Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I: (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 10/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 were canceled and claims 21-30 have been added.
Examination will proceed on claims 1-10 and 21-30 as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 21, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities: line 3, “a body having a surface that is be applied in contact with a portion of the human body” is grammatically incorrect and should be -- a body having a surface that is configured to be applied in contact with a portion of the human body-- . This would clarify the limitation and avoid positively claiming the human body as part of the system or device. Appropriate correction is required.
For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret the limitation as being “configured to be applied in contact”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 3, “the human body” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 21, line 2, “the human body” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 22, line 3, “the human body” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 21-24, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu(US 10945914) hereinafter Liu in view of Jiang et al.(US 20150328082) hereinafter Jiang et al.
Liu teaches accessory for an adult toy is disclosed. Herein, the adult toy has a vibration motor and a controller configured to actuate the vibration motor by generating an actuation signal. The accessory comprise a body adapted to be mounted on the adult toy. The accessory also comprises a light source arranged inside the body. The accessory further comprises a control circuit. The control circuit is configured to control the light source upon actuation of the vibration motor by the controller. A system and a method implementing the adult toy with the accessory for providing adult entertainment are also disclosed.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 21, and 22 Liu teaches a device including a body having a surface that is be applied in contact with a portion of the human body, to stimulate the portion of the human body;
a plurality of light sources; a network interface, the network interface operable to receive at least one signal while the surface is providing stimulation to the portion of the human body, the at least
one signal being responsive to a dynamically detected event; and circuitry operable to control the plurality of light sources to display a light pattern in response to receipt of the at least one signal; and instructions on at least one physical storage medium that, when executed, provide for
programmatic selection of the light pattern in association with a predefined condition, wherein the dynamically detected event is dependent on meeting the predefined condition.
Note Figures 1 and 6 show the adult toy with light emitting accessory 100 and vibration motor 20 , and paragraph (19) teaches the accessory light source may be integral with the adult toy and paragraph (22) sets forth the accessory 100 includes a light source 110 arranged inside the body 102. The light source 110 may include one or more light units, and the one or more light units are one of a light emitting diode (LED), a halogen lamp, an incandescent bulb, a fluorescent light bulb, a metal halide lamp and a sodium lamp. Preferably, the light source 110 comprises one or more LEDs. Paragraph 25 sets forth the control of the vibration motor and the light source, (25) - the control circuit 108 is configured to control pulsation of the light source 110 based, at least in part, on intensity of vibration generated by the vibration motor in the adult toy 10. Thus, the light source 110 may flash or twinkle to provide a visual indication as a validation of operation of the adult toy 10 for external viewer. Control of the light source to flash or twinkle based on the intensity of the vibration motor implies a light pattern. Paragraphs (27) – (35) set forth a networked system where the command signal instructs the controller to actuate the vibration motor of the adult toy 10 for the time period of the count-down timer. For instance, if the adult toy 10 is going to vibrate for 10 seconds, the software application may generate sequential labels for the countdown time as 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1. It may be appreciated that the countdown timer let the viewer be familiar with the status of the adult toy 10. Further, the software application is also configured to display a confirmation for perusal of the user upon receiving of the tip by the at least one viewer on the user display 1010. It is contemplated that the received tip amounts are credited to the user's (model's) account and made redeemable by the respective user at a later time. The method includes controlling the light source 110 upon actuation of the vibration motor to provide a visual indication thereof, via the video stream, for perusal of the at least one viewer. In other words, the light source 110 is controlled upon generation of the actuation signal. At completion of the time period, it is checked if a further tip has been received. If yes, another command signal is received, otherwise the vibration motor of the adult toy 10 is stopped. Thus, the light pattern is controlled in association with a predefined condition, wherein the dynamically detected event is dependent on meeting the predefined condition.
Liu also teaches controlling the light pattern based on the vibration intensity and where the software application may be a non-downloadable or downloadable mobile application, web application, or the like, stored( interpreted as a memory) on the user computing device 1004 and communicates with the adult toy 10 so as to send command signals thereto. It is noted “programmatic selection of the light pattern” could be interpreted simply as the software controlling the vibration of the motor and in turn controlling the light pattern which would broadly be interpreted as a “programmatic selection of the light pattern”.
Liu however does not explicitly teach the option of selecting various light patterns.
Jiang et al. teaches an interactive entertainment system comprises a display device for viewing an interactive video and a controller for operating one or more sex toys for providing stimulations to a user at a remote location and displayed in the interactive video. A sensory feedback is generated as a function of the provide stimulations. The sensory feedback indicates one or more of the following: strength of the stimulations; patterns of the stimulations; characteristics of the stimulations; status of the stimulations; types of the stimulations; and the status of the sex toys. Paragraphs [0050] – [0057] teaches [0050] The base 80 can have a user interface 86 for selecting one or more stimulation strengths and patterns and a visual feedback indicator 88. The visual feedback indicator 88 can comprise a light source (e.g., one or more light emitting diodes (“LEDs”), or other lighting device) and can be located anywhere on the sex toy 78. The visual feedback indicator 88 provides a light pattern to visually indicate the strength, the pattern, the type, and/or other status information of the stimulations of the sex toy 78 and the status of the sex toy 78. [0053] The vibrational pattern of the sex toy 78 can be mapped to a pattern of light on the LEDs. The pattern of the light can indicate to a remote user (or the current user of the sex toy 78) the vibrational pattern (or other haptic pattern) of the sex toy 78. [0057] FIGS. 4a-4k illustrate various lighting configurations of visual feedback indicators for sex toys. FIG. 4a shows an LED cross shape pattern for the visual feedback indicator. FIG. 4k illustrates another embodiment of two parallel bars of lighting elements, wherein the density, intensity, and/or color of each of the lighting elements can be adjusted for providing various lighting patterns.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the system of Liu the option to select various lighting patterns as they are mapped back to the vibration motor as taught by Liang et al. to allow for improved sensory feedback of the adult toy.
Regarding claims 2, 23, and 30, Liu teaches wherein the device is embodied as a sex toy, and wherein the device further comprises a motor that is configured to be actuated, during operation of the device, to cause the surface to vibrate, move or deflect. Note paragraphs (15) – (17) and Paragraphs [0050] – [0057].
Regarding claims 3 and 24, Liu teaches wherein the circuitry is also operable to control operation
of the motor in response to the at least one signal, such that both of the plurality of light sources and the motor are actuated in a manner dependent on the at least one signal. Note paragraphs (25 – (35).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches wherein the sex toy is a vibrator having a first end or side
and a second end or side, wherein the surface is born by the first end or side, the first end or side being adapted for vaginal or clitoral stimulation, and wherein the second end or side mounts the plurality of light sources. Note Figures 1 and 6 show the adult toy with an insertion end and opposite the insertion end a light emitting accessory 100 and a vibration motor 20 within the adult toy, and paragraph (19) teaches the accessory light source may be integral with the adult toy and paragraph (22) sets forth the accessory 100 includes a light source 110 arranged inside the body 102.
Regarding claims 6-9 and 26-29, Liu as modified by Liang et al. teaches wherein the system further comprises a user interface, wherein the user interface comprises an electronic display screen, wherein the circuitry is operable to receive at least one setting entered via the user interface in a manner dependent on operation of the electronic display screen, and wherein the circuitry is operable to control at least one of the motor or the plurality of light sources in dependence on both of the setting and the at least one signal. Liang et al. Paragraphs [0043], [0050] – [0057] teaches the system includes a display device and [0050] The base 80 can have a user interface 86 for selecting one or more stimulation strengths and patterns and a visual feedback indicator 88.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the system of Liu a display and user interface to allow for control of the vibration or light pattern of the system as taught by Liang et al. to improve the user control and sensory feedback for the adult toy based on user input.
Claim(s) 5 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu(US 10945914) hereinafter Liu in view of Jiang et al.(US 20150328082) hereinafter Jiang et al. and further in view of Topolovac et al.( US 2017015697) hereinafter Topolovac et al.
Liu as modified by Liang et al. teaches an interactive adult toy system that may include algorithmic or programmatic control and a memory for storing control operations and circuitry operable to vary at least one of the light pattern or the vibration, movement or deflection in dependence on each of the user-defined intensity setting and the at least one signal. Note paragraph (18) of Liu paragraph [0043] and paragraphs [0045] and [0050] of Liang et al. teaches a user interface. [0050] The base 80 can have a user interface 86 for selecting one or more stimulation strengths and patterns and a visual feedback indicator 88. The use of a user interface to select lighting patterns implies the use of a memory.
Liu as modified by Liang et al. does not explicitly teach memory to store a user-defined intensity setting.
Topolovac et al. teaches a device 100 that functions as a sex toy and can be manipulated by a user to stimulate a sex organ of the user or a sex organ of a partner of the user. The device 100 may be used with the intent of initiating or aiding in orgasm. The device 100 includes an interaction module, configured to contact and stimulate a sex organ of a user, and a power module, configured to power the interaction module 110 and to be held by the user when engaging the interaction module 110 against or inside a sex organ, as shown in FIG. 7. When the interaction module 110 and the power module 120 are assembled in the second configuration, shown in FIG. 2, the interaction module 110 sources power from the power module 120 to generate a haptic stimulation suitable for sexual stimulation. [0053] 100 further includes a memory module. The memory module is preferably a solid state read/write hard drive or flash memory configured to store digital data for future access and/or erasure. Therefore, in the first configuration, the power module 120 can additionally function as a flash drive or memory stick. Furthermore, the processor 132 can access data stored on the memory module, such as vibratory patterns or user vibratory preferences, to control device settings when in use.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the device of Liu as modified by Liang et al. a memory for storing user defined intensity patterns as taught by Topolovac et al. to improve the user control and experience for the adult toy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LIU(US 20220401830) teaches a receiving action inputs associated with a character of a gaming application (112) based on user inputs in the gaming application by a server system (114), where the action inputs are received from a game application server (116). A control pattern associated with the game related action performed by the character is determined by the server system. The control pattern is transmitted to an adult toy management application (110) for operating the adult toy associated with an user (102) to provide physical stimulus to the user corresponding to the action.
Zipper(US 20160000642) teaches sexual stimulation apparatus and method which may comprise a plurality of light sources for photostimulation of the vagina, clitoris, or both; a plurality of vibrators for mechanical stimulation of the vagina, clitoris, or both; a handle for ease of operation; a controller and programmable memory for containing modes of operation and driving the light sources and vibrators of the invention; a vaginal finger; a clitoral finger; a handle for ease of use; a keypad for user entry of commands; and a charging and programming port. The invention comprises sensors that sense physiological parameters of a user and adjust sexual stimulation parameters to achieve a desired sexual stimulation effect. Blood oxygen level, temperature, pulse rate and muscle electrical activity may be sensed by the invention. The invention also comprises a flexible covering that provides smooth sliding engagement with the vagina and clitoris of a user.
Stout et al.( US 20140350333) teaches a vibrator sex toy is provided with touch-based sensors for an ergonomic in-situ method of controlling the operation and intensity of the vibrator. The vibrator sex toy has an internal end, an external end and a middle staging section. The staging section includes a control circuit and batteries. The internal end includes electric vibrator motors connected to the control circuit by wires.
/BRIAN L CASLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791