DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: #48. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11865885. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because similar subject matter is claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 25 and 35 each recite the limitation "the power source". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 26, 27, 28, 29 30, 31, 36-39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marvi et al., US 11499665. Marvi discloses and amphibious vehicle #100 comprising a frame defining a central axis (see Fig. 1) and having one or more floatable members #192; wheels #110 A-D positioned about the central axis of the frame for engaging a ground driven by a power source #118A; and a propeller #132A coupled to the frame at a central axis having a power source #136A; wherein the propeller is oriented vertically to provide a thrust vector in a generally vertical direction. Marvi further discloses the power source includes a controller #170 that provides power to the propellers and the wheels.
The method of claims 31, 36, 37 38 and 40 are embodied in the apparatus of Marvi since the intended use of agitation of manure in a manure lagoon is able to be performed by the apparatus of Marvi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marvi. Marvi discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the propeller is hydraulically driven by the power source. Such electro-hydraulic systems are widely known in the art and would be an alternative drive system for the propeller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Marvi by powering the propeller by an electro-hydraulic drive system. Doing so uses known power systems to provide an alternative propeller drive.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuhn, US 9694636 (disclosed by applicant) in view of GB 2366218 (disclosed by applicant). Nuhn discloses an amphibious vehicle having four wheels (3, 4), a pump (9), a hydraulic power source 8, conduits (20, 21, 22) and nozzles/outlets (11, 13, 16) at various locations around the vehicle to provide a stream of liquid manure above the surface of the lagoon and directed downward to provide agitation of the manure lagoon for maneuvering around a manure lagoon and pumping and recirculating fluid within the lagoon. All features claimed by the applicant in claims 21, 28, 31 and 38 are clearly disclosed by Nuhn. Nuhn does not explicitly disclose the use of a propeller to agitate the manure lagoon.
GB2366218 discloses a floating mixer for sewage treatment lagoons comprising
a propeller 36 which can be vertically oriented (Fig. 1) and raised to a horizontal position (Fig. 3). The examiner notes that propulsive thrust would be provided upward and downward by the propeller when oriented vertically and when oriented at a generally horizontal direction the propeller would provide propulsion. The outlets/nozzles of Nuhn would be above the propeller disclosed by GB2366218. Additionally, Nuhn discloses nozzles/outlets positioned at a central axis of the frame between two of the four wheels (See nozzles 13 on Fig. 1). GB2366218 discloses the propeller 36 in a similar location (See Fig. 2).
GB 2366218 teaches that solid matter will settle to the bottom of the lagoon in a short time and that pumping only (as taught by Nuhn) will only recirculate the liquid component leaving the solid matter deposited on the base to build up reducing the effective volume of the lagoon and eventually requiring expensive and time-consuming excavation (See pages 1-2). GB explicitly recites that “a person skilled in the art will readily appreciate that the impeller 36 may be replaced with any other suitable equivalent. For example, an alternative mixer could be some form of pneumatic or hydraulic jet to be directed into the liquid in order to agitate the liquid.” The examiner considers that it would likewise be appreciated by an artisan that pneumatic or hydraulic jets could be replaced or enhanced by the addition of an impeller/propeller such as that discloses by GB 2366218.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amphibious apparatus of Nuhn with a mixing propeller as disclosed by GB2366218 to better agitate the solid matter on the bottom of the lagoon to effectively recirculate the lagoon contents and avoid expensive and time-consuming excavation to get rid of solid matter build up.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617