicant states that an injury current is a well-known artifact and is typically caused during an EP signal acquisition procedure by the acquiring electrode pushing on cardiac cells (par. 0026).
Deno, in a related system, specifically teaches that unipolar EGMs such as disclosed by Blauer may be used to detect injury currents (par. 0093). Injury currents are those artifacts wherein the EGM shows a prominent positive deflection persisting for 60-80 or more milliseconds. Clearly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, given the known characteristics of injury currents, to have configured a processor to compare the received unipolar signals to a predefined threshold indicative of an injury current, so as to limit the effects of noise on the system. Govari, for example, discloses that such unipolar signals may be compared to a predefined threshold by the processor/ASIC (par. 0054).
Regarding claim 2, Deno (and Govari) teaches that unipolar signals can be used in the determination of injury currents (par. 0093). Unipolar signals are independent of catheter orientation and allow for consistent measurement of EGM amplitudes and morphologies (par. 0037). To use unipolar signals would have therefore been considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, considering that Deno teaches that injury currents show up as prominent positive deflections and that Govari teaches that predefined thresholds may be used, comparison of peak signal levels (i.e., prominent deflections) to a predefined threshold would have been considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art.
The limitations of claims 5-7 are clearly shown by Blauer.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blauer, Deno and Govari as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-7 above, and further in view of Harlev et al. (Harlev. Pub. No. 2012/0184864).
Regarding claim 4, common sense dictates that any detected noise artifacts would be discarded so as not to negatively affect the mapping procedure. Harlev, for example, discloses that injury currents can be mis-annotated by the mapping system. To prevent this, injury currents are detected and the EGMs containing such currents are rejected (pars. 0381 and 0382). Those of ordinary skill in the art looking to reduce the effects of noise on the system –a common goal in the art—would have considered the feature of claim 4 to be obvious.
Conclusion
/KENNEDY SCHAETZLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
KJS
March 20, 2026